Re: T&T Earthquakes Thread

Postby brickman » December 7th, 2021, 4:31 pm

Haven't felt any of them.

death365

Postby death365 » December 7th, 2021, 5:51 pm

Even the earthquake gods trying to shake out the pnm from Tobago.

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2021, 8:07 pm

wda didnt know it had another 1 & around that 3.45 time i was sitting in a chair watching d road

[edited]
since that big 6.9 quake on d Richter scale back in 2018 its like i lost nearly all my quake feeling sensations ... :oops:
Last edited by Rovin on December 9th, 2021, 12:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » December 7th, 2021, 10:54 pm

Rovin wrote:wda didnt know it had another 1 & around that 3.45 time i was sitting in a chair watching d road

since that big 1 which was near 7 few yrs ago like i lost nearly all my quake feeling sensations ...

You talking about the one in 2018? To me that was the big one

Postby Rovin » December 8th, 2021, 10:35 am

yes 6.9 on d richter scale in 2018 , i think every living thing felt that 1 ....

VII

Postby VII » December 8th, 2021, 11:21 am

Man that one was real..I was in my steel warehouse building with steel vent siding on 2 sides ,steel truss roof and 6x6 vertical H beams and padna the roof look like it was gonna cave in on us and the columns were jumping and wining ,the steel vent panels were flapping like ole tin ,couldn't hold much longer, we were trying to observe to see what was falling to time our escape,was seeing a house opposite shaking as we focused on the exit gate .

Then it occurred to me my kids in school and if the school held up, phew it was rel scary man..biggest natural disaster scare of my life thus far..

In many other places lesser earthquakes have wreaked havoc with death and destruction, we rel lucky in this place I tell you !

Rovin wrote:yes 6.9 on d richter scale in 2018 , i think every living thing felt that 1 ....
Last edited by VII on December 8th, 2021, 11:45 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby timelapse » December 8th, 2021, 11:32 am

Rovin wrote:yes 6.9 on d richter scale in 2018 , i think every living thing felt that 1 ....
Hossss.I was in a doorway with a coworker holding on for dear life .
Meanwhile at home, my wife said a tsunami was going on in the aquarium

VII

Postby VII » December 8th, 2021, 11:48 am

We does be hard on T&T and rightly so at times but there's a certain amount if overkill that goes into local private everyday construction that you don't see in many other developing countries .

The amount of steel, concrete beam size , fastening/tying in methods ,foundation methods etc, its not pretty, but clearly very effective, many foreigner workers I know have commented on this.. Jamaicans Venes Guyanese mostly, and I've also heard it in local construction circles over the years .

Postby j.o.e » December 9th, 2021, 10:54 am

Ah yes. For some reason I read your post as 7 years ago. Dyslexia

Sundar

Postby Sundar » December 9th, 2021, 12:13 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Ah yes. For some reason I read your post as 7 years ago. Dyslexia

i read it same as well, if you didn't post this i would have never noticed :lol:

Postby Rovin » December 9th, 2021, 12:22 pm

ok i can see how my wording sounded offkey, so just edited my poor engrish ..... :oops:

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 18th, 2022, 11:02 pm

Okay, let's here it

Postby bluefete » January 18th, 2022, 11:04 pm

Heard it through my headphones.

Small little itty bitty thing though. Thankfully.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 18th, 2022, 11:09 pm

Felt in chaguanas.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 18th, 2022, 11:09 pm

Postby Les Bain » January 18th, 2022, 11:13 pm

Small jolt and heard a cracking noise.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2022, 11:16 pm

Felt two distinct shakes ....Tunapuna area. Pretty light though

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2022, 12:05 am

Didn't feel a thing in Chaguanas

Postby Rovin » January 19th, 2022, 10:59 am

hmmm well i now reading about quake last night, i was wide awake watching YT & as usual eh feel 1 ting .......... :oops:

david12

Postby david12 » January 19th, 2022, 12:31 pm

Rovin wrote:hmmm well i now reading about quake last night, i was wide awake watching YT & as usual eh feel 1 ting .......... :oops:
That's because you cause it with the big speaker you post up on that FB group yesterday

Postby MG Man » January 19th, 2022, 1:58 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Didn't feel a thing in Chaguanas

prob depends on the structure. We felt a pretty good jolt

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 20th, 2022, 1:28 pm

how to prepare for the big one that will destroy TT? how much food to stock up on as how long would ttec and wasa take to restore service?

Postby redmanjp » January 20th, 2022, 1:51 pm

daring dragoon wrote:how to prepare for the big one that will destroy TT? how much food to stock up on as how long would ttec and wasa take to restore service?

TTEC as well as telecommunications providers will take days to weeks depending on the damage.

Stock up on canned food items.

Wasa will take months.

Either u have plenty bucket and a river close by or setup your tank to ketch rain water for the next few months. Serious.

Postby timelapse » January 20th, 2022, 2:52 pm

redmanjp wrote::|
daring dragoon wrote:how to prepare for the big one that will destroy TT? how much food to stock up on as how long would ttec and wasa take to restore service?

TTEC as well as telecommunications providers will take days to weeks depending on the damage.

Wasa will take months.

Either u have plenty bucket and a river close by or setup your tank to ketch rain water for the next few months. Serious.
What if a crack in the earth eats up your stash?
Keep the cans strapped to your body at all times.

On a real note...If you are living on a fault line like Lengua and those places, have an evacuation plan to somewhere not in that area.I am almost certain that you know somebody in a safe area that will provide you with at least shelter.Trinis generally not as selfish as Joel Osteen.

Postby MG Man » January 20th, 2022, 3:04 pm

timelapse wrote:
Hossss.I was in a doorway with a coworker holding on for dear life .
Meanwhile at home, my wife said a tsunami was going on in the aquarium

I was home watching the bookshelf trying to fall before the TV...I figure well dis be it, ah dead, so I casually filming the scene while expecting de house to collapse around me
After tings calm down, I say nice, lemme watch the vid..............phone was on photo, not video :|

Postby aaron17 » January 20th, 2022, 3:26 pm

damn!

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » January 20th, 2022, 5:07 pm

timelapse wrote:
redmanjp wrote::|

Wasa will take months.

What if a crack in the earth eats up your stash?
Keep the cans strapped to your body at all times.

On a real note...If you are living on a fault line like Lengua and those places, have an evacuation plan to somewhere not in that area.I am almost certain that you know somebody in a safe area that will provide you with at least shelter.Trinis generally not as selfish as Joel Osteen.

no rain water in dry season.
if you look at a bucket of water per person a day to bathe, and then flush the toilets plus bottle water for drinking then that is a lot of water to store. i assume in that situations criminals will come in the night an raid your water tanks. wasa might supply truck water.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » January 21st, 2022, 7:51 pm

:| You studying water tank lol.Once your water tank not on a stand. But suppose the earth open up under your water tank. I had some premonitions with earthquake and trust me one second you good next minute you and your whole house sideways.