Who will be affected by Petrotrin closing

kstt

Postby kstt » August 30th, 2018, 9:10 am

People not seeing how big the effect this will have and are only concerned about themselves.

Please add to the list.

Who will be affected:

Employees, Employee families, contractor, contractor employees, contractor employee families, taxis, food vendors, hire purchase stores, banks, gas price, lpg price, fast food price, transport for EVERYTHING, etc.

kstt

Re: Who will be affected by Petrotrin closing

Postby kstt » August 30th, 2018, 9:13 am

Education in terms of school fees

Daran

Postby Daran » August 30th, 2018, 9:17 am

People

Postby Dizzy28 » August 30th, 2018, 9:18 am

Taxpayers who will no longer have to fund a persistent loss making entity

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 30th, 2018, 9:25 am

china.. when they sell the plant as scrap iron to china.

Moobs

Postby Moobs » August 30th, 2018, 9:28 am

Mother, father, sister, son, uncle, aunty, pumpkin vine family, panda from school, fella who I ain't know personally but de bribe was jus right, pet dog, pet cat, pet snake, common fowl.- All employed at petrotrin...

Postby tr1ad » August 30th, 2018, 9:41 am

kstt wrote:People not seeing how big the effect this will have and are only concerned about themselves.

Please add to the list.

Who will be affected:

Employees, Employee families, contractor, contractor employees, contractor employee families, taxis, food vendors, hire purchase stores, banks, gas price, lpg price, fast food price, transport for EVERYTHING, etc.

you're sure of lpg and gas price increase how exactly?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 30th, 2018, 9:49 am

tr1ad wrote:
kstt wrote:People not seeing how big the effect this will have and are only concerned about themselves.

Please add to the list.

Who will be affected:

you're sure of lpg and gas price increase how exactly?

Everybody saying so on the book of faces...it must be fact!!!

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » August 30th, 2018, 9:58 am

credit unions and ripple effect to the members of the credit unions cuz when debt runs high dividends and so on start too cut down and less profit made

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2018, 10:04 am

Better we pay a lil more than pumping Billions into that dead Horse to the benefit of those working there so that they could live better than you and not helping the country.
:2gunfire: Petrotrin :deadhorse:

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 30th, 2018, 10:08 am

Sundar wrote:Better we pay a lil more than pumping Billions into that dead Horse to the benefit of those working there so that they could live better than you and not helping the country.

Lol so tell me how much times u try to apply for work there but they didnt want your 3 cxcs

Sounding like a typical sour grapes

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » August 30th, 2018, 10:19 am

Employees will be most affected since it is highly unlikely they will get a job with the same benefits as Petrotrin but hopefully they should get a decent severance pay and those over 50 get offered early retirement.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » August 30th, 2018, 10:21 am

Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:Better we pay a lil more than pumping Billions into that dead Horse to the benefit of those working there so that they could live better than you and not helping the country.

Lol so tell me how much times u try to apply for work there but they didnt want your 3 cxcs

i never wanted to work there. because it was always some family pull in thing with them. Sour Grapes YES! Not my Tax dollars going in that waste bin. :fist: :drinking:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » August 30th, 2018, 10:22 am

the PNM cause all the unions say they going to vote out d pnm and put MSJ

Postby Redman » August 30th, 2018, 10:26 am

Well we would need to know who loses their purchasing power...PERMANENTLY

Permanently =Those sent home
Less
1)Those re hired by Petrotrin in its restructured form
2)Those who elect VSEP and are pensioned/lumpsummed(whats the impact of a refinery operator receiving his package)
3)Those that find employment elsewhere.

Im suggesting that the net loss will be survivable.

Given what the union says...their members are excellent workers. Excellent workers in a highly specialized field....therefore they should be HIGHLY EMPLOYABLE and in demand.
Ent the union says that Petrotrin has terrible working conditions?
Ent the union says that Petrotrin management corrupt?
Ent the union say that factually their members under paid?

Why the fcak allyuh members want to stay so bad???
The workers should be happy to leave..realize their true potential in the open market.
In companies that are better run and pay properly and have better conditions

Same for management.
Same for the refinery.

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2018, 10:34 am

nismo1325 wrote:credit unions and ripple effect to the members of the credit unions cuz when debt runs high dividends and so on start too cut down and less profit made

Good point. TECU — the goto CU for many of these workers — may be hit particularly hard if the unemployed are forced to draw down on their savings to live. Less capitalization will impact on the return to other members not directly affected by the closure. Those who depend on the dividend income may have to make some adjustments as well.

Postby hydroep » August 30th, 2018, 10:36 am

Here's an interesting article from today's Newsday about the potential fallout in Marabella:

Marabella business owners on edge
Vashtee Achibar 9 Hrs Ago

BUSINESS owners and vendors in Marabella are bracing for a severe cut in profits on the heels of Tuesday’s announcement of the imminent closure of Petrotrin’s refinery. The move would result in over 2000 workers being on the breadline.

Marabella is a bustling commercial centre located on either side of the Old Southern Main Road next to Pointe-a-Pierre, the home base of Petrotrin.

The area is known for round-the-clock activity with its many restaurants, bars, groceries, variety stores, hardware and furniture stores and vendors selling a wide variety of fast foods and fruits to cater to the needs of the oil company’s workforce and other customers.

Alim Amin is the longest surviving business owner in Marabella. He runs a variety store and a floral business. He said his father owned the first store close to 90 years ago. He recalls at that time Texaco was the company in charge of the refinery and drilling operations. His family members own the well-known Amin’s roti shop and other businesses in the area.

