RANT: I cant listen to this ANYMORE!

angel_player

RANT: I cant listen to this ANYMORE!

Postby angel_player » August 3rd, 2018, 2:38 pm

I'm here sitting and listing to the radio and really missing the old 95.1 The Best Mix. All now so I would have been hearing some good 80s music.

Ever since they changed over to this 95.1 remix it's like the radio will be playing but I am not listening. I find this new format is real failure. I also do not know where to hear 80s on radio now steups.

Anyone going to their poolside party in Hilton later?

AH want to hear some good music man!

Why the rass they did away with a good radio station and now they are playing some real kinda $hid

I don't mind they mix in the new music but oh gosh what happened to the good vibes music they used to play?

Right now I have to listen to some fool singing that "he cant help himself because he caught up in the middle of it" and he lookin for something he cant have"

What type of nonsense is this? Bring back good music on the flipping radio man!

Re: RANT: I cant listen to this ANYMORE!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 3rd, 2018, 2:52 pm

IMO their playlist is now very similar to 94.7 now, however they do play some 80's, 90's and 2000's music that you won't hear on 94.7.

the only "old" song 94.7 plays often is Rise Against - Help Is On The Way, and I can't figure out their fascination with that song either - it remains on their playlist all the time.

Postby hydroep » August 3rd, 2018, 2:53 pm

I agree...the new programming seems to be targeted to the millennial generation. Declining profit in catering to the Gen X market.

You can still try 97.1 and Heartbeat Radio: There's some 80s intermixed with modern tunes but its mostly pop and adult contemporary.

For a while there 107.7 had Rennie Bishop on mornings and he also had a Saturday show similar to the one he had in the 80s...man was rocking some serious club tunes. Buh...it change...:cry:

Best option > Go digital and make your own playlists. Talk done.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 3rd, 2018, 2:55 pm

hydroep wrote:I agree...the new programming seems to be targeted to the millennial generation. Declining profit in catering to the Gen X market.

You can still try 97.1 and Heartbeat Radio there's some 80s intermixed with modern tunes but its mostly pop and adult contemporary.

For a while there 107.7 had Rennie Bishop on mornings and he also had a Saturday show similar to the one he had in the 80s...man was rocking some serious club tunes. Buh...it change...:cry:

Best option > Go digital and make your own playlists. Talk done.

this...get flash drive, load your styles, listen to them

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 3rd, 2018, 3:05 pm

^ streaming services like Apple Music and Spotify are great too, as they have their own "stations" that you can create based on your music preference

angel_player

Postby angel_player » August 3rd, 2018, 3:11 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ streaming services like Apple Music and Spotify are great too, as they have their own "stations" that you can create based on your music preference

Can I stream this with a data plan throughout the month or will it excessively drain my data?

angel_player

Postby angel_player » August 3rd, 2018, 3:13 pm

hydroep wrote:Best option > Go digital and make your own playlists. Talk done.

I hear you. But radio has a "randomness" to it you know? You never know what song is going to play next.

angel_player

Postby angel_player » August 3rd, 2018, 3:19 pm

hydroep wrote:I agree...the new programming seems to be targeted to the millennial generation.

So what? Is it only millennials that listen to radio in Trinidad and Tobago? No more 80s concerts?

Children of the 70's, 80s and early 90s are people too!! :x

We would like to go to a concert once in a while or hear something directed at us on radio.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 3rd, 2018, 3:43 pm

angel_player wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ streaming services like Apple Music and Spotify are great too, as they have their own "stations" that you can create based on your music preference

Can I stream this with a data plan throughout the month or will it excessively drain my data?

An hour of music at good quality is about 40MB streaming.
If you stream one hour of music per day, you'll average around 1.2GB of data per month. Apple Music uses a variable bitrate (64kbps, 128kbps and 256kbps) for streaming so depending on if you are on Wi-Fi or cellular it will adjust the audio quality, which will affect data usage.

One of the coolest things about it is you can say "hey Siri, play a song by The Cranberries" or "Hey Siri play Linger by The Cranberries" or "Play 90's rock music" without moving your hand from your steering wheel.

Another cool thing is you have the entire iTunes library at your disposal, any song you want, as often as you want.

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2018, 5:18 pm

Gentlemen, there is a station for men whom love women. Do you all love women? I be loving and miring dem women.
Radio for women, and the men who love them. 104.1 I think it is. All I know, its a preset station on the radio.

Postby ismithx » August 3rd, 2018, 5:25 pm

Or easy solution, have a Digicel plan, I on postpaid and have unlimited data and access to ad free streaming on the d'music app... Selection is a bit limited but it's something you can use

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2018, 5:53 pm

They have a music app?

