COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Re: COST OF LIVING IN TRINIDAD $$$$

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 14th, 2017, 7:27 am

how would you all feel if the following actually takes place..

rise in water and electricity rates (according to the regulatory board)
vat may go back to 15% (says a UWI lecturer)
personal tax may go to 30%( highly possible with Colm)

Postby hydroep » September 14th, 2017, 7:45 am

The 8-ball has his minions prepping the population for more pressure. Just imagine, the lady who was caught using State funds to help herself get pregnant telling people to brace for more pressure. This place too funny oui... :|

More pressure

VERNE BURNETT Thursday, September 14 2017

MINISTER of Planning and Development Camille Robinson-Regis yesterday gave a dire warning to the nation of potentially more socio-economic pressure to come, saying the impending National Budget will impact on the quality of life of all citizens. She admitted the Budget will be a challenging one as citizens will be asked to begin making a contribution to dealing with the sharp decline in government income because of the fall in oil prices.

“We are in perilous times but I know that we are a resilient people.

I have complete faith in the people of Trinidad and Tobago, every single citizen, that we will not just rise to this occasion, but we will successfully surmount the challenges currently before us,” Robinson-Regis said at a Pre-Budget public forum on “gender sensitive budgeting”, held by the St Augustine unit of the Institute for Gender and Development Studies...

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,248995.html

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 14th, 2017, 8:00 am

when oil was $9 a barrel....Panday did what he had to and we survived without draconian measures....PNM yes

Postby 88sins » September 14th, 2017, 9:30 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:how would you all feel if the following actually takes place..

rise in water and electricity rates (according to the regulatory board)
vat may go back to 15% (says a UWI lecturer)
personal tax may go to 30%( highly possible with Colm)

I expect further fuel subsidy cuts, social assistance program stoppages, a BIG increase in OPT, a steep decrease in the personal tax allowance, more increases in NIS rates, increase in the rate of PAYE, & a couple other items.

wait for it.

Postby Dizzy28 » September 14th, 2017, 9:37 am

Well wrt to fuel subsidies they gave themselves 3 years to rid the subsidy. This will be their 3rd budget presentation (excluding mid year reviews) so I guess its on the cards.

Postby Ben_spanna » September 14th, 2017, 9:41 am

T&Tec rates may go UP by as much as an additional 100% is the talk going around! So if yuh complaining about your air conditions running up a $ 1000 light bill monthly-imagine that come soon, you will be paying over DOUBLE that!

Drea

Postby Drea » September 14th, 2017, 10:06 am

I remember a few years back when we had now install a/c, two units one in the living room and in one bedroom, plus we had a dryer. Eh heh..... the first month that bill come we saw stars!

But the place tooo hot this rounds, might have to bear it..

Postby A172 » September 14th, 2017, 11:21 am

once usd rate aint raise too much everything else could

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 14th, 2017, 11:24 am

i bet some ppl never heard d saying :

The boiling frog is a parable describing a frog being slowly boiled alive. The premise is that if a frog is put suddenly into boiling water, it will jump out, but if the frog is put in tepid water which is then brought to a boil slowly, it will not perceive the danger and will be cooked to death.

thats what they doing us but we know dat & we like it so ..... :|

Postby rspann » September 14th, 2017, 11:40 am

A172 wrote:once usd rate aint raise too much everything else could

You have cushion to soften the blow, but poor people can't take much more.

Postby timelapse » September 14th, 2017, 11:56 am

It is stupid to raise taxes in a recession,just plain stupid.And even more stupid to be still supporting PNM and their stupidity.What they should be doing is encouraging local production and exports.That is a way out of recession.But they want the economy to crash.People will migrate , land will sell cheap.They will buy..some of us not that stupid

Postby 88sins » September 14th, 2017, 12:14 pm

rspann wrote:
A172 wrote:once usd rate aint raise too much everything else could

You have cushion to soften the blow, but poor people can't take much more.

boi, most ppl out here dat had a cushion at 1 point now hadda content deyself wit a small strip ah quarter inch sponge.

