Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

Re: Global Warming And Climate Change A serious threat?

Postby De Dragon » September 25th, 2022, 3:13 pm

Miktay wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Did you just watch 2012? :roll:
There isn't going to be a sudden "climate Armageddon" but a series of small, but distinct changes, which have started already fyi. A glacier doesn't melt in days, atmospheric temps don't get suddenly unbearable, BUT when the series of small changes trigger giant repercussions like sea level rise, hooter temps leading to increased droughts, hurricanes etc, then the real effect will be felt.
Also Daily Mail? Really? Don't you see real life flooding in Pakistan, droughts in the US leading to critical dam levels, as in India?

I cyar believe what ah reading. :shock:

De Dragon citing Hollywood movies as the basis for apocalyptic climate change predictions.

Thiz iz typical of brainwashed paranoid eco-marxists who think cuz they see it in ah movie it muss be true.

Oh gorm man. Movies are primarily made for entertainment. Nothing more.

Are you stupid? Read my reply again, you brainwashed, climate change denying ninny.

Postby timelapse » September 25th, 2022, 6:52 pm

Miktay wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Did you just watch 2012? :roll:
There isn't going to be a sudden "climate Armageddon" but a series of small, but distinct changes, which have started already fyi. A glacier doesn't melt in days, atmospheric temps don't get suddenly unbearable, BUT when the series of small changes trigger giant repercussions like sea level rise, hooter temps leading to increased droughts, hurricanes etc, then the real effect will be felt.
Also Daily Mail? Really? Don't you see real life flooding in Pakistan, droughts in the US leading to critical dam levels, as in India?

I cyar believe what ah reading. :shock:

De Dragon citing Hollywood movies as the basis for apocalyptic climate change predictions.

Thiz iz typical of brainwashed paranoid eco-marxists who think cuz they see it in ah movie it muss be true.

Oh gorm man. Movies are primarily made for entertainment. Nothing more.

Are you stupid? Read my reply again, you brainwashed, climate change denying ninny.
Miktay sounds like a flat earther, except that flat earthers are correct.The earth consists of 71% un-carbonated water.Therefore it is flat

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 11:40 am

Miktay wrote:

Let me ask a question: where iz the evidence to support your claims? iz there any?

Or are we supposed to take your word that all of these apocalyptical predictions are true?

Just cuz it iz in the papers and the movies doh make it true....

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 11:42 am

timelapse wrote:Miktay sounds like a flat earther, except that flat earthers are correct.The earth consists of 71% un-carbonated water.Therefore it is flat

Evidence please. Where iz the body of repeatable experiments and outcomes that demonstrate the catastrophe theory of global warming?

If you don't have proof its not me who iz deluded. More likely its you.

Postby maj. tom » September 26th, 2022, 11:50 am

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 11:59 am

How is climate change fueling hurricanes?

The destructive forces of Hurricane Fiona have triggered more discussions about the impact of climate change, as scientists say there's evidence to show global heating is worsening these devastating storms. Here's why.

Postby De Dragon » September 26th, 2022, 1:06 pm

Miktay wrote:

Let me ask a question: where iz the evidence to support your claims? iz there any?

Or are we supposed to take your word that all of these apocalyptical predictions are true?

Just cuz it iz in the papers and the movies doh make it true....

Postby timelapse » September 26th, 2022, 1:57 pm

Miktay wrote:
timelapse wrote:Miktay sounds like a flat earther, except that flat earthers are correct.The earth consists of 71% un-carbonated water.Therefore it is flat

Evidence please. Where iz the body of repeatable experiments and outcomes that demonstrate the catastrophe theory of global warming?

If I drop a hammer on your big toe, would you require studies and data before you feel the pain? Wake up and smell the coffee.The evidence is all around us.

