Hiker found dead

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2017, 2:49 pm

http://www.looptt.com/content/missing-hiker-found-dead

so these organised hiking groups....how organised are they really?

it have a big bacchanal the other day with some group down the islands as well, overloaded boats, no life jackets, stranded down the islands etc

not sure if same group

Re: Hiker found dead

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2017, 3:00 pm

Ian Alleyne
Like This Page · 1 hr ·

NEWS BEFORE NEWS!!!!
THE BODY OF MISSING HIKER RICHARD BAIRD WAS FOUND TODAY TUESDAY AUGUST 22ND 2017.56 YEAR OLD RICHARD BAIRD OF ROUSILLAC WAS REPORTED MISSING AFTER HE WENT ON A HIKING EXPEDITION TO THE ARIPO WATERFALL AROUND 5:45 AM ON SATURDAY 19TH AUGUST 2017 THE HIKERS LEFT MT POUI ROAD ARIPO TO HIKE A 5 MILE TRAIL INTO THE FOREST TO SPEND THE DAY AT THE WATERFALL .THE HIKERS WERE ORGANIZED INTO GROUPS FOR THE HIKE BACK WHEN RICHARD STARTED COMPLAINING ABOUT CRAMPS AND TOOK OF HIS SHOES TO MAKE HIS WAY BACK .IT WAS ONLY AROUND 5:30 PM THE LEADER OF THE GROUP REALIZED RICHARD WAS MISSING.
VISIT http://www.ianalleyne.org/
�#CrimeWatch #IanAlleyne #TheHuntIsOn #Wetting #NewsBeforeNews

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2017, 3:01 pm

Christophe Pierre Island Hikers Club or Fitness walkers, same difference! I hiked with them once and vowed NEVER to hike with them again. This leaving behind thing happened to 2 of my friends, and another person I know of. It was only a matter of time before this happened.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 62 · 55 mins · Edited
Manage
Hide 21 Replies
Simone Lewis Browne
Simone Lewis Browne There are many who can testify of this same experience. Sad that this had to happen but we hope it didnt in vain
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 50 mins
Manage
Angie Mary
Angie Mary And I 100% agree with you...
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 2 · 49 mins
Manage
Theone Andrews
Theone Andrews Agreed. I had a bad experience with them myself some years ago
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 2 · 49 mins
Manage
Shaz Pierre
Shaz Pierre Island Hikers Club you are responsible for this and this club should be shut down!
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 14 · 46 mins · Edited
Manage
Jael Isma'il-Muhammed
Jael Isma'il-Muhammed Wait what. Leave behind. Like leave behind like leave behind. They just leave ppple n expect them to find their way. They dont leave physical markings for hikers to follow!!! More than once u say . I NEED SOME MORE DEETS!!!!
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 4 · 47 mins
Manage
MzzVillainous Xhilaration
MzzVillainous Xhilaration This drama happened too me as well on their tour to Mermaid Pool. Im asthmatic n dey left me with my hopeless gf who cant even lift up my leg if i was dying.... When i realise every1 was leaving me i sit on a stone untilllllllllllll dey passed bk. I vowed never to go bk on a hike.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 13 · 41 mins
Manage
Maliah Alexander
Maliah Alexander Wow.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 39 mins
Manage
Kathleen Gomez
Kathleen Gomez It may be a ritual they have to do
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 4 · 38 mins
Manage
LaToya Johnson
LaToya Johnson That is true I hike with island hiker and I say never me again was me and my hiking buddy, the leader and his wife and friends to the front and leave everyone behind when the hiking came to and end they jump in their jeep and told us the maxi is where it stop so myself my hiking buddy and a elderly lady had to walk together I promise never to hike with them again
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 2 · 33 mins · Edited
Manage
Sunil Singh
Sunil Singh That's very unprofessional!
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 32 mins
Manage
Lana Meade
Lana Meade Lutchman Heera read these comments. When we hike we doh operate so. Leave people behind???? Huh. Need to check their 2017 schedule and see if they hiking this weekend coming as normal. I sooo mad you wdnt believe Lutchman Heera.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 28 mins
Manage
Khadijah Arneaud
Khadijah Arneaud This is so tru
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 23 mins
Manage
Monica Borel
Monica Borel Well yes ....if they know some one complained of cramps....have a heart nah man..and let ones of the leaders hang there for a while...especially if it was his first time.....geez
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 2 · 22 mins
Manage
Monica Borel
Monica Borel Sorry .one...
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 22 mins
Manage
Sheree Welch
Sheree Welch They need to regulate this industry and licenses should be 1 year to be renewed annually. This is so disheartening. Now without the TDC I guess you need the Ministry to manage it. This group should be disbanded.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 1 · 17 mins
Manage
Dwight Nelson
Dwight Nelson Well from the 1st reports you could tell those leaders of the hike experience was very poor. Experience is a relative term. Clearly they had 1 experience over many years.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 9 mins
Manage
Sheree Welch
Sheree Welch Well I am confused..this page has nothing on it about a hike to Aripo... hmm they have another hike..is this the right group you guys are tagging?
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 1 · 5 mins
Manage
Christophe Pierre
Christophe Pierre Sheree Welch As far as I know, Island hikers and Fitness walkers club are the same.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 4 mins
Manage
Christophe Pierre
Christophe Pierre Sheree Welch Even their email address is the same.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 3 mins
Manage
Sheree Welch
Sheree Welch Wow.... just wow. No mention of the man on their page.. Prayers..support nothing.
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · 1 min
Manage
Christophe Pierre
Christophe Pierre Nothing!!!
LikeShow more reactions · Reply · Just now
Manage
View more replies

