Police urge motorists to be alert
Jensen La Vende, Trinidad Guardian
Published: Wednesday, June 7, 2017
Head of the Port-of-Spain Division of the T&T Police Service Snr Supt Floris Hodge-Griffith is advising motorists to be alert when driving along the Old St Joseph Road at nights following a near fatal shooting in that area.
At around 11pm last Sunday, Kevon Serrette, 35, of Chaconia Avenue, Morvant, was driving his gold Nissan Almera in the vicinity of the John John flyover when he was shot in the chest.
Police believe a high powered rifle was used in the attack.
Serrette managed to drive to Independence Square in Port-of-Spain where he alerted police officers.
He was taken to the Port-of-Spain General Hospital and is warded in critical condition in the Intensive Care Unit.
Hodge-Griffith said Serrette’s shooting was the fifth such incident in a week.
However, there have been no fatalities.
She said police patrols have been increased and surveillance has been stepped up near traffic lights and other areas more vulnerable to attacks.
“At night be alert at that traffic light and be aware that these things are happening. We have no idea who are doing the shootings on the hills.
“We won’t tell people do not pass on the road but when approaching that light always be aware” she said.
K74T wrote:Defuq? So only when someone got hit then they informed the public?
pugboy wrote:how did they determine it came from overpass ?
ak and ar15 reaching highway easy from houses on the hills right there
Phone Surgeon wrote:And yuh hadda drive nice and slow at 80km to give the gunman time to aim
pugboy wrote:how did they determine it came from overpass ?
ak and ar15 reaching highway easy from houses on the hills right there
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have been playing Arma 3 for years online, it is a military simulator on Steam the US military also uses it to train their people.
It is really hard to nearly impossible shoot someone in a moving vehicle with a sniper rifle unless you are shooting head on, or unless you are extremely skilled with tons of training, bullets are a hell of a lot slower at long distances than I ever realized not to mention recoil.
toyolink wrote:Might have to start zig-zagging in the nite when approaching over-pass or elevated pedestrian walk-way.
The amount of self preservation things I have to do to survive getting confusing.
Les Bain wrote:toyolink wrote:Might have to start zig-zagging in the nite when approaching over-pass or elevated pedestrian walk-way.
The amount of self preservation things I have to do to survive getting confusing.
Good thing they not building the walkover for them Sealots people agai...
sheit. time to buy water taxi tickets.