Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

unruly_trinidad

Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

Postby unruly_trinidad » September 15th, 2017, 1:09 am

Do you think global warming and climate change a/c for the weather pattern changes...omg hurricane irma...and even the heat in trinidad?? One little bit ah rain fall pos flood...smh...but again doh throw ur bottles in the bin, throw it in the drain...etc...

Re: Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

Postby The_Honourable » September 15th, 2017, 2:36 am

Scientists are still inconclusive on hurricanes and Climate change.

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/09/06/clim ... -jose.html

Climate change does exist, and it has been happening for centuries. Humans have adapted to these changes and for us to adapt now in terms of hurricanes is to have better building codes, efficient drainage systems, and to discourage building in flood prone zones. Destruction costs and lives will be lowered by millions.

The problems is that we have climate alarmists going around exaggerating saying that the world is going to end soon and trying to score cheap political points during a disaster. If you challenge them, you are called a climate change denier and their belief should not be questioned so no debate on the issue. Then we have some businesses who are profiting off the "green" movement, not necessarily because they care about the environment, it's a good marketing strategy. We have governments spending billions of dollars on subsidies (which businesses love) for solar and wind which are still inefficient when compared to fossil fuels. Then we have the creation of regulations that are expensive and harms economic activity... to change less than 1 degree?

Take in this video:
Last edited by The_Honourable on September 15th, 2017, 8:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » September 15th, 2017, 4:30 am

Short answer yes.

Long answer humans are speeding up,the process

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 15th, 2017, 5:15 am

So economic progress is more important that the environment? How do you adapt to acid rain? How do you adapt to rising sea levels. Love for money is a hell of a feeling.

Turbostarr

Postby Turbostarr » September 15th, 2017, 8:17 am

From my knowledge one of the reasons for the elevation in global temperatures is the enhanced greenhouse effect. The greenhouse effect is a natural phenomenon, however anthropogenic activities have caused an exacerbation of carbon dioxide levels which contributes to global warming which turn in turn leads to the melting of the polar ice caps leading to sea level rise. The increased intensity and frequency of storms such as hurricanes is also as a result of mans impact on the environment.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2017, 9:19 am

unruly_trinidad wrote:Do you think global warming and climate change a/c for the weather pattern changes...omg hurricane irma...and even the heat in trinidad?? One little bit ah rain fall pos flood...smh...but again doh throw ur bottles in the bin, throw it in the drain...etc...

Trinidad's and PoS's flooding isn't due to global warming..its due to our own poor planning and ineptitude.

Postby The_Honourable » September 15th, 2017, 9:47 am

Sundar wrote:So economic progress is more important that the environment? How do you adapt to acid rain? How do you adapt to rising sea levels. Love for money is a hell of a feeling.

Both are important but a balance must be set. You can't stifle innovation and economic progress with expensive regulations. Also, you can't have zero regulations which means you can't pollute willy nilly. Reroute government money to research and development on energy efficiency. There will be competition in the marketplace meaning prices for energy efficient products will eventually come down. The world will then follow suit.

Sea levels rising are regional versus global. Have areas in the world where sea levels are dropping. We are currently gaining Antarctic ice versus loosing it... ask NASA:

https://www.nasa.gov/feature/goddard/na ... han-losses

Extreme weather is becoming less extreme. Check the forbes article below who sourced their data from the NOAA:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/jamestaylo ... 4c8acf55a4

People are realizing that CO2 is not bad as it made out to be. Study the BBC article below :

http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-36130346

BTW... don't forget back in the 1970s, people were hysterical about global cooling:

https://www.newsbusters.org/blogs/jack- ... ngle-story

Postby MaxPower » September 15th, 2017, 9:53 am

Humans are the most serious threat on this planet

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 15th, 2017, 9:56 am

There iz no evidence to validate the theory that man made global warming leads to an increase in extreme weather events.

Lotsa ole talk. But no evidence.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 15th, 2017, 11:48 am

The_Honourable wrote:
Sundar wrote:So economic progress is more important that the environment? How do you adapt to acid rain? How do you adapt to rising sea levels. Love for money is a hell of a feeling.

Both are important but a balance must be set. You can't stifle innovation and economic progress with expensive regulations. Also, you can't have zero regulations which means you can't pollute willy nilly. Reroute government money to research and development on energy efficiency. There will be competition in the marketplace meaning prices for energy efficient products will eventually come down. The world will then follow suit.

