Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Everything Smart Homes in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluefete » July 23rd, 2022, 10:43 pm

Matix: I tried to enable it but it is asking for a verification code which I do not have. Will have to check the installer on Monday.

Thanks for the help. Much appreciated.

matix

Postby matix » July 24th, 2022, 6:58 am

bluefete wrote:Matix: I tried to enable it but it is asking for a verification code which I do not have. Will have to check the installer on Monday.

There’s a box to check to enable, input a new verification code, can be something simple like ‘bluefete’. Make sure to apply and save the settings, reboot the DVR, then recheck to see if the status is online.

Postby bluefete » July 24th, 2022, 1:58 pm

matix wrote:
bluefete wrote:Matix: I tried to enable it but it is asking for a verification code which I do not have. Will have to check the installer on Monday.

There’s a box to check to enable, input a new verification code, can be something simple like ‘bluefete’. Make sure to apply and save the settings, reboot the DVR, then recheck to see if the status is online.

I got it to be back online.

BUT, it is still not coming up on my laptop.

I will PM you.

Postby st7 » October 3rd, 2022, 3:51 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 3rd, 2022, 7:19 pm

So everything now has the word "smart" in front of it to signify that it can be operated in that manner.

So technically is a "smart" human a robot?

fozzy2010

Postby fozzy2010 » November 15th, 2022, 7:48 pm

Good night. Anyone know where I can get a Robot Vacuum repaired?

Postby pugboy » November 15th, 2022, 7:50 pm

ask on the robot forums, maybe somebody abroad may have had same issue.

fozzy2010 wrote:Good night. Anyone know where I can get a Robot Vacuum repaired?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 15th, 2022, 9:41 pm

Wyze now has mesh routers which are great for smart homes.
Not sure how Wyze can sell their products at such low prices compared to everyone else

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2023, 8:58 pm

anybody using the wyze gate controller?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 1st, 2023, 10:12 pm

pugboy wrote:anybody using the wyze gate controller?

Is it a gate controller or a garage door controller?
I don’t think it will work with our gate motors (TAU etc)

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2023, 10:29 pm

it works with a wyze camv3 to look at a qcode you stick on the gate so it can send a msg if gate is open or closed

it has a piggy back connection to the manual press switch so it can operate the gate that way
so your gate needs to have a manual press switch which i assume is normally open

there are after market fob receivers which can be installed and piggy back just like that and use cheaper remotes than the ripoff tau ones

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 1st, 2023, 10:32 pm

pugboy wrote:it works with a wyze camv3 to look at a qcode you stick on the gate so it can send a msg if gate is open or closed

it has a piggy back connection to the manual press switch so it can operate the gate that way
so your gate needs to have a manual press switch which i assume is normally open

there are after market fob receivers which can be installed and piggy back just like that and use cheaper remotes than the ripoff tau ones

I saw the QR code feature but wondered how close the camera had to be to be able to read that.
Usually a garage door / lift will only be about 6ft-10ft away or so

Postby pugboy » January 3rd, 2023, 7:27 am

They say wyzecamv3 needs to be 15ft away, I see some ppl say they reprinted the qr code double size to get it to work from further.

however I see a lot of ppl use this type a while now

https://www.amazon.com/meross-Smart-Con ... 5QZR2?th=1

I gonna get one of these to try.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 3rd, 2023, 7:37 am

pugboy wrote:They say wyzecamv3 needs to be 15ft away, I see some ppl say they reprinted the qr code double size to get it to work from further.

however I see a lot of ppl use this type a while now

https://www.amazon.com/meross-Smart-Con ... 5QZR2?th=1

I gonna get one of these to try.

Yes and use a weatherproof contact sensor to tell if the gate is open or closed

Postby aaron17 » January 3rd, 2023, 8:16 am

Need something that alerts me audible to my family when someone walks in my driveway etc. Most of the time when i did research...the devices tripping or battery running out.

