Inside - Ceilings, Ceilings, Ceilings

Postby RedVEVO » May 27th, 2018, 3:15 pm

What are the different types or the BEST "inside" ceilings available on the market in T&T ?

Residential and Commercial .

Price is not important .

Look & warranty & durability is important .

Examples :

1. Suspended
2. Groove Ply
3. PVC type.
4. Gypsum
5. Others ?
Last edited by RedVEVO on May 27th, 2018, 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Inside - Ceilings, Ceilings, Ceilings

Postby RedVEVO » May 27th, 2018, 4:22 pm

Like nobody have ceiling in their house ?

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » May 27th, 2018, 6:36 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Na we like to look up at the galvanize and Purlin.

Gypsum is nice but when there is a leak its the worst. Suspended to me is a better bet as when you running extra wires in a house you can easily lift a tile and secure it above. As for the plastic you said( its PVC) and it has a nice glossy finish. I don't know if the PVC is fire resistant though.

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » May 27th, 2018, 7:30 pm

Insurers give trouble when pvc is used gypsum is best and you can also do suspended ceiling with gypsum tile that looks and works well only problem with suspended ceiling you're limited to just doing it flat gypsum yo ihu could create unique shapes etc

Postby The_Honourable » May 27th, 2018, 7:49 pm

Gypsum ceilings are the best but you need professionals to build it, otherwise you will see hairline cracks and minor swells after a few years. It will take some time to complete and lots of dust generated by sanding but once it is done, no regrets. The more elaborate the design, higher the cost. Easy to patch but if it is a wide area, replacement is not that easy but not that hard either. Paint finish is nice but not glossy. You will get some mold after a few years but can easily be cleaned with vinegar. Damaged easily by water although a minor leak is ok. There is sheetrock to combat water bit it is expensive. Fire resistance is high, termite proof, keeps the area cool. If it's in an area that you are not living in such as a new construction site, gypsum is the best way to go in terms of inconvenience. I can recommend you a guy who just did a gypsum ceiling replacement.

PVC ceilings also need professionals. With a cheap gypsum ceiling you can get away for a while but the cheapness of a pvc ceiling will be so obvious you will cry. Not all PVC is the same! Some have better chemical compositions than others which can affect your health in the long run. Cost is cheaper than gypsum, less pattern the better. Ideal if you are already living on a property, you need renovations and can't move. Prone to "heat" bends and bulges if it is too close to a metal roof and in a kitchen area. You will have a "gloss" or "shiny" finish. Waterproof, easy to clean, not prone to termite, lightweight, easy to replace. Insurance will buss your ass with premiums as it is a fire risk. Even if it is a slow burn, the toxic fumes can kill. There are also contractors internationally are learning about the dangers of PVC building materials which you can check up on.

Suspended ceiling are the cheapest, less pattern the better. Fire resistant, simple to install, if you want to run wiring, pipes or repairs, you can simply remove the tiles for access. Can tolerate some water leaks but if the water is dirty, the staining is permanent so you would have to paint over it (good luck in finding the shade of white to match a standard tile) or change the tile. Cleaning the cobweb of the tiles can be a scene as for some reason the crevices and corners encourage spiders. Installing too close to the roof (heat) can cause the tiles to bulge at the middle, the edges lifting a few mm of the channels resulting in creases after some years.

Can't speak about wood/ply but cheaper the wood, more prone to termites. High end such as Teak cost money. 90's and before you would see ceiling wood finishes. Today you will mostly see that as a decorative ceiling in commercial properties.

If you want the best finish, Gypsum. If you don't care about property insurance and gloss, PVC. Cost and ease of access above the ceiling (pipes, wires, etc) suspended ceiling.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 27th, 2018, 9:03 pm

Personal home or commercial/rental?

Postby RedVEVO » May 27th, 2018, 9:59 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Gypsum ceilings are the best but you need professionals to build it, otherwise you will see hairline cracks and minor swells after a few years. It will take some time to complete and lots of dust generated by sanding but once it is done, no regrets. The more elaborate the design, higher the cost. Easy to patch but if it is a wide area, replacement is not that easy but not that hard either. Paint finish is nice but not glossy. You will get some mold after a few years but can easily be cleaned with vinegar. Damaged easily by water although a minor leak is ok. There is sheetrock to combat water bit it is expensive. Fire resistance is high, termite proof, keeps the area cool. If it's in an area that you are not living in such as a new construction site, gypsum is the best way to go in terms of inconvenience. I can recommend you a guy who just did a gypsum ceiling replacement.

PVC ceilings also need professionals. With a cheap gypsum ceiling you can get away for a while but the cheapness of a pvc ceiling will be so obvious you will cry. Not all PVC is the same! Some have better chemical compositions than others which can affect your health in the long run. Cost is cheaper than gypsum, less pattern the better. Ideal if you are already living on a property, you need renovations and can't move. Prone to "heat" bends and bulges if it is too close to a metal roof and in a kitchen area. You will have a "gloss" or "shiny" finish. Waterproof, easy to clean, not prone to termite, lightweight, easy to replace. Insurance will buss your ass with premiums as it is a fire risk. Even if it is a slow burn, the toxic fumes can kill. There are also contractors internationally are learning about the dangers of PVC building materials which you can check up on.

