Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

axe

Re: Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Postby axe » August 9th, 2020, 3:46 pm

Anyone knows of Varnish in aerosol available locally?

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 10th, 2020, 5:36 pm

Rovin wrote:^^^^agreed 100%

like most beginners i went thru d typical black&deck\skil\craftsman carbide blades then i graduated onto dewalt which i tort at d time was very good , ran them for yrs until last yr when i tried a freud combo blade , WOW compared to d dewalt , 1st thing u notice is d drastic blade noise reduction then cleanest\crispness of d cuts , cuts faster too

frued is still considered mid level by expert woodworkers

so cud only imagine what top of d line ridge carbide or forrest blades wud cut like ... they priced at about 4-5 times more frued , i doubt i will ever spend dat amt

Thanks for all the advice regarding the table saws folks!

And yeah hoss, They did some intense research to know exactly where to make holes and cuts on the blade to reduce resonances (aka ringing).
Just make sure you clean the grooves every now and then.

I tried all kinda madman ting myself, tried gluing CD's to the blades to kinda dampen it too :lol:
(DONT DO THAT, I didnt run it for long, made a slight difference. But plastic and high RPM don't mix)

Postby Rovin » August 10th, 2020, 6:59 pm

buhwiddyfork u is a rel crazy man trying to mod ur blade u lucky u never damage urself , dise 1 thing i never see any good youtube woodworker ever recommend doing

fling wey dem doctored blades & get some freud diablo ... i see some ppl recommending a brand call CMT Orange which supposed to be good too , good ting hard to find down here so u might have to amazon it in

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2020, 8:08 am

soooooo many blades for every option, and man wanna modify? O_O

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 13th, 2020, 8:36 am

MG Man wrote:soooooo many blades for every option, and man wanna modify? O_O

I am a man of science, with a sprinkle of tomfoolery and dotishness

Postby MG Man » August 13th, 2020, 10:37 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
MG Man wrote:soooooo many blades for every option, and man wanna modify? O_O

I am a man of science, with a sprinkle of tomfoolery and dotishness

this I can respect :lol:

Postby timelapse » August 13th, 2020, 11:03 am

axe wrote:Anyone knows of Varnish in aerosol available locally?

Clear or stained?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 16th, 2020, 11:56 pm

Guys what brand sanding sealer would you recommend for teak flooring? Also where can i get an industrial flooring sander to rent? One more, would you varnish or lacquer a teak flooring?

Postby eliteauto » August 17th, 2020, 12:17 am

timelapse wrote:

Clear or stained?
Harris has a few both clear and stained, I got those at second crossing hardware. I also got the Krylon brand at either Sherwin Williams or FT Farfan can't remember which

Postby Gladiator » August 17th, 2020, 6:17 am

Saw some at TMZ in Monroe road on Saturday
eliteauto wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Clear or stained?
Harris has a few both clear and stained, I got those at second crossing hardware. I also got the Krylon brand at either Sherwin Williams or FT Farfan can't remember which

Postby eliteauto » October 10th, 2020, 9:59 am

My next project will be based on these pics, I should be starting next week once I have the time, anyone knows if hairpin legs ( or anything similar) are available locally?
audio cabinet.jpg
pallet-TV-stand-with-hairpin-legs-2.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2020, 10:19 am

i can make those easy
but tbh they will scratch your floor

Postby Rovin » October 10th, 2020, 11:08 am

speakers may sound better loading off nearer to d floor so dont use too high castors

as a alternative some upholstery stores like radica stock hard plastic feet which can slide around if u cleaning d floor ....
Last edited by Rovin on October 14th, 2020, 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » October 14th, 2020, 5:58 pm

Hi guys. Just got into some woodworking. Was looking to skybox an electric or cordless nail gun but decided to ask if anyone has one they’re willing to sell first? I don’t want to get a compressor as that’s extra noise and money to fork out. That’s why I’m gearing towards the electric or cordless. If anyone has, message or post here. Thanks.

R_ali21

Postby R_ali21 » January 15th, 2021, 12:27 pm

Anyone knows where I begin to look for a decent table saw at a reasonable price? Pooran chootoo on El secorro main road has a Chicago electric 10" 13amp I think, table saw for 2700 I've checked Pillai, Allied home center, peakes and bhaghwansinghs but nowhere seems to have any tablesaws around the 3000$ range

Postby Rovin » January 15th, 2021, 2:51 pm

R_ali21 wrote:Anyone knows where I begin to look for a decent table saw at a reasonable price? Pooran chootoo on El secorro main road has a Chicago electric 10" 13amp I think, table saw for 2700 I've checked Pillai, Allied home center, peakes and bhaghwansinghs but nowhere seems to have any tablesaws around the 3000$ range

i take it u looking at "job-site saws" , those 3k & under are more or less d same & fall into "econo" home user category

when u up into 6k + category brands like dewalt, bosch , makita , metabo etc wud be of a much better built quality , u dont see much of them locally & d prices not easy so u might want to look to ocean 1 in

professional real table saws cost a arm\leg ...

