Router recommendations ( home use )

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 30th, 2017, 7:13 pm

With the many brands and models out there , which is a good one for home use ? It's solely for a wired connection to the smart TV and for wireless connectivity to two smartphones and 2 tablets mainly.

No gaming , videos or music downloads really. Just basic use.

Thanks in advance

Sōsuke Aizen

Re: Router recommendations ( home use )

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » November 30th, 2017, 7:16 pm

Netgear...

Postby paid_influencer » November 30th, 2017, 7:54 pm

tp-link is good

for that kind of usage, you don't need to spend a lot of money.

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » November 30th, 2017, 8:05 pm

TP link Archer C1900. Extremely powerful router. 600mbps 2.4ghz and over 1500 mbps 5ghz. Its beamforming technology is very good as it keeps giving you a very strong signal over a long range. You should also get a router with parental controls if you have kids. People often overlook this but it's critical these days.
Last edited by SimSimmer69 on November 30th, 2017, 8:05 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » November 30th, 2017, 8:07 pm

tp-link x2. Cheap and works without any problems.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » November 30th, 2017, 8:29 pm

Go Asus.... Very reliable

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 30th, 2017, 9:26 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:TP link Archer C1900. Extremely powerful router. 600mbps 2.4ghz and over 1500 mbps 5ghz. Its beamforming technology is very good as it keeps giving you a very strong signal over a long range. You should also get a router with parental controls if you have kids. People often overlook this but it's critical these days.

This is the shiznit.

Postby ismithx » November 30th, 2017, 10:55 pm

have a Nexxt Nebula 1200AC, bought it in Wizz for $400. It's actually good, I get 800Mbps max on AC, 2xx outside the house, no interference on the 5GHz band, the 2.4 is strong enough to handle the competing networks in the area. featurewise it has beamforming, per-device throttling, and automatic reboots every night among other things.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » November 30th, 2017, 11:03 pm

Nighthawk

TK!

Postby TK! » December 1st, 2017, 1:55 am

Netgear Orbi ... multiple mesh routers.

Mesh is the way to go if u want to maintain high bandwidth on end devices.

Postby skylinechild » December 1st, 2017, 7:20 am

Premchand1976 wrote:With the many brands and models out there , which is a good one for home use ? It's solely for a wired connection to the smart TV and for wireless connectivity to two smartphones and 2 tablets mainly.

No gaming , videos or music downloads really. Just basic use.

Thanks in advance

TP link is crap - it locks up when it gets hot :?
linksys and netgear and belkin is what to look at.

features to look for - gigabit network ports <<<< your smart Tv will really benefit from this be sure to use CAT 6 cable eah.

wifi compatible could be B/G/N/ AC
get one with dual frequency 2.4 / 5 GHZ if you wanna cover distance.
if not....just get a regular router ( with gigabit wired ports)

place in a central location out of direct / indirect sunlight and PROPER ventilation....

you now owe me a 10 second car 8-)

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 1st, 2017, 7:22 am

Lol........ah go buy yuh ah hot wheels .......

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » December 1st, 2017, 8:46 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:TP link Archer C1900. Extremely powerful router. 600mbps 2.4ghz and over 1500 mbps 5ghz. Its beamforming technology is very good as it keeps giving you a very strong signal over a long range. You should also get a router with parental controls if you have kids. People often overlook this but it's critical these days.

Second this TPLink is the bang for buck king ... No it doesnt lock up ... I have owned this little beast (AC1900) for one year office has one as well so you know it can take a proper hammering.

cueball1990

Postby cueball1990 » December 1st, 2017, 9:49 am

TP LINK ARCHER SERIES are great routers, got mine of amazon. you can always try Cisco Linksys routers as they are a good brand as well. if you are connecting several devices dont buy a cheap router as it will get overburdened quickly. better off spending a little money and get one that will last you a while.

Postby skylinechild » December 1st, 2017, 11:19 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Lol........ah go buy yuh ah hot wheels .......

i dont mind... R34 skyline plz.... 1:18 scale.....where meh FORKIN CAR DAN.......* drags cutlass on the road to produce sparks.....

timothymcdavid wrote:Second this TPLink is the bang for buck king ... No it doesnt lock up ... I have owned this little beast (AC1900) for one year office has one as well so you know it can take a proper hammering.

well to each his own... that same router home by me... yea...with the work load i have it would conk out

on my router i use all 4 gigabit network connections plus 10 -12 wireless devices inclusiv of tablet and printer...and the router stil goin strong... goin on 2 yrs now...keep in mind i still have not used the usb 3.0 ports on it to stream data from a hard drive acrodd my network...

whatever you decide op look for a router that has alot of built in RAM / cache and stuff

and btw you lil freaky...you banging and hammering your router...???? go see a psychologist ASAP.... :lol: :lol:

Postby paid_influencer » December 1st, 2017, 11:21 am

For 2 phones and 2 tablets doing basic Internet browsing, the Archer series is overkill. You won't notice a difference between a $300 TTD router and a $3000 TTD router with your set up.

