UWI in top 5% of universities worldwide

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 28th, 2018, 6:16 am

The University of the West Indies has broken into the Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings for the first time.

The 2019 Times Higher Education World University Rankings has ranked The UWI among the world’s top institutions.

According to a statement from The UWI, the rankings show that The UWI is located among the 1,258 top universities in world for 2019.

This puts The UWI in the elite band of the top 5 per cent of universities worldwide based on data showing that there are over 25,000 recognised universities, globally. Specifically, Times Higher Education ranked The UWI at 591 out of the 1,258 universities which made the list. The UWI is the only Caribbean institution on the world-wide list. It was also the only Caribbean university ranked earlier this year in THE’s 2018 Latin America University Rankings, in the region that is home to over 100 universities contributing to sustainable development.

In 2015, when Vice-Chancellor Professor Sir Hilary Beckles took over the reins, he declared an intention to radically globalise the University and to prepare it for regional and global comparisons within the THE’s rankings. This required the considerable mobilising of the evidence relevant to its academic legacy and current strategic agenda as a strategic project. Vice-Chancellor Beckles, in establishing an Office for Global Affairs, and giving a remit to the redesigned Office of Strategic Planning, recognised the need for The UWI to be competitive internationally within a global sector. The Vice-Chancellor’s vision to have The UWI recognised within the top 5% of the best universities in the world has now been realised.

Elated about the news, Vice-Chancellor Beckles said, “The excellence of The UWI has been a well-kept secret for far too long. Now, with these very impressive global ranking results, we can begin to share with the world the story of this academic enterprise in the West Indies that highlights the intellectual achievement and scholastic contributions of the Caribbean community.”

Get caught up with news from the news leader
Subscribe now and get access to the Trinidad Express E-paper
Regarded as the definitive list of the top universities, THE’s World University Rankings is the only global university performance table to judge research-intensive universities across their core missions of teaching (the learning environment); research (volume, income and reputation), international outlook (staff, students and research); citations (research influence); industry income (knowledge transfer). The 70-year-old regional university, which is relatively young among its counterparts in the World Rankings, scored in the top 10% of universities (#290) for its international outlook and in the top 30% (#370) for research influence.

The UWI’s exceptional performance in the 2018 Latin America University Rankings and now the 2019 World University Rankings demonstrates a series of deliberate strategic initiatives advanced by the implementation of the University’s five-year strategic plan for 2017-2022. Themed the Triple A Strategy, the plan is centred around widening Access to quality tertiary education, greater Alignment of The UWI with academic-industry partnerships relevant to the region's needs and Agility and alertness in engaging global connections and possibilities.

Source: https://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/lo ... 5a129.html

vaiostation

Re: UWI in top 5% of universities worldwide

Postby vaiostation » September 28th, 2018, 6:23 am

Keep smokin that Chronic.
:silly: :silly: :silly: :silly: :silly:

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 28th, 2018, 6:28 am

I have been saying it for years right here on tuner and most refused to believe it.

UWI Engineering Degrees are triple accredited world wide by USA, Canada and Europe.

The UWI Engineering and Science degrees the exam papers are just like those in MIT and Oxford, you have to be just as bright to graduate from either schools. Even the Computer Science BSc in UWI is one of the best degrees on the planet, you can't go anywhere else and get much better really. If you compare the exam papers you will see for yourself the evidence is there

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 6:59 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have been saying it for years right here on tuner and most refused to believe it.

UWI Engineering Degrees are triple accredited world wide by USA, Canada and Europe.

The UWI Engineering and Science degrees the exam papers are just like those in MIT and Oxford, you have to be just as bright to graduate from either schools. Even the Computer Science BSc in UWI is one of the best degrees on the planet, you can't go anywhere else and get much better really. If you compare the exam papers you will see for yourself the evidence is there

ED I'd have to disagree with you here...engineering degrees at UWI are watered down...I can show you the syllabus for an electrical and computer engineering at FIU and you would sheit bricks when you compare it to here.

Postby maj. tom » September 28th, 2018, 7:34 am

Postby The_Honourable » September 28th, 2018, 8:18 am

neilsingh100 wrote:Specifically, Times Higher Education ranked The UWI at 591 out of the 1,258 universities which made the list.