But since you asked...
https://climate.nasa.gov/evidence
https://www.climate.gov/news-features/climate-qa/what-evidence-exists-earth-warming-and-humans-are-main-cause
https://www.nytimes.com/article/climate-change-global-warming-faq.html

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 4:06 pm

timelapse wrote:
Miktay wrote:

If I drop a hammer on your big toe, would you require studies and data before you feel the pain? Wake up and smell the coffee.The evidence is all around us.

But since you asked...
https://www.climate.gov/news-features/climate-qa/what-evidence-exists-earth-warming-and-humans-are-main-cause

Am sure u appreciate we are referring to a much more complex system than hammer falling...big toe pain.

We are talking about global climate. Which really implies global everything because everything on the planet influences climate and vice versa. Flora, fauna, the earth's rotation, sunspots, algae blooms, animal migrations, atmospheric and oceanic currents, precipitation, deforestation, hurricanes, Sahara dust etc. The list of influencers on global climate iz much too large to cite.

Therefore NONE of ur citations constitute a scientific body of experiments capable of supporting the catastrophe theory of global warming.

Are there Conjectures yes. Hypothesis yes. Theories yes. Simulations yes. But no validated repeatable experiments

But experiments to validate a catastrophe global climate due to human emitted C02 are not there.
Last edited by Miktay on September 26th, 2022, 4:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » September 26th, 2022, 4:09 pm

Would be hearing about climate change from now for every hurricane season we face every year?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 4:15 pm

DMan7 wrote:Would be hearing about climate change from now for every hurricane season we face every year?

Yes. But that iz due to the marketing machine of the Big Climate Change lobby.

Even in year's where there iz fewer than predicted tropical storms, hurricanes or typhoons there will be some other unsubstantiated marketing mantra such as climate change increasing wild fires or locust swarms. Even though the earth has been experiencing wildfires and locusts plagues for thousands of years.

Next they'll be telling us Trinidad lorse to Guyana iz due to climate change.. :D

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 4:19 pm

Climate change? Of course!
Catastrophic climate change? The mentions all come from one poster.

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 4:26 pm

Miktay wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Would be hearing about climate change from now for every hurricane season we face every year?

Even in year's where there iz fewer than predicted tropical storms, hurricanes or typhoons there will be some other unsubstantiated marketing mantra such as climate change increasing wild fires or locust swarms. Even though the earth has been experiencing wildfires and locusts plagues for thousands of years.

Next they'll be telling us Trinidad lorse to Guyana iz due to climate change.. :D

Six of the ten most active hurricane seasons in history have occurred within the last twenty years. Ten of the fifteen most active occurred this century.

Postby timelapse » September 26th, 2022, 4:31 pm

Miktay wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Miktay wrote:

But since you asked...

Am sure u appreciate we are referring to a much more complex system than hammer falling...big toe pain.

We are talking about global climate. Which really implies global everything because everything on the planet influences climate and vice versa. Flora, fauna, the earth's rotation, sunspots, algae blooms, animal migrations, atmospheric and oceanic currents, precipitation, deforestation, hurricanes, Sahara dust etc. The list of influencers on global climate iz much too large to cite.

Therefore NONE of ur citations constitute a scientific body of experiments capable of supporting the catastrophe theory of global warming.

Are there Conjectures yes. Hypothesis yes. Theories yes. Simulations yes. But no validated repeatable experiments

But experiments to validate a catastrophe global climate due to human emitted C02 are not there.
So the earth is the same temperature it always was,or colder than it was then?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 4:31 pm

adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:

Six of the ten most active hurricane seasons in history have occurred within the last twenty years. Ten of the fifteen most active occurred this century.

Speaking of catastrophe you've just added to the fear cacophony that the Big Climate lobby loves to use to influence ppl.

And why are these hurricane seasons worse primarily due to human induced climate change? Can u cite the repeatable and verifiable experiments to prove thiz?

Or are you expecting us to take your word for it?
Last edited by Miktay on September 26th, 2022, 4:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 4:36 pm

timelapse wrote:
Miktay wrote:
timelapse wrote:
Miktay wrote:

But since you asked...