Sea levels rising are regional versus global. Have areas in the world where sea levels are dropping. We are currently gaining Antarctic ice versus loosing it... ask NASA:

https://www.nasa.gov/feature/goddard/na ... han-losses

Extreme weather is becoming less extreme. Check the forbes article below who sourced their data from the NOAA:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/jamestaylo ... 4c8acf55a4

People are realizing that CO2 is not bad as it made out to be. Study the BBC article below :

http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-36130346

BTW... don't forget back in the 1970s, people were hysterical about global cooling:

https://www.newsbusters.org/blogs/jack- ... ngle-story

So I just read your quoted links and they say the gain in ice didn't outweigh the loss. And the co2 is still dangerous in excessive levels. Don't you see the smog? Did they plant more trees to absorb the co2? No. The fog gets more thick. The animals die out. Progress must be made.

Monkey_Supreme

Postby Monkey_Supreme » September 15th, 2017, 11:49 am

climate change is real. the time of the apes is coming.

Postby black start » September 15th, 2017, 12:17 pm

Global warming is a hoax

/ched

Postby The_Honourable » September 15th, 2017, 12:51 pm

Sundar wrote:So I just read your quoted links and they say the gain in ice didn't outweigh the loss. And the co2 is still dangerous in excessive levels. Don't you see the smog? Did they plant more trees to absorb the co2? No. The fog gets more thick. The animals die out. Progress must be made.

Yes i agree that CO2 at excessive levels is dangerous but it is not bad as it is made out to be. Once CO2 is at acceptable levels, we'll make good progress. About your quote: "So I just read your quoted links and they say the gain in ice didn't outweigh the loss":

A new NASA study says that an increase in Antarctic snow accumulation that began 10,000 years ago is currently adding enough ice to the continent to outweigh the increased losses from its thinning glaciers.

The research challenges the conclusions of other studies, including the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s (IPCC) 2013 report, which says that Antarctica is overall losing land ice.

According to the new analysis of satellite data, the Antarctic ice sheet showed a net gain of 112 billion tons of ice a year from 1992 to 2001. That net gain slowed to 82 billion tons of ice per year between 2003 and 2008.

(Further in the article)

But it might only take a few decades for Antarctica’s growth to reverse, according to Zwally. “If the losses of the Antarctic Peninsula and parts of West Antarctica continue to increase at the same rate they’ve been increasing for the last two decades, the losses will catch up with the long-term gain in East Antarctica in 20 or 30 years -- I don’t think there will be enough snowfall increase to offset these losses.”

(Further again)

“The good news is that Antarctica is not currently contributing to sea level rise, but is taking 0.23 millimeters per year away,” Zwally said. “But this is also bad news. If the 0.27 millimeters per year of sea level rise attributed to Antarctica in the IPCC report is not really coming from Antarctica, there must be some other contribution to sea level rise that is not accounted for.”

What can be said in the article is that Antarctica is currently not contributing to sea levels rising but it may contribute decades from now.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » September 15th, 2017, 1:14 pm

They're saying Antarctica is taking away 0.23mm per year. Meaning the 0.27mm is coming from somewhere else. Because down south absorbing water doesn't stop the north from melting and destroying it. Do we always destroy once it doesn't harm humans? Are we all that matters?

Postby Slartibartfast » September 15th, 2017, 4:41 pm

Two things.

1. To climate change deniers, do not get caught thinking that the absence of evidence is the evidence of absence. Just because we cannot conclusively prove something as yet does not mean that it is not true.

2. To climate change supporters (of which I am one), please do not get caught up with alarmist reports, like the way they called Irma the most powerful hurricane ever when there were previous hurricanes with higher wind speeds and lower air pressures.

Final note for both sides.
We are talking about a global system here. A system that can potentially have infinite variables that all interact with each other as part of the system. Please do not expect it to be simple or easy to understand.

What I want to know is, what is wrong with wanting to strive for "greener" alternatives? Whats the worst that can happen? Why is there such a large resistance to environmental friendliness and sustainability? These are not rhetoric questions, I genuinely want to know.

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » September 15th, 2017, 4:57 pm

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » September 15th, 2017, 5:06 pm

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 15th, 2017, 6:11 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Two things.

