Digicel LTE

nick639v2

Re: Digicel LTE

Postby nick639v2 » April 1st, 2019, 6:33 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So just to confirm when you cap out at 10GB for Unlimited fair usage policy, they make you pay for a new plan again for another $400?

This is confirmed for both Bmobile and Digicel?
10gb??? According to my data usage, last month when I hit the 80% fair usage I was at 45gb actually. I always have my data counters reset when my plan auto renews as well.

First time I reached that much and it was because I left my phone as a hotspot and forgot my shield tv streaming some 4k content

This is on Digicel

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2019, 9:26 pm

I just asked Digicel about the cap and they said the Cap is at 40GB

I also asked Bmobile and they claimed that they have no Cap but I seriously doubt that, Bmobile is known to lie.

Another disturbing thing I learned during this conversation with them is that when you take a Data plan it will AUTO RENEW and there is noway to disable the Auto Renew. Now you can attempt to call them and plead your case and beg them to remove the Auto Renew so it will stop taking money on your phone, however in most cases they will only lie and say they have removed the Auto Renew when in reality they never did. Classic scam from TSTT

orangelancer

Postby orangelancer » April 1st, 2019, 10:43 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:ok thanks, btw would you recommend Digicel LTE over Bmobile?

I know one thing for sure Bmobile the data does NOT roll over where as on Digicel it actually does. The only part I am confused about is Post Paid vs Pre Paid

Is Data cheaper on post paid with Digicel? the only thing I can find is you don't pay Vat on post paid but not sure if this is a typo on their site or some misunderstanding

$350/month “UNLIMITED” Data(cap set at 40gb I believe,UNLIMITED LOCAL AN CELL CALLS TO ANY NETWORK.UNLIMITED TXT,UNLIMITED USE OF THE d ‘music app,
d’Music app is a Digicel app to stream MUSIC.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 1st, 2019, 11:11 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I just asked Digicel about the cap and they said the Cap is at 40GB

I also asked Bmobile and they claimed that they have no Cap but I seriously doubt that, Bmobile is known to lie.

Another disturbing thing I learned during this conversation with them is that when you take a Data plan it will AUTO RENEW and there is noway to disable the Auto Renew. Now you can attempt to call them and plead your case and beg them to remove the Auto Renew so it will stop taking money on your phone, however in most cases they will only lie and say they have removed the Auto Renew when in reality they never did. Classic scam from TSTT

I know plenty ppl that buy plans, but none of their plans auto renew, only through the bmobile app can you set a plan to aromatically be repurchased when the first one expires

Postby gastly369 » April 2nd, 2019, 2:26 am

I use both ...have to option to auto renew or not....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 2nd, 2019, 6:47 am

gastly369 wrote:I use both ...have to option to auto renew or not....

Chat History with them

BTW if I pay for a Data Plan
any plan
does it Auto Renew?
and do I need to call Bmobile to remove the Auto Renew?

Yes, you need to call us at*100 to cancel the auto renew option if you no longer wish to have it on your account.

Postby adnj » April 3rd, 2019, 10:14 am

The plan cannot auto renew if you don't have sufficient credit for the account.

death365

Postby death365 » May 27th, 2019, 7:16 am

Oh come on Digi 15 and 25 Gb that’s unlimited??

An they sent up the prices too, on a related note... who has post paid unlimited data : what’s the cap ?

DevBaptiste

Digicel LTE

Postby DevBaptiste » May 27th, 2019, 7:32 am

death365 wrote:Image

An they sent up the prices too, on a related note... who has post paid unlimited data : what’s the cap ?

Postpaid Unlimited data cap is 400GB

death365

Postby death365 » May 27th, 2019, 7:36 am

Wow soo. 25 vs 400 . Guess it’s post paid time

Postby ismithx » May 27th, 2019, 10:10 am

DevBaptiste wrote:
death365 wrote:Image

Postpaid Unlimited data cap is 400GB

Waaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyytt

I on postpaid so yay

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2019, 3:40 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So just to confirm when you cap out at 10GB for Unlimited fair usage policy, they make you pay for a new plan again for another $400?

This is confirmed for both Bmobile and Digicel?
10gb??? According to my data usage, last month when I hit the 80% fair usage I was at 45gb actually. I always have my data counters reset when my plan auto renews as well.

First time I reached that much and it was because I left my phone as a hotspot and forgot my shield tv streaming some 4k content

This is on Digicel

you should be able to set data limits on your phone as well

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 28th, 2019, 5:35 pm

I contacted Digicel about this "unlimited data" scam

After your LTE runs out they switch you over to unlimited 2G Data which is probably as bad as Dialup. At most you might be able to send a wats app message

I can't imagine what it must be like to browse websites with EDGE 2G

maybe allyuh with Digicel who use their EDGE can post your experience

death365

Postby death365 » May 31st, 2019, 9:28 am

ah going sound weird here , but ah recently switch to Post Paid and the data speeds im getting is 20% above what i was getting on prepaid also the cell tower that i connect to is different home and at work .