Suspended ceiling are the cheapest, less pattern the better. Fire resistant, simple to install, if you want to run wiring, pipes or repairs, you can simply remove the tiles for access. Can tolerate some water leaks but if the water is dirty, the staining is permanent so you would have to paint over it (good luck in finding the shade of white to match a standard tile) or change the tile. Cleaning the cobweb of the tiles can be a scene as for some reason the crevices and corners encourage spiders. Installing too close to the roof (heat) can cause the tiles to bulge at the middle, the edges lifting a few mm of the channels resulting in creases after some years.

Can't speak about wood/ply but cheaper the wood, more prone to termites. High end such as Teak cost money. 90's and before you would see ceiling wood finishes. Today you will mostly see that as a decorative ceiling in commercial properties.

If you want the best finish, Gypsum. If you don't care about property insurance and gloss, PVC. Cost and ease of access above the ceiling (pipes, wires, etc) suspended ceiling.

Thanks Tuner.

Agree with above .

Like the teak idea.

Anybody ever did a wood or laminate ceiling .

Similar to the floor . But on ceiling ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2018, 12:09 pm

What is the average price ( labor & materials ) to do a 3,000 ft suspended ceiling ?

With heavy gypsum tiles.

Time frame ?

Postby Rovin » May 28th, 2018, 3:27 pm

rmrunner wrote:

Na we like to look up at the galvanize and Purlin.

:lol: :lol: :lol: ... he look fuh dat

who remembers d ole time pressed pattern , kinda thin board sheets then used to nail up on wood rafters , i cant recall d correct name for it

i know some houses with it that 30-40yrs old & it still good ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 28th, 2018, 3:32 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Gypsum ceilings are the best but you need professionals to build it, otherwise you will see hairline cracks and minor swells after a few years. It will take some time to complete and lots of dust generated by sanding but once it is done, no regrets. The more elaborate the design, higher the cost. Easy to patch but if it is a wide area, replacement is not that easy but not that hard either. Paint finish is nice but not glossy. You will get some mold after a few years but can easily be cleaned with vinegar. Damaged easily by water although a minor leak is ok. There is sheetrock to combat water bit it is expensive. Fire resistance is high, termite proof, keeps the area cool. If it's in an area that you are not living in such as a new construction site, gypsum is the best way to go in terms of inconvenience. I can recommend you a guy who just did a gypsum ceiling replacement.

I can vouch for the wood ceiling...my folks had this for 20+ plus before renovation was done....once treated properly, you have no problem...when was time for renovation, we opted to leave the wood ceiling (just changed the groove ply) and it like brand new...good treated lumber expensive AF though and well insurance is not a problem.

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2018, 5:37 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

I can vouch for the wood ceiling...my folks had this for 20+ plus before renovation was done....once treated properly, you have no problem...when was time for renovation, we opted to leave the wood ceiling (just changed the groove ply) and it like brand new...good treated lumber expensive AF though and well insurance is not a problem.

Agree :D

Grandparents home have the groove ply - not the cheap one of today.

But it look great and no termites .

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Any other innovative solutions ?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 28th, 2018, 5:54 pm

Diesel and termite treatment goes a long way....couple coats of varnish and you looking better than them pvc thing

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 28th, 2018, 6:36 pm

Wooden beam ceiling with pressure treated pine.

Capture.JPG

Postby rspann » May 28th, 2018, 9:48 pm

What is the average price ( labor & materials ) to do a 3,000 ft suspended ceiling ?

With heavy gypsum tiles.

Time frame ?

Suspended goes from $8 to $12 per sq ft. Gypsum around $12-$18 per sq ft depends on the style. Whether you doing bulkheads ,designs etc. In the Express classifieds you can see the ads and prices in the first section under construction/ ceilings . Randy's custom interiors do all my work and he's very professional and his prices are reasonable. 685 2949.

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2018, 9:53 pm

rspann wrote:

With heavy gypsum tiles.

Time frame ?

Suspended goes from $8 to $12 per sq ft. Gypsum around $12-$18 per sq ft depends on the style. Whether you doing bulkheads ,designs etc. In the Express classifieds you can see the ads and prices in the first section under construction/ ceilings . Randy's custom interiors do all my work and he's very professional and his prices are reasonable. 685 2949.

Ok . Thanks

You is a good Papi .

Randy your son ?

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Wooden beam ceiling with pressure treated pine.

Capture.JPG

Yes !!! Yes, Yes, Yes :D

This is what RedVevo looking for .

40 years in the Sahara Desert.

The Sun , the Rain , the Dust .

It was worth it .

So what is the cost per square foot ?

Any good reliable contractor you can recommend ?

Postby rspann » May 28th, 2018, 10:23 pm

The same thing in teak will look very good and last a very long time. Pine ,no matter how much treatment only lasts so long. If money is no problem, use greenheart, it will last forever. If you do it in groove and tongue it will be a better job than just butting them together. The temperature or even drying out can warp them and make spaces or cause the surface to be uneven . You can get the boards done in groove and tongue panelling by Germantech in Williamsville , he also has all the different types of hardwood selling too.

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 29th, 2018, 2:09 pm

Hardwood was out of my budget. Greenheart for the same 12x14 space in the pic would have been around $9k in material alone.

Did this myself so can't say how much to install. I have found contractors never able to follow instructions or do what I ask.

Postby aaron17 » May 29th, 2018, 4:01 pm

Can you treat back a wood ceiling?

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2018, 4:09 pm

aaron17 wrote:Can you treat back a wood ceiling?

Why not ?

Remove the top and spray with chemicals.

Or find the attic opening and spray from below.

Use a mist blower :D

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 30th, 2018, 11:21 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Wooden beam ceiling with pressure treated pine.

Capture.JPG
Wow. This is my cup of tea