So the earth is the same temperature it always was,or colder than it was then?

A better question would be what iz the ideal or equilibrium temperature of the earth? Becuz if the Big Climate lobby cannot answer thiz...then none can state if a warming or cooling earth iz better in the longer/shorter term.

The late great physicist Freeman Dyson explains.

Postby timelapse » September 26th, 2022, 5:10 pm

That video was a very fancy way of him saying he doesn't know a thing about climate change.
Lemme break it down for you.
Global:relating to the whole world
Warming: make or become warm

Earth's temperature has risen by 0.14° Fahrenheit (0.08° Celsius) per decade since 1880, but the rate of warming since 1981 is more than twice that: 0.32° F (0.18° C) per decade. 2021 was the sixth-warmest year on record based on NOAA's temperature data.

Thats basic English.
People have been measuring it and the data is there.The globe has been warming up.
Nobody asked about ideal temperature or equilibrium temperature.Do you realize if we fail at this,there is no going back?

Postby De Dragon » September 26th, 2022, 6:12 pm

Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:

Speaking of catastrophe you've just added to the fear cacophony that the Big Climate lobby loves to use to influence ppl.

And why are these hurricane seasons worse primarily due to human induced climate change? Can u cite the repeatable and verifiable experiments to prove thiz?

So Big Oil and Gas is dummies then?
Dem just taking it jesso?
Dem spending BILLIONS in sustainable green energy jesso?
You izza anti vax too ent?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 7:44 pm

timelapse wrote:That video was a very fancy way of him saying he doesn't know a thing about climate change.
Lemme break it down for you.
Global:relating to the whole world
Warming: make or become warm

Earth's temperature has risen by 0.14° Fahrenheit (0.08° Celsius) per decade since 1880, but the rate of warming since 1981 is more than twice that: 0.32° F (0.18° C) per decade. 2021 was the sixth-warmest year on record based on NOAA's temperature data.

Thats basic English.
People have been measuring it and the data is there.The globe has been warming up.
[Nobody asked about ideal temperature or equilibrium temperature.Do you realize if we fail at this,there is no going back?

You are somewhat correct…but also incorrect. It’s true he iz saying he does not know…but he iz also saying that NO ONE knows.

Becuz in order to state whether or not the the earth’s temperature iz too hot you need to state what too hot iz in comparison to something else. That iza standard comparative English language common usage required for scientific inquiry.

Nobody asked about ideal temperature or equilibrium temperature.Do you realize if we fail at this,there is no going back?

I’ve been hearing and reading that for the last 40 years: The catastrophe theory from the Big Climate lobby. There iz absolutely no proof for that. None whatsoever. Lotsa conjecture, speculation, simulations, newspaper fear mongering and social media panic.

Plenty rum shop ole talk. Where iz the body of scientific experiments that demonstrate the catastrophe theory of Global Warming?
Last edited by Miktay on September 26th, 2022, 8:03 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 26th, 2022, 7:46 pm

Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:

So Big Oil and Gas is dummies then?
Dem just taking it jesso?
Dem spending BILLIONS in sustainable green energy jesso?

You izza anti vax too ent?

It’s called business diversification. Aka not having all your eggs in one basket

Yuh unnerstand how that works? Lehmih help u out…

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 8:47 pm

The United States is hardly alone in its share of climate disasters.

In Pakistan, record monsoon rains inundated more than one-third of the country, killing over 1,500 people. In India and China, prolonged heat waves and droughts dried up rivers, disrupted power grids and threatened food security for billions of people.

In Europe, heat waves set record temperatures in Britain and other places, leading to severe droughts and wildfires in many parts of the continent. In South Africa, torrential rains brought flooding and mudslides that killed more than 400 people. The summer may have come to an end on the calendar, but climate disasters will surely continue.

This isn’t just a freak summer: Over the years, such extreme events are occurring in increasing frequency and intensity.

