Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 191

sam1978

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby sam1978 » May 15th, 2021, 5:05 pm

Postby MaxPower » May 15th, 2021, 5:32 pm

sam1978 wrote:Waiting for Maxpower. “ a trini force him to do that”.

Sam,

Unable to say at this time, we have to let the investigation run its course….it may well be as you suggested but we do not know for sure.

Remember we do have some crime coming from the Venezuelans, but it remains at an all time LOW.

We will get the one one petty crimes now and then as this.

VII

Postby VII » May 15th, 2021, 5:32 pm

That looking like more than 80K in weed there....plenty packages..

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 15th, 2021, 5:42 pm

sam1978 wrote:Waiting for Maxpower. “ a trini force him to do that”.

Sam,

Unable to say at this time, we have to let the investigation run its course….it may well be as you suggested but we do not know for sure.

Remember we do have some crime coming from the Venezuelans, but it remains at an all time LOW.

We will get the one one petty crimes now and then as this.

Right now the most contraband is coming from there , humans and otherwise, this was just one shipment that was intercepted.

Postby pugboy » May 15th, 2021, 6:19 pm

161 packs
each prob a kilo or more
a few hundred pong easy

VII wrote:That looking like more than 80K in weed there....plenty packages..

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » May 15th, 2021, 6:20 pm

VII wrote:That looking like more than 80K in weed there....plenty packages..

No way that is only only 80K worth.

Postby timelapse » May 16th, 2021, 7:08 am

Nobody want compressed weed.Not even to feed goat.lol

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » May 16th, 2021, 7:46 am

timelapse wrote:Nobody want compressed weed.Not even to feed goat.lol

Goat lives matter.

Postby matr1x » May 16th, 2021, 10:34 am

Going to get info on the head of living waters.

That woman crying about venes having it hard.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 10:46 am

I am a fan of venezuelan women.

Postby alfa » May 16th, 2021, 10:46 am

matr1x wrote:Going to get info on the head of living waters.

Apparently Trinis don't have it hard. This idiot only looking to score woke points for being pro migrant

Postby Kenjo » May 16th, 2021, 11:29 am

matr1x wrote:Going to get info on the head of living waters.

I believe the USA slowed down money aid for them via living waters ?

Postby bluefete » May 16th, 2021, 12:51 pm

I want Ronda Maingot to tell the country how much money Living Waters gets from the United Nations High Commission for Refugees and the government of T&T, to take in Venezuelan refugees / migrants.

She sounding like LW is looking for more money!

Venezuelans in T&T suffering—Rhonda Maingot
By Rphael John Lall -May 15, 2021

Living Water Community director Rhonda Maingot

Venezuelans in T&T are suffering according to the Director of the Living Water Community, Rhonda Maingot.

She painted a very bleak picture of the lives of Venezuelans in T&T calling their situation “dire”.

“They really suffer. The Venezuelans here in T&T suffer. It is horrible to listen to them. A lot of them have been accused of all sorts of things by locals. People do not like them. They know that. All of the time, they are under tackle by T&T nationals. It is not good for the Venezuelans, it is not good for our country,” she said on Friday night at an online seminar hosted by the Trade and Economic Unit of the University of the West Indies (UWI).

Speaking about the impact of COVID-19 on Venezuelans in T&T, she said there has been a “massive loss of livelihoods.”

“This is due to businesses closing and they are on the breadline. There is food insecurity and eating once a day. It has become the norm for them. Sometimes not even eating once a day for many Venezuelan families. Some have contracted COVID-19 and have self quarantined. Many of them have health issues like cancer. It is terrible to hear their stories.”

She also said there are cases of gender-based violence and child abuse in the Venezuelan community in T&T.

Venezuelans are also robbed of their hard-earned money by local criminals.

“There are even cases of kidnapping for money and robberies. People walk into Venezuelans’ homes and the little money that they have saved up under the mattress these bandits take their savings and whatever they have. You could imagine the pain that causes for them. Our sisters and brothers from Venezuela are at the mercy of so many terrible things.”