In a nutshell.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 28th, 2018, 8:28 am

Firstly, this is for the Mona Campus, not St. Augustine.
Secondly, UWI placed 591 out of 1258 and not within the top 5% of the ranking.

One cannot conveniently choose to say they are within the top 5% within the world when the study did not evaluate all the universities in the world. It assumes that all other universities excluded from the study are automatically worse than the 1258th placed university.

Postby hydroep » September 28th, 2018, 8:29 am

Eh, Top 5%? Somebody obviously get pay-off...:|

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 28th, 2018, 9:05 am

silent_riot wrote:Firstly, this is for the Mona Campus, not St. Augustine.
They looked at all campuses. UWI's regional headquarters is in Jamaica that is why that country is listed.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 28th, 2018, 9:36 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have been saying it for years right here on tuner and most refused to believe it.

God no, not even remotely close.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 28th, 2018, 10:29 am

Ppl doh unnerstand sumthing basic bout education. Iz not always about ranking, prestige or how difficult the course work.

About half the worth of the university degree iz based on the alumni network and the perceived brand.

So ppl who went UWI and/or have found UWI matriculates to be outstanding will tend to hire more UWI graduates.

Other than that. Not many ppl have heard of UWI in forin esp in middle Merica

Postby Gladiator » September 28th, 2018, 9:40 pm

silent_riot wrote:Firstly, this is for the Mona Campus, not St. Augustine.
Secondly, UWI placed 591 out of 1258 and not within the top 5% of the ranking.

One cannot conveniently choose to say they are within the top 5% within the world when the study did not evaluate all the universities in the world. It assumes that all other universities excluded from the study are automatically worse than the 1258th placed university.

That's our press at work.... fooling people with stats.... just like the whole Petrotrin fiasco!!!

carluva

Postby carluva » September 28th, 2018, 10:05 pm

Not at all true.

Many of UWIs engineering degrees at the BSc level do not meet the requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC. In fact, for many of them, a post graduate degree is required to meet the educational requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC.

The last time a UWI undergraduate electrical engineering degree was accredited was as far back as 1998 afaik. After that, accreditation from the then IEE (now IET) was lost for some time.

There is also no such thing as accreditation by a country such as USA, Canada and Europe. Professional bodies such as IET, IMechE, IChemE, IEEE etc are responsible for the accreditation of the programme for their respective professional engineering regulatory body in the respective country. UWI degrees align to the UK to meet the requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC.

Postby Gladiator » September 28th, 2018, 11:54 pm

carluva wrote:

Not at all true.

Many of UWIs engineering degrees at the BSc level do not meet the requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC. In fact, for many of them, a post graduate degree is required to meet the educational requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC.

The last time a UWI undergraduate electrical engineering degree was accredited was as far back as 1998 afaik. After that, accreditation from the then IEE (now IET) was lost for some time.

There is also no such thing as accreditation by a country such as USA, Canada and Europe. Professional bodies such as IET, IMechE, IChemE, IEEE etc are responsible for the accreditation of the programme for their respective professional engineering regulatory body in the respective country. UWI degrees align to the UK to meet the requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC.

Most of what you just said there is wrong buddy....Only Civil Eng currently has no accreditation. Everything else in Engineering is internationally accredited IEEE, IChemE, IMechE.

Postby MaxPower » September 29th, 2018, 4:31 am

Lmao....ok

Postby stev » September 29th, 2018, 5:24 am

According to a statement from The UWI, the rankings show that The UWI is located among the 1,258 top universities in world for 2019.

...5% title. lol :lol:

edit: OP is a UWI student of course; explains their grasp on mathematics....
Last edited by stev on September 29th, 2018, 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » September 29th, 2018, 5:25 am

padnah did his phd there, and went to a german uni to colab on a paper. when he saw what those students was doing, he felt ashamed of how unprepared he was.
while they learning how to investigate, invent and innovate, in uwi all they know to do is kiss the lecturers' ass.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 29th, 2018, 6:11 am

Gladiator wrote:
carluva wrote:

Not at all true.

Most of what you just said there is wrong buddy....Only Civil Eng currently has no accreditation. Everything else in Engineering is internationally accredited IEEE, IChemE, IMechE.

Ok gladiator, and you are basing this on what information exactly? What exactly is wrong, according to what you know?

