Malaria in Trinidad

screwbash

Malaria in Trinidad

Postby screwbash » December 24th, 2018, 6:48 am

Citizens are being urged to take precautions to guard against malaria after a ten-year-old boy was confirmed as the latest case.

Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram said although there have been 38 confirmed cases this year this is different, in that all of the cases prior to this one would have been imported meaning that someone who would have visited another country or a member of the Guyanese or Venezuelan population who would have had recently travelled

all dem spanish an guyaneese bring they disease to trinidad and go suck we health centers and hospitals. it go have more to come if we doh send all ah dem back. they whole warehouse ah cubans, put them on a 40 foot pirogue and send dem back cuba. put all dem guyanees and vene on a wodden pallet raff and send them back to toco pita. we chirren go pay the price for having all ah dem here.

Monkey Man

Re: Malaria in Trinidad

Postby Monkey Man » December 24th, 2018, 7:44 am

Only regit sickness in T&T is the wrath of the PNM government.

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » December 24th, 2018, 9:12 am

Monkey Man wrote:Only regit sickness in T&T is the wrath of the PNM government.

Agreed, will take Maleria anyday over this PNM

bess almera

Postby bess almera » December 24th, 2018, 6:41 pm

l33t2 wrote:

Agreed, will take Maleria anyday over this PNM

Careful what you wish for boss...words have power. That’s nothing to joke about.

Postby The_Honourable » December 24th, 2018, 10:11 pm

It has been ages since i heard about the anopheles mosquito

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 25th, 2018, 12:09 am

What ia the government , regional corporations doing to control the mosquito population?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 25th, 2018, 2:20 am

Malaria you say eh padner?, it is clear who bringing in these diseases.

Unregulated illegal immigration, open borders and nobody says a damn, nobody gives a sh!t. The PNM started this trend with CSME, the PNM is cancer.

Postby SMc » December 25th, 2018, 4:32 am

Don't have to be illegal immigration, could well be anyone that travelled to an affected area then on to Trinidad.

Malaria doesn't spread from person to person directly (unless blood involved) as it is only spread by the anopheles mosquito which i didn't even think was in TT , there is no vaccination either just some tablets you can take while you are in the affected area but these are not cheap.

I went Gambia last month where both malaria and yellow fever are widespread,when I left nobody checked whether I had any symptoms etc- it could be as simple as be me being bitten before I left-> arrive in home country and get bitten by a next mosquito which then becomes infected.

Cant blame everything on Governments/political parties nor expect them to fix anything without the help of the public- perhaps a good start would be to reeducate people on things like stagnant water around the house, people who dont have AC to use mosquito nets etc. anyway carry one

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 25th, 2018, 9:01 pm

What about stds from all the men running down vene gals

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 25th, 2018, 9:03 pm

SMc wrote:Don't have to be illegal immigration, could well be anyone that travelled to an affected area then on to Trinidad.

Malaria doesn't spread from person to person directly (unless blood involved) as it is only spread by the anopheles mosquito which i didn't even think was in TT , there is no vaccination either just some tablets you can take while you are in the affected area but these are not cheap.

I went Gambia last month where both malaria and yellow fever are widespread,when I left nobody checked whether I had any symptoms etc- it could be as simple as be me being bitten before I left-> arrive in home country and get bitten by a next mosquito which then becomes infected.

Cant blame everything on Governments/political parties nor expect them to fix anything without the help of the public- perhaps a good start would be to reeducate people on things like stagnant water around the house, people who dont have AC to use mosquito nets etc. anyway carry one

I stopped reading when you started talking about what you dont know about.

Postby maj. tom » December 25th, 2018, 9:19 pm

Which part didn't make sense to you?

Everything he said was valid. There is a vaccine for malaria but it's still in the research and development stage.

hassanvoyeau

Postby hassanvoyeau » December 25th, 2018, 9:30 pm

There is a good point being made above, IF we are not screening legal entrants then blaming illegal entrants gives us a false handle on dealing with the problem.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 25th, 2018, 10:27 pm

SMc wrote:Don't have to be illegal immigration, could well be anyone that travelled to an affected area then on to Trinidad.

How dare you talk sense here.
Only incorrect bit, the (generic) tabs are generally relatively cheap.

Folks if you or anyone you know is travelling to a country where malaria is endemic, please contact IVCD before hand. 6932696. Malaria isn’t a nice thing - protect thyselves.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » December 25th, 2018, 11:51 pm

Just remember the monky mane called it.

The Pnm is spreading a sickness called dunceness.

It will be the end of mankind as we know it.

Postby gastly369 » December 26th, 2018, 12:54 am

Monkey Man wrote:Just remember the monky mane called it.

The Pnm is spreading a sickness called dunceness.

It will be the end of mankind as we know it.
Most importantly did you buy a pnm ticket to win yourself a BMW....

Postby SMc » December 26th, 2018, 4:19 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:

I stopped reading when you started talking about what you dont know about.

Educate me- serious, I do travel a bit and would rather understand the risk rather than not

worksux101 wrote:How dare you talk sense here.
Only incorrect bit, the (generic) tabs are generally relatively cheap.

I didn't think they were particularly cheap, I used the generic Malarone which involved 2 days pre-loading on tablets, a tablet a day while there and a tablet a day for 7 days after the trip(16 tablets). My girlfriend used Doxycycline which was the same 2 day pre load, daily while there and then daily for 4 weeks after thee trip (37 tablets in this case) this was slightly cheaper but I couldnt be arsed to take tablets for that long after. Though it didnt break the bank if were something I had to take daily the cost would really add up as for that 1 week trip it cost us each a couple hundred dollars in meds.

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » December 26th, 2018, 10:21 am

Like I said, it’s relative. All a matter of perspective, esp when weighed up against travel costs.

Postby j.o.e » December 26th, 2018, 1:04 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:What about stds from all the men running down vene gals

Once you say grace before meals you’ll be fine

Postby redmanjp » December 28th, 2018, 6:09 pm

j.o.e wrote:
streetbeastINC. wrote:What about stds from all the men running down vene gals

Once you say grace before meals you’ll be fine

Or just doh have sex with men doh matter it legal now

Postby RedVEVO » December 29th, 2018, 2:46 am

Monkey talking truth .

Monkey know which tree to climb.