Is Russia a Superpower?

Re: Is Russia a Superpower?

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2018, 8:39 am

Nukes have two uses: in times of war, when going all out. Or as a deterrent to going all out.

Everybody will press their luck and do all sorts of shenanigans because they know that anybody with nukes will be reluctant to use them.... It's a point of no return action. The only ones who may not are Pakistan, North Korea, and Iran.
That is why, so much fear mongering is used on North Korea and iran, they might be the only people that might have cause to use them.

But, they won't cause they know that trigger is a suicide trigger. They will be instantly obliterated by friend and foe alike.

Having nukes is not a sign of a superpower... Being able to intimidate other countries and bend their wills and desires towards Ur own, is.

Some of the American Air craft carriers have more military power than many small countries. their strike groups are more capable than countries larger than those and their military totally is practically unrivaled by the sum of the next in line.

America can go to war against the world and stand a chance of winning.

Having the best, fastest or most doesn't make Ur military good.

Having the best suited for the task at hand is what makes them good.

Some European countries are working on having the fastest, or most maneuverable jets yet.
America newest jet would not be fastest, not even faster than some of their own in the past. It would not be very maneuverable, it would not have good strength in fog fights.
What America is developing is undetectable and good surveillance capability.
What America is working towards is going in, detecting targets, gathering info, or striking, leaving and being so far away, that no matter how fast u are, u would not be able to catch them in time.

Postby 88sins » March 15th, 2018, 9:07 am

aka, push button warfare.
The US has been working on the practice of having to send as few personnel as possible into conflicts, with the idea of having fewer military casualties. Hence some of their UAV's. Good idea. But...

The hazardous downside to it is that if you're in a active conflict with an enemy you're fighting, & as an example you are using arrows & he's using a sling shot & he cannot reach you, or cannot reach you to effect sufficient damage to you, then he only has 2 alternatives. Submit & accept defeat(that ain't what anyone engaged in an active war wants to do), or alternatively build huge catapults & get as close as necessary to your camp & launch a volley of boulders a lot larger than you at you & your assets.
Basically, push button warfare will motivate the enemy to narrow the divide created between you in an effort to kick your front door off the hinges & use weapons more dangerous than you did in an effort that will cause more civilian & military casualties than would be saved by the use of modern acceptable long range targeting & attack methods.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 15th, 2018, 9:15 am

sMASH wrote:Nukes have two uses: in times of war, when going all out. Or as a deterrent to going all out.

Everybody will press their luck and do all sorts of shenanigans because they know that anybody with nukes will be reluctant to use them.... It's a point of no return action. The only ones who may not are Pakistan, North Korea, and Iran.
That is why, so much fear mongering is used on North Korea and iran, they might be the only people that might have cause to use them.

But, they won't cause they know that trigger is a suicide trigger. They will be instantly obliterated by friend and foe alike.

Having nukes is not a sign of a superpower... Being able to intimidate other countries and bend their wills and desires towards Ur own, is.

Nukes have no use............ever!!!!!

Think Thanks have constructed models for nuclear warfare and the most likely scenario they have come up with for a nuclear war is in Asia - In their simulation a rogue Pakistani general orders a nuclear strike on India. The following Indian retaliation and Pakistani counter strikes would kill hundreds of millions in the first instance however it is the damage to the global climate that is the biggest problem. Weather patterns will be altered with the amount of dust produced and famines can be expected across the world particularly in China.

And this is just limited nuclear war between two nations with maybe 400 warheads between them.

Postby desifemlove » March 15th, 2018, 4:47 pm

desifemlove wrote:no, it not.

it's a great power.

USA is the only superpower.

Russia's GDP is only bearly in the top ten.

it's armed forces iz old and decrpit. it has nukes, but USA has more.

it's navy is sheit.

and its army could beat Ukraine's but not NATO's. or even China's.

and it's cultural reach....there's vodka, but the biggest vodka brand in the world is British......

The USSR was a superpower, but Russia no. if anything, this is wy Putin vex and acting bad man now.