On the topic of education, she said there are a lot of Venezuelan children here who are not in school.

“Through the United Nations Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF) and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) we work with over 1,000 kids in schools. The Prime Minister has opened up discussions with the Catholic Board and allowed the education board to take children into the schools but COVID came in and nothing came out of it. So we still have all these children. Hopefully, when COVID ends, we can move to the opening of Catholic schools and other denominational schools.”

On a more positive note, she said that Venezuelans are “very keen” on opening their own businesses in T&T.

“A lot of people in this 16,000 registered are very eager to get going and to work and to bring all their skills to T&T and to the economy here. We see a lot of people getting into businesses here and doing well. People also like agriculture and want to get into this.”

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/venezuelans-in-t ... a-maingot/

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2021, 1:01 pm

So, she cool with locals being robbed, raped, murdered, unemployed, underpaid, starving etc.
But an illegal payol coming here uninvited and unannounced and seeing hard times is her priority.

Gtk
If she really wants to help Venezuelans, she should move herself AND that organization to Venezuela.

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 1:02 pm

^ sigh,

Really praying for our Venezuelan brothers and sisters.

They really are going through a tough time.

We all understand the matter of illegal entry and it is against our immigration laws, but we must must understand their situation.

Would really like to thank the Venezuelan community for not overwhelming our healthcare system and maintaining an astonishingly LOW crime rate.

Hoping the Govt can handle the situation a little better.

Last edited by MaxPower on May 16th, 2021, 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 16th, 2021, 1:02 pm

bluefete wrote:I want Ronda Maingot to tell the country how much money Living Waters gets from the United Nations High Commission for Refugees and the government of T&T, to take in Venezuelan refugees / migrants.

She sounding like LW is looking for more money!

Venezuelans in T&T suffering—Rhonda Maingot
By Rphael John Lall -May 15, 2021

Living Water Community director Rhonda Maingot

Venezuelans in T&T are suffering according to the Director of the Living Water Community, Rhonda Maingot.

She painted a very bleak picture of the lives of Venezuelans in T&T calling their situation “dire”.

“They really suffer. The Venezuelans here in T&T suffer. It is horrible to listen to them. A lot of them have been accused of all sorts of things by locals. People do not like them. They know that. All of the time, they are under tackle by T&T nationals. It is not good for the Venezuelans, it is not good for our country,” she said on Friday night at an online seminar hosted by the Trade and Economic Unit of the University of the West Indies (UWI).

Speaking about the impact of COVID-19 on Venezuelans in T&T, she said there has been a “massive loss of livelihoods.”

“This is due to businesses closing and they are on the breadline. There is food insecurity and eating once a day. It has become the norm for them. Sometimes not even eating once a day for many Venezuelan families. Some have contracted COVID-19 and have self quarantined. Many of them have health issues like cancer. It is terrible to hear their stories.”

She also said there are cases of gender-based violence and child abuse in the Venezuelan community in T&T.

Venezuelans are also robbed of their hard-earned money by local criminals.

“There are even cases of kidnapping for money and robberies. People walk into Venezuelans’ homes and the little money that they have saved up under the mattress these bandits take their savings and whatever they have. You could imagine the pain that causes for them. Our sisters and brothers from Venezuela are at the mercy of so many terrible things.”

On the topic of education, she said there are a lot of Venezuelan children here who are not in school.

“Through the United Nations Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF) and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) we work with over 1,000 kids in schools. The Prime Minister has opened up discussions with the Catholic Board and allowed the education board to take children into the schools but COVID came in and nothing came out of it. So we still have all these children. Hopefully, when COVID ends, we can move to the opening of Catholic schools and other denominational schools.”

On a more positive note, she said that Venezuelans are “very keen” on opening their own businesses in T&T.