Postby hydroep » September 14th, 2017, 12:18 pm

Sponge is joke, some people bottom bone breaking from sitting on cold, hard concrete... :|

Postby sMASH » September 14th, 2017, 12:52 pm

Real shade throwing here... Let's see what the impact really does

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 14th, 2017, 1:03 pm

i hope kfc dont go up again or i go starve

Kristophe9019

Postby Kristophe9019 » September 14th, 2017, 1:55 pm

timelapse wrote:It is stupid to raise taxes in a recession,just plain stupid.And even more stupid to be still supporting PNM and their stupidity.What they should be doing is encouraging local production and exports.That is a way out of recession.But they want the economy to crash.People will migrate , land will sell cheap.They will buy..some of us not that stupid

:x Look nah man u cyahh be tlkin so much sense here eh ..

src1983

Postby src1983 » September 14th, 2017, 4:32 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:people who can afford expensive vehicles usually don't borrow

daz what you feel. I know some ppl that pulling down upwards of 70K/month, that still borrow to buy their vehicle

1st rule of getting & staying rich, never spend your own money.

Correct

Postby 88sins » September 14th, 2017, 6:57 pm

cryotec wrote:i hope kfc dont go up again or i go starve

i actually hear from somebody they lowered their prices recently. yuh eh go ded from starvation. de slow poisoning go kill yuh eatin dem crap, not starvation

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 15th, 2017, 7:11 am

what's the highest price super could go to? I don't mind WASA and the standard rates, implementing the meter system on the other hand is ballz....TTEC gonna have a time with new rates

Postby Dizzy28 » September 15th, 2017, 9:22 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what's the highest price super could go to? I don't mind WASA and the standard rates, implementing the meter system on the other hand is ballz....TTEC gonna have a time with new rates

Hasn't super already reached its non subsidized price based on the current price of crude?
Premium ever since the price point of $5.75 has always been over and diesel is where the real work is

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » September 15th, 2017, 10:17 am

Well, if they remove the fuel subsidie this year, then hopefully next year they can begin to remove the subsidie on cooking gas...
That's when the real fun begins!!!

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2017, 10:34 am

now would be a good time to go solar & get off d ppl grid

car

Postby car » September 15th, 2017, 10:37 am

vaiostation wrote:Well, if they remove the fuel subsidie this year, then hopefully next year they can begin to remove the subsidie on cooking gas...
That's when the real fun begins!!!

The fun begins when they start profiting from fuel.
They can easily add 5 cent to every liter of fuel the following budget when the subsidy goes to zero and call it an increase in duty. Just like when vat drop to 12.5% and everyone thought that fuel prices has dropped. Then they increased duty so that fuel was back to the original price.

cryotec

Postby cryotec » September 15th, 2017, 11:21 am

88sins wrote:now would be a good time to go solar & get off d ppl grid
see a man living in the states using solar and all he sheit on 24/7. best thing is how the utility company owing him money

edit: added link

https://i.imgur.com/1OpSPP4.png

Postby 88sins » September 15th, 2017, 12:17 pm

when power surges mash up ppl appliances dey does hadda go tru hell & high water to get compensation from T&TEC

yuh really feel is current they go pay yuh for?

Postby RedVEVO » September 15th, 2017, 1:20 pm

88sins wrote:now would be a good time to go solar & get off d ppl grid

Now this is a smart statement ! :D

Solar Power is raves .

Got a solar powered portable light ..

Never had to use the AC adapter :D

Postby timelapse » September 15th, 2017, 1:48 pm

We could power the whole country for years off the hot air that PNM lets off

Postby RedVEVO » September 15th, 2017, 3:22 pm

It is not PNM ..

It is Rowley ..

The dumbest .. ever !

When is it going to stop ?

Postby timelapse » September 15th, 2017, 3:31 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^^
It is not PNM ..

It is Rowley ..

The dumbest .. ever !

When is it going to stop ?

PNM supporting his folly, so gues what, they chuppid too

Postby RedVEVO » September 15th, 2017, 3:36 pm

They give the PM too much power ..

In UK, Rowley gone long time within the Party.

Everything he touch is mayhem and hymen.