Not sure if its some network priority thing or maybe its just me. BTW i use the iphone's builtin field test to see what cell tower i connect to.

death365

Postby death365 » June 16th, 2019, 8:06 am

Anyone ever got more that approx 60 Mbs on LTE or is that the max of Digicel speed ?

death365

Postby death365 » September 7th, 2019, 3:45 pm

Today I noticed that Digi switched on the band 4 lte. Anyone else noticed? Better speeds too
Screenshot_20190907_150349_net.simplyadvanced.ltediscovery.jpeg
Screenshot_20190907_163345_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpg

Postby noshownogo » September 8th, 2019, 4:31 pm

death365 wrote:Anyone ever got more that approx 60 Mbs on LTE or is that the max of Digicel speed ?

currently getting 66Mbps LTE consistently off the tower in my area

Postby ismithx » September 8th, 2019, 6:14 pm

steups... most I ever get is 20 down, maybe I need a new phone

then again, I probably do, my phone is crossflashed with another firmware from a different region as it was originally locked to sprint, maybe the baseband lost a few frequencies

Postby stev » September 9th, 2019, 12:54 am

in the early i got ~65Mbps down and ~45Mbps up

now i just get average 35Mbps daily and 10Mbps up

death365

Postby death365 » September 14th, 2019, 6:10 am

Early this morning over 100

Mind blown
Screenshot_20190914_061005_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpeg

Postby ismithx » September 14th, 2019, 6:17 pm

wah phone is that?

death365

Postby death365 » September 14th, 2019, 7:07 pm

ismithx wrote:wah phone is that?
Huawei P30 pro

Postby adnj » September 14th, 2019, 8:02 pm

If you want faster download speeds, stay stationary and get a five bar signal like in the prior speed test screen shot.

Also shop the LTE modem category, too. The P30 Pro is LTE CAT21, IIRC. New LTE category hardware is released often. Image

death365

Postby death365 » September 15th, 2019, 7:34 am

Meh wife J4+ getting around that speed too ... So it seem is Digi network
adnj wrote:
If you want faster download speeds, stay stationary and get a five bar signal like in the prior speed test screen shot.

Also shop the LTE modem category, too. The P30 Pro is LTE CAT21, IIRC. New LTE category hardware is released often. Image

Postby ismithx » September 15th, 2019, 8:56 am

Nice man, maybe I need a new phone lol

death365

Postby death365 » November 12th, 2019, 8:37 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/local/boost-for-digicel-data-customers/article_9b82e536-04e4-11ea-8661-ef02927245f7.html

I now read this... I have never seen any other news about it.
Any body know what band, availability, speed, etc

Postby gastly369 » November 12th, 2019, 4:22 pm

Hummmmm

death365

Postby death365 » November 13th, 2019, 12:54 pm

Getting this via Digicel Lte checker site.... But still only in Lte an ah in d middle ah town too

https://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/mobile/explore/other-stuff/lte-checker.html
IMG_20191113_125145.jpeg

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » November 14th, 2019, 2:48 pm

Based on your previous screenshots, Digicel is using B2 PCS (1900 MHz) and B4 AWS(2100/1700 MHz) for LTE service. I'm guessing they also use B5 (850MHz) for LTE though it doesnt show in your screenshots. LTE Adv supports carrier aggregation combo B2+B4; and also B2+B5, B4+B5, B2+B4+B5 (3CC Carrier Aggregation).

While the base station will support these combos, the phone must also support these combos. Generally any North American phone variant will support these combos and you will get LTE Adv service. However if your phone is a non-North American variant, its unlikely it'll be able to support these combos and will just give you vanilla LTE connectivity.

As an example, the Samsung Note 10 has 3 north american variants, SM-N970U, SM-N970U1 and SM-N970W which will support Digicel's LTE Adv combos. If you happen to have a European Note 10, e.g. SM-N970F, while it will support individually B2, B4, B5, it most likely will not support the CA combo B2+B4 or any of the aforementioned.

death365 wrote:Screenshot_20190907_150349_net.simplyadvanced.ltediscovery.jpeg Screenshot_20190907_163345_org.zwanoo.android.speedtest.jpg

death365

Postby death365 » November 14th, 2019, 6:24 pm

Thanks for the info... Lots of good stf there.

I use a Lte tracker app... Lte discovery and it logs all the cell sites always band 2 and 4. Never see anything else.