“A lot of people in this 16,000 registered are very eager to get going and to work and to bring all their skills to T&T and to the economy here. We see a lot of people getting into businesses here and doing well. People also like agriculture and want to get into this.”

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/venezuelans-in-t ... a-maingot/
They are free to return to their homeland if they don't like it here .

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 1:08 pm

Rhonda Maingot really is a gem.

Had the pleasure of meeting her, really really an amazing person.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 16th, 2021, 1:27 pm

Well at least she confirmed that some of them has COVID and are self quarantining. We only have to wonder how many of them living in the same quarters while “quarantining” and how they eating and paying rent while in lockdown.

Postby bluefete » May 16th, 2021, 1:40 pm

MaxP: You will like this.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 2:12 pm

My padna say his dream is to get a Venezuelan girl that could cook like an Indian girl.

He said that is all Indian girls good for since they cannot compete with Venezuelan girls when it comes to anything else.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 16th, 2021, 2:12 pm

Sayers is one of the biggest frauds and idiots there is. I don’t know how he hasn’t been brought to book as yet.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 16th, 2021, 2:14 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:My padna say his dream is to get a Venezuelan girl that could cook like an Indian girl.

He said that is all Indian girls good for since they cannot compete with Venezuelan girls when it comes to anything else.

Birds of a feather flock together. Your padna is a big fool.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 2:16 pm

sam1978 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:My padna say his dream is to get a Venezuelan girl that could cook like an Indian girl.

Birds of a feather flock together. Your padna is a big fool.

Hello sam,

Nice to talk to you again. Never said I agree with him.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 2:18 pm

Sam,

What should I tell him?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 16th, 2021, 2:26 pm

Stop taking to him. Eagles don’t fly with corbeaux.

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 2:27 pm

sam1978 wrote:Well at least she confirmed that some of them has COVID and are self quarantining. We only have to wonder how many of them living in the same quarters while “quarantining” and how they eating and paying rent while in lockdown.

Sam,

It’s obvious that some of them have Covid.

Remember they can either get it from other Venes OR Trinis as well.

Your wonder about them living in the same quarters/household while “quarantining” and eating/payinf rent while in lockdown can be applied the same way Trinis do it bro.

I would like to add, that based on the statistics, Venezuela appears to be the more responsible population.

Postby MaxPower » May 16th, 2021, 2:29 pm

bluefete wrote:MaxP: You will like this.

Hello bluefete,

Thank you.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 16th, 2021, 2:30 pm

sam1978 wrote:Stop taking to him. Eagles don’t fly with corbeaux.

Ok Sam,

Thanks for the advice.

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 16th, 2021, 2:34 pm

sam1978 wrote:Well at least she confirmed that some of them has COVID and are self quarantining. We only have to wonder how many of them living in the same quarters while “quarantining” and how they eating and paying rent while in lockdown.

Sam,

It’s obvious that some of them have Covid.

Remember they can either get it from other Venes OR Trinis as well.

Your wonder about them living in the same quarters/household while “quarantining” and eating/payinf rent while in lockdown can be applied the same way Trinis do it bro.

I would like to add, that based on the statistics, Venezuela appears to be the more responsible population.

That’s the problem. The illegal ones do not present for testing or treatment. They self diagnose, self quarantine (or not) and self treat. The purpose of having legal ports of entry is to document and store info that could be used, in this example for contact tracing and mandatory quarantine.

Technically , your last sentence is correct. Venezuelans seem to be the more responsible population. They are more responsible for importing the virus.
Last edited by sam1978 on May 16th, 2021, 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2021, 5:42 pm

Imagine this.
You have a private company that provides medical services for paying customers.
A mad woman calls you on the phone and asks that you provide your services to illegal aliens that she wants treated, but she wants you to do this for free, while she collects USD from the UN monthly to help those same people.
And just imagine, she playing she more vex than you when you tell her that is not an option and that the best you can do for them is a 10% discount.

Just imagine.