RE : MGW signs

van on wheels

RE : MGW signs

Postby van on wheels » January 11th, 2019, 4:26 pm

Good day Is there anyone who has info as to the correct specifications for painting on MGW and TARE weight signs of pickups and panel vans ?
I was told the letters has to be 2 and a half inches tall.
but then someone else said the black background has to be 2 and a half inches wide and the letters can be about 2 inch tall.
so whats the correct version pls ?

Re: RE : MGW signs

Postby *KRONIK* » January 11th, 2019, 6:49 pm

SmartSelect_20190111-185127_WhatsApp.jpeg

van on wheels

Postby van on wheels » January 11th, 2019, 11:04 pm

ok and 65 millimeters is approx 2 and a half inches ( which are very large letters)
so what is the reference for this info pls ?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 12th, 2019, 7:33 am

That is a screenshot from the transport regulations.
You will need to check the ministry of transport website for a copy of the entire document.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 12th, 2019, 7:55 am

van on wheels

Postby van on wheels » January 12th, 2019, 4:05 pm

thank you bro

van on wheels

Postby van on wheels » January 12th, 2019, 4:06 pm

On page 161 of the motor vehicle act chapter 48 : 50 specifies that
(h) every goods vehicle, motor omnibus or trailer
shall have its tare and M.G.W. painted in white
figures and letters not less than sixty-five
millimetres ( thats 2 1/2 " or larger ) in height upon a black ground on a conspicuous place on the right or off side of such vehicle to be specified by the Transport Officer.
Such weights shall be expressed in kilogrammes;

Now thats very large letters. but i dont think thats what the garages recommending. so what going to happen when licensing officers stop you and check that ??? Ticket ??

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2019, 4:31 pm

yes, you will be ticketed if you fail to conform to the specifications.

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » January 12th, 2019, 4:38 pm

oh is the letters have to be that size...hmm always thought was the black rectangle.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » January 12th, 2019, 4:40 pm

Make sure it painted on an not graphics else you will be ticketed

Postby *KRONIK* » January 12th, 2019, 4:48 pm

Mercenary wrote:oh is the letters have to be that size...hmm always thought was the black rectangle.
I measured and replaced mine with what it had originally
Turns out the one the van registered with was a 65mm rectangle and letters fitting within, and it had the incorrect tare weight too.

But i not gonna do it over, i painted it on with automotive paint recently with a stencil and we go damage the paint if we do any further work on that spot.

20180717_111929.jpeg

Postby gastly369 » January 13th, 2019, 1:46 am

superstainless1250 wrote:Make sure it painted on an not graphics else you will be ticketed
Can use graphics....just clear coat it onto the vehicle

Did a few and no problems

Postby SMc » January 13th, 2019, 7:00 am

honest question- why is it necessary to have this displayed on the vehicle? couldn't you just have a document that stated this- if pulled over it must be presented on the spot and if you don't have it then get charged?

Postby rspann » January 13th, 2019, 8:20 am

SMc wrote:honest question- why is it necessary to have this displayed on the vehicle? couldn't you just have a document that stated this- if pulled over it must be presented on the spot and if you don't have it then get charged?

This way it saves the hassle of stopping and checking documents.
I've never seen it in any other country, anybody knows if it's done elsewhere?

Postby *KRONIK* » January 13th, 2019, 8:24 am

rspann wrote:
SMc wrote:honest question- why is it necessary to have this displayed on the vehicle? couldn't you just have a document that stated this- if pulled over it must be presented on the spot and if you don't have it then get charged?

This way it saves the hassle of stopping and checking documents.
I've never seen it in any other country, anybody knows if it's done elsewhere?
And we have to make a fuss over the size of it too....

Waste of flicking time regulations

Postby *KRONIK* » January 13th, 2019, 8:42 am

It written on the certied copy.
Even trucks with canopies and seats in the tray have their weight and use ammended on the certified copy

So as you said, why does it need to be displayed?

