Is Russia a Superpower?

Redress10

Re: Is Russia a Superpower?

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2022, 3:22 pm

India aint closer to Russia. India is much closer to USA. Remittances from USA make up a significant amount of India GDP. They not gonna jeopardise that for Russia. Russia GDP is less than NY. Not many countries care for or rely on Russia. Even their former Soviet allies may be looking at this as an opportunity to weaken Russia and get themselves out from under Russian control.

Middle eastern states not backing Russia neither. Only Iran might support cause of similar isolation but economic sanctions more or less cripple them so they don't have room to antagonise USA further. North Korea drinking their water and minding their business so them eh on Russia. China About money and their biggest exports are to America so it is in their interests that America remain strong.

Nobody sticking their neck out for a country such as Russia cause they have very little to gain by it.

What Russia want to do with Ukraine is create a buffer between itself and the west. That is all. That is what the USSR was extending all the way up to east Germany. Approaching Russia from the West is flat land. That land is exceedingly flat keeps them paranoid hence they invests in Tanks etc. Russia has always been invaded via Ukraine so it has been a weakspot for centuries.
Last edited by Redress10 on January 25th, 2022, 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2022, 3:24 pm

Redress10 wrote:India aint closer to Russia. India is much closer to USA. Remittances from USA make up a significant amount of India GDP. They not gonna jeopardise that for Russia. Russia GDP is less than NY. Not many countries care for or rely on Russia. Even their former Soviet allies may be looking at this as an opportunity to weaken Russia and get themselves out from under Russian control.

Middle eastern states not backing Russia neither. Only Iran might support cause of similar isolation but economic sanctions more or less cripple them so they don't have room to antagonise USA further. North Korea drinking their water and minding their business so them eh on Russia. China About money and their biggest exports are to America so it is in their interests that America remain strong.

Nobody sticking their neck out for a country such as Russia cause they have very little to gain by it.

What Russia want to do with Ukraine is create a buffer between itself and the west. That is all. That is what the USSR was extending all the way up to east Germany. Approaching Russia from the West is flat land. That flat land keeps them paranoid hence they invests in Tanks etc.

You need to read more.

agent007

Is Russia a Superpower?

Postby agent007 » January 25th, 2022, 3:28 pm

As buju mentioned in song, “don’t believe one minute that they are with you.”…notice I used the word “may”. Turkey, Germany and France are not strategic military allies. Do some googling on France especially. These groups and alliances hide under the rhetoric of diplomacy but believe me, the US is smarter than that.

Israel will back the US and vice versa. Look at the history of anti Israel votes that took place in the UN. Most of those Arab nations want an excuse to obliterate Israel. So forget these pretty poetic military kaka speeches because when it comes to action, you will see how strong alliances are and it will be the world vs just a handful of nations that will stand with the US and Israel.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2022, 3:29 pm

The US never lost Afghanistan. Afghanistan was never a priority for the USA. Their focus on Afghanistan ended by Dec 2001 when they suspected that UBL had already crossed into Pakistan after the battle of Tora Bora. After that US focus turned to Iraq and the preparation began for that.

The US never focused on Afghanistan the way ppl think

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2022, 3:33 pm

agent007 wrote:As buju mentioned in song, “don’t believe one minute that they are with you.”…notice I used the word “may”. Turkey, Germany and France are not strategic military allies. Do some googling on France especially. These groups and alliances hide under the rhetoric of diplomacy but believe me, the US is smarter than that.

Israel will back the US and vice versa. Look at the history of anti Israel votes that took place in the UN. Most of those Arab nations want an excuse to obliterate Israel. So forget these pretty poetic military kaka speeches because when it comes to action, you will see how strong alliances are and it will be the world vs just a handful of nations that will stand with the US and Israel.

Israel has what no Arab nation has - Nuclear weapons. There is no obliteration of Israel without obliteration of the Muslim world (see Samson Option)

They also have nuclear armed subs as a deterrence so wiping out the IAF in an early wave only takes out thier air-borne weapons.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 25th, 2022, 3:37 pm

Yup that's also true

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2022, 3:57 pm

Plenty ppl in here seriously underestimate american economic and military might.

