Looking from some car advice. Can you help a lady out?

dana72

Looking from some car advice. Can you help a lady out?

Postby dana72 » October 31st, 2017, 5:02 pm

So I'm looking to buy a new SUV. I'm in love with the Kia Sportage, and I'm also strongly considering the Toyota Rav 4 and the Hyundai Tucson. What do you think would be the best one to buy fully loaded? What about after sales parts and service? Any thoughts, advice, experiences would be appreciated greatly. Muchas gracias! :rainbowafro:

Edit*
Thanks for the replies guys. I'm loving the feedback keep it coming. So far Toyota seems to be the frontrunner. I love it but the Kia has so much more internal features, and the Tucson impressed me as well. Ugh, I can't decide.

Edit 2*
Wow, well first of all let me say thanks for the overwhelming response and good advice. I have to say I cannot ignore the general consensus that Toyota would be the best way to go, especially since I'm planning on having my vehicle for at least 9/10 years. I'm also going to check out the Honda Cr-v before making a final decision. The biggest lesson I've learned from this thread (and other advisors irl) - stick with the Japanese cars :wink: Looks like that's the way I'm headed folks. Thanks again!
Last edited by dana72 on November 2nd, 2017, 8:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Looking from some car advice. Can you help a lady out?

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 6:02 pm

Toyota RAV 4 is the best .

It was $315 K but now its $299 ( 2W D with Fabric )

Experiences, thoughts and gracias - I cannot give .
Since I not know you.

snatman

Postby snatman » October 31st, 2017, 6:10 pm

According to Consumer Reports:

1 Forester
2 CX5
3 Rav 4
4 CRV
5 Sportage
6 Tucson

Postby Gem_in_i » October 31st, 2017, 6:31 pm

I have a Tucson and love it. I dont drive it much again but I still love it.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2017, 6:46 pm

toyota all the way...especially with resale value....

Korean vehicles only offer style and poor resale value (just check trinicars)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » October 31st, 2017, 6:50 pm

Toyota ftw......no repairs guaranteed for at least 6-7 years...

Postby RedVEVO » October 31st, 2017, 6:56 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:I have a Tucson and love it. I dont drive it much again but I still love it.

.. then sell the Tucson , buy a Threesome .. and drive again :)

Postby MaxPower » October 31st, 2017, 7:09 pm

Hi Dana

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » October 31st, 2017, 7:11 pm

What ever you decide to buy, pick me up to go for a ride, we will test the suspension. I can park up my BMX for that one day

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » October 31st, 2017, 7:28 pm

I don't like Toyota Trinidad and Tobago limited (TTTL) as a company... But a Toyota is a Toyota is a Toyota and They make some of the most reliable vehicles. Servicing by TTTL is a painful experience... They will test your patience. Hyundais don't seem to hold up reliability wise and I avoid southern sales (Kia) cause that is usually headache from day one

car

Postby car » October 31st, 2017, 7:56 pm

Make sure to check which uses premium or super unless gas money is no problem for you.
RAV4 uses super. Have one 15 months now. No regrets

Zetski

Postby Zetski » October 31st, 2017, 8:32 pm

x-trail does run rel good too check that out too buh if yuh doh like that go for a rav4.. yuh guaranteed to not shut down on d beetham stretch.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » October 31st, 2017, 8:54 pm

Why not consider the Suzuki Vitara? I find it to be the best value 4WD SUV/CUV per dollar spent.

The biggest issue will be your dealings with Lifestyle Motors. From current personal experience with TTTL and SS&SL, both of these companies are really no better, with SS&SL being at the bottom of the heap.

dana72

Postby dana72 » October 31st, 2017, 8:54 pm

Thanks for the replies guys. I'm loving the feedback keep it coming. So far Toyota seems to be the frontrunner. I love it but the Kia has so much more internal features, and the Tucson impressed me as well. Ugh, I can't decide.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 31st, 2017, 9:03 pm

As said earlier...korean vehicles only offer style and daz all...if you looking for reliability and resale, look somewhere else...the one thing all these vehicles(including toyota) have in common is a BS customer service from respective companies

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 31st, 2017, 9:16 pm

You can compare the local models and prices at http://www.ttautoguide.com
Screen Shot 2017-10-31 at 9.16.24 PM.jpg

Postby pugboy » October 31st, 2017, 9:21 pm

Some toyotas have a fault with Aircon compressor solenoid valve sticking
Esp corolla and Yaris, find out if RAV4 uses same compressor

dana72

Postby dana72 » November 1st, 2017, 12:25 pm

Thanks for the link Duane. Really helpful.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 1st, 2017, 12:41 pm

dana72 wrote:Thanks for the link Duane. Really helpful.

There are insurance quote and finance calculators for local new vehicles on TT Auto Guide as well.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » November 1st, 2017, 12:46 pm

Toyota toyota toyota.

Nothing else really compares.

Postby Dizzy28 » November 1st, 2017, 1:31 pm

By the CX5. It hard!!

Regards
Shiv

Postby Chimera » November 1st, 2017, 2:12 pm

doh buy nothinggggggg from southern sales

Postby RedVEVO » November 1st, 2017, 3:39 pm

dana72 wrote:Thanks for the replies guys. I'm loving the feedback keep it coming. So far Toyota seems to be the frontrunner. I love it but the Kia has so much more internal features, and the Tucson impressed me as well. Ugh, I can't decide.

Another SUV you can consider is the Honda CRV :)

Postby gastly369 » November 1st, 2017, 4:15 pm

Check PM

Regards
Shiv

Postby RedVEVO » November 1st, 2017, 4:23 pm

gastly369 wrote:Check PM

Regards
Shiv

Check Rowley ?

Dana that will be a carstrophe !

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 1st, 2017, 6:21 pm

eet phat?

Postby MaxPower » November 1st, 2017, 10:49 pm

pugboy wrote:Some toyotas have a fault with Aircon compressor solenoid valve sticking
Esp corolla and Yaris, find out if RAV4 uses same compressor

Aye bro yeh man, i usually hear that problem alot..

I find it odd its about 5 ppl i know have this issue....but hear this...both them and the vehicle look stink and nasty.....weird ya

matix

Postby matix » November 1st, 2017, 11:13 pm

Vitara. Can't go wrong there.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 1st, 2017, 11:58 pm

matix wrote:Vitara. Can't go wrong there.

Hmmm......nooo

Postby pugboy » November 2nd, 2017, 5:30 am

Police vitaras appear to be holding out ok