'I want this car replaced' says distressed owner

wickedtuna

These after sales service what do u guys think ......southern sales

Postby wickedtuna » August 4th, 2017, 4:08 pm

A disgruntled Marabella resident is calling on car dealer Southern Sales Limited to do the honourable thing and change the defective vehicle he purchased three years ago.

Marcus Stephen said he bought a new KIA Cerato in April 2014 but began experiencing problem with the vehicle with the odometer reading only 800 kilometres.

“I observed rust spots on the roof while the paint on the spoiler began fading. When I reported my observations to the sales representative he told me to take a file and file out the rust.

“At 3,000km a knocking sound began emanating from the engine so I took the vehicle back to the service department where they said they did a series of diagnostic tests and could not detect any problems.

“Then at 33,000km the timing chain tensioner, master control window switch and the steering rack all went bad. I again returned the vehicle to them, this time for a period of 14 days and when I collected it I was still getting a sound from the steering rack although they claimed it was changed.

Stephen said the service department refused to show him the steering rack they claimed they replaced while the master control window switch had to be changed no less than three times.

“To make matters worse, they broke one of the door finishers while servicing the vehicle and whenever I ask about having it repaired they kept telling me they didn't have the parts to do the job. And on the three previous occasions I took the vehicle to have repairs done it always came back with dents and scrapes on it,” Stephen said.

He said his woes with the vehicle continued as the timing chain tensioner and lifters were changed at 59,000km but the sound from the engine grew louder.

Replace my vehicle

Stephen said on May 30 while driving the vehicle it began bucking and jerking before shutting down. He said he contacted Southern Sales and was told to bring the vehicle in but couldn't do so until June 13 as he works offshore.

“My complaint of the most recent problem was verified by one of the servicemen who test drove the vehicle. I was given the assurance that the problem could be rectified in one day, yet as we speak the vehicle is still at Southern Sales while I have to be driving an old car they gave me to use in the interim.”

Stephen, who produced a series of email communication between chief executive officer Imtiaz Ahamad, service manager Richard Suphal and himself, said he's paying a bank loan for a new vehicle that has spent more time parked up at Southern Sales than he has had access to.

He said he has had difficulty in getting a response from Ahamad with regards to his request to have the vehicle replaced.

“When I finally got to speak to him on the phone last month he said he's not going to respond to my question with regards to their policy on changing defective vehicles.

“I don't want that defective vehicle anymore, I want it replaced with one that is actually road worthy, which is what I am paying for and what I should have had in the first instance.”

Southern Sales committed to honouring warranty

When contacted, Ahamad told Express it would be difficult to respond to Stephen's claims and the long history of the issues involved over one phone call.

However, he said: “As far as I recall it's just on one occasion I did not reply to an email from him but there are other people authorised to do so and they did.

“Yes, we have had some problems with the car and we have tried to rectify those issues as best as possible and in the best interest of the customer. We are still trying to resolve those issues with the vehicle.

“At times we have been unable to contact Stephen because of the nature of his work but we did have a very amicable meeting once, which went quite well. I believe his disappointment stems from the fact that it did take a while to have the issues dealt with.

“Where we are now is that we're just down to one matter that needs to be resolved, so Stephen should have his vehicle pretty soon,” Ahamad said.

He maintained that Southern Sales remains committed to honouring the warranty on its vehicles by repairing or replacing any defective parts during the warranty period.

However, Stephen remains firm in his call for the vehicle to be replaced, saying, “I will have suffered a tremendous and unfair loss if they do not replace that vehicle and I question if that is how they treat their customers

GeneralHonda

Re: These after sales service what do u guys think ......southern sales

Postby GeneralHonda » August 4th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Sounds like he got a lemon. Sadly, we do not have lemon laws but this would make an interesting case.

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » August 4th, 2017, 4:28 pm

Well from their policy they state that they replace faulty parts not entire vehicles. But it also looks like the maintenance team is unqualified to handle the problems. But in terms of after service to me all companies is the same,which is why I would never buy a new vehicle, if God helps me afford it. I have a used local and some parts need to get in company and they never have. That's why we use online shopping.

FLEX

Postby FLEX » August 4th, 2017, 4:31 pm

I had a terrible experience with them.
bought two isuzu d max single cab vehicles 2.5tdi
invoice stated as such
two weeks after the guys in the office came to me and told me one was intercooled and the other was not.
southern sales refused to exchange the vehicle for me

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2017, 4:57 pm

Southern Sales ? Well well .. again and again

Everybody in TT know about SSL :roll:

Postby Redman » August 4th, 2017, 5:13 pm

New car companies and the banks are in a position where there is enough market to go around the relative few providers.

So service schmervice.

A friend is experiencing identical issues with a Beemer.

