Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Re: Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Postby Rovin » November 8th, 2019, 11:05 am

pugboy wrote:You will need help to lift the dw735 planer
Best to have it on a rhs stand on wheels and a good 20amp outlet, it trips a 15amp easily.

^^^yep when i hefted it last wk i realized that , manual says about 90lbs iirc & like u said i already planned to rest it on a 2x4' RHS table i already have here , sunday when i home i gonna installed some casters on d table b4 i put d planer on it

just a heads up on casters : fair n square near chaguanas flyover has some decent casters at a fair price

in order to move that lathe yesterday i got 2 pieces of mdf & screwed [4] 4" casters on each board , 1 board under each of d 2 legs otherwise no way i wuda been able able to move about 200+lbs by myself

i wud like to take pics of my stuff but pics wud not come out clean with my old ass phone , have a nice cam phone coming sometime next wk ...

Amit

Postby Amit » November 27th, 2019, 9:44 am

where can i get planed teak in central to buy
was thinking to buy a planer and jointer, but its for weekend projects

Postby Rovin » November 27th, 2019, 10:15 am

^^^londenville sawmill , they will do d jointing & planing at a additional cost ....

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 1st, 2019, 10:17 am

Now seeing this thread. Looking to do teak flooring on my home. Any one did this job? Thinking about using 1x3 teak as a sub flooring and nail the teak planks tounge and groove onto the 1x3. Not sure it to use glue in the tounge and groove. First wood working project for me. Looking to get a table saw, router and electric hand planer. Appreciate any advice. Thanks.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 1st, 2019, 10:19 am

Amit wrote:where can i get planed teak in central to buy
was thinking to buy a planer and jointer, but its for weekend projects

Looking for the same thing. Got my teak at lalls.

Postby Rovin » February 15th, 2020, 12:15 pm

been a while since i built anything but few days ago i helped my bro in law built these 2 small shelves , both are 1ft deep , shorter 1 is 24" wide x 3ft tall other is 30" wide x 4ft tall

made of white 5\8 melamine & 1\4 melamine for d back , sides were rabbet & dado cut joints using just my tablesaw , normal evostik wood glue in d joints , no nails or screws were used - glue with clamps .... on back panel U shaped staples from a air gun were used to hold it in place , exposed edge of d wood was covered by heat activated edge white banding which was d 1st time i had caused to try it

dont mind d dirtiness & dust in d pics but they come out good ...

back real dirty , just needs a good wipe ...

Postby gastly369 » February 15th, 2020, 2:00 pm

Pvc board doors.. And shelves installed recently
done by LSR customz
IMG_20200212_215603-01.jpeg
IMG_20200212_215436-01.jpeg

demented

Postby demented » February 18th, 2020, 12:29 pm

gastly369 wrote:Pvc board doors.. And shelves installed recently
done by LSR customzIMG_20200212_215436-01.jpegIMG_20200212_215603-01.jpeg

Where can I get PVC sheets to buy?

Postby X_Factor » February 18th, 2020, 12:54 pm

I need to get a trophy cabinet built for where I work
Cuboid shaped with back top and bottom out of wood and sides and front out of glass
Anyone can do that msg me
306 5816
Job is located in tunapuna

Postby gastly369 » February 19th, 2020, 2:43 pm

demented wrote:
gastly369 wrote:Pvc board doors.. And shelves installed recently
done by LSR customzIMG_20200212_215436-01.jpegIMG_20200212_215603-01.jpeg

Where can I get PVC sheets to buy?
Seebalack hardware penal

Postby Rovin » May 28th, 2020, 8:59 pm

so 6mths ago i bought this & only a few days ago i finally got around to making a good 24x24x32.5 1x1x1.8mm RHS stand on casters for it , with it on d stand d outfeed table is same height as my worktable which is near 35" tall

machine works damn good , wood comes out smooth like it polish - i wish i bought it yrs ago since lumber is never consistent thickness

its noisy & pelts alot of dust far , i ordered a 4" flex hose to connect it to my 2hp harbor freight dust collector ...

doh mind d flaky paint on d gate :oops: , its on d list of things to do .... 8-)

Postby pugboy » May 28th, 2020, 9:04 pm

Best in its class, i have one a few years now, loud no ass and can trip a 20amp breaker.

Buy mineral spirits to clean the rubber rollers as the chips will stick to them.
Also use corrosionx or drop of oil on them black bolts on top, they rust easy.
Car wax the bed, don’t bother to buy them digital gauge, I put one on and don’t use it as it’s better to just plane down incrementally and use a calipers to check thickness.
Of course you just know to not use dirty lumber or the blades will nick.

You also cannot change the speed unless it is running, can damage something.

