Pm defends cuffy 2.49 million dollars medical bills

wickedtuna

Pm defends cuffy 2.49 million dollars medical bills

Postby wickedtuna » February 26th, 2018, 5:08 pm

Paying the million-dollar medical bill for Government Minister Maxie Cuffie was the right thing to do, said Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley as he reminded the nation of a former People's National Movement (PNM) candidate, Winston Ali, who poisoned himself and his family in frustration after being unable to survive post-general election.

Last week, Rowley, in response to a question in the Parliament, said Cuffie's medical treatment and recovery has cost the Trinidad and Tobago taxpayers $2.49 million.

Speaking at a public meeting at La Horquetta Regional Complex last Thursday night, Rowley recalled that, in 1991, Ali contested the Caroni Central seat for the PNM and, although he did well, he lost.

Ali, he said, was an accountant and gave up his profession to run for office but even though the PNM won he was not hired because of fear of what the opposition would say.

“We got into government and Winston Ali, a former PNM candidate, was out there looking for a job and all the PNM government and PNM MPs were afraid to find a job for Winston Ali because they were afraid of what the opposition would say, that we give a PNM candidate a job,” said Rowley.

Rowley said months passed and Ali was knocking from “pillar to post” trying to find a job to maintain his two small children.

“In a fit of hopelessness, Winston Ali poisoned his two children and his wife and himself...he left this earth, took with him his two children and his wife and you know what the opposition said to us then, 'allyuh use the man and when he wanted a job allyuh didn't give him a job',” he said.

Rowley said it was fear of the opposition that the PNM ministers did not employ Ali and if they did “his children today might have been alive”.

“When the news came to me about what happened to Winston and his family, I took a decision that day that I will always do what I believe is right and I don't care who says what and that is why I had no difficulty when the time came for the Government, which was served by a minister, when the Government could have assisted to save his life and to give him a quality of life if he succeeds that the people of Trinidad and Tobago, grateful people that we are, would help Maxie Cuffie and his family to survive,” he said.

Rowley said, hopefully, Cuffie recovers where he can endure a “rigorous job” which comes with being a minister.

Cuffie is currently in the United States recovering from a stroke he suffered last September.

Planning Minister Camille Robinson-Regis said Cuffie hopes to return to Trinidad for Easter in April.

Re: Pm defends cuffy 2.49 million dollars medical bills

Postby skylinechild » February 26th, 2018, 5:15 pm

I wonder if i cud run for Councillor in my area an get the same treatment with my medical bills boi .....hmmmmm

*awaits zoom ra.......err never mind.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » February 26th, 2018, 5:16 pm

So dialysis patients not as important as u cuffy .....sorry to say this but 2.5 million coulda help plenty people u still drawings a f ING salary as a minister to boot .......I know sickness is 4 all but it doesn't seem to b equal

Postby De Dragon » February 26th, 2018, 5:45 pm

Kamala getting blamed for Winston Ali and his families' death now :? :? Rowley has now plumbed the depths of desperation, and is now resorting to using a dead man's circumstances for political points. Sickening and empty excuse for a PM. All this to defend close to 2.5 million dollars, when equally deserving people of far less means getting runaround, (or outright blank) for their children's lives or tied up in massive red tape and bureaucracy.
Where Redman, Zitski and token PNM Mammoo? Let's hear your spirited defence of your beloved, HRH JUHN Scarfy.

Postby 88sins » February 26th, 2018, 5:49 pm

and the maximum benefit for kids needing life saving medical care is still TTD $60K. So, he's important enough to spend ^2 million of taxpayers dollars on, but not so important that his family (or better yet his fellow peeonem colleagues) should help pay for his medical expenses. In the US of all places, with our alleged forex shortage. What happen? He too good for POSGH? Local private institutions couldn't help him because he is the only person in this place that ever had a stroke & they have no experience treating the condition?
And what's this jackass talk about a man killing his wife and children and himself 27 years ago because he couldn't find a job have to do with this bs now?

Only in good old backasswards T&T.
An allyuh vote fun dat? Doh say nuttn.

Postby 88sins » February 26th, 2018, 5:53 pm

Some Tobagonians should stick to what they know. Like planting peas & makin benne ball.

matix

Postby matix » February 26th, 2018, 5:55 pm

Lol this man is a comedian. The opposition from 1991 being blamed. I would like some of this pnm juice please

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2018, 6:07 pm

Rowley not too smart
He opening a potential can of worms
With precedent

Average

Postby Average » February 26th, 2018, 6:14 pm

Rowley said it was fear of the opposition that the PNM ministers did not employ Ali and if they did “his children today might have been alive”.

WDMC wrong with this man?

Postby Morpheus » February 26th, 2018, 6:21 pm

LoL I just read this in the Express. LoL WDA. Is best all those politicians just hush yes....

Postby The_Honourable » February 26th, 2018, 6:24 pm

2.49 million... and counting

Postby Les Bain » February 26th, 2018, 6:27 pm

This us the same man bawling they have to borrow money monthly to pay salaries, or stating it eh have money for a lot of other important things?

Postby 88sins » February 26th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Les Bain wrote:This us the same man bawling they have to borrow money monthly to pay salaries, or stating it eh have money for a lot of other important things?

D same man who love to say "tighten yuh belt" every blasted budget. D same man who for the last 2 years saying we USD extremely limited.

Postby zoom rader » February 26th, 2018, 6:37 pm

We de fvck is this chit.

Winston Ali was a fraud that had fake education cerficates, this was expossed when the express was a real newspaper back then. Thats the reason why he could not get a job. Manning washed his hands of him.
Manning stated it was not PNM policy to employ rejects as it showed that the people rejected a candidate and it was not fitting of PNM to go that route
Winston Ali was a failure .