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2017, 5:17 pm

Redman wrote:New car companies and the banks are in a position where there is enough market to go around the relative few providers.

So service schmervice.

A friend is experiencing identical issues with a Beemer.

SSL has a reputation with not honoring warranty or giving people the roundabout .

Like a hamster on a thread mill wheel :roll:

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 4th, 2017, 5:52 pm

Isn't there a hilux guy who wrote some stuff about Toyota on his back glass .......and what's the avg cost per service of a new vehicle?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 4th, 2017, 5:54 pm

southern sales is the worst bought a van from them and after u pass the cheq is like they dont giv ah fork

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » August 4th, 2017, 5:56 pm

And btw correct me if I'm wrong guys but wasn't one/more of ssl workers involved in an insurance scheme a few weeks ago??

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2017, 5:57 pm

10-01 wrote:southern sales is the worst bought a van from them and after u pass the cheq is like they dont giv ah fork

Trini know this long long time ..

But keep buying from them ..

It is like Denny's .. :roll:

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 4th, 2017, 6:01 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
10-01 wrote:southern sales is the worst bought a van from them and after u pass the cheq is like they dont giv ah fork

Trini know this long long time ..

But keep buying from them ..

It is like Denny's .. :roll:

the problem is they had the cheapest work horse .... so i had no choice .... jus imagine u jus buy a new van and they drag the duraliner over the hood of the van to install it and scrape up the hood and when i complain about it the manager say i " dats small thing " when i tell them i going to call the bank and cancel the cheq i get a "free Buff "

i had complaints with Toyota also i see it got deleted .... Massy was the only place wher i got good service ...

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 4th, 2017, 8:53 pm

I had issue/s with the new model Kia Rio back in 2012.

I am sorry for owners of certain models.

Postby nervewrecker » August 4th, 2017, 9:13 pm

I know a guy that bought a cerato. Get real blows with it. They never rectified the issues

abducted

Postby abducted » August 4th, 2017, 9:15 pm

Don't think I would ever buy a vehicle from Southern Sales, I bought 2 vehicles from Massy in my life-time and my wife bought her vehicle from Lifestyle and we always had really good experiences with after sales service from both companies, luckily.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » August 4th, 2017, 9:19 pm

abducted wrote:Don't think I would ever buy a vehicle from Southern Sales, I bought 2 vehicles from Massy in my life-time and my wife bought her vehicle from Lifestyle and we always had really good experiences with after sales service from both companies, luckily.

yepp can agree with u on Massy ....

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » August 4th, 2017, 9:23 pm

whoa gard, dont let me get started on Southern sales nah...

they only understand one language... CUSS CUSS AND MORE CUSS...

Postby Ted_v2 » August 4th, 2017, 10:20 pm

Is the techs, some serious raj working there.

Long time ago they walk up the road to federal to borrow a TQ wrench, they aint get any. They proceeded to use a power-handle and wuk it jesso.

rofl, but ona real. Great place to work to get into sideline jobs, Plenty money to make doing sideline jobs while working in a firm. ;)

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » August 4th, 2017, 10:32 pm

I have a friend has the in court right now for a a Kia sportage she bought last year.... when she went to consumer affairs, they said it has 37 pending complaints about southern sales...and 18 of them are now legal matters before the courts

cadence

Postby cadence » August 5th, 2017, 12:17 am

Southern sales :| ...

Its just not bad experience with Kia. Had two seperate experiences with the Audi brand, extreme poor customer service, technicians dont even try to care for your vehicle ( no seat plastic, mat guards etc just sit with dirty coveralls inside your car and rest laptop to perform diagnositc on top of bonnet..
This place is really in need of a make-over starting with the Facilities, Employee attitudes, Pricing standardization and basic training on answering telephones when they ring.

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2017, 12:28 am

cadence wrote:Southern sales :| ...

Its just not bad experience with Kia. Had two seperate experiences with the Audi brand, extreme poor customer service, technicians dont even try to care for your vehicle ( no seat plastic, mat guards etc just sit with dirty coveralls inside your car and rest laptop to perform diagnositc on top of bonnet..
This place is really in need of a make-over starting with the Facilities, Employee attitudes, Pricing standardization and basic training on answering telephones when they ring.

No make over here ..

Southern Sales need to loose Audi and Kia dealership like how they lost BMW.

It is bad management with I do not care a f ... attitude .

Postby Morpheus » August 5th, 2017, 2:43 am

Sigh...

This certainly ain't encouraging

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 5th, 2017, 2:58 am

Well...I'll be staying far away from ssl......but seeing that they mAke so much profits....could they not simply replace the car for the guy without it having to go public and damaging their reputation

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2017, 3:47 am

There are very few people I trust to work on my vehicles... And the dealership is not part of that group.
If you read enough fine print you will realize your warranty doesn't cover as much as you think.