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » August 22nd, 2017, 3:04 pm

Trinis mentality, because somebody else could do it them want to give them competition(even if they ent know the arse from they elbow)( keep in mind these same don't know how to swim, what to do in an emergency, no coordination skills and well just there to take ppl money).

When you go certain places and look at some work people do and dig out ppl eye in $$$ and the work fails any inspection. Only in this sweet Land!

Drea

Postby Drea » August 22nd, 2017, 3:27 pm

Wow at many of those comments... smh are these hiking groups in any way regulated/registered? The newspaper article says a group of 60 and that sounds quite large to me for a "difficult" hike.

Postby RedVEVO » August 22nd, 2017, 3:28 pm

These fly by night "Hiker Clubs" always losing people.

Drea

Postby Drea » August 22nd, 2017, 3:38 pm

Just like the woman who fall off the boat DDI and nobody realise till much later and coast guards found her smdh

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 22nd, 2017, 3:40 pm

Hikers inc addi realist

Postby RedVEVO » August 22nd, 2017, 3:41 pm

Drea wrote:Just like the woman who fall off the boat DDI and nobody realise till much later and coast guards found her smdh

The woman did not have any friends ?

Drea

Postby Drea » August 22nd, 2017, 3:47 pm

Guess not :?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170821 ... ard-rescue

A woman who fell off a yacht without anyone noticing, was rescued by coast guard officers 40 minutes later.

She was found clinging to a buoy out at sea.

It happened on Saturday night near Canning Pint located off Monos Island, on Trinidad's west coast.

The near-death incident has prompted a warning from the coast guard to boaters to ensure that life jackets are available to all aboard.

The coast guard reported that at around 8.10p.m Saturday, they made the rescue.

The woman had been in the water for some time before the operator of the yacht noticed her gone.

The captain made an emergency call to the coast guard which responded from its Staubles Bay headquarters. The woman was found and brought to the coast guard's base.

A medical examination was conducted by coast guard medics and the woman was found to be in a stable condition.

The TTCG is urging citizens to be careful while at sea.

“The TTCG encourages citizens going to sea to be always vigilant and ensure that there are life jackets available for your use in case of emergency,” said the coast guard.

Postby RedVEVO » August 22nd, 2017, 4:06 pm

People who go on these weekend hikes etc. should go with friends or family.