Can't believe the PNM prime minister blaming the UNC for this. UNC was not even in full potential for government back in 1991.

Then again the PNM duffle
Heads like Redman and randolphinshan would not know of this.

Average

Postby Average » February 26th, 2018, 7:07 pm

Day after day and you realise it's the same set of people who will continue to believe that "de country doesn't have any money" and anything else that comes out of this bowling ball head jackazz.

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2018, 8:38 pm

the opposition and everybody else needs to take issue with this and make a big stink

Postby Redman » February 26th, 2018, 8:50 pm

pugboy wrote:the opposition and everybody else needs to take issue with this and make a big stink

Lets hope they do...it's a stupid argument

Postby pugboy » February 26th, 2018, 9:06 pm

It is fair to say rowleys level of arrogance has surpassed that of manning during the Calder hart days

Postby 88sins » February 26th, 2018, 9:08 pm

Redman wrote:
pugboy wrote:the opposition and everybody else needs to take issue with this and make a big stink

It's not an argument. It's a defense. & a bs defense at best
essentially d man say he doh business who say what, he spennin yuh morney on a minister that, so far as i could recall, hasn't done one forward or productive thing since he took office.

& it might be just me eh, but I honestly do not believe his ministry serves any sort of a purpose either. besides acting as a state propaganda wagon, what else has this ministry really done to benefit the general public?

No_Name

Postby No_Name » February 26th, 2018, 9:52 pm

Do like ebody else who sick, yuh drawing salary - take a loan, yuh eh have enough $$$ to cover - hold a BBQ...simple!!!

antlind

Postby antlind » February 26th, 2018, 10:05 pm

Rowley Mudder Count.

Postby paid_influencer » February 26th, 2018, 10:11 pm

88sins wrote:& it might be just me eh, but I honestly do not believe his ministry serves any sort of a purpose either. besides acting as a state propaganda wagon, what else has this ministry really done to benefit the general public?

this is true.

btw, anyone remember the ministry of national diversity and social integration? I've been trying to find out how much money was spent on that one

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 26th, 2018, 10:19 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
88sins wrote:& it might be just me eh, but I honestly do not believe his ministry serves any sort of a purpose either. besides acting as a state propaganda wagon, what else has this ministry really done to benefit the general public?

this is true.

btw, anyone remember the ministry of national diversity and social integration? I've been trying to find out how much money was spent on that one

Ask the anal prober Zoom Rader that. How much the ole Coteauss spend to buy wig and run Indian gyal

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » February 26th, 2018, 10:23 pm

zoom rader wrote:We de fvck is this chit.

Winston Ali was a fraud that had fake education cerficates, this was expossed when the express was a real newspaper back then. Thats the reason why he could not get a job. Manning washed his hands of him.
Manning stated it was not PNM policy to employ rejects as it showed that the people rejected a candidate and it was not fitting of PNM to go that route

Can't believe the PNM prime minister blaming the UNC for this. UNC was not even in full potential for government back in 1991.

What I do know you pee pee anal prober is that they still 4.5 million less that the UNC Cabal spent to pull out a fire truck. At least PNM spending to save a minister health

Postby 88sins » February 26th, 2018, 10:43 pm

For all the ole talk, why is it taxpayers have to foot the bill for politicians private overseas hospital healthcare? They so big they don't need health insurance that they themselves should pay for out of pocket? Even if the taxpayer pays for it, it still wouldn't amount to this mountainous burden of liability on the public's shoulders. or the slap in the face that it is to taxpayers, particularly those that seek assistance & get a "hard luck dey yuh eh qualify" or "yuh could only get dis scrumbs, but only after about 18 months, & ah hadda get a cut from it. yuh want it owa?"

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » February 27th, 2018, 12:58 am

randolphinshan wrote:

What I do know you pee pee anal prober is that they still 4.5 million less that the UNC Cabal spent to pull out a fire truck. At least PNM spending to save a minister health

Alright, so UNC does crap and they got voted out for it.

PNM is in power now.

Are you ok with this?

What about taxpaying citizenry who ends up in a similar situation?

Do you believe Cabinet should spend the same amount on them individually? :drinking: :drinking:

Postby zoom rader » February 27th, 2018, 2:55 am

randolphinshan wrote:

Why you hush ya stink dutty mudda count.

How dore a pnm man killing his family and self have anything to do with to cuffy and you kant want to blame kamala.

Man hust ya kant

Postby zoom rader » February 27th, 2018, 2:58 am

randolphinshan wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

this is true.

Ask the anal prober Zoom Rader that. How much the ole Coteauss spend to buy wig and run Indian gyal
Why don't you tell us?

Please provide evidence to back up claim

We know all about weave and wig toting Camille Robinson-Regis and Shamfa.

Both ah them look like men and they probably bulling the PNM men with strap ons since homosexuality is rampant in the PNM

Postby Redman » February 27th, 2018, 3:15 am

Redman wrote:

essentially d man say he doh business who say what, he spennin yuh morney on a minister that, so far as i could recall, hasn't done one forward or productive thing since he took office.

& it might be just me eh, but I honestly do not believe his ministry serves any sort of a purpose either. besides acting as a state propaganda wagon, what else has this ministry really done to benefit the general public?

Yes agreed...I meant that Rowley s justification or whatever we call it is stupid.

Postby zoom rader » February 27th, 2018, 3:33 am

Redman wrote:

Yes agreed...I meant that Rowley s justification or whatever we call it is stupid.
Rowley is the same guy that came with email gate and was a big lie, yet still PNM clowns believe this to be true and it's the same here