Tobago Owners In Tears

Re: Tobago Owners In Tears

Postby redmanjp » March 6th, 2018, 4:50 pm

was hearing one hotel had not even 1 occupant ( 0% occupancy)

Postby redmanjp » March 6th, 2018, 4:52 pm

winston duke might be tobago only hope

Postby teems1 » March 6th, 2018, 4:52 pm

redmanjp wrote:was hearing one hotel had not even 1 occupant ( 0% occupancy)

There's a video circulating with the owner of Rovanel's in a town hall style meeting indicating all 0 out of his 68 rooms are occupied and he has to start laying off staff.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 6th, 2018, 5:10 pm

^^Thiz not just an air/sea bridge problem...suma dem Bago hotels does do real vikey vikey thing.

Sylvan Rollocks, owner of Rovanel Resort, said he had to lay off 18 of his 38 workers because of zero occupancy levels at the 62-room hotel. He said problems with the water supply had made the situation worse.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/business/2018 ... wn-protest

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 6th, 2018, 5:12 pm

That damn good for them. Ent they vote PNM

Postby SR » March 6th, 2018, 5:29 pm

Rovanells eh really have nuttin to offer. Just rooms. Restaurant and food yuh bess go outside.

Postby SR » March 6th, 2018, 5:30 pm

Where shamfoo ent she say it have almond milk in d grocery pointing up she fingers all over d place. What THA doing?????? Ent they wanted total control of tobago

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 6th, 2018, 5:38 pm

Here's a blinding glimpse of the obvious: Bago cyar survive w/o Tdad.

No how. No way.

Postby De Dragon » March 6th, 2018, 5:57 pm

Miktay wrote:Here's a blinding glimpse of the obvious: Bago cyar survive w/o Tdad.

No how. No way.

Apparently the new meaning of autonomy is to collect money from your dependant sister state and spend it how you want, all while still being dependant :roll:

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 6th, 2018, 6:13 pm

We time now...lol
hqdefault.jpg
hqdefault.jpg (16.67 KiB) Viewed 3046 times

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 6th, 2018, 6:34 pm

Redman wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:
bluefete wrote:
SR wrote:A port in Toco makes no sense.....

There was one from 1881 - 1930.

That is how the majority of Tobagonians came to Trinidad in the 19th to early 20th centuries.
Really...wow...never knrw that....where did you get that info from?......history always fascinates me ....

Inside for info...

Well we had trains...but the father ah d nation........say no more

we had donkey carts too-

A big part of the move away from trains had to do with the facts that we had an abundant supply of oil and refined same here.
The world was moving towards vehicular traffic.

There were pros and cons.

Is it true that the car dealers at the time influenced the government to remove the train so that they could sell more cars?

Postby SR » March 6th, 2018, 7:12 pm

And they still influencing....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 6th, 2018, 8:54 pm

I remember shamfa saying we making a big issue out of the tobago problem...so carry on people...who cares

Postby rspann » March 6th, 2018, 9:15 pm

Come 2020 , they have to vote for PNM. That way they would get all their needs taken care of. Wait...........

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2018, 9:41 pm

SR wrote:Where shamfoo ent she say it have almond milk in d grocery pointing up she fingers all over d place. What THA doing?????? Ent they wanted total control of tobago
She was last seen buying weave

Postby zoom rader » March 6th, 2018, 9:45 pm

toyota2nr wrote:
Redman wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:
bluefete wrote:
SR wrote:A port in Toco makes no sense.....

There was one from 1881 - 1930.

That is how the majority of Tobagonians came to Trinidad in the 19th to early 20th centuries.
Really...wow...never knrw that....where did you get that info from?......history always fascinates me ....

Inside for info...

Well we had trains...but the father ah d nation........say no more

we had donkey carts too-

A big part of the move away from trains had to do with the facts that we had an abundant supply of oil and refined same here.
The world was moving towards vehicular traffic.

There were pros and cons.

Is it true that the car dealers at the time influenced the government to remove the train so that they could sell more cars?
Yes this is true. I spoken about this before. One of my great uncles relayed this to me and It was on a radio talk show program before.