Netflix streaming to an HDTV pulls about roughly 10Mbps at full HD quality. Regular 100Mbps ethernet ports will work fine for that, no need for gigabit.

You'd be better off buying a cheap ($300TTD to $400TTD) router and spending the rest on a higher Internet speed package (25Mbps+).

Postby hydroep » December 1st, 2017, 11:53 am

Anything Linksys especially those that can run third party firmware like DD-WRT. Running a 5-year old refurbished E1000 which serves 3 laptops, a desktop and 4 phones concurrently.

It slows down now and again, nothing a re-flash doesn't cure.

Postby gastly369 » December 1st, 2017, 12:13 pm

For his use basic Linksys with ah ddwrt firmware and he good to go

Postby Spitfir3 » December 1st, 2017, 12:35 pm

a basic linksys router would more than fill your needs and you can get these at almost any computer store
price on the n600 is around 4somn

Postby 88sins » December 2nd, 2017, 10:03 am

Sōsuke Aizen wrote:Netgear...

get the best, or gtfo :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2017, 11:52 am

Been using an Apple AirPort Extreme about 4 years now with no issues. Wireless AC at 1100 and 1300 easily. Use mostly Mac and iOS devices.
Set and forget. Can’t remember the last time it needed resetting.
19 Devices connected via WiFi even the desktop iMac including 5 HD streaming security cameras, just a RAID NAS connected via gigabit Ethernet wired for TimeMachine real time backup.
Mobile app on iOS and MacOS devices to control router.

Works like a champ.

Pity they don’t make them again

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 2nd, 2017, 3:26 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Been using an Apple AirPort Extreme about 4 years now with no issues. Wireless AC at 1100 and 1300 easily. Use mostly Mac and iOS devices.
19 Devices connected via WiFi even the desktop iMac including 5 HD streaming security cameras, just a RAID NAS connected via gigabit Ethernet wired for TimeMachine real time backup.

Works like a champ.

What's the newer model to this ?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2017, 5:01 pm

^ none, Apple stopped making routers last year

it's a great device as it is a router, network switch, wireless access point and NAS in one. The TimeMachine version has a harddrive in it.
https://www.apple.com/lae/airport-extreme/

nice looking device too

airuma

Postby airuma » December 2nd, 2017, 7:29 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Been using an Apple AirPort Extreme about 4 years now with no issues. Wireless AC at 1100 and 1300 easily. Use mostly Mac and iOS devices.

Works like a champ.

X 1,000,000

INDAVID WORKSHOP

Postby INDAVID WORKSHOP » December 2nd, 2017, 7:48 pm

https://10beasts.com/best-wireless-routers/

Make sure your router has a comprehensive coverage. A minimum range of 4572cm (150ft) for indoor use is good enough.
Ensure your router has a dual band (broadband).
Your router should be able to broadcast 802.11n as well as older versions.
The router should be WAP2 secure.
Should have a USB functionality as well as wired port.
A suitable antenna type is a requirement. Preferably, an external antenna.
Must support IPv6.
Last edited by INDAVID WORKSHOP on December 2nd, 2017, 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » December 2nd, 2017, 8:09 pm

So what is the difference between home use and commercial or office use ?

Why is TSTT or Blink router NOT good enough ? **

Or Personal Hotspot LTE from your LTE mobile phone ?

If you want speed and ting get a T1 :D

** The white one with the 2 antennas that look like a Vulcan rabbit **

Postby ismithx » December 2nd, 2017, 8:56 pm

hush nah

big ppl talking

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2017, 9:15 pm

INDAVID WORKSHOP wrote:https://10beasts.com/best-wireless-routers/

Make sure your router has a comprehensive coverage. A minimum range of 4572cm (150ft) for indoor use is good enough.
Ensure your router has a dual band (broadband).
Your router should be able to broadcast 802.11n as well as older versions.
The router should be WAP2 secure.
Should have a USB functionality as well as wired port.
A suitable antenna type is a requirement. Preferably, an external antenna.
Must support IPv6.

The newer standard some years now is AC. N is older and A/B is even older.
If you are buying a router today ensure it supports 802.11 AC as this is what most new smartphones, laptops, tablets, smart TV's etc are coming with

Postby RedVEVO » December 3rd, 2017, 1:39 am

ismithx wrote:hush nah

big ppl talking

Ok fadder :D

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 3rd, 2017, 6:25 am

Screenshot_20171130-163103_01.jpg