WHY ? what is the penalty ?Three caught with butchered Scarlet Ibis

hong kong phooey

WHY ? what is the penalty ?Three caught with butchered Scarlet Ibis

Postby hong kong phooey » August 15th, 2017, 8:59 am

http://www.looptt.com/content/three-cau ... arlet-ibis

Three people have been held after they were caught with butchered, dismembered parts of the country's national bird, the Scarlet Ibis, on their boat.

According to reports, the discovery was made at about 5:00 pm on Monday by a team of officials under the supervision of Game Warden Ramlogan after they intercepted a pirogue along the waters of the Caroni Bird Sanctuary.

The carcasses of what appeared to be at least two birds were found in the vessel after it was searched.

HSA

Re: WHY ? what is the penalty ?Three caught with butchered Scarlet Ibis

Postby HSA » August 15th, 2017, 9:29 am

somewhere i saw it was either a 50,000 or 20,000 fine....not too sure tho

these pests should be made an example of. together with the enforcing of small catches, trawling etc.

but its a banana republic so everybody hadda eat ah food

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » August 15th, 2017, 9:31 am

should eat the ballizay instead

Postby MaxPower » August 15th, 2017, 9:40 am

Well dismember them as well, but then again that too harsh and inhumane ent?

Bunch ah fags in the justice dept, which is exactly why criminals walk all over yall...cant do them sheit cuz allyuh too soft....bunch ah boolas...starting killing ppl out and set the time.

Average

Postby Average » August 15th, 2017, 10:27 am

How tusty you hadda be to want to kill out everything and eat it so?
Does this act make you more manly to your peers? One setta dotish ppl walking around here yes....

Postby 88sins » August 15th, 2017, 12:03 pm

for killing the national bird, penalty should be a 100K fine per person per offense & 5 years hard labor with strokes from the birch, 20 strokes. some ppl really sickening.

Average wrote:How tusty you hadda be to want to kill out everything and eat it so?
Does this act make you more manly to your peers? One setta dotish ppl walking around here yes....

if you see how and what an immigrant chinese national does hunt in d bush, yuh go see what tusty & dotish really look like. animals you or I would not kill because you seeing it really young, them killing from a side. animals we wouldn't even watch as edible, dem eh business, it could get kill cook & eat as far as dem concerned.

& i was told the reason why they target the young animals by more than a few of these ppl on different occasions in different locations. the reason disgusted me & made me realize why there are so many animals that have gone & are going extinct where they come from.

TurboSingh12

Postby TurboSingh12 » August 15th, 2017, 12:08 pm

Like them fed up eat crab!

Postby Ben_spanna » August 15th, 2017, 12:18 pm

like Kay Eff Cee get too expensive ah wha?

now dem gorn avder biggah burd!

Postby maj. tom » August 15th, 2017, 12:36 pm

well chicken scarce. Next best thing.

Postby nervewrecker » August 15th, 2017, 1:04 pm

maj. tom wrote:well chicken scarce. Next best thing.
Hopefully they go to jail and get the next bird closest to that. Cuckmeatsammwich

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 15th, 2017, 1:34 pm

They should b made to dine on corbeaux for the rest of the year .....what if they ate bald eagle what would trump do to them ?

Postby hydroep » August 15th, 2017, 2:32 pm

Forget the fines, chop off their toe-tee and feed it to the birds. Like fuh like.

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2017, 2:36 pm

& i was told the reason why they target the young animals by more than a few of these ppl on different occasions in different locations. the reason disgusted me & made me realize why there are so many animals that have gone & are going extinct where they come from.

well tell we the reason na

HSA

Postby HSA » August 15th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

88sins = 2 (fox44)

Postby 88sins » August 15th, 2017, 3:46 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

According to their logic as an example, a young iguana, will take 2 years to mature to reproduce, meanwhile a mature one will reproduce in a few months making more young iguana. So in their perspective, is aight to kill 50 young ones to make the size of pot you could get from killing 5 mature adults, they will see a next 50 young ones to kill off in a few months.

They generally have no regard for the weakening of the gene pool, or that older animals reproduce less & less the older they get leading to less young animals for them to kill, and even less to reach maturity to reproduce to continue the existence of the species on the island or for traditional trini hunters who have no interest in killing baby animals. & no matter how you show them how is a serious problem they causing with what they doing & that they should stop that dotishness, they do continue the practice.

so now yuh kno

Postby Chimera » August 15th, 2017, 4:04 pm

i thought is something to do with eating young animals and virility yes. yuh know how them chinee trying anything for that

Postby rollingstock » August 15th, 2017, 4:47 pm

Fine is like $100 or whatever loose change in yuh ashtray

Postby rspann » August 15th, 2017, 4:51 pm

The last time when the central firearm dealer and the central mechanic were caught , the birds which were evidence miraculously turned into chickens , so they win their case.

Pinnock

Postby Pinnock » August 15th, 2017, 5:20 pm

Monkey Man wrote:should eat the ballizay instead

Lol

Postby Gem_in_i » August 15th, 2017, 5:42 pm

rollingstock wrote:Fine is like $100 or whatever loose change in yuh ashtray

Not $20,000.00?