R_ali21

Postby R_ali21 » January 16th, 2021, 10:32 am

Rovin wrote:i take it u looking at "job-site saws" , those 3k & under are more or less d same & fall into "econo" home user category

when u up into 6k + category brands like dewalt, bosch , makita , metabo etc wud be of a much better built quality , u dont see much of them locally & d prices not easy so u might want to look to ocean 1 in

professional real table saws cost a arm\leg ...

Thanks. I think an "econo" saw might fit my needs, I might only use the saw a couple times a month, until I can buy a better one or use it until I make back my money with it.
It's just I really don't know where to look

Postby Rovin » January 16th, 2021, 11:13 am

goggle it man

Allied
Laughlin & De Gannes
Southern Wholesale Stores
Pillai Tools Company Ltd
Home mart
SSL Southern Supplies Ltd.
FT Farfan
William H scott
Khanico
A. Moses & Sons Limited

others i cant recall ... call , message, drive around, check out, then check reviews online b4 u buy ... go with well known brands , i dont trust all those chinese brands flooding d market right now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2021, 7:48 pm

Postby Rovin » January 16th, 2021, 9:47 pm

^^^ 1st time i saw a YT vid on how to make that i was fascinated , about a yr after i bought a good bandsaw a while back & 1 of main reasons for it was to 1day make 1 of those just for d heck of it .... i eh try it yet :oops:

R_ali21

Postby R_ali21 » January 18th, 2021, 12:12 pm

Rovin wrote:goggle it man

Allied
Laughlin & De Gannes
Southern Wholesale Stores
Pillai Tools Company Ltd
Home mart
SSL Southern Supplies Ltd.
FT Farfan
William H scott
Khanico
A. Moses & Sons Limited

others i cant recall ... call , message, drive around, check out, then check reviews online b4 u buy ... go with well known brands , i dont trust all those chinese brands flooding d market right now

Thanks again I'll definitely check out these places and do my research before I buy

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2021, 9:08 am

First attempt at something big: 4 x 2 x 8 cupboard, mostly because sheets come in 4 x 8 :lol:
Bought a circular saw blade from Peake's to cut the melamine. Worked really good
Typical beginner mistake: lack of patience with some of the frame cuts
Also working alone, I should have attached the 4 x 8 back sheet before the shelf braces, because it's now more rhombus than rectangle...so now to remove the shelf braces and pull it square, and attach the backing to hold it in shape
It will be going on caster wheels so the plan is to make a rectangular base for the wheels and then attach that to the cupboard
Doors will be attached with concealed cabinet hinges
WhatsApp Image 2021-02-01 at 8.14.08 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-02-01 at 8.15.12 AM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2021-02-01 at 8.15.13 AM.jpeg

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2021, 12:58 pm

^^^ looks good

melamine rel nice to work with it cause surface already finished but hadda engineer ur project so no screws or end grain showing , u need a blade with plenty carbide teeth , i never like any blade without carbide teeth , they dont cut clean & bind too much ... avoid pitchpine aka termite food

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2021, 1:23 pm

I'll be hiding the edges with cedar strips, but you can also buy matching 'iron-on' edge strips on a roll from amazon
I really want to invest in a Kreg pocket hole jig at some point
This cupboard is for storage of random car parts etc so not really fussed over exposed screws. It's really for practice
I was happy with the blade. The cut edges were dead smooth

Postby Rovin » February 3rd, 2021, 6:18 pm

carpenters edge has d edge banding in a few popular wood species , bought some there year b4 , cant recall price but iirc it was about same or cheaper than from foreign ...

Postby MG Man » February 4th, 2021, 8:11 am

Took off the braces, pulled it square, and nailed on the backing before reattaching the braces. Feeling much better nowImage

R_ali21

Postby R_ali21 » February 22nd, 2021, 9:48 pm

So after a lot of consideration I decided to hold off on buying a table saw and go for for something like a track saw instead. I think this might be a good solution until I can find and afford a good table saw. That being said what are some thoughts on the kregg accu cut and the kregg acs? Has anyone used these systems or anything like these before? Is it worth getting the full track saw over the jig?
https://shopssltt.com/saw-adaptive-cutting-sys#
https://shopssltt.com/system-guide-track-48-quot

Postby Rovin » February 23rd, 2021, 10:54 am

cant really compare d 2 , track saw basically does only thing , table saw has huge advantage in making multiple cuts a breeze along with numerous home made jigs ppl make for them

i did some research on track saws while back , 3 names rule makita , festool & what ppl call d king : mafell which very expensive

alot of ppl rec d makita

imo i got by for yrssss with simple squeeze clamps & a 4 ft level , if u need to cut 8ft just use d straight edge of another sheet of ply\mdf ...

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2021, 12:08 pm

yes a good straight edge and circular with blade square to its base can do the job for a lot of basic work

Postby MG Man » February 23rd, 2021, 12:25 pm

Rovin wrote:
imo i got by for yrssss with simple squeeze clamps & a 4 ft level , if u need to cut 8ft just use d straight edge of another sheet of ply\mdf ...

that's how I cut the 4x8 MDF sheets for that cupboard I built
Takes a lil practice if you totally green though.
What I did not consider was insufficient support of the sheet. As I was almost to the end, it pinched the circular saw blade. The resulting fidgeting caused me to go off a bit