Climate change is intensifying these disasters

The most recent international climate assessment from the United Nations’ Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change found significant increases in both the frequency and intensity of extreme temperature and precipitation events, leading to more droughts and floods.

A recent study published in the scientific journal Nature found that extreme flooding and droughts are also getting deadlier and more expensive, despite an improving capacity to manage climate risks. This is because these extreme events, enhanced by climate change, often exceed the designed levels of such management strategies.

Extreme events, by definition, occur rarely. A 100-year flood has a 1% chance of happening in any given year. So, when such events occur with increasing frequency and intensity, they are a clear indication of a changing climate state.

The term “global warming” can sometimes be misleading, as it seems to suggest that as humans put more heat-trapping greenhouse gases into the atmosphere, the world is going to get a bit warmer everywhere. What it fails to convey is that warming temperatures also lead to a more violent world with more extreme climate disasters, as we saw this past summer.

Climate models showed these risks were coming

Much of this is well-understood and consistently reproduced by climate models.

As the climate warms, a shift in temperature distribution leads to more extremes. The magnitudes of changes in extreme temperature are often larger than changes in the mean. For example, globally, a 1 degree Celsius increase in annual average temperature is associated with 1.2 C to 1.9 C (2.1 Fahrenheit to 3.4 F) of increase in the annual maximum temperature.

In addition, global warming causes changes in the vertical profile of the atmosphere and equator-to-pole temperature gradients, leading to changes in how the atmosphere and ocean move. The temperature difference between equator and the poles is the driving force for global wind. As the polar regions warm at much higher rates than the equator, the reduced temperature difference causes a weakening of global winds and leads to a more meandering jet stream.

Some of these changes can create conditions such as persistent high-pressure systems and atmosphere blocking that favor more frequent and more intense heat waves. The heat domes over the Southern Plains and South in June and the West in September are examples.

The initial warming can be further amplified by positive feedbacks. For example, warming increases snow melt, exposing dark soil underneath, which absorbs more heat than snow, further enhancing the warming.

Warming of the atmosphere also increases its capacity to hold water vapor, which is a strong greenhouse gas. Therefore, more water vapor in the air leads to more warming. Higher temperatures tend to dry out the soil, and less soil moisture reduces the land’s heat capacity, making it easier to heat up.

These positive feedbacks further intensify the initial warming, leading to more heat extremes. More frequent and persistent heat waves lead to excessive evaporation, combined with decreased precipitation in some regions, causing more severe droughts and more frequent wildfires.

Higher temperatures increase the atmosphere’s capacity to hold moisture at a rate of about 7% per degree Celsius.

This increased humidity leads to heavier rainfall events. In addition, storm systems are fueled by latent heat, or the large amount of energy released when water vapor condenses to liquid water. Increased moisture content in the atmosphere also enhances latent heat in storm systems, increasing their intensity. Extreme heavy or persistent rainfall leads to increased flooding and landslides, with devastating social and economic consequences.

Even though it’s difficult to link specific extreme events directly to climate change, when these supposedly rare events occur with increasing frequency in a warming world, it is hard to ignore the changing state of our climate.

https://japantoday.com/category/feature ... w-abnormal
Last edited by adnj on September 26th, 2022, 8:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 8:48 pm

Hurricane Ian is strengthening rapidly in the Caribbean as it passes over the ultra-warm waters of the Caribbean and the Gulf of Mexico. The National Hurricane Center had predicted the system would rapidly intensify from a tropical storm to at least a category 4 hurricane in less than 72 hours.

It is an unprecedented forecast, experts told CNN, but one scientists say is becoming more likely as the climate crisis advances, pushing ocean temperatures higher and laying the groundwork for tropical storms to explode at breakneck pace into deadly major hurricanes.

Here's why meteorologists say Ian's exact path is still uncertain
Rapid intensification is precisely what it sounds like – a hurricane’s winds strengthening rapidly over a short amount of time. Scientists have defined it as a wind speed increase of at least 35 mph in 24 hours or less.

