Regularise Venezuelans, legalise marijuana, says Chin

wickedtuna

Regularise Venezuelans, legalise marijuana, says Chin

Postby wickedtuna » December 7th, 2018, 7:38 am

OWNER of the country’s largest movie theatre network, Derek Chin, has called for the legalisation of marijuana and the regularisation of Venezuelan immigrants in T&T.

He was addressing businesspeople at the annual Christmas dinner of the Couva Point Lisas Chamber of Commerce at Camden Road, Couva, on Wednesday night. He spoke to the audience of mostly central and south Trinidad businesspeople minutes after Opposition Member of Parliament for Couva South Rudy Indarsingh addressed them. Indarsingh said the United National Congress’ (UNC’s) challenge to the Income Tax Amendment Bill 2018 was pro-business.

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/busines ... 78b9b.html

Re: Regularise Venezuelans, legalise marijuana, says Chin | Local Business | trinidadexpress.com

Postby Ben_spanna » December 7th, 2018, 7:41 am

He would recommend such... when last allyuh went ah restaurant in MT? is only Spanish servers in there now...…………… then again they are more attractive hosts, more pleasant and apparently they work harder than locals too.

wickedtuna

Re: Regularise Venezuelans, legalise marijuana, says Chin | Local Business | trinidadexpress.com

Postby wickedtuna » December 7th, 2018, 7:42 am

Mr Chin said on the news why open a $6 million restaurant and I can't get labour. .....

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 7th, 2018, 7:44 am

^^ correct. Daily I see them working harder and taking better care of the establishments' equipment.. it reach the point where Trinis will purposefully mash up sum not to work for the day

Postby MaxPower » December 7th, 2018, 8:47 am

I agree with regularizing the Venezuelans. This is the labour force of T&T moving forward and stubborn locals should take note. Business owners are refusing to hire locals, locals are being replaced rapidly, and guess what? The customers dont give a sheit, they prefer the excellent service from the foreigners. And anywhere i go, i dont want no trini boy or girl serving me, too blasted rude, lazy and slow. And i dont have time to try and hope i get service from a local, the days for that done. Thankful for amazon and online banking though.

Do not feel if Venezuelans dominate the service industry if the general public going to care about lazy workers being put out of jobs.

In before cries of racism.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 7th, 2018, 9:04 am

wickedtuna wrote:Mr Chin said on the news why open a $6 million restaurant and I can't get labour. .....
He just sneaked that in...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 7th, 2018, 9:08 am

Better quality service by far...and you get an eyeful from some...our local ppl suck as customer service...doh even know how to speak to people

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 7th, 2018, 9:13 am

Ben_spanna wrote:He would recommend such... when last allyuh went ah restaurant in MT? is only Spanish servers in there now...…………… then again they are more attractive hosts, more pleasant and apparently they work harder than locals too.

BOOM! Exactly .... someone buy this man a beer.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 7th, 2018, 9:17 am

Ok so yes to both especially Legalize marijuana, but I can tell you where I work we have tons of lazy Cubans that our manager hires and fires quite often. Where as we have a larger number of Trini works who work HARDER and are more serious about their job than the Cubans. If you go to A&A Bar b Que hut in Debe you will see the fastest workers on the planet, faster than any Vene.

So don't class all the Trinis with the lazy guntress you see in KFC and Subway.

With that said I agree fully with the Legalization of Marijuana, however as I have stated in the past it will NOT happen because Rowley and the PNM along with the PNM supporters are heavily Anti Science, every PNM supporter I have met hates science. And since it requires a basic level of science education to understand why marijuana is objectively safer and healthier than Alcohol and Cigarettes this means the government of the day is NEVER legalizing this.

At this point it might require a change of government, I am willing to vote for the UNC on this matter. And if the Rastas are smart they will stop voting for the PNM for once. Atleast vote for the UNC in 2020 and get it legalized then you can go back to voting for PNM in 2025

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 7th, 2018, 9:19 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Better quality service by far...and you get an eyeful from some...our local ppl suck as customer service...doh even know how to speak to people

And english is their native tongue. The difference is night and day between locals and the Venes ..... bring them in man and let them work here legally. Service industry will be much better off. Actually any immigrant is better than local in providing service. Popular restaurant in Couva have some Guayanese staff and they're friendly, courteous and sometimes entertaining, great customer service. Fack, even the Chinese ppl coming in better than these locals

Postby sMASH » December 7th, 2018, 9:23 am

yeah, jess charge a lil income tax and let them get a chance. only problem is locals abusing the low wage part. pay the people for the work that they do.

Postby teems1 » December 7th, 2018, 9:28 am

wickedtuna wrote:Mr Chin said on the news why open a $6 million restaurant and I can't get labour. .....

What are the rates he's paying though? Minimum wage? Slightly above minimum wage?

When rent is 2000+TT for the cheapest place, can that support a person?

Venezuelans economic migrants who are using Trinidad as a stepping stone to get to FL or Spain have no issues living 10 persons per room while they work hard to move on. They're not planning on staying here and investing in the country.

Average

Postby Average » December 7th, 2018, 9:31 am

Ben_spanna wrote:He would recommend such... when last allyuh went ah restaurant in MT? is only Spanish servers in there now...…………… then again they are more attractive hosts, more pleasant and apparently they work harder than locals too.

Yuh see this, remember what I said here today eh, all that will change in a few years and we will all reap the whirlwind of poor customer service from THEM SELF!
Allyuh feel dey eh realise that Trini men does be like drooling babies for them? It's only a matter of time before they get wise and start acting all stush. Then......allyuh go complain and ah thread will be made and it will reach 11 pages before the race talk, sufferer talk and mod banning happens before it is locked.

