Malfunctioning ferries " very strange" says Minister

Cooloh

Malfunctioning ferries " very strange" says Minister

Postby Cooloh » May 23rd, 2017, 3:45 pm

Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan has described the mechanical problems being experienced by the two ferries on the sea bridge as strange.

Sinanan said he found it “very curious” that the mechanical problems were just popping up.

Speaking to i95.5FM on Tuesday, Sinanan said he was unable to say the vessels were being sabotaged as there was no evidence.

He said, “It is very curious that certain types of mechanical failures are just popping up. This is very, very, very strange. Unless you don't catch somebody doing it and we have that direct proof I am not going to be going down that route. As line minister I have a duty to fix the problem. And if there is human interference as being suggested to me by members on the port I have to find a solution to ensure that that does not happen. It is very strange, however I need to be focused on fixing this problem.”

Sinanan said he empathised with the passengers who were affected by the delays and cancellations in the ferry service.

On Monday, the T&T Express was forced to turn around and return to Port-o-Spain about 20 minutes after sailing due to mechanical problems.

The vessel sailed six hours later leaving passengers disgruntled.

Sinanan said he was now searching for vessels which would replace the T&T Spirit and T&T Express when they are dry-docked next month and in September.

“I am on top of this situation on a daily basis. I am meeting with the port board today and we hope to have this problem rectified once and for all. We have one of the vessel earmarked for June to go on dry dock and I am sticking to that time line,” he said.

Sinanan said he would ensure that the vessels were up and running 100 per cent.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170523 ... s-minister

Cooloh

Re: Malfunctioning ferries " very strange" says Minister

Postby Cooloh » May 23rd, 2017, 3:45 pm

"Sabotage"?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 23rd, 2017, 3:59 pm

Only matter of time before

is blamed

matix

Postby matix » May 23rd, 2017, 4:01 pm

. Old Ass boats will have mechanical issues. Seems sabotage is the call for all issues with the new regime.

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » May 23rd, 2017, 4:03 pm

Wouldn't be surprised if they fish out sanitary pads, tshirts and pampers from the engine lol

Postby Redman » May 23rd, 2017, 4:08 pm

steups-regardless...it is not sabotage that has us here....its inefficiency and this minister has the responsibility.

It cant take this long to make a decision....

They doing sheeit

http://www.incat.com.au/

Make a payment to lay the keel on a NEW ferry.

In the mean time get a lease.

https://horizonship.com/ship/82m-catama ... s-dwt-370/

https://horizonship.com/ship/119m-high- ... -cars-210/

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 23rd, 2017, 4:14 pm

Those blasted boats so damn old and needs replacing....of course they would have mechanical issues....can't sinanan figure out thAt rather than claim sabotage..the current regime can't seemed to solve problems....just blame the previous government

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » May 23rd, 2017, 4:24 pm

Technically he didn't claim sabotage... but he mentioned it to plant the idea...

Average

Postby Average » May 23rd, 2017, 4:26 pm

Good GOD boy.......the next time one of them pnm penises decides to be impotent they will claim sabotage and blame the opposition.

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2017, 4:32 pm

tobago getting jam all how yes

really feeling it for those ferry passengers as you sometimes hadda be in the port from 3-4 AM if you going tobago with a vehicle.

plane and rent a car is the safest bet but its a massive difference in price

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2017, 4:39 pm

Rohan Sinanan needs to acquaint himself with the RCA process and stop this thinly veiled attempt to plant the sabotage seed in PNM supporters minds.

Postby eliteauto » May 23rd, 2017, 4:43 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:tobago getting jam all how yes

really feeling it for those ferry passengers as you sometimes hadda be in the port from 3-4 AM if you going tobago with a vehicle.

right now even plane is ketch ass

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2017, 4:45 pm

eliteauto wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:tobago getting jam all how yes

right now even plane is ketch ass

No one taking any chances with the iffy ferry, so the also limited air bridge will have to try to take up the slack.

Postby Chimera » May 23rd, 2017, 4:52 pm

Cant say no one taking chance with ferry. For most people thats the only option.

Postby eliteauto » May 23rd, 2017, 5:26 pm

The Minister stopped short of saying "sabotage" while hinting is "sabotage" PNM diehards go say " dem UNC MC who working on de Port fcuking up de ferry to suffer Tobagonians" UNC go say dem eh do dat but "it good for dem Tobagonians cause deh racist " Meanwhile the "sabotage" could very well be real because someone waiting in the wings to eat a major food by bringing in a boat like a hero to save the people

Postby De Dragon » May 23rd, 2017, 5:43 pm

eliteauto wrote:The Minister stopped short of saying "sabotage" while hinting is "sabotage" PNM diehards go say " dem UNC MC who working on de Port fcuking up de ferry to suffer Tobagonians" UNC go say dem eh do dat but "it good for dem Tobagonians cause deh racist " Meanwhile the "sabotage" could very well be real because someone waiting in the wings to eat a major food by bringing in a boat like a hero to save the people

Sadly, there is much truth in this.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 23rd, 2017, 6:12 pm

Tobago voted fully for PNM so take that.....no cargo boat...now no ferry boat....ah boy...life nice.....once Pam in power things good...

And they wanna promote tourism in Tobago....oh what a big joke!!!!

