Trini invents ‘wonton machine’

basicosenso

Postby basicosenso » January 10th, 2018, 5:38 pm

family success: Wonton Crunch’s Prim, Grace and Dean Singh are set to move out of the Galipeau Centre and into a new purpose-built food-processing plant in Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada.

A former Smiths Falls Hershey factory worker has struck it rich in the wonton business, with his Wonton Crunch products flying off the shelves—and his family business set to expand.
Prim Singh used knowledge of food processing gained at the former chocolate plant to design a computerised machine that fills and folds 5,000 wontons every hour.

As a young man, Singh worked in a bar in Trinidad and Tobago where he learned the elaborate folding technique behind the boat-shaped wonton. Singh said the crispy, Chinese dumplings were so popular, they often outsold liquor.
Singh left the island nearly 30 years ago, settled in Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada, and got a job cleaning food-processing equipment on the production floor at the Hershey’s plant.

Always a tinkerer, Singh studied the machinery, noting how electro­nics and mechanics were married together in a way that allowed for the creation of elaborately construc­ted snack foods. In the late 1990s, he took a three-year leave from Hershey's to study computers, eventually setting up a sales and repair shop in his home.

To supplement the family income while he was away from Hershey's, he and his wife Grace, along with their two children, spent their weekends in the kitchen, hand-folding thousands of wontons to sell at local businesses.

Then he told his family that he wanted to try to build a machine that could master the complex, origami-like folds of the boat-shaped wonton.

But after seven years of tinkering in the family garage, and a eureka! moment, Singh solved the puzzle of how to get a machine to fill and fold a boat-shaped wonton.

"Movement and machinery, they're all pretty much based on the same principles, and if you understand the principle of the movement, you can apply it to pretty much any machine," he said.

New facility to open in January

With assistance from the Business Development Bank of Canada, and a helpful push by a successful appearance on Dragons' Den, Wonton Crunch is now selling more than 250,000 crispy jalapeno cream cheese wontons to Farm Boy stores every month — with new flavours on the way.
The machine developed by Prim Singh can produce 5,000 wontons every hour.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20161230 ... achine8217
http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/ottawa/wo ... -1.3906724
Last edited by basicosenso on January 10th, 2018, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Trini invents ‘wonton machine’

Postby skylinechild » January 10th, 2018, 5:49 pm

well done... inspiration yo....

Postby paid_influencer » January 10th, 2018, 5:56 pm

sometimes i read these articles and it just confirms that i made poor life choices

that fella lucky he in canada. so much more opportunities there, and if you do good, you won't have to worry about being robbed or killed like over here

Postby hydroep » January 10th, 2018, 6:04 pm

Nice!!!

Postby *KRONIK* » January 10th, 2018, 6:23 pm

I would have like to see a video of it in action

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 10th, 2018, 6:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:sometimes i read these articles and it just confirms that i made poor life choices

that fella lucky he in canada. so much more opportunities there, and if you do good, you won't have to worry about being robbed or killed like over here

Consider this what if you never had a choice? A lot of folks in Trinidad and Tobago never had the opportunity.

But you are right there is far more opportunity over there than here, it didn't have to be that way...but......
True there is a greater reward for those who do the right thing abroad.
As was mentioned before the real goal is to maximize the use of technology time and time again it has been proven that societies that have embraced technology and used to give its citizens a better way of life have enjoyed the fruits of this endeavour.

Postby Rovin » January 10th, 2018, 6:56 pm

i remember seeing this story online sometime around early to mid last yr ......

fatboy slim

Postby fatboy slim » January 10th, 2018, 7:45 pm

fantastic job prim singh now I have the sudden urge for shrimp wonton

Postby Morpheus » January 10th, 2018, 8:16 pm

Hmmm good stuff

basicosenso

Postby basicosenso » January 11th, 2018, 12:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:sometimes i read these articles and it just confirms that i made poor life choices

it's never too late....there is still time :D

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 11th, 2018, 1:06 pm

That's great stuff. It's also a 2016 article.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » January 11th, 2018, 1:24 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

Consider this what if you never had a choice? A lot of folks in Trinidad and Tobago never had the opportunity.

But you are right there is far more opportunity over there than here, it didn't have to be that way...but......
As was mentioned before the real goal is to maximize the use of technology time and time again it has been proven that societies that have embraced technology and used to give its citizens a better way of life have enjoyed the fruits of this endeavour.

Yuh mean like thiz fella?