1. To climate change deniers, do not get caught thinking that the absence of evidence is the evidence of absence. Just because we cannot conclusively prove something as yet does not mean that it is not true.

But stating the above doest not mean that there will be catastrophic effects of extreme weather iz derived from man made global warming. So how do we close the divide b/t the alarmists vs deniers vs the average man in the street?

2. To climate change supporters (of which I am one), please do not get caught up with alarmist reports, like the way they called Irma the most powerful hurricane ever when there were previous hurricanes with higher wind speeds and lower air pressures.

No problem having an opinion. But on how did u form that opinion?

Thats a place for reasonable people to start a discussion. And reasonable people can be more informed by a discussion even if they disagree with one another.

Final note for both sides.
We are talking about a global system here. A system that can potentially have infinite variables that all interact with each other as part of the system. Please do not expect it to be simple or easy to understand.

Hmmm... thiz iz actually the key principle to understanding climate change. If people can wrap their mind around that they will be much better informed than the majority.

What I want to know is, what is wrong with wanting to strive for "greener" alternatives? Whats the worst that can happen? Why is there such a large resistance to environmental friendliness and sustainability? These are not rhetoric questions, I genuinely want to know.

Nothing iz wrong with greener alternatives.

Wind or solar energy are great when you don't have an alternative. But green energy cant compete economically with electricity from clean burning natural gas. Some countries can afford expensive energy. But can developing countries afford to mimic rich countries?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 15th, 2017, 6:45 pm

Why doesn't Elon Musk try to fix this shitty planet than fooling everybody with his pipe dream of Teraforming an even shittier mars?. We can't fix the climate on earth but he thinks he could fix the climate on Mars?

Postby sMASH » September 16th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Although Antarctica may be collecting more fresh water than its releasing, the arctic ice is disappearing.
Deforestation is occurring all around the world at alarming rates.

The increased precipitation in the antarctic may not be due to colder Temps, but actually due to increased moisture.

There may be increased moisture because of increased evaporation. The increased evaporation would be due to a net overall increase in energy absorption.

Because of the the decrease in arctic ice, forests and increase in urbanization, the Albedo effect would be significantly reduced.

Eventually the atmosphere and sea Temps will get soo high that the antarctic ice will begin to melt faster than it freezes.

It's like this, the faster u go in Ur car the more air flow and water flow u get in Ur engine cooling system thus u have cool cooling water Temps. Eventually if u go faster, u will combust so much fuel that the heating u generate overtakes the cooling u get from the wind and water flow increases.

It may be a natural upswing, but because of co2 and ch4 we are speeding up the process.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 16th, 2017, 10:43 pm

Greenland fire

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 16th, 2017, 11:15 pm

^ Fire in the Tundra?

I wonder how much of this climate change is caused by man, it's hard to measure but no doubt we have a significant effect.

Here are the actual facts, the sister Earth is 96% Carbon Dioxide it is what happens when Global Warming goes wild.
Venus is PROOF that CO2 is linked to temperature rise. But the millions of Flat Earthers / climate change deniers refuse to believe that Venus even exist. I blame Alex Jones for this he capitalized on the stupidity of millions of people who love to be fed conspiracies, I also blame public education.

Earth started warming up as soon as the industrial revolution arrived whereas for thousands of years we never had an issue with global temperature rise or ocean rise but suddenly just like that it all started happening with the industrial revolution? and people still refuse to accept that man is causing climate change?

Postby meccalli » September 17th, 2017, 7:32 am

^ Who threw logic away, by the same measure that we'll become Venus in the future are you suggesting that when we do what CO2 demonizers want us to do and lock up all Co2, we'll freeze like mars? . Not only does Venus have nearly 1200 times the amount of Co2 that we do, it receives nearly twice the amount of solar exposure on top of the sheer amount of clouds on the planet that's not only responsible for it's high albedo but also heat entrapment.
The sun is the greatest climate forcer you can have. The earth has been much hotter than it is now before we were here and similarly, much colder. They weren't associated with intelligent beings sequestering or producing atmospheric carbon dioxide, they're associated with low and high periods of solar activity in conjunction with milankovitch cycles and the hundreds of intricately balanced feedback processes and interactions. Human's have been living in an optimum range of solar activity as well as Co2, without it we would not have developed as we have with the means to produce food so consistently to a state of surplus where we could shift the focus from surviving to thriving and developing the higher things of human existence such as technology. There's no one thing responsible for climate change, it's happening, however, you can't stop it. It's been changing and will continue to do so with or without you. Humans think they're in control of things, they're not.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 17th, 2017, 9:25 pm

^^^^well said...

