My welding experience..

nos_specialist

My welding experience..

Postby nos_specialist » June 17th, 2017, 7:35 am

Good day folks.. sharing this update. I cant weld.. but when a welding guy wanted to charge me $9500.00 for simple windows to put in my shipping container office..i decided its time to learn.

I brought in an Evolution Rage 3 saw (this is realll mad) made fabrication so much easier

And i have a Hilco 110v Arc welder..(its working besss)

This is my first attempt at window fabrication and welding..

Last edited by nos_specialist on June 17th, 2017, 7:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

MrSennin

Re: My welding experience..

Postby MrSennin » June 17th, 2017, 7:40 am

Looks good, interested in seeing your progress, u clean the area before u start?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 17th, 2017, 9:17 am

Didnt need to clean it really.. so far welding good.. my only issue is i dont have a really flat table but still kinda getting through

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » June 17th, 2017, 9:21 am

Inside for progress

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2017, 10:47 am

saw look like it cutting nice, I wanna get a cold cut saw sometime in the future
the bead looks good and maybe a tad cold

you need a flat table, dont be like the rest of them so called welders

all you really need are two horses which are level with each other and then can just put long pieces to act as rails if needed.
You also need to make up some right angle jigs

I will send you some pics.
Those should be your first projects.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 17th, 2017, 11:27 am

I jus collected my welding magnets i hope that helps with the right angles .

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 17th, 2017, 11:32 am

nice work ....

airuma

Postby airuma » June 17th, 2017, 1:00 pm

Nice! Them fellas to stupid to realize that they pricing their way out of business.
Be sure to tack up, brace then weld. And don't grind off the welding, it will crack eventually. Try to weld in places that will be out of sight so you will not need to grind it and a flat surface is a must lest you want warped frames.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 17th, 2017, 1:24 pm

Well i am actually grinding back the welding from the faces of it.. so it wud have a finished look.. also even without the flat table i am matching my metal surfaces flush then clamping to my normal table and getting thru without it warping

Postby Kenjo » June 17th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Evolution Power Tools RAGE3 10-Inch Multipurpose Cutting Compound Sliding Miter Saw https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0030M2TCC/re ... rzbNWN701V

What eye protection you using though ?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 17th, 2017, 6:47 pm

I brought in a Solar Powered Auto Darkening Mask

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01NC ... UTF8&psc=1

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 17th, 2017, 7:52 pm

good going , u will learn ALOT more as u go along

reminds me of my self close to 20yrs ago , when somebody broke into our house & stole a few items i taught myself to fabricate & weld & actually did it for a living for a few yrs

like said above after u bought ur basic equipment d very 1st thing to build is a solid\sturdy , square , level metal welding table , trust me ur legs & back will be greatly eased & ur production output will be more & more efficient too ...

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 17th, 2017, 8:06 pm

Yea bro will do.. i using a 8x4 table that has a sheet of laminated MDF over a sheet of ply, that bending down and welding vibes is pressha

Postby pugboy » June 17th, 2017, 8:15 pm

Them Chinese contractor does be welding on the ground squatting in slippers

Postby rspann » June 17th, 2017, 10:49 pm

welding_specialist

lawyer22

Postby lawyer22 » June 18th, 2017, 1:02 am

You did the right thing bro

Postby Ted_v2 » June 18th, 2017, 7:50 am

Good welds for a 110v welder, what rods you using?

wanna try my hand at a mig, mainly for small fab stuff around the house and exhaust work.

Postby De Dragon » June 18th, 2017, 7:52 am

It is fine to clean your welds, as long as you use a proper attachment like a wire wheel or cup brush.

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2017, 8:20 am

I have two of these rails which are easily dismantled and fit in holes drilled in ground,
holes not same so cant mix them up
made the verticals first then shimmed up and welded the top with a bubble level
when both are assembled you can stand back and sight both rails perfectly level

IMG_4423.JPG

IMG_4422.JPG

IMG_4426.JPG

IMG_4425.JPG

IMG_4424.JPG

them magnet square is a waste of time, get a good carpenters square, double check it both ways and make your own
square jigs like what I have here and use the squeeze clamps instead.