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2019, 8:46 am

It’s meant to say the max load a vehicle can carry safely and depending if roads/bridges have a max weight vehicle allowed.
So prob one day they will have a trailer scale for you to drive on and check you not carrying unsafe loads.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 13th, 2019, 8:52 am

I understand that

But shouldnt the driver/owner be aware of these things?
Instead of an ugly, pointless set of numbers on your vehicle

Postby pugboy » January 13th, 2019, 8:57 am

It’s in the heavy t regulations but not normal drivers license
They should put it in regular exam
I actually found that exam a bit more challenging with the numbers to remember

Postby maj. tom » January 13th, 2019, 9:12 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
It written on the certied copy.
Even trucks with canopies and seats in the tray have their weight and use ammended on the certified copy

So as you said, why does it need to be displayed?

In the revised UK law regarding this:

Plated Weights
There are two types of plating – ‘Manufacturers’ Plating and ‘Ministry’ Plating.
‘Manufacturers’ Plating. With limited exceptions, all goods vehicles must be equipped with a ‘manufacturers
plate’ which, along with other details, must display the name of the manufacturer and the maximum axle, gross
and train weights at which the vehicle is designed to operate.
‘Ministry’ Plating. The Ministry Plate or Plating certificate is issued by VOSA to goods vehicles above 3500kg
Gross Weight and denotes the potential maximum legal weight of the vehicle. In GB the ‘plate’ is usually carried
in the cab of heavy goods vehicles or attached to the trailer chassis in the case of heavy trailers.

So it would be something similar and more archaic written for TT law in 1962. Plus it would have helped out the people who couldn't read documents at the time. A lot of Government workers were hardly literate but were hired due to Independence Pride to do Government jobs. Just something that stuck with us I guess.

Postby SMc » January 13th, 2019, 9:37 am

That makes sense though as VOSA have weighbridges around the UK so if they see a suspect load they can weigh it. In TT how is a licencing officer (or whoever) to know the weight of a load/truck by just looking at it?

Postby De Dragon » January 13th, 2019, 9:48 am

SMc wrote:That makes sense though as VOSA have weighbridges around the UK so if they see a suspect load they can weigh it. In TT how is a licencing officer (or whoever) to know the weight of a load/truck by just looking at it?

The authorities too dotish to realize that even the originators of the statute have modified it to a more practical method. They are however slavishly penalizing you for a senseless law.

Postby nervewrecker » January 13th, 2019, 10:52 am

mine was painted on and they kick a fuss. said its a sticker.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » January 13th, 2019, 11:05 am

nervewrecker wrote:Image

I woulda tell the kant hole officer to peel it off with he fingers

Postby *KRONIK* » January 13th, 2019, 3:54 pm

ek4ever wrote:

Me too.

#wrongandstrong

Postby ronsin1 » January 13th, 2019, 6:05 pm

ek4ever wrote:

I actually told an officer to try peel off mine

I painted mine with automotive paint and clear coated it

Postby adnj » January 13th, 2019, 7:16 pm

GVW TARE labeling is common on commercial vehicles in the USA. Most of the reasoning has to do with the maximum vehicle weight on city streets because of possible damage to the road surface and/or service lines under the roadway.

Fully laden heavy duty trucks will leave ruts in most roads and crush manhole covers.

The problem may be that people are leaving passenger cars and shifting to trucks, crossovers and SUVs worldwide. The laws were probably written when a truck was only driven as a work vehicle and never updated.

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2019, 9:54 pm

sooo, who actually weighs what they put in their 't' vehicles?

they make a fuss for the paint and the sticker... THAT is quite a useless distinction... is like if its a sticker, u could pull it off. of ur van, put an mgw of 10 tonnes, then load all kinda ting, mash up the roads, then put back ur normal mgw... and poor police guy, he would be powerless to stop the carnage of the nations roads, cause the mgw allows it?????

same thing with a maxi or taxi, i could remove a sticker, put 9 in my 7 seater, then the poor officer cant do squat cause my sticker says 9

never mind what the insurance says, the sticker says 9.. so i could tote 9

wingnut

Postby wingnut » January 13th, 2019, 10:29 pm

I believe its the way the law is written, i think its someting along the lines of the mgw must be "painted" in the law thats why they beat up for the sticker.

Similarly when men put number plate stickers on their bonnet or bumper an get charged. The law states number "plate" specifically and dey dont give u any trouble if its the same sticker on a plate

Postby sMASH » January 13th, 2019, 11:44 pm

they're a bunch of idiots, but in positions of great power.