Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes
47%
No
53%

Total votes: 191

Re: Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Postby maj. tom » May 16th, 2023, 1:47 pm

She is right. Something has to be done to treat the situation now, or else in 15-20 years all those kids who aren't going to school will form their own Trini-Venezuelan gangs here and the turf wars will be bloodier than ever. If you think now bad.

But don't listen right. You know nobody eh listening to Kamla. How many years gone by and no proper refugee policy has been developed for this situation. So we will pay. And will vote PNM again.

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2023, 2:02 pm

not 15-20 years
more like 5years them youths gonna be looking for arepa

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2023, 3:56 pm

maj. tom wrote:She is right. Something has to be done to treat the situation now, or else in 15-20 years all those kids who aren't going to school will form their own Trini-Venezuelan gangs here and the turf wars will be bloodier than ever. If you think now bad.

But don't listen right. You know nobody eh listening to Kamla. How many years gone by and no proper refugee policy has been developed for this situation. So we will pay. And will vote PNM again.

and that's only a part of the problem
With the amount of resources being used, and these people contributing absolutely NOTHING, while locals paying for their healthcare at public institutions, they work and pay no income tax or hs, etc, and their presence causing an increase in the cost of our already far too high import bill, how long can any reasonable person believe we can keep this up for before some aspect of our economy or institutions fail?
And when that happens, then what?

Postby paid_influencer » May 16th, 2023, 5:15 pm

The_Honourable wrote:[Kamla] noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

The_Honourable wrote:
[Kamla] noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

tru

Postby paid_influencer » May 16th, 2023, 5:20 pm

The_Honourable wrote:“I am extremely disappointed that the Government has not yet seen it fit to honour our international obligations under the 1951 Convention Relating to the Status of Refugees and the 1967 Protocol Relating to the Status of Refugees.

serious talk, kamla 100% right. We have bona-fide UNHCR registered refugees here and we have not provided to them their due rights in accordance with the conventions we are signatory. but amery browne outside campaigning to be president of the UN general assembly.

kamla position alone on vene regularization would make me vote for her. but kamla burnt we before on promises. i still waiting on term limits and the children's museum.

Postby paid_influencer » May 16th, 2023, 5:41 pm

maj. tom wrote:She is right. Something has to be done to treat the situation now, or else in 15-20 years all those kids who aren't going to school will form their own Trini-Venezuelan gangs here and the turf wars will be bloodier than ever. If you think now bad.

and that's only a part of the problem
With the amount of resources being used, and these people contributing absolutely NOTHING, while locals paying for their healthcare at public institutions, they work and pay no income tax or hs, etc, and their presence causing an increase in the cost of our already far too high import bill, how long can any reasonable person believe we can keep this up for before some aspect of our economy or institutions fail?
And when that happens, then what?

lewwe be real. BE REAL. bringing them into the NIS system will be a net drain. how much maternity benefit we going to shell out. 4 children, 5 children, 10 children, BE REAL BE REAL all nis maternity benefits to be paid and fund already insolvent. might as well scrap nis entirely once the bill comes

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2023, 6:26 pm

she stirring shiet though,

hospital staff lack of language is a nonissue for folks who dont pay a cent in taxes yet dropping anchor babies every 9 months, nobody wants to talk about this elephant in the room for fear of being labelled xenophobic.

I am sure many would like to know the numbers and persons would have contemplated a foia request but holding back
because of a xenophobic backlash

Postby pugboy » May 16th, 2023, 6:28 pm

many venes have come here simply to utilize the free health care
who would not ?

paid_influencer wrote:
lewwe be real. BE REAL. bringing them into the NIS system will be a net drain. how much maternity benefit we going to shell out. 4 children, 5 children, 10 children, BE REAL BE REAL all nis maternity benefits to be paid and fund already insolvent. might as well scrap nis entirely once the bill comes

Postby 88sins » May 16th, 2023, 6:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

The_Honourable wrote:
[Kamla] noted: “Our public primary healthcare system is apparently open to them, but how effective is that when our medical staff do not speak their language?”

tru

Kamla back at hitting the puncheon hard again
If you move to an English speaking country, and could not be bothered to learn the language of the country that you choose to move to, explain to us please why the hell should citizens who are the majority be obligated to take up the language of the immigrants, the minority? Make that make sense.

Either learn English, or accept the limitations that your choices provide. Easy as that.

Postby The_Honourable » May 16th, 2023, 8:08 pm

Venes regularized and their generation to come will more than likely vote UNC than PNM.

Now you understand why Kamla wants them regularized.

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 17th, 2023, 8:03 am

This is fax

The_Honourable wrote:Venes regularized and their generation to come will more than likely vote UNC than PNM.