Postby RedVEVO » August 5th, 2017, 5:33 am

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Well...I'll be staying far away from ssl......but seeing that they mAke so much profits....could they not simply replace the car for the guy without it having to go public and damaging their reputation

They can but will not .

SSL does not care about reputation .

They lost BMW franchise and sooner or later will lose Audi dealership .

Remember BA with Volks ? Well 2 down and 1 to go :D

stikid09

'I want this car replaced' says distressed owner

Postby stikid09 » August 5th, 2017, 6:03 am

...company says it's committed to honouring warranty

A disgruntled Marabella resident is calling on car dealer Southern Sales Limited to do the honourable thing and change the defective vehicle he purchased three years ago.

Marcus Stephen said he bought a new KIA Cerato in April 2014 but began experiencing problem with the vehicle with the odometer reading only 800 kilometres.

“I observed rust spots on the roof while the paint on the spoiler began fading. When I reported my observations to the sales representative he told me to take a file and file out the rust.

“At 3,000km a knocking sound began emanating from the engine so I took the vehicle back to the service department where they said they did a series of diagnostic tests and could not detect any problems.

“Then at 33,000km the timing chain tensioner, master control window switch and the steering rack all went bad. I again returned the vehicle to them, this time for a period of 14 days and when I collected it I was still getting a sound from the steering rack although they claimed it was changed.

Stephen said the service department refused to show him the steering rack they claimed they replaced while the master control window switch had to be changed no less than three times.

“To make matters worse, they broke one of the door finishers while servicing the vehicle and whenever I ask about having it repaired they kept telling me they didn't have the parts to do the job. And on the three previous occasions I took the vehicle to have repairs done it always came back with dents and scrapes on it,” Stephen said.

He said his woes with the vehicle continued as the timing chain tensioner and lifters were changed at 59,000km but the sound from the engine grew louder.

Replace my vehicle

Stephen said on May 30 while driving the vehicle it began bucking and jerking before shutting down. He said he contacted Southern Sales and was told to bring the vehicle in but couldn't do so until June 13 as he works offshore.

“My complaint of the most recent problem was verified by one of the servicemen who test drove the vehicle. I was given the assurance that the problem could be rectified in one day, yet as we speak the vehicle is still at Southern Sales while I have to be driving an old car they gave me to use in the interim.”

Stephen, who produced a series of email communication between chief executive officer Imtiaz Ahamad, service manager Richard Suphal and himself, said he's paying a bank loan for a new vehicle that has spent more time parked up at Southern Sales than he has had access to.

He said he has had difficulty in getting a response from Ahamad with regards to his request to have the vehicle replaced.

“When I finally got to speak to him on the phone last month he said he's not going to respond to my question with regards to their policy on changing defective vehicles.

“I don't want that defective vehicle anymore, I want it replaced with one that is actually road worthy, which is what I am paying for and what I should have had in the first instance.”

Southern Sales committed to honouring warranty

When contacted, Ahamad told Express it would be difficult to respond to Stephen's claims and the long history of the issues involved over one phone call.

However, he said: “As far as I recall it's just on one occasion I did not reply to an email from him but there are other people authorised to do so and they did.

“Yes, we have had some problems with the car and we have tried to rectify those issues as best as possible and in the best interest of the customer. We are still trying to resolve those issues with the vehicle.

“At times we have been unable to contact Stephen because of the nature of his work but we did have a very amicable meeting once, which went quite well. I believe his disappointment stems from the fact that it did take a while to have the issues dealt with.

“Where we are now is that we're just down to one matter that needs to be resolved, so Stephen should have his vehicle pretty soon,” Ahamad said.

He maintained that Southern Sales remains committed to honouring the warranty on its vehicles by repairing or replacing any defective parts during the warranty period.

However, Stephen remains firm in his call for the vehicle to be replaced, saying, “I will have suffered a tremendous and unfair loss if they do not replace that vehicle and I question if that is how they treat their customers.”

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 5th, 2017, 6:25 am

SSL was BMW...I thought they were no related at all

Postby Ted_v2 » August 5th, 2017, 7:03 am

Diamond motors does BMW. I'm pretty sure about that.

fallen_angel

Postby fallen_angel » August 5th, 2017, 7:12 am

If you guys really unhappy with the service and want to see some change you can document all your information and make a factual complaint to the foreign head office of their brands. I am sure the manufacturers will be keen to know how their local representatives are treating the hard working customers who are making them rich.

Re: 'I want this car replaced' says distressed owner

Postby SR » August 5th, 2017, 7:58 am

How many local dealorships honor full warranties as stated by the manufacturers.