Would You Rather Hustle Or Education?

Re: would you rather hustle or get an education?

Postby alfa » May 10th, 2021, 9:14 pm

wtf wrote:If you are going into your own business, what formal education do you need?
Business Management?
Knowledge of Accounting?
I ask this for all the Science minded graduates who never did any business subjects or courses in there life.
Operating a business successfully may be hard for them.

I believe some basic knowledge as to how to go about the legal framework as it applies to Trinidad like getting your business registered and getting a VAT number and all that. After that lots of common sense. There are many folks with MBAs who cannot run a simple palour and many successful business men who never did a formal business course

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 10th, 2021, 9:21 pm

alfa wrote:
wtf wrote:If you are going into your own business, what formal education do you need?
Business Management?
Knowledge of Accounting?
I ask this for all the Science minded graduates who never did any business subjects or courses in there life.
Operating a business successfully may be hard for them.

I believe some basic knowledge as to how to go about the legal framework as it applies to Trinidad like getting your business registered and getting a VAT number and all that. After that lots of common sense. There are many folks with MBAs who cannot run a simple palour and many successful business men who never did a formal business course
I'm thinking that these business men have to hire accountants to balance their books for them.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 10th, 2021, 9:23 pm

Education does not necessarily mean a degree (or similar ilk)
It could mean short courses to build your skills portfolio.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 10th, 2021, 9:33 pm

The problem with short courses is that they are too watered down to be useful most of the time. Some institutions may be better than others. It really only useful to chuck on a resume if you are young.

I recently finished one from UWI and doing another one right now. Is all textbook theory that hardly has a place in the real world, and a chorus of people with no experience bandying around these ideas like they have a clue.

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2021, 9:35 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:The problem with short courses is that they are too watered down to be useful most of the time. Some institutions may be better than others.

I recently finished one from UWI and doing another one right now. Is all textbook theory that hardly has a place in the real world, and a chorus of people with no experience bandying around these ideas like they have a clue.
boom!!!
one of the worst is those hybrid courses. is like, be careful not to ground off nutten and follow the insturctions. course done. oh, general safety and battery

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 10th, 2021, 9:35 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:The problem with short courses is that they are too watered down to be useful most of the time. Some institutions may be better than others. It really only useful to chuck on a resume if you are young.

What are some essential short courses you think are worth doing for business ownership?

Postby sMASH » May 10th, 2021, 9:45 pm

hustling and education are not mutually exclusive. just because ur in a suit doesnt mean ur not hustling, its just ur level is different.
look at imburt. man hustling a whole HSF

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 10th, 2021, 9:46 pm

wtf wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:The problem with short courses is that they are too watered down to be useful most of the time. Some institutions may be better than others. It really only useful to chuck on a resume if you are young.

What are some essential short courses you think are worth doing for business ownership?

If you looking to be a business owner, you have to try surrounding yourself with those people who either there already or on their way there. They will have the best ideas on what works or doesnt.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 10th, 2021, 10:13 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
wtf wrote:

If you looking to be a business owner, you have to try surrounding yourself with those people who either there already or on their way there. They will have the best ideas on what works or doesnt.

The ones I talked to said get out of Trinidad if you could.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 10:28 pm

Trinidad is pretty much a dead end at this point. Anyone who can leave should leave.

Ask yourself this. Do you want to raise your children in a country where they will have limited opportunities and options in life.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 10th, 2021, 10:30 pm

Don't you think it might get better? I hear talk that it was like this in the 80s.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 10th, 2021, 10:48 pm

I'll disagree. I'm in the belly of the beast, I've done the mix of both academic programmes, as well as short courses.

In my opinion, I get much better value from the short stuff, but then I go outside for that. Foreign unis give a broader perspective and the networking is amazing. Got some serious collab opportunities from these. It costs more, but it's very targeted. My opinion is biased because I use the short training to supplement my formal education - but for an entrepreneur, I am suggesting pursuing courses that give you the best ROI for your circumstance.

A lot of local places just jam you into a room and deliver 20 contact hours of powerpoint and the engagement ends there. A boiler room with a certificate of participation at the end, with no real value.

YMMV.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 10th, 2021, 11:11 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:Don't you think it might get better? I hear talk that it was like this in the 80s.

No it will not get better.
Let me tell you why. Have a seat.
We are going for a history lesson.

Trinidad and Tobago is a "made up" country. What this means is that the people who are residing and governing here were never meant to govern anything. Slaves were never meant to govern anything. Indentured labourers were never meant to govern, that responsibility belonged to a different class of Indians. One that still governs India today. The whites ruling class were essentially white working class brits who were sent to the Caribbean in servitude for crimes etc. Most people who owned plantations in the caribbean never even set foot in the caribbean. They had overseers to handle that. That white working class group essentially became our local whites. They essentially became our ruling elite.

Governance is something that is passed through generations. That is why monarchies exist/existed. That is why America has fought to create a political class for hundreds of years. The Kennedy' or Bush's are a recent example.