Is sandals still gonna set up shop here.....

pjfred

Postby pjfred » May 23rd, 2017, 6:31 pm

eliteauto wrote:The Minister stopped short of saying "sabotage" while hinting is "sabotage" PNM diehards go say " dem UNC MC who working on de Port fcuking up de ferry to suffer Tobagonians" UNC go say dem eh do dat but "it good for dem Tobagonians cause deh racist " Meanwhile the "sabotage" could very well be real because someone waiting in the wings to eat a major food by bringing in a boat like a hero to save the people

Red and ready, kamla cause this too!!

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2017, 6:53 pm

Cooloh wrote:Technically he didn't claim sabotage... but he mentioned it to plant the idea...

the same crew that went to see brian lara bat, the went on a boat ride.

unless he is a mechanical professional, i not listening to what ever he is insinuating.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 23rd, 2017, 7:08 pm

They do the same thing with the buses, years ago they bought world class VOLVO buses for PTSC and never maintained it, after 10 years the buses started giving problems they blamed it on the volvo company for not making better buses even though these were probably the best Buses money could buy. They then switched to Chinese buses offcourse that didn't last very long until they started breaking down all over the place.

So I am not surprised the boats have reached the same state. Trinis do not believe in maintenance especially the government sector

Postby ismithx » May 23rd, 2017, 7:36 pm

I does look at those buses especially and wonder why we need coaches when the cargo space probably not even in use... is best PTSC did operate a fleet of 25 seater maxis yes

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 23rd, 2017, 7:46 pm

ismithx wrote:I does look at those buses especially and wonder why we need coaches when the cargo space probably not even in use... is best PTSC did operate a fleet of 25 seater maxis yes

When I was working POS back in 2013 I used to take the Piarco bus to come home, one evening 2 pretty girls from Germany were traveling on the coach and they put their bags in the cargo space below. (they were speaking German so I assume Germany)

When they got to the airport it was revealed that the cargo space was never cleaned in 5 years and their bags had oil and grease and dust like that. 2 of the bags they had to carry on in the plane, I never saw people so sad like those 2 girls, I felt bad for them. They never coming back to this country that you can count on and I am sure they will tell everyone of their experience. What a fcking disgrace if you ask me, government doesn't deserve to run any transport service in this country, truly incompetent bunch the lot of them.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2017, 7:50 pm

Those ferries used to have a proper maintenance contract with the foreign based supplier
Word is that that expired and there is some kind of locally based short term contract
Rumored that a local employee of the foreign based outfit was trying to take over the maintenance

Age is not to be used to write off a boat just so.
The mv panorama was recently revealed to be working well in the Mediterranean
A boat supposedly breaking down all the time it was here

GixxerMan

Re: Malfunctioning ferries

Postby GixxerMan » May 23rd, 2017, 7:55 pm

pjfred wrote:

Red and ready, kamla cause this too!!

more like "Red & Thirsty" ...... ent they protesting for water now....

Postby tr1ad » May 23rd, 2017, 8:00 pm

pugboy wrote:Those ferries used to have a proper maintenance contract with the foreign based supplier
Word is that that expired and there is some kind of locally based short term contract
Rumored that a local employee of the foreign based outfit was trying to take over the maintenance

Age is not to be used to write off a boat just so.
The mv panorama was recently revealed to be working well in the Mediterranean
A boat supposedly breaking down all the time it was here

correct, proper preventative maint and enough spares it could last quite a while and still be reliable

carluva

Postby carluva » May 23rd, 2017, 8:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
ismithx wrote:I does look at those buses especially and wonder why we need coaches when the cargo space probably not even in use... is best PTSC did operate a fleet of 25 seater maxis yes

When I was working POS back in 2013 I used to take the Piarco bus to come home, one evening 2 pretty girls from Germany were traveling on the coach and they put their bags in the cargo space below. (they were speaking German so I assume Germany)

When they got to the airport it was revealed that the cargo space was never cleaned in 5 years and their bags had oil and grease and dust like that. 2 of the bags they had to carry on in the plane, I never saw people so sad like those 2 girls, I felt bad for them. They never coming back to this country that you can count on and I am sure they will tell everyone of their experience. What a fcking disgrace if you ask me, government doesn't deserve to run any transport service in this country, truly incompetent bunch the lot of them.

Interesting...

Why was it necessary to mention that the girls were pretty?

Lol

Postby 16 cycles » May 23rd, 2017, 8:52 pm

And we wanted to spend billions on trains/ infrastructure when we don't seem to have a preventative maintenance culture...

Postby sMASH » May 23rd, 2017, 9:03 pm

that is the most flexible yet cost effective mass transit system this island could use

Postby matr1x » May 23rd, 2017, 9:12 pm

Listen to this administration grasp at straws!

Postby Ben_spanna » May 23rd, 2017, 10:33 pm

Ministers have no time to waste dealing with serious issues, they too busy with $59,000 phone bills and staying at Tobago Magdelana with 3 woman's at a cost to us taxpayers of $91,000

This is now really madness in this country. People are on the verge of their sanity, people poor no rass, people fighting rising costs or everything, coupled with new taxes, government claiming they have no money yet in the short timeframe of 5 days 2 indivuals amassed expenses of over $150,000 combined?