Archers get run-around from TTTAF
More than five T&T archers did not get the opportunity to compete at the main Youth Olympic qualifier, The World Youth Archery Championships, which took place earlier this month in Rosario, Argentina, although they made the qualifying scores set by the T&T Target Archery Federation (TTTAF). And now they are unsure of ever having a chance of competing at the Youth Olympics in 2018.
The TTTAF held three qualifiers in 2017, from 21 May to August 6, at the end of which the archers Amaara Beharry with 540 points, Bryanna Ramlakhan (656), Rahul Mahabir (598), Omprakaash Singh (573) and Shemariah Ali, who also shattered the national record in the Cadet 60m event, finished the National Trials fulfilling the criteria set by the TTTAF but were never told by the archery federation that there was no intentions to send a team to the World Youth Championships due to a shortage of funds.
A disappointed Ronald Ali, father of Shemariah, told Guardian Media Sports,“One has to note that all these athletes either posted personal best and national records. What is disturbing is that the TTTAF made its decision not to honour its word even while qualifiers were in progress and failed to communicate this to the youths who were in training. Disrespect and disregard for the value of sacrifice and effort made”
“It is only because I sought answers from the federation that I was told no team would be going” Ali explained.
In a thread of email messages, Gregory Quesnel, president of the TTTAF sought to clear the air on the situation by saying a team could not be sent due to the subvention they received for the year.
“We had to re-evaluate our plans for the year, bearing in mind that the sum has to cover all the expenses and programmes of the federation. Looking at the returns we could expect from attending the Worlds, it was decided that these were not sufficiently beneficial to the federation to justify sending a team.” Quesnel explained.
The federation’s failure to communicate the results of the trials to the fraternity and participating archers, also hinged on the resignation of its secretary a few months ago, Quesnel added.
In response Ali said, “Even if there was an issue with funds, why was not this communicated and the parents given the chance to assist in raising the funds. You cannot have qualifiers taking place when you already know that you are not honouring them. It is unethical and demotivatiing. Given the efforts made by the youth, this situation is very disheartening and speaks to poor governance by the National Sporting Organization and its lack of proper and timely communication.”
However Ali has been pleading with the federation to grant the archers a chance at the Continental Qualifiers in May next year, as he considers the treatment meted out to them to date to be disrespectful and unfair.
Dizzy28 wrote:Which local sporting association is well run and not beset by politics and infighting??
SergioP wrote:Looking at the returns we could expect from attending the Worlds, it was decided that these were not sufficiently beneficial to the federation to justify sending a team.” Quesnel explained.
pugboy wrote:the cycling federation also claimed no money,Teniel Campbell went on her own sponsorship and win caribbean titles. Yet cyycling federation boss went on trip to switzerland and ting earlier this year
Firewall wrote:SergioP wrote:Looking at the returns we could expect from attending the Worlds, it was decided that these were not sufficiently beneficial to the federation to justify sending a team.” Quesnel explained.
This seems myopic.
Does he think they were going to lose?
What other things does he think could raise the profile of the sport in t&t?
I would really like to see an audit done on their records to see what the money will be spent on instead.
skylinechild wrote:prob if they were golf players they might have gotten sponsored....
AnthSmth wrote:skylinechild wrote:prob if they were golf players they might have gotten sponsored....
i see what you did there
RBphoto wrote:AnthSmth wrote:skylinechild wrote:prob if they were golf players they might have gotten sponsored....
i see what you did there
This is why Skylinechild is Bae.
88sins wrote:I don't get why allyuh acting so surprised
T&T has a history of not really caring a whole lot about their athletes, & some people in charge of some sporting programs & facilities are used to turning some sports into a joke with their elitists/big sawatee only mentality.
Sadly, if yuh really want to do well as an athlete here, yuh need to have enough resources of your own to do it yourself, because money from the state or governing bodies ain't a surety, or even a likelihood.
88sins wrote:I don't get why allyuh acting so surprised
T&T has a history of not really caring a whole lot about their athletes, & some people in charge of some sporting programs & facilities are used to turning some sports into a joke with their elitists/big sawatee only mentality.
Sadly, if yuh really want to do well as an athlete here, yuh need to have enough resources of your own to do it yourself, because money from the state or governing bodies ain't a surety, or even a likelihood.
skylinechild wrote:88sins wrote:I don't get why allyuh acting so surprised
to be honest i like the part where AFTER the athlete win they say they have governing bodies of the sport ( swimming pole vaulting figure skating etc etc) but they NEVER received any funds from govt....OR the govt say they supply funding and the governing body say they never received it.
and the best part....when the athlete win everyone ready to recognize and appreciate and give stuff.....the govt...governing body...hell they'll even giv a national day off...