Ed: u can't compare Venus to Earth...they're two entirely different planetary systems.

Please do your homework before u buy into the farcical propaganda from the Big Climate lobby.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2017, 10:41 pm

^ Sorry but Venus does prove CO2 is the major cause of the Global Warming

http://scienceline.ucsb.edu/getkey.php?key=3824

http://www.esa.int/Our_Activities/Space ... er_planets

^ Scientists agree on this statement and the science supports it, being closer to the sun is NOT the reason Venus is so hot yes it plays a role but Venus is nowhere near as close to the sun to cause such extreme temperature. It may be easy to think that, but such is NOT the case, mercury for example does not have an atmosphere to retain heat so day light it is 420 degrees C while night time is -170c where as Night time on Venus is the SAME temp as the days 450 degree c. Proving that the Sun is NOT the reason Venus is so hot and that it is ENTIRELY the fault of C02 for Trapping the Heat from the Sun.

The exact same thing is happening on Earth, our CO2 levels from burning fossil fuel etc is trapping the heat just like Venus which is why Earth is warming up right now. It is no coincidence this started happening just a few years ago the same time as the industrial revolution that is no coincidence.

Plants rely on CO2 to survive. They use it in photosynthesis, what we humans are doing is we are increasing Co2 and reducing the number of plants. THIS is the human activity that is causing a rise in temperature right now.

Venus is hotter due to the greenhouse effect: Venus has an atmosphere about ninety times thicker than that of Earth, and made almost entirely of carbon dioxide, which is one of the gasses that causes the greenhouse effect on Earth.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » September 17th, 2017, 11:16 pm

Don't get me wrong I agree scientists don't have all the answers but who are you willing to believe the scientists or Alex Jones?

https://www.livescience.com/58407-how-o ... appen.html

With that said we are supposed to be heading into another ice age all now but it isn't happening for a few reasons and CO2 is one of them.

Postby meccalli » September 18th, 2017, 9:32 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Sorry but Venus does prove CO2 is the major cause of the Global Warming

Venus is hotter due to the greenhouse effect: Venus has an atmosphere about ninety times thicker than that of Earth, and made almost entirely of carbon dioxide, which is one of the gasses that causes the greenhouse effect on Earth.

You realise you can't even see venus' surface from space. We don't have the atmospheric pressure that venus does nor do we h2so4 floating around as impenetrable clouds with extremely high reflectivity, there's a reason why it's so bright. Yes carbon dioxide is a greenhouse gas, based on cloud feedback mechanisms on earth, you'd expect venus to actually be colder due to it's high albedo. The problem is it's clouds, not only does it reflect incoming radiation but like earth, clouds reflect it back into the ground. Venus' high temps are the result of time, temperature has accumulated to where it is today because it can't escape except for the transparent ranges at the uppermost part of it's atmosphere. Carbon dioxide on earth is a trace gas, not even the worst case scenario of climate change on earth will lead to venus or mars' condition.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 18th, 2017, 10:13 am

As one of the top 5 carbon emitters in the world on a per capita basis I wonder how amendable Trinis would be to drastic measures to curb our carbon output??

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 18th, 2017, 10:19 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Don't get me wrong I agree scientists don't have all the answers but who are you willing to believe the scientists or Alex Jones?

https://www.livescience.com/58407-how-o ... appen.html

With that said we are supposed to be heading into another ice age all now but it isn't happening for a few reasons and CO2 is one of them.

ED. Youve really been drinking the alarmist cool aid.

Does Venus have 75% of its surface covered with water?

Does Venus have plant life which absorbs CO2?

Here a few scientists who don't believe in the catastrophe theory of man made global warming.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Judith_Curry

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Freeman_Dyson

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richard_Lindzen

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Christy

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roy_Spencer_(scientist)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fred_Singer

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tim_Patterson

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » September 18th, 2017, 10:26 am

the only warming i is take seriously is if my beer get warm