The African political/wealthy class are not the descendents of slaves etc. There forefathers were rulers and members of the elite class for centuries. Africans can trace their lineage back hundreds and possibly thousands of years. Africans identify themselves by tribes first and foremost. That solidifies identity and social cohesion.That is also the cause of the many tribal wars that erupt from time to time. You need social cohesion in order to develop.

Contrast this with TT. Our country was never meant to be developed or even last. The caribbean was colonised in order to extract resources(mainly cane and free labour) and export the profits back to Europe. That was the sole purpose so the infrastructure, institutions ,roads and towns that were built were suppose to reflect this. Upon Independence what the country got was exchange. We exchanged the monarchy for a political class that sees themselves as the new Monarch. They don't govern for us. They rule over us. Our resources are still exploited and sent oversees to the benefit of a few and they claim to offer public goods.

The ruling political class essentially controls all of our resources but for personal gain. They then share up these resources to their close friends and family in the form of gov't contracts under the guise of capitalism whilst using "socialism" as the reason. You see the public health sector that costs upwards of 6 billion dollars each year but somehow doesn't get better isn't exactly free. The whole illusion of the "free" health sector is to mask the fact that billions of dollars in tenders actually make their way into the hands of private citizens who are friends and family of the political class. Same goes for education, nat security and works and transport.

There is no real capitalism or socialism here only cronyism and tenderpreneurship. So nothing can improve or actually develop. That is the reality of Trinidad and Tobago. Don't let anyone fool ya. If you want to know what a real country looks like. Just look at all the countries that took the time and resources to develop a vaccine for their people. Those are the countries that understand the importance of sovereignty and increasing ya capabilities. Just look at Cuba. Cuba is a real place.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 10th, 2021, 11:11 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

I'll disagree. I'm in the belly of the beast, I've done the mix of both academic programmes, as well as short courses.

In my opinion, I get much better value from the short stuff, but then I go outside for that. Foreign unis give a broader perspective and the networking is amazing. Got some serious collab opportunities from these. It costs more, but it's very targeted. My opinion is biased because I use the short training to supplement my formal education - but for an entrepreneur, I am suggesting pursuing courses that give you the best ROI for your circumstance.

A lot of local places just jam you into a room and deliver 20 contact hours of powerpoint and the engagement ends there. A boiler room with a certificate of participation at the end, with no real value.

YMMV.

The majority of local institutions do the latter, and now over Blackboard Collaborate or Zoom rather than f2f. Even getting them to give you the flipping certificate afterwards is an ordeal.

Postby zoom rader » May 11th, 2021, 7:12 am

Redress10 wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:Don't you think it might get better? I hear talk that it was like this in the 80s.

Trinidad and Tobago is a "made up" country. What this means is that the people who are residing and governing here were never meant to govern anything. Slaves were never meant to govern anything. Indentured labourers were never meant to govern, that responsibility belonged to a different class of Indians. One that still governs India today. The whites ruling class were essentially white working class brits who were sent to the Caribbean in servitude for crimes etc. Most people who owned plantations in the caribbean never even set foot in the caribbean. They had overseers to handle that. That white working class group essentially became our local whites. They essentially became our ruling elite.

Governance is something that is passed through generations. That is why monarchies exist/existed. That is why America has fought to create a political class for hundreds of years. The Kennedy' or Bush's are a recent example.

The African political/wealthy class are not the descendents of slaves etc. There forefathers were rulers and members of the elite class for centuries. Africans can trace their lineage back hundreds and possibly thousands of years. Africans identify themselves by tribes first and foremost. That solidifies identity and social cohesion.That is also the cause of the many tribal wars that erupt from time to time. You need social cohesion in order to develop.

Contrast this with TT. Our country was never meant to be developed or even last. The caribbean was colonised in order to extract resources(mainly cane and free labour) and export the profits back to Europe. That was the sole purpose so the infrastructure, institutions ,roads and towns that were built were suppose to reflect this. Upon Independence what the country got was exchange. We exchanged the monarchy for a political class that sees themselves as the new Monarch. They don't govern for us. They rule over us. Our resources are still exploited and sent oversees to the benefit of a few and they claim to offer public goods.

The ruling political class essentially controls all of our resources but for personal gain. They then share up these resources to their close friends and family in the form of gov't contracts under the guise of capitalism whilst using "socialism" as the reason. You see the public health sector that costs upwards of 6 billion dollars each year but somehow doesn't get better isn't exactly free. The whole illusion of the "free" health sector is to mask the fact that billions of dollars in tenders actually make their way into the hands of private citizens who are friends and family of the political class. Same goes for education, nat security and works and transport.