It better to clean and prime the steel first, then cut to suit another day, less headache to prime after welding.
plus you will likely clean it much better when they are just in lengths

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 18th, 2017, 5:11 pm

Cool vibes

1. The 110v welder i using is a Hilco... it madd..expensive but madd...

2. If i doin more frequent welding.i wud get that jig and table made up i using my wood working clamps right now tho

Postby pugboy » June 18th, 2017, 8:19 pm

The Chinese Zx7-200 inverter stick Welder's work pretty well
220v and can burn 10g rods easy all day 180amps
Dc, no spatter

Pretty cheap too, landed around $1200 or less

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » June 19th, 2017, 12:57 pm

Subscribed*...great work btw. Looking to follow a similar path.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 19th, 2017, 10:26 pm

Great works bro. Could have just bought the damn thing for small money from persons who fabricate and weld, but where is the fun in that? Like you, I am tired of the CRAZY MAN PRICES welders want, have no time for your project, leave the works incomplete and generally leave you in a lurch when you want things done. Projects generally do not wait on welders.

So I went CAPS, UWI Open Campus and signed on to the welding and fabrication programme. Great Prog, doing some prelim stuff like safety, intro to equipment, gears, different types of machines, etc. Will be getting into the practicals soon. Will post some tidbits from time to time.

Used to do welding in my brother's shop which closed when he migrated. I just want to learn the proper way to do welding. The Chinese Zx7 - 200 inverter stick seems like a good buy. I am beginning to think about a mig welder as the technology is more to my liking. The shop has a 115 volts Lincoln Mig which the lecturer says has been around for about 15 years (hope I heard him right). Brand = Durability.

I have about $25k plus worth of labour in welding. Cannot depend on welders in my area.

Wish me luck bros ...........

Postby pugboy » June 19th, 2017, 10:48 pm

Same exp here,
I hired a so-called welder to build a smoker for me and had to physically got seize back the half done work and buy my own mig and learn
He actually did me a big favor, so I must thank him

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 19th, 2017, 11:32 pm

Yeah that reminds me. I need to do some You tube-ing as a few thought crossed my mind when I was in school. Need to gets some additional info, as I fully intend to get going while/after the course.

Need to build a green house that can take on a Bret like occurence .......................

Don't need no person standing me up when I get started. I will just hire one or two labouer. Will rent a small machine to do the heavy lifting. Have to talk to the lecturer about the best type of pipe for post, framing, etc as he has a lot of experience with different types of structures.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 21st, 2017, 7:18 am

yaaay, nice work pal.

i real like to inhale welding fumes. it is smell bessss, but i know it not good for me.....

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 21st, 2017, 10:06 am

Nice, put some good paint on it, yuh know how RHS is... I use Rustoleum. The only thing if is white, it does attract dust, but easy to wipe off.
All ah we in the same boat, big welder bussing price, eh taking no small wuk and then holding up ur wuk.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 21st, 2017, 12:56 pm

its not a easy job as it sounds or looks

a good welder works for at least 500\day [+ in most cases an assistant\s too] so not much of them gonna tote all their heavy equipment to go ppl house for no small wuk , it simply not worth their time & effort for that when other jobs can be more worthwhile

d "big welders" or like a bunch of guys or a crew\company will obviously have to charge more to pay all of them a worthwhile salary , provided that hopefully they do good proper work of course ...

Miktay

Postby Miktay » June 21st, 2017, 1:33 pm

Nice...like the initiative.

Postby Chimera » June 21st, 2017, 1:42 pm

a time i had a add in the papers for a welder...had a good bit of things to do but wanted to give whoever came the easiest thing to do first to see the scene

that was to build a burglar proof cage for my store that would be bolted to the walls. had to have a regular 32x80 door as well as a small door to hand customers items.

so one man come...with a whole file folder of certificates...where he work for OAS and this offshore company and that offshore company.....and this welding shop and that welding shop....and he went (i think its MIC? ) etc....

so i show him what i need done...we agree on price...i tell him go ahead

i come back to check him 30 mins later to see if he measuring up n thing

he measuring by sight.....using the tiles and his finger span to measure distance...because he doh have a measuring tape...and he hadda buy one......

and he done cut up 3 length of rhs eh.....