1.) this isn't a bad thing.
2.) Dont worry, she doesnt have any land next to central bank to give them

Postby MaxPower » May 17th, 2023, 10:47 am

What happened to the Venezuelans going back home? Ent allyuh say that?

Told you Trinis that the Venezuelans are here to stay whether you like it or not.

They WILL settle just as all the other immigrants.

Deal with it.

Postby j.o.e » May 18th, 2023, 9:50 am

The_Honourable wrote:Venes regularized and their generation to come will more than likely vote UNC than PNM.

And most live in areas UNC already win. Maths ain’t mathsing. Central stink with dem

Postby The_Honourable » May 18th, 2023, 10:14 am

j.o.e wrote:

And most live in areas UNC already win. Maths ain’t mathsing. Central stink with dem

True, but this is a long term strategy. Generations to come will not only solidify central but branch out as well. Targets would be most of those marginal constituencies.

Postby paid_influencer » May 18th, 2023, 5:16 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

True, but this is a long term strategy. Generations to come will not only solidify central but branch out as well. Targets would be most of those marginal constituencies.

nah

lewwe be real. BE REAL. The UNC have plenty man in their party that tie up with vene. Kamla interest is to at least speak about policies that give them what they want -- which is vene. BE REAL bE REAL. This ent four-dimensional chess going on. She just giving core unc supporters what they want

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 19th, 2023, 9:47 am

Why not?

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2023, 10:00 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Should Venezuelan refugees be allowed to live in T&T?

Yes

Postby pugboy » May 19th, 2023, 10:34 pm

how many do you think the quota should be?

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 12:00 pm

IMG_1539.JPG

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/m ... ed539.html

For those who may be willing to help, Escalona and her mother can be reached at 1 (868) 3491956 or 1 (868) 767-1517.

Postby adnj » May 22nd, 2023, 1:00 pm

There are just a couple of telephone numbers? No GoFundMe-like website? Not even a PayPal account? What's that about?

You can't be serious about crowd-sourcing your livelihood if you aren't at least doing the basics.

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 1:15 pm

adnj wrote:There are just a couple of telephone numbers? No GoFundMe-like website? Not even a PayPal account? What's that about?

You can't be serious about crowd-sourcing your livelihood if you aren't at least doing the basics.

adnj,

Did you at least call the number for more information?

Postby alfa » May 22nd, 2023, 1:27 pm

I think this country had done enough already. Sorry will not be contributing

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2023, 1:41 pm

alfa wrote:I think this country had done enough already. Sorry will not be contributing

No need to apologize man, it’s your choice and we have to respect that.

Postby toyolink » May 22nd, 2023, 1:48 pm

The question raised here is really out-dated now.
The reality is we now have a population which includes Venezuelan migrants and how we assimilate these people into our society has now become imperative.
I certainly have grave difficulty with how all our children including those of venezuelan migrants are treated and firmly believe that those in authority need to get to work to improve how kids resident here are cared for.
Presently our violent crime situation is a direct consequence of our historic lack of emphasis on issues of nurturing and caring for our children.
The funny thing is children don't really need much, just the opportunity to smile, feel wanted and protected.

Postby adnj » May 22nd, 2023, 2:43 pm

Venezuelans in Trinidad are following the same plan of assimilation that the Jews followed in Palestine more than a century ago.

I'm looking forward to most of the doubles men being replaced by the pepitos vendors.

Postby paid_influencer » May 22nd, 2023, 5:29 pm

boca la boca

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 23rd, 2023, 8:19 am

adnj wrote:Venezuelans in Trinidad are following the same plan of assimilation that the Jews followed in Palestine more than a century ago.

I'm looking forward to most of the doubles men being replaced by the pepitos vendors.

so you are pro Jew occupation of Palestine?

Postby The_Honourable » May 24th, 2023, 10:06 am

MaxPower wrote:IMG_1539.JPG

For those who may be willing to help, Escalona and her mother can be reached at 1 (868) 3491956 or 1 (868) 767-1517.

So while some of our local students not picking up a book, bu**ing behind the water tank during lunch time, whatsapping the maxi conductor, taxing other students in the cafe, and fighting after school over some guyl, imagine a vene who hardly know english and have diabetes came here and get 5 cxc passes with ambitions to be a doctor.

Postby MaxPower » May 24th, 2023, 8:13 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
MaxPower wrote:IMG_1539.JPG

So while some of our local students not picking up a book, bu**ing behind the water tank during lunch time, whatsapping the maxi conductor, taxing other students in the cafe, and fighting after school over some guyl, imagine a vene who hardly know english and have diabetes came here and get 5 cxc passes with ambitions to be a doctor.

SMH

Postby MaxPower » June 1st, 2023, 9:31 am

IMG_1586.JPG

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/us-ready-to-assi ... -children/

God is great.

Our children are our future.