Stay in a small group . Wear proper attire - water bottle - first aid kit - sandwiches etc. - camera :D

Not just big ass pelau, curry duck and 25 bucket KFC :roll:

And most important have an experienced person who knows the terrain,
weather, wild animals , insects etc.

Anybody who has been in the bush know you sometimes cannot tell N - S- E -or West
and this simple thing can cause extreme panic in normal people.

60 people in " de bush " is plenty people.

Postby Chimera » August 22nd, 2017, 6:30 pm

His daughter in law was with him on the hike. I doh understand how even she wasnt helping him or hanging around him

Postby nervewrecker » August 22nd, 2017, 6:50 pm

From what close friends said:

He said he wasn't feeling too well, but go on ahead, he will catch up. Being an experienced hiker they did as told.

So I heard so please don't quote me on it. Was amongst some friends if his when news hit. One was inconsolable. They took it hard

Postby MaxPower » August 22nd, 2017, 6:51 pm

Steups...."leaders" my ass.

Postby Redman » August 22nd, 2017, 6:55 pm

RIP sir....at least you were doing something you loved.
condolences to the family

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2017, 7:26 pm

Did quite a few with island hikers tbh they are very disorganized...they don't do head counts before the beginning of the hike but they ensure they collect the $50...they doh even business who end up where at the end of the hike...thank god the group I went with were familiar with the trails..

Postby pugboy » August 22nd, 2017, 7:28 pm

With a large group it hard to keep track of everybody
They say it was a 5hr hard hike
So when ppl exerting themselves in a fitness zone it kinda hard to keep checking on everybody

Don't be surprised either if the group broke up into more than one as the fitness differences begin to show and many start to struggle.

5hours is long even by running marathon standards

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 22nd, 2017, 7:30 pm

If you check their website..Saturdays is carded as fitness walkers day..so its all on you really...

Postby 16 cycles » August 22nd, 2017, 7:39 pm

Madness to leave someone in the bush.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 23rd, 2017, 12:01 am

Are these hikes worth it?....Do you feel more of a man or woman when's it's complete d...

I really can't see how risking your life in the Bush for five hours is enjoyable...

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 23rd, 2017, 12:10 am

got invited to a few of these hikes .... never went becuz i was bz .... now im surly not going

Postby RedVEVO » August 23rd, 2017, 2:24 am

nervewrecker wrote:From what close friends said:

He said he wasn't feeling too well, but go on ahead, he will catch up. Being an experienced hiker they did as told.

So I heard so please don't quote me on it. Was amongst some friends if his when news hit. One was inconsolable. They took it hard

So they leave him in the middle of the bush ?
And 60 people did not pass back ..
And what about the Daughter-in-Law ..

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » August 23rd, 2017, 2:39 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Are these hikes worth it?....Do you feel more of a man or woman when's it's complete d...

I really can't see how risking your life in the Bush for five hours is enjoyable...

Calm down bolo

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 23rd, 2017, 7:19 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Are these hikes worth it?....Do you feel more of a man or woman when's it's complete d...

hiking is fun if you like outdoor activities....this country has a lot to offer in terms of nature

Postby pugboy » August 23rd, 2017, 7:23 am

I guess the many who attempt mt everest every year wasting their time too

Postby nervewrecker » August 23rd, 2017, 8:08 am

RedVEVO wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:From what close friends said:

So they leave him in the middle of the bush ?
And 60 people did not pass back ..
And what about the Daughter-in-Law ..
Like I said, that was the info we got at that time.
News says something else.
Might hear another story from the family later.

Postby bluefete » August 23rd, 2017, 8:36 am

Reading everything in here is so sad.

Condolences to the family.

And being the reactive country that we are, only now MIGHT the government look to tighten up things.

But I will not hold my breadth because the 1% not affected!

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » August 23rd, 2017, 9:27 am

From what I heard he was getting cramps and decided to make his way back by himself :shock: So clearly he wanted to dead!

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 23rd, 2017, 9:40 am

This is not the same group where some other guy got lost for about 4 or 5 days last year?
Even if he turned back by himself, an organized group would have had a leader in the back to avoid anyone going off by themselves. I also read they reported him missing after 4pm!