No other country in the world could compare. Certainly not Russia.

agent007

Is Russia a Superpower?

Postby agent007 » January 25th, 2022, 4:15 pm

The US can handle Russia very easily, I think this is common knowledge. The issue here is leadership. American leadership is at an all time low and Russia’s Putin is a very stoic, fearless and authoritarian type individual.

When he goes to world forums, meetings and summits etc. apart from the POTUS (if he is there and not falling off stair cases or remembering what to say), all eyes are on Putin. The man is the poster child for being a no nonsense man, the kind of individual Microsoft Windows accepts his terms and conditions to use their OS and not the traditional other way around for the rest of us plebs lol.

That can be the difference between victory and defeat. What America needs is a leader who will stand up for his country and give a middle finger to anyone who threatens democracy or the free world. A leader who is not afraid to issue a “fire at will” command. Watch and see Iran and Russia et al. crawl back in their holes and disappear.

You all remember the days when we use to take cricket seriously? The days of the Lara dynasty? When the team was in trouble and Lara stepped up, it’s like he breathed new life into the game. Instant morality boost when he was on fire and the rest of the team had followed through with him to victory. It’s all about building a good partnership at the wicket. Well the USA is the Lara in this NATO group and if it doesn’t step up to Putin, the chips will fall like dominos cause Trudeau, Johnson and Macron etc are weak clowns (amongst many others) next to Putin.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 25th, 2022, 4:18 pm

Redress10 wrote:Plenty ppl in here seriously underestimate american economic and military might.

They easily brainwashed by the lil youtube videos they see praising Putin.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2022, 4:33 pm

Blah blah blah blah

The majority of russian wealthy and political class send their children to the US to study and live. Because they don't trust their safety in Russia.

That should tell you something about russian mindset. Even Putin's daughters live in Holland I believe. Russians are not vodka drinking, cabbage soup eating war mongers. They live in luxury, they fancy caviar,they own sports clubs. They want that to continue. They don't want to face even more sanctions and isolation. They do want respect though.

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2022, 6:56 pm

Redress10 wrote:Blah blah blah blah

The majority of russian wealthy and political class send their children to the US to study and live. Because they don't trust their safety in Russia.

That should tell you something about russian mindset. Even Putin's daughters live in Holland I believe. Russians are not vodka drinking, cabbage soup eating war mongers. They live in luxury, they fancy caviar,they own sports clubs. They want that to continue. They don't want to face even more sanctions and isolation. They do want respect though.
Sounds like red government and 1% that sends their spoilt brats abroad

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 25th, 2022, 7:24 pm

Why you think they do that?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 25th, 2022, 7:47 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Plenty ppl in here seriously underestimate american economic and military might.

They easily brainwashed by the lil youtube videos they see praising Putin.
Yea you have inside knowledge of the American military and their resources ent...
Smfh...
Talk what you know and not what you think you know SuperiorGirl.

Postby zoom rader » January 25th, 2022, 8:18 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Cause to dem Trinidad education is inferior and they don't want their kids mixing with locals. Mixing with local for 1% can cause cross breeding.

It's why they have the international school. 1% and red government only use Trinidad cause they can do their dirty deeds here whereas abroad they can't do that.

Postby 88sins » January 25th, 2022, 8:19 pm

Like certain people in here eh kno that for all murica economic and military power, it's all hinged on a mountain of debt and oil dependency.

And when you in debt up to yuh hairline and you eh even sure if yuh could afford the drawers you have on, yuh really hadda question if yuh really as big and bad as yuh think you are

But who cares

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 25th, 2022, 8:19 pm

SuperiorMan wrote:

Cause to dem Trinidad education is inferior and they don't want their kids mixing with locals. Mixing with local for 1% can cause cross breeding.

It's why they have the international school. 1% and red government only use Trinidad cause they can do their dirty deeds here whereas abroad they can't do that.

so what if they mixed lower-middle class over there? Pretty sure some go to the same schools.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 25th, 2022, 8:20 pm

88sins wrote:Like certain people in here eh kno that for all murica economic and military power, it's all hinged on a mountain of debt and oil dependency.