There was also a scrap dealer involved where the trains and rails was sold to Brazil

Postby The_Honourable » March 6th, 2018, 10:27 pm

Curtms wrote:We time now...lolhqdefault.jpg

You would expect Shamfa Cudjoe of Tobago West and Ayanna Webster-Roy of Tobago East would be blasting the PNM for all this seabridge bs.

But as we can see... PNM loyalty > Tobago problems

Postby *$kїđž!™ » March 6th, 2018, 11:04 pm

Once pnm running things om tobago...there isnt any problems in tobago

Postby K74T » March 7th, 2018, 1:31 am

Postby DVSTT » March 7th, 2018, 2:48 am

What about Non-Trinidadian tourists? Why aren't they keeping Tobago afloat?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 7th, 2018, 5:15 am

DVSTT wrote:What about Non-Trinidadian tourists? Why aren't they keeping Tobago afloat?

cuz it a have none

Postby 88sins » March 7th, 2018, 6:18 am

Miktay wrote:So when the build Sandals what will happen to the guest houses and hotel occupancy rates already there?

88sins wrote:Wait for it
like I said before, when this new property tax comes on stream, yuh go see how they go feel d squeeze. Especially since is plenty old ppl borrow to build apt's on their property to rent out. So occupancy down, can't pay d bank, & high property taxes in dey rasclat.

answered before it was aked

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 7th, 2018, 6:23 am

I could bet when that ferry reach and it up and running you would hear bagonians comments like "pm ensured we get sort out and pnm care bout the people of tobgao....blah blah blah"...all the months of sufferation forgotten

Postby SR » March 7th, 2018, 6:30 am

Its cheaper to go to another island as a tourist and get better quality hotel rooms and customer service. From greetings at the airport to tours around the island. 2 weeks ago st lucia hotels were sold out. Customer service at both airports was excellent. Everyone was pleased to see you and help. You will not get that in tobago.

Postby zoom rader » March 7th, 2018, 7:55 am

SR wrote:Its cheaper to go to another island as a tourist and get better quality hotel rooms and customer service. From greetings at the airport to tours around the island. 2 weeks ago st lucia hotels were sold out. Customer service at both airports was excellent. Everyone was pleased to see you and help. You will not get that in tobago.
This is true especially for Grenada.

Only thing is you feel you are in Trinidad when in Grenada but as a much more safer level. Nearly every one in Grenada has a family or some point lived in Trini.

Postby hydroep » March 7th, 2018, 8:00 am

Not too long ago certain PNM supporters were alleging that people were "exaggerating" the deteriorating conditions in Tobago because they "obviously had an agenda".

Yuh eh hearing one fart from dem now...effin' Morons...:|

Postby De Dragon » March 7th, 2018, 1:20 pm

hydroep wrote:Not too long ago certain PNM supporters were alleging that people were "exaggerating" the deteriorating conditions in Tobago because they "obviously had an agenda".

Yuh eh hearing one fart from dem now...effin' Morons...:|

Normal 2NR PNM sheep M.O. Go deep and silent when the kantery they so often spew is proven incorrect, then resurface like un-flushable turds when the issue has blown over.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 7th, 2018, 3:52 pm

Tobahgo

Postby toyolink » March 7th, 2018, 4:16 pm

The establishment of a viable business in Tobago has always been challenging with size of market, transportation logistic, infrastructural decay, limited support services and associated overhead costs.
Most of the investments targeted the capital and service requirements of the vacation/ holiday markets and to be fair, rate of returns never hit the levels hoped for. Today many who are holding on are trapped with sunken costs and are hoping and just hoping.
The obvious deterioration of the condition of the in-place vacation stock demonstrates that many owners/investors just don't have the capital for refurbishments and consequently the island's branding has fallen badly making this destination difficult to market.
The truth is that successive governments and assemblies have all dropped the ball and to address the slide will be no easy feat to achieve in under 5-10 years.
The investments made by Trinidad residents make them the biggest losers with Tobago residents bearing the pressures associated with the loss of jobs and income.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 7th, 2018, 4:39 pm

Baron Rothschild, an 18th-century British nobleman and member of the Rothschild banking family, is credited with saying that "the time to buy is when there's blood in the streets."