Postby timelapse » December 7th, 2018, 9:33 am

MaxPower wrote:I agree with regularizing the Venezuelans. This is the labour force of T&T moving forward and stubborn locals should take note. Business owners are refusing to hire locals, locals are being replaced rapidly, and guess what? The customers dont give a sheit, they prefer the excellent service from the foreigners. And anywhere i go, i dont want no trini boy or girl serving me, too blasted rude, lazy and slow. And i dont have time to try and hope i get service from a local, the days for that done. Thankful for amazon and online banking though.

Do not feel if Venezuelans dominate the service industry if the general public going to care about lazy workers being put out of jobs.

Let's hope nobody says that about you and your service, I just saying. They already run their own country into the ground,More people = more demand. More demand = higher prices ,throw Imbert into this equation and see where my thinking is going.This could NEVER be a good idea.

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 7th, 2018, 9:34 am

Average wrote:

Yuh see this, remember what I said here today eh, all that will change in a few years and we will all reap the whirlwind of poor customer service from THEM SELF!
Allyuh feel dey eh realise that Trini men does be like drooling babies for them? It's only a matter of time before they get wise and start acting all stush. Then......allyuh go complain and ah thread will be made and it will reach 11 pages before the race talk, sufferer talk and mod banning happens before it is locked.

:D :D :D :popcorn:

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » December 7th, 2018, 9:35 am

That makes absolutely no sense. Half of those venezuelans have degrees and masters to their names. The economy is in transition and that would just add to the list of ppl with papers to get jobs

Re: Regularise Venezuelans, legalise marijuana, says Chin

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 7th, 2018, 10:37 am

I personally know 3 venes (two dentists and an engineer)...dentists are working as assistants collecting 3k tt in a popular dental practice and the engineer selling fish on a fish van...with one ah dem "check it out without ah doubt" fellas

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » December 7th, 2018, 11:15 am

Hmm vene labour but trini money ...seems like the American way built on immigrants then after ......immigrants are the problem .....may b vene needs a movie Towne ....

airuma

Postby airuma » December 7th, 2018, 12:15 pm

MaxPower wrote:I agree with regularizing the Venezuelans. This is the labour force of T&T moving forward and stubborn locals should take note. Business owners are refusing to hire locals, locals are being replaced rapidly, and guess what? The customers dont give a sheit, they prefer the excellent service from the foreigners. And anywhere i go, i dont want no trini boy or girl serving me, too blasted rude, lazy and slow. And i dont have time to try and hope i get service from a local, the days for that done. Thankful for amazon and online banking though.

Your name must be Ingalok!

Postby hydroep » December 7th, 2018, 12:24 pm

Yeah, bring dem nuh. We infrastructure top notch man. We could gih dem plenty water, food, housing, free education and health care because we cup runneth over. Cyar be stingy so one time. [/sarcasm].

But seriously wouldn't mind the legalisation of marijuana. Yuh know how long I want to grow a few plants home here?

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2018, 12:27 pm

Well yes Jah bless Chin the two most important things to legalize

Venny pum pum and a herb after.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 7th, 2018, 12:30 pm

Nice to see smart people on tuner that seeing through Derek Chin bullsh!t amd thinking about how things will ultimately end up. I have nothing against venes but they issue of their mass migration here needs to be approached strategically and not just so Derek Chin could get to underpay good employees.

What wages is he offering in his $6m restaurant? Maybe if he raised it he might find better labour.

Postby Ben_spanna » December 7th, 2018, 12:36 pm

legalizing Cannabis is fine by me, however there must be a proper way to TEST people if they are suspected of being HIGH on the job or behind the wheel driving and it must carry a proper punishment similar to other substances where they are above acceptable levels.

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2018, 12:52 pm

I wonder if he have any vene relatives or in laws

it is not a bad idea to give them some sort of work permit and ensure they pay taxes etc
however we cant even collect taxes from all them gyromen etc so it is an exercise in futility

Postby Redman » December 7th, 2018, 1:32 pm

How you regularizing Venez and not the rest of Caricom and other immigrants?

at what point will we have too many foreigners here and what will be the impact on our resources,our health care system,our education system etc and our culture?

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2018, 1:35 pm

Do they ask for passport at the hospitals ?

Redman wrote:How you regularizing Venez and not the rest of Caricom and other immigrants?

at what point will we have too many foreigners here and what will be the impact on our resources,our health care system,our education system etc and our culture?

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2018, 1:37 pm

they does ask for a local address or ID but they dont insist on it

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » December 7th, 2018, 1:42 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Nice to see smart people on tuner that seeing through Derek Chin bullsh!t amd thinking about how things will ultimately end up. I have nothing against venes but they issue of their mass migration here needs to be approached strategically and not just so Derek Chin could get to underpay good employees.

What wages is he offering in his $6m restaurant? Maybe if he raised it he might find better labour.

Yuh could pay Trinis any amount they will still carry on with their dotish I doh care attitude

Postby Spitfir3 » December 7th, 2018, 1:44 pm

this clown just lookin for cheap labor and a next avenue of business

wider you open the doors the pest will enter and im not referring to the ones just trying to make an honest livin, wouldn't be surprised if we end up with a beetham no.2

Postby Redman » December 7th, 2018, 1:51 pm

pugboy wrote:Do they ask for passport at the hospitals ?

Redman wrote:How you regularizing Venez and not the rest of Caricom and other immigrants?

Dunno- the issue is over population relative to the already strained systems that we have in place.

Unfettered immigration will just speed up the issue.