And when you in debt up to yuh hairline and you eh even sure if yuh could afford the drawers you have on, yuh really hadda question if yuh really as big and bad as yuh think you are

But who cares

who going to make them pay off the debt?

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 25th, 2022, 9:00 pm

America has pretty much been at war in Afghanistan for over 20 years. In that time they also invaded Iraq and waged war there at the same time. Whilst in Iraq they also fought iranian elements such as the republican guards culminating in the assasination of General Soleimani of the Iranian Revolutionary Guard. Iran hasn't even cared to retaliate because they are afraid. Sometime they also popped over to countries such as Libya and Syria and fought Isis etc.

America spent over 2.5 trillion usd in Afghanistan. Basically 19 trillion tt dollars. Just to put things into persepctive our yearly budget is around 60 billion tt or 10 billion usd approx. It would take us about 333+ years of spending our yearly budget to spend 20 trillion tt dollars.

They spent that on a war and when they got fed up pack up and left billions of dollars in equipment as though it was nothing and bounce. And that is only in Afghanistan.
Whilst these wars were going on Americans never went hungry. In other words it never affected them economically.

The global war on terror currently sees american military assets engaged in conflict in no less than 12 countries including Nigeria, Yemen and the Phillipines. Where has Russia been fighting over the last 20 years? Russia's gdp is smaller than Texas

Don't underestimate America's power at all. What we see of American military is a country exercising extreme constraint.

Postby bluefete » January 25th, 2022, 9:16 pm

The USA is still the ONLY country in the world to drop nuclear bombs on another country!

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2022, 5:24 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
88sins wrote:Like certain people in here eh kno that for all murica economic and military power, it's all hinged on a mountain of debt and oil dependency.

But who cares

When talking about financial arrangements between large countries and corporations, it seems that there are ways to enforce agreements that you are not aware of. So here's one way.

America will make America pay off the debt.
When you fail to pay a debt, (especiallly debts the size they owing multiple entities nowadays) how much credit you feel you gonna get in the future, when you don't have enough assets to stand on your own indefinitely until you can develop yourself to the point where you no longer need the entities you owing? Because the debt isn't just only owed to countries outside the US, but also to many corporations around the world, including producers of military equipment.

Now, you're debt can be forgiven, but that doesn't happen often because of several reasons, one being that corporations and countries alike will want some form of concessions from you (tax breaks, assets, resources, etc), and another being because they themselves are heavily dependent on you paying your debt to keep them afloat. They owe people too yuh kno, and nobody gets into business to make losses all around. How will they pay it? By squeezing the taxpayer, and they don't want to do that either.

And the last thing America wants, is to default on debt owed to it's largest military defense suppliers, partly because these countries and corporations are a significant part of their economy, employing millions of tax paying Americans. Because when you’re primary business is war it kinda difficult to stay in business when the people supplying you with equipment and assets cut you off and move out and start supplying your competitors who can and do pay what they owe.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 26th, 2022, 6:26 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

But who cares

When talking about financial arrangements between large countries and corporations, it seems that there are ways to enforce agreements that you are not aware of. So here's one way.

When you fail to pay a debt, (especiallly debts the size they owing multiple entities nowadays) how much credit you feel you gonna get in the future, when you don't have enough assets to stand on your own indefinitely until you can develop yourself to the point where you no longer need the entities you owing? Because the debt isn't just only owed to countries outside the US, but also to many corporations around the world, including producers of military equipment.

Now, you're debt can be forgiven, but that doesn't happen often because of several reasons, one being that corporations and countries alike will want some form of concessions from you (tax breaks, assets, resources, etc), and another being because they themselves are heavily dependent on you paying your debt to keep them afloat. They owe people too yuh kno, and nobody gets into business to make losses all around. How will they pay it? By squeezing the taxpayer, and they don't want to do that either.

And the last thing America wants, is to default on debt owed to it's largest military defense suppliers, partly because these countries and corporations are a significant part of their economy, employing millions of tax paying Americans. Because when you’re primary business is war it kinda difficult to stay in business when the people supplying you with equipment and assets cut you off and move out and start supplying your competitors who can and do pay what they owe.

Which corporations is American in debt to?

