hydroep wrote:As far as I know as long as you miss more than two straight days of work you need a sick leave. Looks like they're counting the weekend hence the request.
Strugglerzinc wrote:Wife works in a Govt office and in such a situation, you need medical for 4 days, however, only 2 days are used from the sick days allotted.
Theory is that you shouldn't get sick Friday, feel better Sat+Sun, then get sick again on Monday.
Strugglerzinc wrote:Wife works in a Govt office and in such a situation, you need medical for 4 days, however, only 2 days are used from the sick days allotted.
Theory is that you shouldn't get sick Friday, feel better Sat+Sun, then get sick again on Monday.
sdawkcab wrote:Well he'll have to deal with that however, but he cannot afford a sick leave, and I doubt he can find anywhere open to do it at this moment. He'll be going to work tomorrow in back pain.
People can say what they want, but I know he's suffering with something, and the antibiotics are having a negative effect on him, and he has 13 days remaining of taking it. Could care less if anyone believes or doesn't believe. It is what it is, but just because you're born in Trinidad doesn't automatically make you a scamp, or someone with no integrity.
sdawkcab wrote:Well he'll have to deal with that however, but he cannot afford a sick leave, and I doubt he can find anywhere open to do it at this moment. He'll be going to work tomorrow in back pain.
People can say what they want, but I know he's suffering with something, and the antibiotics are having a negative effect on him, and he has 13 days remaining of taking it. Could care less if anyone believes or doesn't believe. It is what it is, but just because you're born in Trinidad doesn't automatically make you a scamp, or someone with no integrity.
sdawkcab wrote:Waiz d scene people? Right now my nephew going through a lil scene with work here, regarding sick leave and I trying to get some sound information for him, but I realise it really don't have much resources online to help with this. Tried looking for my answers in the Industrial Act and Labour laws, but really can't seem to find it in those poorly laid out pdfs. So I figured I might ask allyuh here.
D scene is, he was ill Friday and didn't go out to work, was off weekend because he's not required to work weekends (unless he gets called out, and it's not mandatory), but due to some antibiotics he taking, get bad back pain over the weekend and he decided to see d doctor again on Monday, so he missed Monday. They telling him that he needs a sick leave and fit for work to work Tuesday. Are they in the right here, and why?
But, on another note, I realise since it have a lack of such resources, I figure is a good idea we start one. So people can use this thread to query their rights, or just get advice from knowledgeable people here. I sure it have some HR people who might be willing to enlighten d rest of we. This could be a lil knowledge base, or resource thread.
So, anyone with any other questions, feel free to ask dem nah.
SMc wrote:That seems like quite a broad request- first thing would be to check his contract or company policy as it varies greatly from place to place on what the protocol is.
Strugglerzinc wrote:Theory is that you shouldn't get sick Friday, feel better Sat+Sun, then get sick again on Monday.
v.ramdhan wrote:The Conciliation Unit of the Ministry of Labour and Small Enterprise Development, should be able to assist you
Conciliation Unit's offices are open Monday to Friday, from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, except public holidays.
Conciliation Unit
Level 6,
Duke Place
50-54 Duke Street
Port of Spain
Trinidad, West Indies
Tel. (868) 299-0300 Ext 2124
San Fernando
40-42 St. James Street,
San Fernando
Tel. (868) 652-1062 or 652-1056
A33_VQ35 wrote:Rule of thumb, don't get sick Fri n mon because u could find yourself losing 4 days sick leave easy easy...
sdawkcab wrote:Waiz d scene people? Right now my nephew going through a lil scene with work here, regarding sick leave and I trying to get some sound information for him, but I realise it really don't have much resources online to help with this. Tried looking for my answers in the Industrial Act and Labour laws, but really can't seem to find it in those poorly laid out pdfs. So I figured I might ask allyuh here.
D scene is, he was ill Friday and didn't go out to work, was off weekend because he's not required to work weekends (unless he gets called out, and it's not mandatory), but due to some antibiotics he taking, get bad back pain over the weekend and he decided to see d doctor again on Monday, so he missed Monday. They telling him that he needs a sick leave and fit for work to work Tuesday. Are they in the right here, and why?
But, on another note, I realise since it have a lack of such resources, I figure is a good idea we start one. So people can use this thread to query their rights, or just get advice from knowledgeable people here. I sure it have some HR people who might be willing to enlighten d rest of we. This could be a lil knowledge base, or resource thread.
So, anyone with any other questions, feel free to ask dem nah.
Drea wrote:Secondly, if he went to the doctor before wasn't he going to pay? And the doctor didn't charge him, then lets hope the doctor issue the sick leave for free too... A sick leave can't cost more than a doctors visit.
Drea wrote:A33_VQ35 wrote:Rule of thumb, don't get sick Fri n mon because u could find yourself losing 4 days sick leave easy easy...
Incorrect, sick leave is not calc consecutively with weekends if not required to work. Only the Fri and Mon would be deducted from allotment.