My friend, please dont try to misconsture anything i have said, i am merely trying to educate and advise of the right information. Have a look for yourself

https://www.engc.org.uk/education-skill ... se-search/

Use that link and search for the university of the west indies where you will see what the engineering council recognises as accredited programmes and what is needed to achieve the requirements for CEng as set out in UK SPEC. This is but one of the data points and facts i have used to summarily make the post above, noting that i didnt intend to go into an essay or monologue on this topic.

And please do not spread propaganda about the Civil Engineering degree. It is recognized by the engineering council and has accreditation.

What may have thrown you off is my statement "Many of UWIs engineering degrees at the BSc level do not meet the requirements for CEng" which after now re-reading should be corrected to "Many of UWIs engineering degrees at the BSc level do not meet all the requirements for CEng"
Last edited by carluva on September 29th, 2018, 6:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 29th, 2018, 6:35 am

sMASH wrote:padnah did his phd there, and went to a german uni to colab on a paper. when he saw what those students was doing, he felt ashamed of how unprepared he was.
while they learning how to investigate, invent and innovate, in uwi all they know to do is kiss the lecturers' ass.

So true, it was the same for me. When I saw what undergraduates in Europe and the UK were capable of, I realized how badly off UWI was.

UWI barely holds on to their accreditation for engineering.

Their syllabus are extremely outdated. They dumb down anything complex. And then students just rely on drafts to get through.

Don't even get me started on comp sci, 1 year in a top university covers more than 3 years of UWI's comp sci.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 29th, 2018, 6:44 am

Daran wrote:
sMASH wrote:padnah did his phd there, and went to a german uni to colab on a paper. when he saw what those students was doing, he felt ashamed of how unprepared he was.

So true, it was the same for me. When I saw what undergraduates in Europe and the UK were capable of, I realized how badly off UWI was.

Their syllabus are extremely outdated. They dumb down anything complex. And then students just rely on drafts to get through.

Don't even get me started on comp sci, 1 year in a top university covers more than 3 years of UWI's comp sci.

And this is precisely why post graduate learning is needed for many engineers to be able to even put one check mark in the journey to CEng.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 29th, 2018, 7:45 am

De medical division is extremely outdated. We as a country is suffering today because of it. Pretty sure uwi doctors can't legally work in a first world country with their uwi qualifications without having to a lot more courses. I guess that's why most people go st.georges in Grenada or England universities.

Anyways, let meh take meh panadol.

carluva

Postby carluva » September 29th, 2018, 8:15 am

Gladiator wrote:
carluva wrote:

Not at all true.

And by the way Gladiator, IEEE does not perform accreditation of any programme in Trinidad and Tobago. They merely identify who is the institution that accredits the associated programme. See link below for you information.

http://accreditation.org/accrediting-bo ... and-tobago

Postby Gladiator » September 29th, 2018, 8:33 am

Daran wrote:

They still stuck teaching first principles while the rest of the world teaching how to use software to create solutions...

Postby sMASH » September 29th, 2018, 8:47 am

The impression I got is like the uwi admin has a public servant attitude to how they run the place, people and courses.

And we see how well that attitude is working fir petrotrin.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 29th, 2018, 10:05 am

People should look at a degree as an investment and if you do the ROI a UWI degree is good value for money if you want to stay in the Caribbean. There are obviously better foreign universities but they cost a lot of money and only make sense if you want to live and work outside the Caribbean. I know people that got open scholarships and have degrees from top international universities (i.e. Harvard, Stanford, MIT, Oxford, Cambridge etc) and came back to Trinidad to get the same pay as people with UWI degrees. In fact a lot of them actually end up working for UWI. Trinidad employers do not value degrees from prestigious institutions any differently than UWI degree. There are also UWI alumni working for Fortune 500 companies like Google, Facebook, Amazon etc so there is no barrier there either. I think the big area where UWI alumni fall short is in entrepreneurship and wealth creation. Very few examples of UWI grads that started their own business with nothing and now are very successful.

Postby hydroep » September 29th, 2018, 11:10 am

One could make the case that there are more successful business people who don't have/didn't start off with degrees...:|

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » September 29th, 2018, 2:23 pm

Okay, seems good....591 :/

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 29th, 2018, 4:12 pm

I have conflicting views about UWI, for me I found that many UWI graduates that go abroad get good jobs and do well, even for the medical sciences I know of a few that got scholarships and they said that the entrance exams were no more difficult than at UWI and they were fairly well prepared. Even when they went there their degree prepared them for the local qualifications or the exams set by the local body.