A DOUBLES factory operator in San Juan says the company has invented a doubles-making machine and a pholourie machine, which can cut production times of the local culinary delights by 40 per cent.
The doubles machine can produce up to 1,000 doubles an hour while the pholourie machine can make 12,000 pholouries in an eight-hour shift.
The machines are the brainchild of Toddy Ramsahai of Radha Swami Industries Ltd, the company which owns and operates supermarket-based doubles outlets branded as “Doubles King”.
For the past three years, the Boundary Road, San Juan factory has been using the machines to mass-produce barra and pholourie which are then sold to local vendors.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170503 ... -pholourie

Postby Dizzy28 » January 11th, 2018, 1:33 pm

That Toddy fella questionable not as a doubles man but as an innovator. Radha Swami is the parent company of Caribbean Jewelers and they diversified into doubles when one of the brothers died and the wife took her half of the business (The Kaur Jewelers that replaced some branches of Caribbean Jewelers).
They bought those machines from India and I was a bit taken aback to see Toddy Ramsahai as a participant in the Ideas to Innovation competition a few years ago as I have my doubts as to how innovative the machines actually are. Fried dough is not unique to us and there are a number of manufacturers making machines to roll and fry dough (re barra)

basicosenso

Postby basicosenso » January 11th, 2018, 1:48 pm

Actually they bought parts from india and tweaked it with their designs and blueprints to create the machine.

basicosenso

Postby basicosenso » January 11th, 2018, 1:50 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:

However, not everyone has an interest in the tech field.

Postby Redman » January 11th, 2018, 2:01 pm

With 1.3m people we will always be a less fertile place for new ideas to catch on.

Which is different from the conception of the idea itself.
in that respect UWI has failed us and the region totally

Postby paid_influencer » January 11th, 2018, 2:06 pm

basicosenso wrote:Actually they bought parts from india and tweaked it with their designs and blueprints to create the machine.

indeed. 'nnovation does not mean re-inventing the wheel, but applying the wheel in a novel way.

Average

Postby Average » January 11th, 2018, 4:35 pm

Best piece of news I have read all day.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 11th, 2018, 7:22 pm

basicosenso wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:

However, not everyone has an interest in the tech field.

Not necessarily the tech field as a whole industry but also or more so the use of it, how well do we try to incorporate it into what we do?

Added to that not just inventing or innovating but looking to adopt and adapt other technologies that can suitable to us and our needs.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 11th, 2018, 7:31 pm

Redman wrote:With 1.3m people we will always be a less fertile place for new ideas to catch on.

I do agree the amount of independent research carried out probably is an issue, efforts should be made to increase the research and development infrastructure at the campuses....especially with regards to alternative and eco-friendly energy and resource management.

However could it also be because we are not by nature a risk taking people, as we lack basic infrastructure it makes it difficult for citizens to take the chance and follow an idea from conception to reality? In other countries they have a social safety net that removes some of the risk of product development, which frees people up tremendously.

Personally our attitude to failure is terrible, failure is to be feared and ridiculed, not ideal for a culture that wants to promote innovation or such.

Postby K74T » January 11th, 2018, 9:33 pm

Welcomeo too 2016O OPO.

Postby pugboy » January 11th, 2018, 9:41 pm

Sad that we are always clamouring for
"Trini achieves....."
When it is usually somebody who has long moved on from these shores.
Are really so starved of hope and self esteem ?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » January 11th, 2018, 11:16 pm

pugboy wrote:Sad that we are always clamouring for
"Trini achieves....."
When it is usually somebody who has long moved on from these shores.
Are really so starved of hope and self esteem ?

Yeah.....

I didn't type that to be funny......we got beat, the very same people we put to help deliver us from submission put us right back into it.

holo

Postby holo » January 12th, 2018, 11:26 am

China has automatic wonton machine longtime ago, small machine sold for 900USD and can make 4800 wantons/hour, big commercial machine can make 20000/hour, price is 2500usd.

basicosenso

Postby basicosenso » January 12th, 2018, 11:41 am

Actually it's the first wonton machine for that particular design of wontons which is the most widely sold throughout the world in chinese restaurants...

basicosenso

Postby basicosenso » January 12th, 2018, 11:43 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
Redman wrote:With 1.3m people we will always be a less fertile place for new ideas to catch on.

I do agree the amount of independent research carried out probably is an issue, efforts should be made to increase the research and development infrastructure at the campuses....especially with regards to alternative and eco-friendly energy and resource management.

However could it also be because we are not by nature a risk taking people, as we lack basic infrastructure it makes it difficult for citizens to take the chance and follow an idea from conception to reality? In other countries they have a social safety net that removes some of the risk of product development, which frees people up tremendously.

Personally our attitude to failure is terrible, failure is to be feared and ridiculed, not ideal for a culture that wants to promote innovation or such.

yea i agree, universities need to have facilities to enable research which open 24/7

Postby paid_influencer » January 12th, 2018, 12:14 pm

little known fact: wontons were invented in Trinidad

Postby Dizzy28 » January 12th, 2018, 12:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:little known fact: wontons were invented in Trinidad

Shenanigans!!!

Average

Postby Average » January 12th, 2018, 6:07 pm

holo wrote:China has automatic wonton machine longtime ago, small machine sold for 900USD and can make 4800 wantons/hour, big commercial machine can make 20000/hour, price is 2500usd.

LOL I read that as a chinaman.

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 12th, 2018, 6:45 pm

and then a chinese go one up we and invent a doubles machine