Postby Gem_in_i » August 15th, 2017, 5:44 pm

rspann wrote:The last time when the central firearm dealer and the central mechanic were caught , the birds which were evidence miraculously turned into chickens , so they win their case.

Was this the time when they were asked if they sure the skinned birds were scarlet ibis?

Postby rollingstock » August 15th, 2017, 6:00 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:

Not $20,000.00?

Nope.
It's actually a maximum fine of $1000.

Don't think that changed, open to correction though.

Postby pugboy » August 15th, 2017, 6:32 pm

It appears that they may have changed the fine for huntable animals out of season to something much larger
but they prob forgot to increase the fine for the general protected species at all times from the pocket change
I wonder why

Postby 88sins » August 15th, 2017, 7:21 pm

Because most normal trinis don't intentionally go out to hunt ibis, or even entertain the idea of hunting them even if they encounter the birds. Most people even ignore the egrets and cranes.

But some people, the random few, they brain just ain't wired right. They get off on the idea that they doing something illegal like this.
So now we have to review the penalties for these types of offenses, simply because a few weirdos. Nuttn wrong with that eh, but is just that it shouldn't have to be that way. So essentially, the few random backsides make everybody look like all trinis too stupid to be trusted to use common sense and show a lil national pride and leave the protected species alone.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 16th, 2017, 5:03 am

hope they get this magistrate
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-10- ... is-poacher

18 months for Scarlet Ibis poacher
Sascha Wilson
Published:
Tuesday, October 8, 2013

A Chaguanas man caught with 18 carcasses of the Scarlet Ibis, the national bird, was sentenced yesterday to 18 months’ in prison. “What you are doing is stealing from the country’s treasure,” said Chaguanas magistrate Bramanand Dubay as he sentenced Kenny Rattan, 43. Rattan will serve only a month as the magistrate ordered the sentences to run concurrently. Rattan, an oyster vendor, and his 15-year-old relative, a construction worker, pleaded guilty to 18 counts of possession of the carcass of a protected animal.

Rattan, the teenager and their cousin, who escaped custody, were arrested on Sunday at Shipping Road Extension, Felicity. Court prosecutor Sgt Michael Jackman said around 11 am game warden Richard Ramlogan and other officers were on foot patrol near the mangrove forest when he saw the two accused and another man. The men were carrying black bags and wearing muddy clothing.The 15-year-old was holding a pellet gun.

Ramlogan found the 18 carcasses in Rattan’s knapsack. The 15-year-old boy had two nets in a black plastic bag and the third man had a black plastic bag with red cloth. When Ramlogan told them of the offence they had committed, Rattan said: “Boss, we went to catch crab.” Jackman said Ramlogan, who had 13 years’ experience, was able to identify the bird by the necks of the carcasses. Red feathers were also found in a knapsack. Jackman said the third suspect escaped.

In asking for a non-custodial sentence, attorney Taradath Singh said Rattan, the father of four and grandfather of three, and the teenager went to the swamp to catch oysters. He said they did not capture the birds but met their cousin, who had the carcasses, and decided to help him with the bags. Singh said the gun also belonged to their cousin. Rattan has a previous conviction for cocaine possession.

The magistrate said: “This is an offence against T&T. The scarlet ibis is our national bird. It is not like you are hunting an agouti and Ganga Singh (Environment Minister) has closed the hunting season. You ought not to be hunting in the first place.” He said such an offence warranted a custodial sentence. ”If everybody go to hunt down Scarlet Ibis, what our children and grandchildren will see?

“Tourists come to see them. They are supposed to be a national treasure. What you are doing is stealing the country’s treasure,” the magistrate added. He ordered the rifle to be forfeited by the State and the other items to be disposed of by the chief game warden. The magistrate also asked for a probation officer’s report on the teenager and released him on $10,000 bail with his mother as surety. He will reappear on November 1.

Postby Gem_in_i » August 16th, 2017, 6:03 am

Gem_in_i wrote:

Not $20,000.00?

Nope.
It's actually a maximum fine of $1000.

Don't think that changed, open to correction though.

I read more on it. You are correct.
The $20k fine is for entering a prohibited area.

Postby pugboy » August 16th, 2017, 6:04 am

he only got a month inside though

they need heavy fines to deter then as well as the folks who paying the $150/bird or whatever for this
bird that does taste like crab

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 16th, 2017, 3:19 pm

BBC has a wonderful 50 second clip of these birds.

Not sure how anyone in their right mind could kill birds like this.

Postby RedVEVO » August 16th, 2017, 4:59 pm

[Guardian 16/8/17]

" ...They were charged with hunting at the protected site and being in possession of the dismembered carcass of a bird. The first charge carries a maximum fine of $20,000, while the latter carries a fine of $1,000 and up to a month imprisonment .. "

" .. Agriculture Minister Clarence Rambharat visited the sanctuary following the group’s arrest and also was present in court yesterday to show solidarity to the game wardens who fall under his ministry .. "

Ram is a busy boy :D

Postby Chimera » August 16th, 2017, 6:53 pm

Rambharat is the only minister I find does do reallllll work.