Postby Gladiator » January 3rd, 2023, 10:55 pm

aaron17 wrote:Need something that alerts me audible to my family when someone walks in my driveway etc. Most of the time when i did research...the devices tripping or battery running out.
Get a blink camera and an Amazon echo.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 4th, 2023, 7:48 am

aaron17 wrote:Need something that alerts me audible to my family when someone walks in my driveway etc. Most of the time when i did research...the devices tripping or battery running out.

Audible where?
There are relatively cheap motion sensor chimes
https://amzn.to/3CnSyHX

Postby Chimera » January 31st, 2023, 12:13 am

any of you have a smart dashboard set up?

looking to set up a few old 10 inch fire tabs as smart dashboards but looking for the easiest way

saw some of them allow you to have the tablets use the camera to motion detect so once you walk by they automatically turn on and display your smart dashboard

i not sure if i getting it wrong but i have a lot of different branded smart devices,

do i need to get a central HUB for everything?

what i seeing online is i need either a Hubitat or Smart Things hub to make everything work seemlessly?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2023, 6:37 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:any of you have a smart dashboard set up?

looking to set up a few old 10 inch fire tabs as smart dashboards but looking for the easiest way

saw some of them allow you to have the tablets use the camera to motion detect so once you walk by they automatically turn on and display your smart dashboard

i not sure if i getting it wrong but i have a lot of different branded smart devices,

do i need to get a central HUB for everything?

what i seeing online is i need either a Hubitat or Smart Things hub to make everything work seemlessly?

Are all your smart devices compatible with Alexa?

Postby Chimera » January 31st, 2023, 6:52 am

Yes they are

Most are Alexa devices and the rest are linked to smart life app.

Looking for functionality like this

https://youtu.be/ci1jWk5kL5Y

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 31st, 2023, 7:37 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yes they are

Many of the good ones are a paid monthly subscription. But the Fire Tablets and Echo Shows have a built in dashboard/home app for Alexa devices.

https://www.androidcentral.com/tablets/ ... -dashboard

Postby Chimera » January 31st, 2023, 7:59 am

Duane I owe you a kiss

Postby timelapse » January 31st, 2023, 9:13 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Duane I owe you a kiss
Pics or it didn't happen

Postby MaxPower » January 31st, 2023, 9:46 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Duane I owe you a kiss

He’s a great kisser with he cute self.

Postby Chimera » January 31st, 2023, 10:38 am

long time yuh use to see duane strolling around pricesmart normal normal

now since he collecting his millions from tuner and his share of hundreds from zorce/forex/metaverse......he does only shop massy so i doh see him anymore

Postby timelapse » January 31st, 2023, 11:20 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:long time yuh use to see duane strolling around pricesmart normal normal

now since he collecting his millions from tuner and his share of hundreds from zorce/forex/metaverse......he does only shop massy so i doh see him anymore
Yeah Bodaberg stoosh with heself

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2023, 4:57 am

Many of the good ones are a paid monthly subscription. But the Fire Tablets and Echo Shows have a built in dashboard/home app for Alexa devices.

i have a few 10 inch 2019 firetabs i trying to make into dashboards...but like they dont have that dashboard option?

any other advice?

i eh mind paying a subscription if it bess

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 2nd, 2023, 6:22 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

i have a few 10 inch 2019 firetabs i trying to make into dashboards...but like they dont have that dashboard option?

any other advice?

i eh mind paying a subscription if it bess

Update your firmware.
It is available on the 2019 10”

https://www.theverge.com/2020/10/27/215 ... oard-alexa

Postby Chimera » February 2nd, 2023, 9:21 am

my mistake, its 2017s i have :(

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 2nd, 2023, 9:33 am

pugboy wrote:it works with a wyze camv3 to look at a qcode you stick on the gate so it can send a msg if gate is open or closed

Beware, Wyze devices are glitchy and laggy AF.

I have been a Wyze user for a few years and last year I said eff that I'm done. Cameras to Wyze Sense to Headphones to Plugs and Bulbs. All glitchy in their own stupid ways. Current gone? Readd all your bulbs. Software update? Readd all your sensors or this last time, brick the Sense hub completely.