There is no real capitalism or socialism here only cronyism and tenderpreneurship. So nothing can improve or actually develop. That is the reality of Trinidad and Tobago. Don't let anyone fool ya. If you want to know what a real country looks like. Just look at all the countries that took the time and resources to develop a vaccine for their people. Those are the countries that understand the importance of sovereignty and increasing ya capabilities. Just look at Cuba. Cuba is a real place.

Hoss , I have been telling these idiots on tuner this for years.

Another Fact was that some slaves owners in Trinidad were black that came from Martinique. Trinidad history books have omitted that part of history . Why do you think french Creole folk are wealthy, they made money from slavery

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 11th, 2021, 8:33 am

Redress10 wrote:

Another Fact was that some slaves owners in Trinidad were black that came from Martinique. Trinidad history books have omitted that part of history . Why do you think french Creole folk are wealthy, they made money from slavery

Hello Zoom,

The only idiot on tuner is you.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 11th, 2021, 8:33 am

Redress10 wrote:

Hello Redress10,

Thanks for the insightful post. Much appreciated.

Postby matr1x » May 11th, 2021, 8:43 am

Hustling is for people who only live day to day.

That's not an intelligent way to live

Postby zoom rader » May 11th, 2021, 9:01 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

Hello Zoom,

The only idiot on tuner is you.
Thanks

Postby eliteauto » May 11th, 2021, 9:36 am

matr1x wrote:Hustling is for people who only live day to day.

That's not an intelligent way to live
False

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 9:57 am

many think “hustle” implies a line of endeavour a parent would not necessarily want their child to grow up to be

this is certainly not so and in these times the more multi skilled a person is the better

Postby mero » May 11th, 2021, 10:05 am

You can be a smart successful hustler and an educated fool.

Plenty hustlers thriving and plenty degree holders etc suffering cuz all they know is book and theory

Never be a shupidee, and know what you good at

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2021, 10:08 am

mero wrote:You can be a smart successful hustler and an educated fool.

Plenty hustlers thriving and plenty degree holders etc suffering cuz all they know is book and theory

Most hustlers also work for themselves.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 11th, 2021, 10:55 am

In Trinidad*

That's because the degree itself isn't worth the paper it is printed on. Drop out of UWI and you end up selling nuts on the highway. Drop out of Harvard and you will probably end up a billionaire.

Most people in a university abroad would already be getting job offers in their final year of study. Not sure what the process is in TT for UWI etc.

Not all degrees are equal.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 11:03 am

Redress10 wrote:

In Trinidad*

That's because the degree itself isn't worth the paper it is printed on. Drop out of UWI and you end up selling nuts on the highway. Drop out of Harvard and you will probably end up a billionaire.

Most people in a university abroad would already be getting job offers in their final year of study. Not sure what the process is in TT for UWI etc.

Only friends and family get jobs in Trinidad.
The rest of the graduates have to fit in somewhere irrelevant.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 11th, 2021, 11:24 am

wtf wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

In Trinidad*

Only friends and family get jobs in Trinidad.
The rest of the graduates have to fit in somewhere irrelevant.

Correct and they better understand that they need to hustle to suppliment their income.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 11th, 2021, 2:40 pm

Too much rose tinted nonsense going on about abroad. In the states, which is most of the 'abroad' people referring to, there are millions of degree holders working 2-3 minimum wage jobs and barely making 3k usd a month. Their student loans just building because the income based repayment doesnt even pay the interest. They have income taxes to pay on everything and have zero public healthcare.

Same old fart rhetoric from 20 years ago. The people who made it in the states in the 90s from trinidad thinking the dynamics are anywhere close to the same.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 11th, 2021, 2:52 pm

Depends on what degree they do.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 11th, 2021, 3:06 pm

Just like trinidad then, but in the states is more about what university you went to for that degree than your grades.

And even there, there are people with stem degrees that cant find work. But then its about the unpaid internships you had to fight for. Just keep moving those goalposts.

I up until recently had a fella working on my team. Just about my age. Fella would spout all the points yall making here and look like he always reading the next big self help book. I never tell him anything. If he want to read at his desk I wont stop him. He always used to come late, want to leave early and take long lunches. The quality of his work was steadily slipping, all because he want to ignore his well paying 8-4 day job, so he could resell watches he buy on Amazon.

Spend 5000, gross 2000 and call yourself an entrepreneur. Its the trinidadian way.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 3:10 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Just like trinidad then, but in the states is more about what university you went to for that degree than your grades.

And even there, there are people with stem degrees that cant find work. But then its about the unpaid internships you had to fight for. Just keep moving those goalposts.

I up until recently had a fella working on my team. Just about my age. Fella would spout all the points yall making here and look like he always reading the next big self help book. I never tell him anything. If he want to read at his desk I wont stop him. He always used to come late, want to leave early and take long lunches. The quality of his work was steadily slipping, all because he want to ignore his well paying 8-4 day job, so he could resell watches he buy on Amazon.

Spend 5000, gross 2000 and call yourself an entrepreneur. Its the trinidadian way.
The "side hustles" are better in America than Trinidad.