The phenomenon played out with breathtaking speed in the Philippines this weekend. Super Typhoon Noru exploded in strength on its final approach toward the Pacific island nation, going from the equivalent of a category 1 hurricane to a category 5 overnight as residents around Manila slept.

Noru’s rapid intensification right before landfall – which was not predicted – likely meant locals had no time prepare for the much stronger storm.

Hurricane Ian’s has been in the forecast for days, giving Cuba and Florida the benefit of time. Winds in the storm increased from 45 mph Sunday evening to 80 mph late Monday morning, and more strengthening is in the forecast. Ian could intensify into at least a category 4 before it makes landfall in Florida midweek.

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/09/26/weat ... index.html

Postby adnj » September 26th, 2022, 8:49 pm

The drought Europe is experiencing could become the norm by the middle of the century unless effective, cross-border mitigation actions are quickly implemented, MEPs were told on Wednesday.

Repeated and severe droughts would have significant impacts on a growing number of economic activities including agriculture, transport, energy and healthcare, the European Parliament's Committee on Environment, Public health and Food Safety (ENVI) heard from experts.

Andrea Toreti from the European Drought Observatory told ENVI members that according to the agency's assessment, the extreme events Europe suffered through during the last summer "might become the norm" by 2050 "if effective mitigation actions are not put in place."

"These events are going to hit Europe almost every year," he added.

The drought Europe is currently experiencing is believed to be the worst it has seen in 500 years with 64% of the continent's territory now under drought conditions, although to varying degrees.

"Severe impacts have already been reported in several areas," Toreti said.

https://www.euronews.com/my-europe/2022 ... xperts-say

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 12:59 pm

Yep. The usual set of unsubstantiated, unverifiable, pseudo scientific, sensational articles will be published in the mainstream media and cited by others for a simple reason: fear sells.

No surprises here. Its the same old tired mantra you see and hear when anything goes awry on Earth despite the fact that there have been severe weather events occurring on the planet for thousands of years.

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2022, 2:15 pm

Miktay wrote:Yep. The usual set of unsubstantiated, unverifiable, pseudo scientific, sensational articles will be published in the mainstream media and cited by others for a simple reason: fear sells.

No surprises here. Its the same old tired mantra you see and hear when anything goes awry on Earth despite the fact that there have been severe weather events occurring on the planet for thousands of years.

Try harder.

The average global temperature in 2021 was about 1.11 (± 0.13) °C above the pre-industrial (1850-1900) levels. 2021 is the 7th consecutive year (2015-2021) where global temperature has been over 1°C above pre-industrial levels, according to all datasets compiled by WMO.

WMO uses six international datasets to ensure the most comprehensive, authoritative temperature assessment. The same data are used in its annual State of the Climate reports which inform the international community on global climate indicators.

The rankings of individual years should be considered in the long-term context, especially since the differences between individual years are sometimes marginal. Since the 1980s, each decade has been warmer than the previous one. This is expected to continue.

The warmest seven years have all been since 2015, with 2016, 2019 and 2020 constituting the top three. An exceptionally strong El Niño event occurred in 2016, which contributed to record global average warming.

https://public.wmo.int/en/media/press-r ... data-shows

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 2:25 pm

adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:Yep. The usual set of unsubstantiated, unverifiable, pseudo scientific, sensational articles will be published in the mainstream media and cited by others for a simple reason: fear sells.

Try harder.

The average global temperature in 2021 was about 1.11 (± 0.13) °C above the pre-industrial (1850-1900) levels. 2021 is the 7th consecutive year (2015-2021) where global temperature has been over 1°C above pre-industrial levels, according to all datasets compiled by WMO.

WMO uses six international datasets to ensure the most comprehensive, authoritative temperature assessment. The same data are used in its annual State of the Climate reports which inform the international community on global climate indicators.

