Wireman License

ishwar463

Wireman License

Postby ishwar463 » February 3rd, 2018, 7:14 pm

Good day,

What is the procedure to obtain wireman license in Trinidad? Any pre-requisites as well?

rmrunner

Re: Wireman License

Postby rmrunner » February 3rd, 2018, 8:06 pm

1) Certificate from NEC in Electrical Installation or Equivalent( Electrical Engineering Diploma etc)
2) 23 Yrs and Older
3) 3 Yrs Practical Electrical Experience
4) Recommendation from Licensed Wire man OR a Past employer(No Need to be licensed)
5) Write Exam ( I believe it was 80% Pass mark)
6) Pay for issue of License

Books Needed:
1) TTBS Low Voltage Electrical Wiring Code ( buy at TTBS or sit in library and Read)
2) TTEC Wiring for light and Power ( You get this for free on TTEC website)

Underhand Method:
Persons offer a run down course on Electrical Installation for $3500 and hand you the license.

For More Info the head office is Electrical Inspectorate in Arouca.

ishwar463

Postby ishwar463 » February 4th, 2018, 8:34 am

rmrunner wrote:1) Certificate from NEC in Electrical Installation or Equivalent( Electrical Engineering Diploma etc)
2) 23 Yrs and Older
4) Recommendation from Licensed Wire man OR a Past employer(No Need to be licensed)

Books Needed:
1) TTBS Low Voltage Electrical Wiring Code ( buy at TTBS or sit in library and Read)

Underhand Method:
Persons offer a run down course on Electrical Installation for $3500 and hand you the license.

Thanks man, appreciate it

Postby pugboy » February 4th, 2018, 9:04 am

BEtter become an electrical inspectorate one time
Make plenty more money that way

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 4th, 2018, 9:42 am

How long does this entire process take usually?

(not the underhanded one)

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » February 4th, 2018, 9:53 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:How long does this entire process take usually?

(not the underhanded one)

Roughly two months. Normally there is an exam sitting every month but only when you go into head office they will let you know when the closest exam is and if they have space.

zoomedic

Postby zoomedic » February 4th, 2018, 6:49 pm

Right now I looking for an electrician
389 5003 anytime

andreh

Postby andreh » March 1st, 2018, 7:29 am

rmrunner wrote:1) Certificate from NEC in Electrical Installation or Equivalent( Electrical Engineering Diploma etc)
2) 23 Yrs and Older

Books Needed:

Underhand Method:

So how's about the underhanded method?

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » March 1st, 2018, 8:48 am

ATC offers the course .

Postby ronsin1 » March 4th, 2018, 8:42 am

andreh wrote:
2) 23 Yrs and Older

Books Needed:

Underhand Method:

Why would you want to do it underhanded

andreh

Postby andreh » March 4th, 2018, 1:03 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
andreh wrote:
2) 23 Yrs and Older

Books Needed:

Underhand Method:

I would like to compare it to the proper method. Also would you know the cost of doing it the proper way?

Postby ronsin1 » March 4th, 2018, 1:10 pm

andreh wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
andreh wrote:
2) 23 Yrs and Older

Books Needed:

Underhand Method:

I would like to compare it to the proper method. Also would you know the cost of doing it the proper way?
There is no underhand method if you start this way they your are down the wrong road electricity is a serious thing and ppl can loose their lives if you do the wrong thing

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » March 5th, 2018, 3:13 pm

Always remember too if u planning on getting it's a responsibility and integrity your name will be signing on off your jobs or even someone asks..again how the previous tuner said electricity is dangerous

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » June 30th, 2020, 1:21 pm

SBCS offers both Residential and Industrial NEC certificates in Electrical Installation which they say qualifies for the license

However ATC offers EEET Diploma from City and Guilds which they say qualifies for license.

So the thing is, does that mean EEET City and Guilds carry the same weight as NEC Electrical Installation?

From the looks of it, it looks like the $16,000 that ATC is charging for this course may be cheaper than SBCS where you have to do 2 courses

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » November 19th, 2021, 4:42 am

is there an age cap in getting the wireman license? can a person in 40's / 50's get their wireman license?
i am hearing the cap is 25 years.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 19th, 2021, 6:32 am

No age cap when last I asked around.

Both Atc($17,000) and Sbcs($11,000) offering the course to get you to the wireman's exam. It's 1 year long and you get the cert from City of Guilds. Sbcs also has an intro course for around 3k.

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2021, 7:57 am

dont forget you need to get a link with an inspector most importantly
a licensed electrician is nothing without his inspector link

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 19th, 2021, 8:55 am

As with almost everything else in Trinidad^...sad to say

Postby pugboy » November 19th, 2021, 12:36 pm

easily the most blatant corrupt organization in the country
they make no bones about charging fees when the official fee supposed to be a few hundred or so

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:As with almost everything else in Trinidad^...sad to say

topman

Postby topman » September 7th, 2023, 3:25 pm

For someone with a BSc Degree in Electrical Engineering, does anyone know what is the requirements for the license

Postby 16 cycles » September 7th, 2023, 9:12 pm

Reckon same process and lots of experience.

Doubt BSc would cover specifics in T&Ts code for house wiring.

Postby adnj » September 7th, 2023, 9:25 pm

topman wrote:For someone with a BSc Degree in Electrical Engineering, does anyone know what is the requirements for the license
Your degree along with two letters of recommendation from licensed wiremen are required to take the exam.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 7th, 2023, 11:53 pm

yeah.
That's right.

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2023, 8:01 am

topman wrote:For someone with a BSc Degree in Electrical Engineering, does anyone know what is the requirements for the license
BSC is over kill,

Normally it's a craft, city & guilds or EET required

Postby pugboy » September 8th, 2023, 8:05 am

yeah i don’t think i have met any electrician with degrees

what about inspectorate inspectors ?
how yuh does become one?
what is qualifications. required apart from degree in bribes

Postby alfa » September 8th, 2023, 10:22 am

I think they should accept the bsc and even though it's overkill in this economy even engineers looking to do lil PJ on the side to

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 8th, 2023, 1:46 pm

I think what he is asking is if someone already has a BSc if thay can get a wireman's license without doing an actual wireman's course.

Postby zoom rader » September 8th, 2023, 6:34 pm

Pirate wrote:I think what he is asking is if someone already has a BSc if thay can get a wireman's license without doing an actual wireman's course.
Nope, he has to do the test , it's like a driving test. Even if u are formula 1 race car driver you will still need a drivers permit for the public roads

Postby adnj » September 8th, 2023, 6:41 pm

Pirate wrote:I think what he is asking is if someone already has a BSc if thay can get a wireman's license without doing an actual wireman's course.
Nope, he has to do the test , it's like a driving test. Even if u are formula 1 race car driver you will still need a drivers permit for the public roads

You have completely misinterpreted the post that you replied to.

The answer has already been given:
Degree
2 recommendations
Take the exam

Pirate

Postby Pirate » September 8th, 2023, 7:21 pm

yeah. I meant they just didn't have to do the course.
They still have to write the exam, and pass... :)