With regards to engineering yeah the mechanical engineering degree is for the most part good. I admit they are primarily centred around oil and gas but the fact is they got there with their UWI degree. Many are field engineers and are travelling the world, if the degree was so useless why would the multinationals spend money to move them, wouldn't it be better to recruit locally? In some cases though few UWI engineers are or have been promoted to managers, in this case he left the country early so maybe the market was different then.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » September 29th, 2018, 4:22 pm

Some times from my experience, the people who complain about UWI the most are/were the students who were struggling or had poor study habits and wanted the freedom but a high school study environment.

With respect to the article I thought at one point it was at most the upper 20% (I stand corrected) not certain if that is it now.

With regards to innovation and invention true we are behind but I wouldn't blame the university for that though, that could very well be cultural, in the sense that we are a risk averse people. Yes the University can put in place a safe environment for this but still you are fighting a mentality.

Remember the price of failure is higher here than in other countries and societies.

Innovation and invention and real technological development tends to happen in areas where you have a good safety net and so you are safe in your decision to take risks and try different things.

With respect to the 591 is that out of the 1,258 Universities or out of the 25,000. The article makes mention of 25,000 accredited Universities of which 1,258 are top universities and that UWI is 591 of that.

So out of the claimed 1,258 "top universities" then UWI resides somewhere around the 50% range, or to be specific 46.98% to 2 d.p. or 47.0% to 3 s.f..

If we take that the article claims 25,000 accredited institutions and UWI ranks at 591 then that would put it some where like 2.364% (which sound suspect even to me...well this value anyway) or 2.36% to 2d.p..

I could not find the University listed on the Academic Ranking of World Universities. According to that ranking the Caribbean didn't even make is as a region that could be selected.

http://www.shanghairanking.com/ARWU2018Candidates.html

Now Webometrics has another ranking but they split the universities up in St. Augustine, Mona and Cavehill and treat each one individually.

Check it here
http://www.webometrics.info/en/Latin_Am ... 0Tobago%20
and here
http://www.webometrics.info/en/world?page=19

St. Augustine has a rank of 1991 out of 11,995 which would make it some where in the 16.6% (that was my 20% figure). Now this method only considers research and contributions to papers made by local staff which is still high, well higher than I thought.

From all of this UWI is still a descent return on investment especially given the availability of GATE. It is wonderful opportunity to have in your country, and for it to at one point be free..... after all that you still complaining, what more do you want? I mean why complain about UWI and rest of the country is fall the firetruck apart....UWI may very well be the best thing....its has been some positive international attention and given the kind of international attention we've been getting lately it is a good point to take note of.

Something like this would make sense though in light of the lowered number of students on account of GATE not being as easy to obtain now more than ever the university may have to look to other means of getting funding, maybe now they may make a greater effort to better their public profile.
Last edited by Numb3r4 on September 29th, 2018, 4:22 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Daran

Postby Daran » September 29th, 2018, 7:03 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Some times from my experience, the people who complain about UWI the most are/were the students who were struggling or had poor study habits and wanted the freedom but a high school study environment.

With respect to the article I thought at one point it was at most the upper 20% (I stand corrected) not certain if that is it now.

With regards to innovation and invention true we are behind but I wouldn't blame the university for that though, that could very well be cultural, in the sense that we are a risk averse people. Yes the University can put in place a safe environment for this but still you are fighting a mentality.

Remember the price of failure is higher here than in other countries an societies.

Innovation and invention and real technological development tends to happen in areas where you have a good safety net and so you are safe in your decision to take risks and try different things.

With respect to the 591 is that out of the 1258 Universities or out of the 25,000. The article makes mention of 25,000 accredited Universities or which 1258 are top universities and that UWI is 591 of that.

So out of the 1258 then UWI resides somewhere around the 50% range.

Correct.

Also I've noticed 3 types of UWI bashers.

1. The UTT/SAMS/SBCS etc crowd who vex they couldn't get into UWI and/or insecure of their own qualifications.
2. Those you mentioned, the struggling students who end up blaming the lecturers and institution for their failings in UWI.
3. Those who took on post-grad work in much better interrogation institutions who realized how low the educational standards and expectations at UWI really is.