Again you talk chit.

You dont know and the rest of us dont know what counties has what,

Nukes are the only superpower and those that have it are superpowers.

i talking basic international relations dog. but yuh not very educated, so it figures you don't know dis.

i talking ting most in the field would agree with...run along now. you spend penty time cussing, but don't get i don't care lol. not very adult, are you?

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2018, 5:54 pm

desifemlove wrote:
desifemlove wrote:no, it not.

it's a great power.

USA is the only superpower.

Russia's GDP is only bearly in the top ten.

it's armed forces iz old and decrpit. it has nukes, but USA has more.

it's navy is sheit.

and its army could beat Ukraine's but not NATO's. or even China's.

and it's cultural reach....there's vodka, but the biggest vodka brand in the world is British......

The USSR was a superpower, but Russia no. if anything, this is wy Putin vex and acting bad man now.

Again you talk chit.

You dont know and the rest of us dont know what counties has what,

Nukes are the only superpower and those that have it are superpowers.

i talking basic international relations dog. but yuh not very educated, so it figures you don't know dis.

i talking ting most in the field would agree with...run along now. you spend penty time cussing, but don't get i don't care lol. not very adult, are you?

Again you are full of chit.

No country will ever state how many nukes they have.

Do you know for a fact that Russia's armed forces is old and decrepit?

http://www.euronews.com/2018/03/01/watc ... on-address

Postby rspann » March 15th, 2018, 6:22 pm

Why allyuh have to be provoking the mentally challenged all the time so?

Postby janfar » March 16th, 2018, 12:30 am

Facts: Russia has the most advanced main battle tank in the world.

Both Russia and China have upcoming stealth Jets that will make the F22 and F35 seem old.

China just successfully tested a rail gun on a ship. A SHIP.

Most of you all just lapping up the western media. Try visiting these countries and see the infrastructure they have in place.

They all have their pros and cons, and that includes America.

Postby redmanjp » March 19th, 2018, 11:40 am

putin win election again

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2018, 7:34 pm

he's that awesome!!

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 19th, 2018, 8:08 pm

In terms of military Russia is a superpower. The last count by CNN estimated that Russia has the most nukes. Russia recently unveiled a missile that they boast can reach or hit anywhere in the world. Today there was an article that said a Russian submarine surfaced near the US coast without being detected.

Postby sMASH » March 19th, 2018, 8:23 pm

nukes are the only safeguard u can have against america..

Postby 88sins » March 20th, 2018, 5:40 am

toyota2nr wrote:In terms of military Russia is a superpower. The last count by CNN estimated that Russia has the most nukes. Russia recently unveiled a missile that they boast can reach or hit anywhere in the world. Today there was an article that said a Russian submarine surfaced near the US coast without being detected.

there's a reason they weren't detected, but I eh go say it here.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » January 24th, 2022, 10:43 pm

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 25th, 2022, 8:38 am

Just what 2022 needs.
War triggers.

Postby matr1x » January 25th, 2022, 8:49 am

toyota2nr wrote:In terms of military Russia is a superpower. The last count by CNN estimated that Russia has the most nukes. Russia recently unveiled a missile that they boast can reach or hit anywhere in the world. Today there was an article that said a Russian submarine surfaced near the US coast without being detected.

there's a reason they weren't detected, but I eh go say it here.

It transition from a boat to a sub

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2022, 10:07 am

123.jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 25th, 2022, 10:48 am

Russian Military 》》》》 American Military

FuadAdnan

Postby FuadAdnan » January 25th, 2022, 11:02 am

wtf wrote:Russian Military 》》》》 American Military

LOL.

You really one dhal belly clown. What you know about military Mr. 39 year old virgin

I see you now return from your ban.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 25th, 2022, 1:13 pm

Nobody has a better military than the US, and even the US struggles to win wars. Military strength is more about deterring attacks and imposing might versus actually fighting.