Postby Rovin » May 28th, 2020, 9:23 pm

nice, thanks for d tips

did alot of research b4 buying it , for d price its good otherwise anything else better is like 2-5 times more

when i bought this i also got d shop fox 1854 drum sander, it wasnt cheap, but i used mine few times already & its worth it

if u dont own a drum sander yet its also a must have , saves a ton of work , just send it in & stand up watching d machine do all d hard work , sends out a ton of dust so that 4" flex hose i ordered which is 20ft long , 1\2 of it is for this machine too ...

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2020, 1:18 pm

Postby pugboy » May 29th, 2020, 1:23 pm

boy i fraid pallet wood
plenty sand grits in them to nick blades
i learned the hard way

Postby Rovin » May 29th, 2020, 1:33 pm

i remember what u posted about it a while back so that vid was dedicated to u & others who thinking about doing it

for those of us who also do metal work , its like trying to salvage a rusty piece of steel when its more cost\time\energery effective to simply get a new piece of steel ...

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 4th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Rovin wrote:so 6mths ago i bought this & only a few days ago i finally got around to making a good 24x24x32.5 1x1x1.8mm RHS stand on casters for it , with it on d stand d outfeed table is same height as my worktable which is near 35" tall

machine works damn good , wood comes out smooth like it polish - i wish i bought it yrs ago since lumber is never consistent thickness

its noisy & pelts alot of dust far , i ordered a 4" flex hose to connect it to my 2hp harbor freight dust collector ...

doh mind d flaky paint on d gate :oops: , its on d list of things to do .... 8-)

Price and where you bought it pls.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 4th, 2020, 3:59 pm

I need an industrial sander to sand 2000sq of teak floors. New installation.

Postby Rovin » June 4th, 2020, 4:42 pm

^^^ i posted this in d tools section last wk about d dewalt planer ....

Rovin wrote:yep amazon for it , iirc was either 565 or 585 + sh to here & local taxes

i brought in some woodworking stuff & other stuff by larparkan sea about 6mths ago & total taxes was about 2k tt so i cant give an exact figure

up to today i was in bhags chag branch & i see they have d lesser model that looks like this for 6k tt ... https://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DW734-2-I ... 0000CCXU6#

Postby Chimera » June 5th, 2020, 6:01 pm

How much something like this might cost to build
IMG-20200605-WA0023.jpeg

streetglow18

Postby streetglow18 » August 2nd, 2020, 5:06 pm

Who can build aquarium cabinets wholesale?

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 2nd, 2020, 6:27 pm

Good day all

Where is a good place to get entry level table saws at a reasonable price?

No cheap ting, but no buss head price ting either

Postby Rovin » August 2nd, 2020, 7:23 pm

^^^ kinda contradicting urself eh

cheap tablesaw locally look for black & decker, skil ,stanley , last time i checked a while back these wud be in d 2k range

much better 1 like dewalt, makita, bosch wud be double that price range ...

Postby maj. tom » August 2nd, 2020, 8:09 pm

Check Allied Home Center in San Fernando. They have a lot of brands at good prices.

But like Rovin mentioned there, there are the professional brands that cost more for obvious reasons. Even in Stanley they have the FatMax line which is supposed to be aimed at professionals. The cheaper brands are very good for home use, so don't hesitate if you see a good price.

Postby pugboy » August 2nd, 2020, 8:17 pm

the most important part of a table saw is how well the fence can be adjusted

Postby X_Factor » August 2nd, 2020, 9:05 pm

How much u wanna spend?
ruffneck_12 wrote:Good day all

Kronik

Postby Kronik » August 3rd, 2020, 3:46 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Good day all

I bought the one from pricesmart, king is the brand. Got it for some projects at home, does the job and cuts accurately. It's a portable one though, so you can throw it in the vehicle and move with it if necessary, cost like $1800 when I got it. Built a lot of shelving and drawers with it

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2020, 3:51 pm

A good quality blade will make a world of difference on the table saw too.

Postby Rovin » August 3rd, 2020, 6:01 pm

^^^^agreed 100%

like most beginners i went thru d typical black&deck\skil\craftsman carbide blades then i graduated onto dewalt which i tort at d time was very good , ran them for yrs until last yr when i tried a freud combo blade , WOW compared to d dewalt , 1st thing u notice is d drastic blade noise reduction then cleanest\crispness of d cuts , cuts faster too

frued is still considered mid level by expert woodworkers

so cud only imagine what top of d line ridge carbide or forrest blades wud cut like ... they priced at about 4-5 times more frued , i doubt i will ever spend dat amt

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2020, 6:50 pm

I also switched to a freud combo blade from the stock dewalt.
but i eventually got both rip and crosscut blades and they were a big improvement to the combo blade.