Postby zoom rader » January 26th, 2022, 6:41 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

so what if they mixed lower-middle class over there? Pretty sure some go to the same schools.
When they go abroad they are just another group of migrants and are considered not white.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 26th, 2022, 6:45 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

When they go abroad they are just another group of migrants and are considered not white.

I agree but you said they don't want them mixing with locals here but when they go away they gonna end up mixing with the same kind of people they look down here unless you're referring to skin color and not SE status.

Postby hover11 » January 26th, 2022, 7:16 am

Tbh it might sound bad but the only way that we will ever see oil prices reach $100 +US a barrel is some kinda war have to happen. It is only a matter of time before these leaders with their egos clash and set it off

Postby Redman » January 26th, 2022, 7:34 am

$3 gasoline at us pumps before any shooting starts is a big deterrent.

Bidens approval ratings suck.

Another forever war against a place of no strategic relevance is a tough sell.

The debt that is relevant is Treasuries...and internationally they not as attractive as it used to be, and you can lose principal if rates move higher.

Postby 88sins » January 26th, 2022, 8:32 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

But who cares

i suggest you google it

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 26th, 2022, 8:37 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

But who cares

i suggest you google it

I did. Do you know which corporations they are in debt to?

Also, I was originally referring to debt owed to other countries.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » January 26th, 2022, 9:32 am

hover11 wrote:Tbh it might sound bad but the only way that we will ever see oil prices reach $100 +US a barrel is some kinda war have to happen. It is only a matter of time before these leaders with their egos clash and set it off

Doesnt your country import oil? Why would you want increased oil prices?

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » January 26th, 2022, 10:55 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:[spoiler]
SuperiorMan wrote:

Source https://www.thebalance.com/who-owns-the ... bt-3306124
Current Foreign Ownership of U.S. Debt
Japan owned $1.32 trillion in U.S. Treasurys in July 2021, making it the largest foreign holder of the national debt. The second-largest holder is China, which owns $1.07 trillion of U.S. debt. Both Japan and China want to keep the value of the dollar higher than the value of their own currencies. This helps to keep their exports to the U.S. affordable, which helps their economies grow.10

China replaced the U.K. as the second-largest foreign holder in 2006 when it increased its holdings to $699 billion.11

The U.K. is the third-largest holder with $579.8 billion. Its holdings have increased in rank as Brexit continues to weaken its economy. Ireland is next, holding $324.3 billion. Luxembourg, Switzerland, Cayman Islands, Brazil, Taiwan, and France round out the top 10.12
Major Foreign Holders of U.S. Public Debt
Japan is the largest holder of U.S. debt.
Japan $1.31T
China $1.07T
United Kingdom $539.5B
Ireland $319.7B
Luxembourg $291.6B
Cayman Islands $250.3B
Brazil $248.5B
Taiwan $242.3B
France $236.3B
Hong Kong $227.2B
Source: U.S. Department of the Treasury

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 26th, 2022, 11:40 am

Bad Dog wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:[spoiler]
SuperiorMan wrote:

Source https://www.thebalance.com/who-owns-the ... bt-3306124
Current Foreign Ownership of U.S. Debt
Japan owned $1.32 trillion in U.S. Treasurys in July 2021, making it the largest foreign holder of the national debt. The second-largest holder is China, which owns $1.07 trillion of U.S. debt. Both Japan and China want to keep the value of the dollar higher than the value of their own currencies. This helps to keep their exports to the U.S. affordable, which helps their economies grow.10

China replaced the U.K. as the second-largest foreign holder in 2006 when it increased its holdings to $699 billion.11

The U.K. is the third-largest holder with $579.8 billion. Its holdings have increased in rank as Brexit continues to weaken its economy. Ireland is next, holding $324.3 billion. Luxembourg, Switzerland, Cayman Islands, Brazil, Taiwan, and France round out the top 10.12
Major Foreign Holders of U.S. Public Debt
Japan is the largest holder of U.S. debt.
Japan $1.31T
China $1.07T
United Kingdom $539.5B
Ireland $319.7B
Luxembourg $291.6B
Cayman Islands $250.3B
Brazil $248.5B
Taiwan $242.3B
France $236.3B
Hong Kong $227.2B
Source: U.S. Department of the Treasury

That's countries. The question was about corporations.