Russia doesn't want a ground war with Ukraine, I think that'll be a huge burden of them. What they want us to seize parts of Ukraine allowing access to Crimea, all without much conflict.

We'll see what happens but it's an interesting development.

Don't expect NATO to do anything but grandstand as Europe is dependent on Russian gas and it's winter.

I'm thinking this invasive might start as the winter Olympics kicks off.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2022, 1:19 pm

Russia already has road and rail access to the Crimea through the Kerch Bridge which they only recently opened.

This is all about having a pro-Russia regime on their doorsteps which Ukraine is not at the moment. As the largest of the European USSR states they matter more than the 3 Baltic ones who are also not Pro-Russian.

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2022, 1:21 pm

Well the war mongers are also now exporters of Hydrocarbons- so Peace is bad for business.

The US military is strong but by some accounts its ability to project that power in a battle over Ukraine is limited.

Russia is better prepared economically to fight a battle- and has Anti American support from other major players.

Frankly the US will be fragile because of their economic position today.

IF I were Russia I would simply offer Nato the ability to set up in the Ukraine -Russia will match the NATO forces in Ukraine with the equivalent in Cuba or Venezuela.

If its ok to plant NATO forces in the Ukraine-then its ok for Russia to set up in the West.

Biden is outclassed by Putin

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » January 25th, 2022, 1:24 pm

FuadAdnan wrote:

LOL.

You really one dhal belly clown. What you know about military Mr. 39 year old virgin

I see you now return from your ban.
Ok Mr.Feminist.
You know all about military life and wars...
Hahahaha.....
Screenshot_20211208-173224.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2022, 1:35 pm

Redman wrote:Well the war mongers are also now exporters of Hydrocarbons- so Peace is bad for business.

The US military is strong but by some accounts its ability to project that power in a battle over Ukraine is limited.

Russia is better prepared economically to fight a battle- and has Anti American support from other major players.

IF I were Russia I would simply offer Nato the ability to set up in the Ukraine -Russia will match the NATO forces in Ukraine with the equivalent in Cuba or Venezuela.

If its ok to plant NATO forces in the Ukraine-then its ok for Russia to set up in the West.

Russia has the GDP of Texas. They can't afford a war of attrition. And Germany aside NATO is on board with supporting Ukraine so the US will not be going it alone. So far apart from the direct shipment of arms from the UK-

index.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 25th, 2022, 1:47 pm

For those who may not know the reason behind Russia's slow moves.

Postby teems1 » January 25th, 2022, 1:48 pm

lol no. US Army is more well equipped and trained than anyone else.

The Russians may have a better fighting spirit and willingness to die for their country, but those things mean diddly squat now.

It's some guy in Nevada using an Xbox controller to pilot a drone thousands of miles away to destroy buildings, bridges and infrastructure with scary accuracy.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » January 25th, 2022, 1:50 pm

teems1 wrote:

lol no. US Army is more well equipped and trained than anyone else.

The Russians may have a better fighting spirit and willingness to die for their country, but those things mean diddly squat now.

It's some guy in Nevada using an Xbox controller to pilot a drone thousands of miles away to destroy buildings, bridges and infrastructure with scary accuracy.

it obvious to everyone but the most uneducated (like the little man you replying to) that the US military shits all over Russian.

even better fighting spirit/willingness taking it too far.

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2022, 2:14 pm

Redman wrote:Well the war mongers are also now exporters of Hydrocarbons- so Peace is bad for business.

Russia has the GDP of Texas. They can't afford a war of attrition. And Germany aside NATO is on board with supporting Ukraine so the US will not be going it alone. So far apart from the direct shipment of arms from the UK-

index.jpg

This is going to be a battle-not a war-neither side will want a war.
And it would be farely cheap for them to do this.
Size of the economy isnt the factor-its where the economy is.

Militarily-
Russia will be able to direct a higher % of their forces forces easier -and cheaper to the fight.