Postby MaxPower » August 3rd, 2018, 6:16 pm

Youtube playlists FTW

Postby Les Bain » August 3rd, 2018, 6:46 pm

Stream KEXP 90.3 FM. Talk done. You're welcome.

Postby j.o.e » August 3rd, 2018, 7:29 pm

Apple Music .... lock the thread

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 3rd, 2018, 8:02 pm

They keep playing and following 94.7......no rock , no alternative, I download radio stations and play on my flash on my journeys

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2018, 8:10 pm

They hired a bunch of discards from 94.7 96.1
Bunch of overtalkers woft

Postby streetbeastINC. » August 3rd, 2018, 8:26 pm

Y Eh that is correct what gets me pissed is that some of these radio gals and guys go as far as offer medical advice.!!!!

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 3rd, 2018, 8:42 pm

The radio just caters to the majority of listeners, who are dumb young people.
Pop Music on a whole has gone down the drain and here's why:

-The same 4 chords over and over
-Lack of emotion/energy when singing/playing instruments.
-LACK OF REAL INSTRUMENTS.
-Lack of humanity, even if real instruments are used they quantize/pitch correct the hell out of it to get each note perfect. (there's even a goddamn knob to turn to add some form of error to mimic humans playing)
-Lack of stimulating lyrical content (proably to cater for a dumb generation)
-Lack of innovation, To someone new its hard to tell the difference between tiesto and guetta. It all sounds the same
-It's easy to pirate FL studio and make a beat, back then you had to have actual talent to be dedicated to pay for studio time.
-AUTOTUNE

Everyone wants to make music to make money. Real art is created through emotions.
You can even compare Eminem from the early 2000's to now. He's driven by money instead of emotion, and his songs reflect that. Even Rap God is impressive, but it will never come close to Stan or Kim. Even he said that MMLP was his best work, and it was also when he was at his lowest.

Nowadays if you want to hear good music you have to surf the underground trends on youtube.

Tbh a good place to start is the "wa song you listening to now" thread on tuner. Lots of good recommendations there.

RIP xxxtentacion cord.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 3rd, 2018, 8:48 pm

^^ kinda relates to dancehall today vs dancehall in the 90s

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2018, 9:13 pm

I find rovin taking long to reach.
Crazyballhead is a next one with.taste

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 3rd, 2018, 9:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:^^ kinda relates to dancehall today vs dancehall in the 90s

exactly

Dem producers was making some revolutionary sounds back in the day with basic equipment.
US producers still sampling 90s dancehall songs to this day.
Kanye west wouldn't be kanye west without old jamaican music.

Nowadays is just synths and autotune. (the lyrics was always sheit but it was vibes still)

You could be singing absolute sheit, but once you have energy and a good beat, you'll make millions.

Postby VexXx Dogg » August 3rd, 2018, 10:04 pm

I stopped listening to radio because we have THE SHITTEST ADS EVER. I don't mind if the ads were good, but OMFG.

If you want randomness, drop a single folder with all the 80's music you like and don't like and use the random function.
I usually have albums sorted by artists/cd releases, but then I also have another USB with a mixed bag of music for that randomness.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 3rd, 2018, 10:12 pm

More ads and talking than music too

People don't wanna hear anything but the music.

Doh get me started on dotish sound effects on 94.1 too

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 3rd, 2018, 10:30 pm

Correct, Pandora or Apple music.

Free vpns available app store for Pandora to work too

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2018, 10:46 pm

Ollor men like women?

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2018, 10:55 pm

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2018, 8:24 am

lol @ local radio.
Use a Google Home or Alexa and you can listen to anything you want on demand or any other radio station in the world.

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 4th, 2018, 10:39 am

The CD player in my car malfunctioning so I've resorted to listening to the engine knock

Bun radio yes

Postby Rovin » August 4th, 2018, 11:19 am

nervewrecker wrote:I find rovin taking long to reach.
Crazyballhead is a next one with.taste

i reach 8-)

does be on here everyday but sometimes i jes read & not post

fully agree with ur station choices - 97.1 & 104.1 daz it for me

d rest of stations have way too much CRAP & way too many ADs

95.1 is d king of ads : 2 songs with 10 ads + d DJs talking out more ads , hush dey kyant & play more music even if is shittty music they playing

95.1 gone thru from d time they changed it & all kinda outta timing uncivilized songs being played now u does have to check d dial to see if is really them

whats with stations suddenly playing spanish songs .... we have some venes yes but allyuh doh start dat

radio quality is also poor across d board

OP i suggest u DL a few gigs of 70-80-90s or whatever & simply let it play randomly , thats what i do in front my store daily ........ :|