2019 and Already Grocery prices GONE UP

daring dragoon

2019 and Already Grocery prices GONE UP

Postby daring dragoon » January 7th, 2019, 5:07 am

only thing change is the date and already prices gone up in the grocery. Onion was $3 is now $4. soup in the pack was $3 is now $3.50. And it have plenty more. Watch it yourself instead of just picking up and putting in the cart. some prices double, a 750ml bottle of cheif seasoning was $15 before Christmas is now $25 i see yesterday. is price increase justified or is them shopkeepers just greedy.
on another note the same tomatoes that was selling for $25 ah pound Christmas time is now $10 this alone showing how greedy and nasty these vendors are.

Re: 2019 and Already Grocery prices GONE UP

Postby hydroep » January 7th, 2019, 6:40 am

To be fair some of the market stuff has been fluctuating widely as late - Sweet Peppers were hovering around $ 18.00 per lb. for the Christmas and cucumbers which were around $ 9.00 in November went down $ 3.50.

Some vendors were blaming the tomato prices on the recent floods though...:|

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » January 7th, 2019, 7:31 am

op you dont have to buy , you could always eat the money

Postby eliteauto » January 7th, 2019, 9:58 am

Chief seasoning? You can't make your own?

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 7th, 2019, 10:17 am

Fresh market items are always volatile based on supply/demand. Fluctuations are expected, so shop your way around that.

Supermarket things are less so, but they can raise their prices as they see fit. Some are cheaper than others, so do your homework if you want to save.

Postby matr1x » January 7th, 2019, 10:18 am

The last 2 missed the point. Better their fathers did miss, and save us from their stupidity.

These prices are already straining stretched pockets

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 7th, 2019, 10:29 am

matr1x wrote:The last 2 missed the point. Better their fathers did miss, and save us from their stupidity.

These prices are already straining stretched pockets

You missed my point. I gave a workaround. Would you have preferred me to say

"yea bai, the gubment MC they killing we poor people out here"

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2019, 10:54 am

op has some valid points though
As consumers, we continually fail to exert our collective strength and regulate market prices
Everybody complains they paying more for less groceries every month but the masses will never say fukdisshit, meem buying product x again from grocery y again, until the price makes more sense
Inflation is a harsh reality and will likely get worse but at the same time, consumers can force the hands of retailers and distributors

Postby tr1ad » January 7th, 2019, 11:10 am

MG Man wrote:op has some valid points though
As consumers, we continually fail to exert our collective strength and regulate market prices
Everybody complains they paying more for less groceries every month but the masses will never say fukdisshit, meem buying product x again from grocery y again, until the price makes more sense
Inflation is a harsh reality and will likely get worse but at the same time, consumers can force the hands of retailers and distributors

boycott ?

what sh!t you talking

Postby MG Man » January 7th, 2019, 11:18 am

tr1ad wrote:
MG Man wrote:op has some valid points though

boycott ?

what sh!t you talking

s..ssorry dey boy De Boss

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2019, 11:44 am

Anybody ever complain about fete and costume price ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 7th, 2019, 11:47 am

I does never buy vegetables from supermarket.....OP onion was selling for $1.50-$2 per lb last saturday......also buy yuh own seasoning as blend that sheit or you to lazy

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 7th, 2019, 1:03 pm

inflation vs cost of living increases...

the latter iza tricky concept to conceptualize.

that said put on a buss up shorts...ole juzzy and go in the local market on Sat or Sun...to beat grocery prices...

cryotec

Postby cryotec » January 7th, 2019, 1:16 pm

ask them for a discount op

Postby 88sins » January 7th, 2019, 2:51 pm

pugboy wrote:Anybody ever complain about fete and costume price ?

question of the millennium here.
op, last I checked that dollar is in your pocket, & only you can decide where it goes when you ready to part with it. Shop around, use cheaper alternatives, do without, or even better, when you see the price increase let them know you eh buying that from there for that price because you know you can get it cheaper elsewhere.

older heads long time used to say "wha we go doo? we cyah eet d morney." & tho that's true, that eh mean yuh hadda be a patsy & jus pay out whatever price they selling ting for either

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 7th, 2019, 3:32 pm

Nope...but indirectly in does show...men does start to complain when carnation milk and coffee doh reach on time, sit down and eat crackers for bkfast and lunch and maljo everybody else with deh sada roti

Postby RedVEVO » January 7th, 2019, 3:59 pm

You need to shop around ..

Central market is the place to shop

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » January 7th, 2019, 4:16 pm

lol good point. Trinis buying boat ride ticket, latest iPhone and tech, latest Jordans, bikini/short pants with glue-on feathers for carnival, fast food nearly every day, overpriced fete tickets and more but complaining about a few dollars raise in groceries. :?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 7th, 2019, 5:03 pm

RedVEVO wrote:You need to shop around ..

Central market is the place to shop

Wholesale market bredda man....bessssssss place to shop

Postby matr1x » January 7th, 2019, 5:59 pm

Shop market. Bonus:meet a hot chick who can cook.

You are welcome

Postby 88sins » January 7th, 2019, 8:25 pm

even better, plant a lil kitchen garden. u doh hadda tun into a large scale farmer overnight. put down a few small short term plants. like a pimento or tomato or melongene plant. even if is only a bandanya patch u could maintain. better to have at least one thing on hand than you hadda but every single thing you need.

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2019, 8:30 pm

Meanwhile bodi unaffected

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 7th, 2019, 8:43 pm

i doh tink d man was talking about chief seasoning or price ah tomatoes specifically. i think d man talking about how d vendors digging out people eye. an all ah allyuh who wah talk like dey cud afford it and it doh bodder dem ah sure allyuh nah even living in trinidad. how tomatoes cud sell for $25 one week and $10 d next week wen it ha no change in wedda. i hadda check the price ah dat chief seasoning tom but ah sure it nah no $25 so it hadda be the vendor mistake or dey wah see if people go buy. vendors here instead ah coming toegther to ride out this guavament forking up the cuntry to make sure al ah we survive they looking to dig out the people eye. not evrybuddy cud afford tuh shop around,gas gorn up to so taxi gorn up. i think consumer affears shud investigte some ah dem vendors.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 7th, 2019, 8:45 pm

QuietGiant wrote:

lol good point. Trinis buying boat ride ticket, latest iPhone and tech, latest Jordans, bikini/short pants with glue-on feathers for carnival, fast food nearly every day, overpriced fete tickets and more but complaining about a few dollars raise in groceries. :?

eh kfc gorn dong to $25 so instead ah once ah week ah go buy 4 times ah week

Postby RedVEVO » January 8th, 2019, 4:53 am

What "hot chick" you ever meet in the market ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2019, 5:02 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

What "hot chick" you ever meet in the market ?

you would meet real wife material in the market, thing who could cook, wash, clean and still have good jobs........heck 1 in 5 might be a professional (speaking from experience)

not them stush who allyuh like to rate up and can't wash ah pot to save deh life

Postby RedVEVO » January 8th, 2019, 5:09 am

So you want to meet a "hot chick" who is wife material and does wash pot ?

It's 2019

Not 1920 .

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 8th, 2019, 5:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

It's 2019

Not 1920 .

and what wrong with a nice woman who could cook and is wife material :?

Postby matr1x » January 8th, 2019, 8:41 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

It's 2019

Not 1920 .

You need to work on your baigan game. It have real nice girls that will do that. What you want, a best thing that only good to show up in Tuesdays and getting her hair done? Dat is deadweight.

Postby zoom rader » January 8th, 2019, 10:13 am

Don't see what's de beat up here , you all wanted this goverment. Be happy prices in view should be more