In the mean time the US cant just continue another forever war so easily given their economy...
Given their position on the world stage Russia at war can influence Interest rates and Oil/gas prices to the point where this battle will hit the population of the US in the pockets-
and that is where Russia can grind out a BATTLE(not war scale) and wear down US interest.

2022 might see Russia doing to the US what the US did to USSR.

The Biden just lost Afganistan- if these conflicts were decided by size of Military or Economy....it would have taken 20 mins. not 20 years

Postby Redman » January 25th, 2022, 2:15 pm

index.jpg

This is going to be a battle-not a war-neither side will want a war.
And it would be farely cheap for them to do this.
Size of the economy isnt the factor-its where the economy is.

Militarily-
Russia will be able to direct a higher % of their forces forces easier -and cheaper to the fight.

In the mean time the US cant just continue another forever war so easily given their economy...
Given their position on the world stage Russia at war can influence Interest rates and Oil/gas prices to the point where this battle will hit the population of the US in the pockets-
and that is where Russia can grind out a BATTLE(not war scale) and wear down US interest.

2022 might see Russia doing to the US what the US did to USSR.

The Biden just lost Afganistan- if these conflicts were decided by size of Military or Economy....it would have taken 20 mins. not 20 years

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 25th, 2022, 2:55 pm

The US military under the current administration is weak. Russia has strong leadership atm. In terms of theoretical advantage, this lies with the US. It's all about timing and strategy and who you align with. Russia has very powerful allies who all are willing to die for the cause. I can't say same for America and its allies. The true test is to see action.

Russia, in addition to the CSTO clip, may have France, Germany, Iran, China, Pakistan, North Korea, Turkey and a whole contingent of Arab/Middle Eastern nations to back them up and that is a VERY powerful group.

The USA has Canada, UK, India, Israel, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Australia and some NATO members.

If Israel comes to the USA's defense then all antisemitic nations would fall in line to wipe them off the face of the earth. It has nothing to do with which alliance you are a part of now. The minute Israel joins in, consider this WW3.

Anyway, based on America's allies alone, I won't be quick to intimate them but the truth is, the US military is so powerful, they actually can take on Russia all by itself. It's like a street thug with a firearm masquerading as a badjohn then there's a rambo like marine who will use his training and defense capability to take the thug down.

The downside is, America has too many rules especially when it comes to engagement and I think it's enemies know this. Sit back and thank God we here in T&T don't have any external enemies. All of our enemies are within.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2022, 3:13 pm

agent007 wrote:The US military under the current administration is weak. Russia has strong leadership atm. In terms of theoretical advantage, this lies with the US. It's all about timing and strategy and who you align with. Russia has very powerful allies who all are willing to die for the cause. I can't say same for America and its allies. The true test is to see action.

Russia, in addition to the CSTO clip, may have France, Germany, Iran, China, Pakistan, North Korea, Turkey and a whole contingent of Arab/Middle Eastern nations to back them up and that is a VERY powerful group.

The USA has Canada, UK, India, Israel, Japan, South Korea, New Zealand, Australia and some NATO members.

If Israel comes to the USA's defense then all antisemitic nations would fall in line to wipe them off the face of the earth. It has nothing to do with which alliance you are a part of now. The minute Israel joins in, consider this WW3.

Anyway, based on America's allies alone, I won't be quick to intimate them but the truth is, the US military is so powerful, they actually can take on Russia all by itself. It's like a street thug with a firearm masquerading as a badjohn then there's a rambo like marine who will use his training and defense capability to take the thug down.

The downside is, America has too many rules especially when it comes to engagement and I think it's enemies know this. Sit back and thank God we here in T&T don't have any external enemies. All of our enemies are within.

Think your alliances there need some work-
Turkey, Germany and France are NATO nations and Macron has already said he:
“remains determined to use all the resources of diplomacy to preserve the stability of Europe and to
show his solidarity and his readiness to support the States of the European Union concerned for their
security,”

The powerful Arab countries are more aligned to the US than Russia e.g. Saudi Arabia
India is closer to Russia than they are to US, reverse for Pakistan.