The rankings of individual years should be considered in the long-term context, especially since the differences between individual years are sometimes marginal. Since the 1980s, each decade has been warmer than the previous one. This is expected to continue.

The warmest seven years have all been since 2015, with 2016, 2019 and 2020 constituting the top three. An exceptionally strong El Niño event occurred in 2016, which contributed to record global average warming.

https://public.wmo.int/en/media/press-r ... data-shows

Pardner you lorse and wandering in the forests of the Northern range.

Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

And what they say bout output being only as good as input applies here.

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2022, 3:20 pm

Miktay wrote:Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

What defines a dataset?
A data set is a collection of data. The data is usually presented in a table form. The data can be numerical or categorical. The data can be two variables, multiple variables and the the variable can have different relationships.

What are the different types of data sets?
There are different types of data sets One type is numerical. It has data represented with numbers instead of words. Categorical data set is another and it displays data based on characteristics or qualities of an item. Bivariate data sets consist of two variable that have a relationship. Multivariate data sets have three or more variables that all depend on each other. Correlation data sets are data that have have 1 of 3 relationships. Positive relationships happen when the variables change in the same direction. Negative relationships happen when the variables change in opposite directions. No or zero relationships occur when the variable have no affect on each other.

What is meant by data set?
A data set is a collection data presented usually in a table. The data can have a relationship where both variables change in the same direction. The data can have a relationship where the variable change in opposite directions. And some times the data have no relationship at all.

What is a data set example?
A data set can contain data comparing time of day to the number customers. A data set can also contain data regarding an individual's income, expenses, savings and how the three affect each other.

What is the purpose of dataset?
The purpose of a data set is organize the collected data so that is easier to understand. The data set places the data into columns and rows for comparison.

https://study.com/learn/lesson/data-set ... mples.html

Postby matr1x » September 27th, 2022, 3:24 pm

We will be long dead before it becomes a problem

Miktay

Postby Miktay » September 27th, 2022, 4:10 pm

adnj wrote:
Miktay wrote:Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

What defines a dataset?
A data set is a collection of data. The data is usually presented in a table form. The data can be numerical or categorical. The data can be two variables, multiple variables and the the variable can have different relationships.

There are different types of data sets One type is numerical. It has data represented with numbers instead of words. Categorical data set is another and it displays data based on characteristics or qualities of an item. Bivariate data sets consist of two variable that have a relationship. Multivariate data sets have three or more variables that all depend on each other. Correlation data sets are data that have have 1 of 3 relationships. Positive relationships happen when the variables change in the same direction. Negative relationships happen when the variables change in opposite directions. No or zero relationships occur when the variable have no affect on each other.

A data set is a collection data presented usually in a table. The data can have a relationship where both variables change in the same direction. The data can have a relationship where the variable change in opposite directions. And some times the data have no relationship at all.

A data set can contain data comparing time of day to the number customers. A data set can also contain data regarding an individual's income, expenses, savings and how the three affect each other.

The purpose of a data set is organize the collected data so that is easier to understand. The data set places the data into columns and rows for comparison.

Horsey you swinging from mango tree branch to chenet tree branch.

Apparently you doh unnderstand how the pseudo scientific arm of global warming propaganda works. Whether the data sets are single or multivariate...discrete or stochastic...organized into a table, matrix, or other configuration...iz irrelevant.

So lemhih splain yuh one more time. i go make it large:

Data sets are not repeatable or valid scientific experiments. Datasets are used for computer simulations.

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2022, 4:25 pm

Miktay wrote:
adnj wrote:

What defines a dataset?

Horsey you swinging from mango tree branch to chenet tree branch.

Apparently you doh unnderstand how the pseudo scientific arm of global warming propaganda works. Whether the data sets are single or multivariate...discrete or stochastic...organized into a table, matrix, or other configuration...iz irrelevant.

So lemhih splain yuh one more time. i go make it large:

Collected data is tabulated as a historical record. That is a data set. The historical record shows an increase.

Try harder.