Ham bedlam: 20,000 sold in supermarket frenzy

wickedtuna

Ham bedlam: 20,000 sold in supermarket frenzy

Postby wickedtuna » November 29th, 2018, 1:50 pm

In just a few hours, Massy Stores sold a whopping 20,000 hams on Thursday morning.

From the time Massy supermarkets across the country opened their doors at 8a.m., hundreds of customers stampeded towards the frozen ham freezers, knocking over items, and even each other, to get their hands on $50 Great Foods picnic hams.

“We never expected such a tremendous, overwhelming response. We thought we would sell about 5,000 hams today,” Massy chief executive officer Derek Winford told the Express.

He said in some stores, the $50 hams were sold out within 30 minutes.

Great Foods Picnic hams usually cost $99.

Winford said the one-day ham sale was advertised on social media for a few days.

He said long before stores opened this morning, people were lined up waiting to cash in on the deal.

As to the rumours that the $50 hams were old or expired stocks, Winford responded: “Of course not. We feel very disappointed people would say something like that. That is very untrue. We will never, ever do anything like that. This was just to give back to our customers.”

He said while the ham sale was only for today, customers should look out for deals on other items soon.

“Of course Massy Stores doesn’t make hams. It’s our suppliers who give it to us. They make it and sell it to us for a good price, then we pass it on to the customers. Our suppliers, seeing how successful this was, they would want to use our stores to promote their brands, so there may be more deals in the pipeline.”

https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... af61c.html

Re: Ham bedlam: 20,000 sold in supermarket frenzy | Local News | trinidadexpress.com

Postby Dizzy28 » November 29th, 2018, 2:08 pm

With the economy the way it is people have to do what they have to do

wickedtuna

Re: Ham bedlam: 20,000 sold in supermarket frenzy | Local News | trinidadexpress.com

Postby wickedtuna » November 29th, 2018, 2:12 pm

Well crime stoppers should do that .....1 picnic ham when we catch ah criminal

Postby stev » November 29th, 2018, 2:18 pm

Im sure its not true but still funny....lol

Postby matr1x » November 29th, 2018, 2:19 pm

I had some evil thoughts when I saw that video

Postby Les Bain » November 29th, 2018, 2:22 pm

The "bess deal" eh worth it if you have to put up with that behaviour.

Postby teems1 » November 29th, 2018, 2:35 pm

stev wrote:Im sure its not true but still funny....lol

1) Santa Maria wasn't a slave ship.

2) The hams in the freezers have been there long before the October 20th flooding.

Postby hydroep » November 29th, 2018, 2:50 pm

Sh!tkicker and Colon-in-Butt must be laughing their arse off and saying "Look how we have dem mofos scrunting"...:|

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2018, 3:10 pm

Truvalu have it for $45

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 29th, 2018, 3:13 pm

Was wonderin if that vid was local cuz it was only chataigne *edited due to sensitive individuals being butthurt* i seein..wait nvm
Last edited by INHUMAN on November 29th, 2018, 3:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 29th, 2018, 3:18 pm

pugboy wrote:Truvalu have it for $45

With a condition though- Make a purchase of $200

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 29th, 2018, 3:18 pm

I didnt make it before comments like those^

Postby Rovin » November 29th, 2018, 3:36 pm

this ting gone viral yes , rel memes on FB

shows how idle trini ppl is ....

Postby toyolink » November 29th, 2018, 3:45 pm

These small hams mean that a lot of pigs were butchered before achieving optimum growth.
One wonders what the price of 'fresh' pork may get to for the season.
What may appear a gift could turn into prices like $25 and more for fresh clean pork for the season.
I have already been informed that local pork supplies from farmers just don't look good.

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2018, 4:43 pm

Nah, they are cut down pieces to size
So what was a whole regular ham is cut down to two or three
Would not be surprised if they using transglutaminese to stick pieces together

toyolink wrote:These small hams mean that a lot of pigs were butchered before achieving optimum growth.
What may appear a gift could turn into prices like $25 and more for fresh clean pork for the season.
I have already been informed that local pork supplies from farmers just don't look good.

Postby K74T » November 29th, 2018, 6:07 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:this ting gone viral yes , rel memes on FB

Those aren’t memes more like failure ‘funnies’

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 29th, 2018, 6:30 pm

prob the same sufferas who crashed courts website monday lel

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 29th, 2018, 6:31 pm

pugboy wrote:Nah, they are cut down pieces to size
So what was a whole regular ham is cut down to two or three
Would not be surprised if they using transglutaminese to stick pieces together

toyolink wrote:These small hams mean that a lot of pigs were butchered before achieving optimum growth.

Smart man!! *ebonx*.. Just like most of the 'boneless' hams being brought in.

Still like meh fresh pork season and primed for a week before baking tho

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » November 29th, 2018, 6:43 pm

them aint get the memo to eat rabbit instead ?

Postby Rovin » November 29th, 2018, 6:54 pm

i agree for all we know it cud really be imported & doctored , they put in dat trini smokey flavor & we eatin dat happy like normel

times really hard for some ppl out there so i wont look at them a kinna how or say stuff

taken from fb : ...
he GT apparently .... :lol:

Well after fighting off all dem ppl in massy i left with 6 ham :lol: :lol: :lol: wat a good day today was wii :( no one is invited for Christmas yall ent help me take cuss & elbow

Postby hydroep » November 29th, 2018, 7:02 pm

He inviting bandit. People get rob for less...:|

Postby Rovin » November 29th, 2018, 7:20 pm

^^^ true eh

K74T wrote:
Rovin's Audio wrote:this ting gone viral yes , rel memes on FB

Those aren’t memes more like failure ‘funnies’

agree with u , everybody wanna be a comedian but some of dem lame & staler than last wk ole bread ...

Postby redmanjp » November 29th, 2018, 7:24 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:i agree for all we know it cud really be imported & doctored , they put in dat trini smokey flavor & we eatin dat happy like normel

times really hard for some ppl out there so i wont look at them a kinna how or say stuff

taken from fb : ...
he GT apparently .... :lol:

Well after fighting off all dem ppl in massy i left with 6 ham :lol: :lol: :lol: wat a good day today was wii :( no one is invited for Christmas yall ent help me take cuss & elbow

he eating all dat or reselling?

Postby MaxPower » November 29th, 2018, 7:32 pm

Pests gone wild...

Postby pugboy » November 29th, 2018, 10:15 pm

Heard the per lb price is almost the same as the bigger one which sells for $110 lol

Postby redmanjp » November 29th, 2018, 10:27 pm

not_a_monkey

Postby not_a_monkey » November 30th, 2018, 9:04 pm

pugboy wrote:Heard the per lb price is almost the same as the bigger one which sells for $110 lol
Is it boneless? Someone told me it is

Postby matr1x » December 1st, 2018, 8:52 pm

I hear some bad rumours about that ham. I would eat that in a million years

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » December 1st, 2018, 9:17 pm

matr1x wrote:I hear some bad rumours about that ham. I would eat that in a million years

i "hear" them rumors false , is salty people who ent get no ham make that up...

Postby 16 cycles » December 1st, 2018, 9:53 pm

Sell the ham and get proper ink...