Amin said the refinery’s closure will have a huge impact not just on Marabella and the nearby communities, but the entire country. “It’s a disaster, it will really affect us in Marabella, it will affect employment, it will affect sales. We get a lot of orders from Petrotrin, especially with the fresh flowers.”

A short distance away, owner of the popular Belle Bagai Bar, Roxanne Williams lamented that business is already slow, and believes the situation will only get worse.

Fruit seller Sandra Ramesar, who has been plying her trade for over 20 years near the roundabout in Pointe-a-Pierre, said her business will be severely affected. As she skilfully cut a coconut for a waiting truck driver, Ramesar said the news shocked her. “What we going to do now? Petrotrin workers are our main customers. They come in the morning and buy fruits and they come back lunchtime to buy drinks. I thought they would have come to some agreement, not send everybody home.”

Sandal vendor, Kenneth Bobas who sells close to the Marabella market had a more ominous warning. “Uncertainty in the air. People bawling. It so close to Christmas. People will be waiting outside the groceries to raff (grab) people’s bags when they come out. When you lay off so much people, you could expect anything. People who never take up a gun might take up one now to rob.”

Doubles vendors Diahann and Elizabeth said they are already experiencing a drop in sales.

Postby sMASH » August 30th, 2018, 10:37 am

How much was the yearly salary bill for petrotrin?
That's the money that will be removed from all grocery, hardware, doubles man, bar, club, clothes store, online shopping.

All the tax money they don't have to prop up petrotrin with, not coming back to the small man.

They will find some other mega project to spend it on, and charge u to use it. Y? Cause upkeep.

Govt building sandals, out of their own pocket.. Lol no taxes. Can u see it? Yes, once u pay.
Govt took taxes to bail out clico. Do u have shares in rbtt? No, unless u bought bonds that will only mitigate inflation.
Government build car park for maracas. U hadda pay, or they wreck ur car.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 30th, 2018, 10:54 am

sMASH wrote:How much was the yearly salary bill for petrotrin?
That's the money that will be removed from all grocery, hardware, doubles man, bar, club, clothes store, online shopping.

All the tax money they don't have to prop up petrotrin with, not coming back to the small man.

They will find some other mega project to spend it on, and charge u to use it. Y? Cause upkeep.

Govt building sandals, out of their own pocket.. Lol no taxes. Can u see it? Yes, once u pay.
Govt took taxes to bail out clico. Do u have shares in rbtt? No, unless u bought bonds that will only mitigate inflation.
Government build car park for maracas. U hadda pay, or they wreck ur car.

In return for bailing Clico GORTT received ownership of their assets including some prime ones like MHTL, Angostura, HCL etc. The bailout is being repaid either through earnings from those entities or the sale of assets.

You all make out to seem they just handed Duprey money without him having to repay it.

Postby sMASH » August 30th, 2018, 11:10 am

I saying that the money used to do the bailing out was taxes, not out of their personal pockets. So therefore, it automatically belongs to the people anyway.
So what ever profits those assets generated would be going towards national revenue anyway.
Leveraging them to a select few, would mean they would have to repay a select few. That select few may be the small man who decided to buy bonds... How much of that was actually in reality thr small man, and how much was actually the padnah... They have real figures. We will only know what they tell us.
And when that money to repay the bond holders is doled back out, that would have come at the expense of money that the government could have used as annual revenue.

And I thinking come 5 years, those assets will become a liability, and have to be sold of in a fire sale... To try to repay some of the bonds... And not every body will get back. And guess who will get first preference to get cashed back....

Postby tr1ad » August 30th, 2018, 11:34 am

Redman wrote:Well we would need to know who loses their purchasing power...PERMANENTLY

Less
2)Those who elect VSEP and are pensioned/lumpsummed(whats the impact of a refinery operator receiving his package)

Given what the union says...their members are excellent workers. Excellent workers in a highly specialized field....therefore they should be HIGHLY EMPLOYABLE and in demand.

The workers should be happy to leave..realize their true potential in the open market.

Same for management.
Same for the refinery.

ayeeeeeee ayeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

kstt

Postby kstt » August 30th, 2018, 11:45 am

Fence line communities, NGOs, steel band sponsorship

kstt

Postby kstt » August 30th, 2018, 11:51 am

They keep quoting how much Permanent employees but Petrotrin has 80% of temporary employees which not being counted

kstt

Postby kstt » August 30th, 2018, 11:53 am

Postby j.o.e » August 30th, 2018, 1:22 pm

Villa (classic seamen) ..... strong Petrotrin clientele

airuma

Postby airuma » August 30th, 2018, 3:22 pm

Agreed 100%!!!

BTW, according to the arguments put forward by the union and it's members, the ones that will be most affected are the government ministers and managers. This is an ideal opportunity to get rid of them..... in fact..... maybe Roget and the members can make an offer to purchase the refinery and show us how it's done.

What will happen to the AV drilling scandal now?

airuma

Postby airuma » August 30th, 2018, 3:24 pm

Redman wrote:Well we would need to know who loses their purchasing power...PERMANENTLY

Less

Same for management.
Same for the refinery.

The same could be said about mittal workers! How marketable are those skills now?

nick5434

Postby nick5434 » August 30th, 2018, 3:52 pm

N

Postby De Dragon » August 30th, 2018, 3:58 pm

Monkey Man wrote:

Why everytime PT workers does get so touchy and defensive? The company failed because of collective failures.
Failure to manage properly.
Failure to be efficient.
Failure to be productive.
Failure to prosecute corruption, and send the message.

Postby Redman » August 30th, 2018, 4:24 pm

Biden said something today while speaking at That fella funeral.

He said that if we attack motives instead of the substance we can never reach consensus.

Seems correct.