Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Youngstar1989

Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 23rd, 2018, 12:04 am

Good morning,

I am interested in learning joinery carpentry and woodworking fot DIY projects.

Any tuners willing to share ideas on these?
Any suggestions on these?

Feel free to ask questions, answer questions post pictures, advertise ur work and help each other.

Re: Carpentry, Joinery and woodworking Forum

Postby ruffneck_12 » September 23rd, 2018, 9:11 pm

Been trying to get my skills good enough to make a coffee table using this joint.

Youngstar1989

Postby Youngstar1989 » September 28th, 2018, 12:19 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:Been trying to get my skills good enough to make a coffee table using this joint.

Looks. Really good

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2018, 12:20 pm

youtube has ALOT of training information FREE!

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2018, 12:29 pm

^^^indeed & on any topic , past few mths i watching youtube vids more than a i watch my tv ....

Postby black start » September 28th, 2018, 12:41 pm

Hopefully this thread builds some momentum...

Liking the idea

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » September 28th, 2018, 3:29 pm

black start wrote:Hopefully this thread builds some momentum...

Liking the idea
I knew u wood be excited bout wood

Postby black start » September 28th, 2018, 3:32 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
black start wrote:Hopefully this thread builds some momentum...

Liking the idea
I knew u wood be excited bout wood
Who woodn't be?

demented

Postby demented » September 28th, 2018, 3:36 pm

I am looking for recommendation for a good router table.

Postby Rovin » September 28th, 2018, 4:25 pm

demented wrote:I am looking for recommendation for a good router table.

a while back i was curious about this & looked at it online & to me i dont see d value in spending over us$100 for 1 when u cud probably just buy d plate for it & simple under mount a router under a table top or work bench top ... :|

Postby MG Man » September 28th, 2018, 4:46 pm

demented wrote:I am looking for recommendation for a good router table.

buy a plunge router, build a basic table with 2x4s, construction ply and laths, use a length of aluminium angle for a guide....make some slotted holes to make the guide adjustable....a good table is a very versatile tool and it isn't rocket science to build....if you want a lighter option than 2x4s you can use rhs and bolt everything together

Postby eliteauto » September 28th, 2018, 5:11 pm

looking for some table legs for a repurposed door table, any suggestions of where sells these?
legs.jpg

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2018, 5:49 pm

you doing mortise/tenon joints with those legs if you get them ?

I like woodwork but wish I had the time, have a complete equipment set for a shop too

table saw
jointer(bought second hand here)
planer
routers
cyclone dust collection

I planned to build some jigs to do mortise/tenon joints but just havent gotten around

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 28th, 2018, 5:57 pm

This is one trade that has the most amt ah smartman...everybody does claim deh is ah "joiner" or "builder"

Postby eliteauto » September 28th, 2018, 6:28 pm

pugboy wrote:you doing mortise/tenon joints with those legs if you get them ?

I like woodwork but wish I had the time, have a complete equipment set for a shop too

table saw
jointer(bought second hand here)
planer
routers
cyclone dust collection

I planned to build some jigs to do mortise/tenon joints but just havent gotten around

If I get them I will do the joints if I'm doing a full frame before putting on the door top, also playing with the idea of doing 2 "A" horses with a locking bracket for the door so I can easily fold it away when not in use. Table will be for outdoor entertaining together with a pallet bar (already built) and some stools (about to be built)
table.jpg
ideas-para-reciclar-puertas-1.jpg

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » September 28th, 2018, 7:13 pm

Pallet bar pics please?

Postby eliteauto » September 28th, 2018, 7:35 pm

jl6106 wrote:Pallet bar pics please?

First pic shows a chalkboard I made to hang on it as a sign/menu/display board
IMG_20180928_193028.png
IMG_20180928_192647.png
IMG_20180928_192614.png

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » September 28th, 2018, 7:36 pm

Inspired

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » September 28th, 2018, 7:38 pm

Made some planters with pallets, hope to make a single sofa with some other material I have.

Postby pugboy » September 28th, 2018, 8:02 pm

Need to treat for termites as pallet wood is like ice cream for them

telfer

Postby telfer » May 23rd, 2019, 10:04 pm

Guys looking for someone to build a table any suggestions???

Postby sMASH » May 24th, 2019, 8:19 am

timelapse wrote: yo

Postby timelapse » May 24th, 2019, 10:28 am

sMASH wrote:
timelapse wrote: yo

I see what you did there.
Its been a long time in the making, but I am starting a guitar build soon.Waiting on a few essential parts from amazon.Will try to Document the build as much as possible.

Postby sMASH » May 24th, 2019, 10:30 am

Lol. I learn how to tag people on chuna...

Postby Rovin » May 24th, 2019, 11:02 am

not advertising for nobody but for those who never been to carpenters edge & kelvin ghany go check them out , they have plenty material & stuff used for cabinetry & wood works ....

Postby timelapse » June 7th, 2019, 7:11 am

Anybody on here that owners a jointer machine and would be willing to put a straight edge on some mahogany for me?

Postby pugboy » June 7th, 2019, 7:50 am

Yeah, my jointer is 6” width
Port of spain

timelapse wrote:Anybody on here that owners a jointer machine and would be willing to put a straight edge on some mahogany for me?

Postby timelapse » June 8th, 2019, 9:14 am

pugboy wrote:Yeah, my jointer is 6” width
Port of spain

timelapse wrote:Anybody on here that owners a jointer machine and would be willing to put a straight edge on some mahogany for me?

Thanks man
I trying it by hand wih a big jackplane.If I ent get through ,will take you up on the offer for certain.

Postby Rovin » June 8th, 2019, 11:50 am

^^^better u pay to get it done right with a machine than killin out urself , u cud hire a saw mill or woodworker to machine it

pugboy wa kina jointer u ha dey ?

jointer , thickness planer , drum sander , bandsaw is next on my hoping to buy list

it eh not no small $ cause i eh wanna go el cheapo route then regret not buying better ....

Postby 3stagevtec » June 8th, 2019, 1:24 pm

Picked up this bad boy yesterday.. Can't wait to put it to some use. Have a suspended bed I want to build for my son.