Best car you ever owned

nismo1325

Best car you ever owned

Postby nismo1325 » September 19th, 2017, 10:52 am

Always hearing people beating down cars on this forum but never saw a thread about this

share some stories and experiences

best i owned as a AE101 corolla with a 5A engine very dependable and never ever gave up on me had some of the best memories with this car and to this date i miss this car alot.....my brother borrowed the car and got into an accident and ended the life of it :roll: :(

Re: Best car you ever owned

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2017, 10:56 am

Still own it. Evo 7
most fun to drive, can go on the track, supermarket and beach with family all on the same day.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 19th, 2017, 11:09 am

AE111 with a 5A engine. When i bought it was about 12 years old. Very faithful car. No major issues when i had it and even for an engine with a high milage was still good on gas.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 19th, 2017, 11:12 am

nismo1325

Postby nismo1325 » September 19th, 2017, 11:14 am

fokhan_96 wrote:AE111 with a 5A engine. When i bought it was about 12 years old. Very faithful car. No major issues when i had it and even for an engine with a high milage was still good on gas.

5A engines are legendary in my book and they are very very good on gas too

Postby stev » September 19th, 2017, 11:26 am

always heard about the 5A engines but sadly never owned one...

the best for me is the AE111 4AFE (still driving it)

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » September 19th, 2017, 11:30 am

Monkey Man wrote:323...

How long you wanted to say that?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 19th, 2017, 11:35 am

340,000 local ck4. Engine still goin strong. Solid performer.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 19th, 2017, 11:38 am

Umm C33 medalist always loved these.

Postby Les Bain » September 19th, 2017, 11:38 am

KE30 wagon with a 18R engine.
It was a speedy lemon, but was synonymous with much simpler times.
The landlord and neighbours used to come and tell me the car turn itself on just so, but after a while they knew was the radiator fan...coming on just so :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » September 19th, 2017, 11:40 am

Having only owned 3 cars, the best car I owned of the lot was a CY Lancer.

Expanding the list to cars driven (Pops owned) it would probably be a L Touring Corolla for taking a beating at a reasonble cost (I put more miles on my fathers L Touring than any of the cars I ever owned)

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » September 19th, 2017, 11:41 am

out of the 15 cars I owed must be the ES civic. Still have it and drive it ever so often. Thing reliable af and very little maintenance. trooper of a car. decided not to sell it. Might give my nephew it.

Sōsuke Aizen

Postby Sōsuke Aizen » September 19th, 2017, 11:48 am

Tarzan car.. speedometer and handbrake don't work but it does run!

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » September 19th, 2017, 11:51 am

Nissan Nismo b12.Most fun and never shutdown on me.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 19th, 2017, 12:07 pm

ek hatch ... owned one since i was 18 .. cheap on parts , gas and it fits anywher :D

japan-r-us

Postby japan-r-us » September 19th, 2017, 12:08 pm

My BMW boy.... Bus route...Main Road or Walk. 8-)

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » September 19th, 2017, 12:15 pm

Honda Civic Type R 97' (EK9)

Still own it

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » September 19th, 2017, 12:15 pm

Out of the 20something cars I owned so far, it's a toss up between my RX7 and RX8... Both lots of fun to drive and contrary to what people say about rotary reliability, they never let me down.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » September 19th, 2017, 12:39 pm

Quicksilver wrote:Out of the 20something cars I owned so far, it's a toss up between my RX7 and RX8... Both lots of fun to drive and contrary to what people say about rotary reliability, they never let me down.

owned a UK spec Rx8 the thing use to drink gas boi .... got fedup and sld it . it wa slike $ 60 to pos and back from central normal driving ... parts was reasonable ...

Postby SMc » September 19th, 2017, 12:56 pm

Rudman wrote:

:lol: that probably went over most people head- but nonetheless well executed .

First car was the Ford Escort- that was a death-trap beyond belief. looking back on it now if offered that car again I would run away....it had so many issues it did help as it as a crash course in auto electrics, carburetors and forever failing brakes.

(inbetween here had an AE101 & EK3- both a bit boring)

I really liked my EG9, only 4 seats which I found useful on many occasions- B16A2 was decent on gas once you didn't overdo it and the only minor issue was on the V-TEC solenoid gasket which I replaced myself)

(inbetween here I had Focus, Mondeo- a couple randoms and an A3)

Now driving a Euro- once again like this one as its a 'sport-hatch' tobo-diesel which means I get decent mileage, plenty torque and a comfortable ride while fitting all my crap in the car.

If I had a deathwish- i would happily go with the Escort but at the moment looking at another Euro as a new one is in the cards for next May- looking for a hybrid tough
Last edited by SMc on September 19th, 2017, 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Seeker

Postby Seeker » September 19th, 2017, 1:14 pm

Meh b15.....10yrs and 415,000 kms later; she still going strong.

Ole faithful

aidan

Postby aidan » September 19th, 2017, 1:15 pm

Had a 94 2dr Suzuki Escudo, it was super reliable, 4wd, great on gas and plenty ground clearance. Those 6 yrs were fun.

VII

Postby VII » September 19th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Still own it. Evo 7
most fun to drive, can go on the track, supermarket and beach with family all on the same day.

I agree,simple perfection and no software updates required! For me if it has to boil down to one,it must be the Evo,it's kinda like man's best friend on the road in any situation,dirt road ,beach,wedding you name it,it's as if it's always wagging it's tail at you! 8-)

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 19th, 2017, 1:37 pm

Rudman wrote:

since i was born :D

Postby hydroep » September 19th, 2017, 1:38 pm

Y10 Wingroad JS with a GA15DE. Dependable, functional and economical.

Postby De Dragon » September 19th, 2017, 1:45 pm

Men slow on de draw today boy.......

B14!!!!!

Postby RedVEVO » September 19th, 2017, 2:28 pm

Water Bison and a stick ..

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 19th, 2017, 3:14 pm

VII wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Still own it. Evo 7

I agree,simple perfection and no software updates required! For me if it has to boil down to one,it must be the Evo,it's kinda like man's best friend on the road in any situation,dirt road ,beach,wedding you name it,it's as if it's always wagging it's tail at you! 8-)

Duane how come you never upgraded to a newer model evo though?

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » September 19th, 2017, 3:16 pm

Seeker wrote:Meh b15.....10yrs and 415,000 kms later; she still going strong.

Ole faithful

same engine?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » September 19th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Land Rover Series IIA.