Sundar

Re: Earthquake - 17/05/2017

Postby Sundar » May 17th, 2017, 3:45 pm

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » May 17th, 2017, 4:28 pm

Yes, there are several faults in the Trinidad area as we are in the vicinity of the boundary between 2 tectonic plates - the South American and the Caribbean.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 17th, 2017, 5:00 pm

I surprised we haven't gotten a big one yet :(

breathalyser

Postby breathalyser » May 18th, 2017, 12:03 am

Nothing in siparia

Sent from my SM-N920G using TriniTuner mobile app

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » May 18th, 2017, 1:48 am

Salt san do

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 18th, 2017, 7:18 am

Sundar wrote:I surprised we haven't gotten a big one yet :(

well the fact that there have consistently been smaller ones over the years indicates that a 'big' one shouldnt happen soon. the stress and pressure at the fault line is being released gradually in these little quakes

Postby desifemlove » May 18th, 2017, 7:26 am

really? smaller tremors could indicate a much larger one to come. There is no reliable method in predicting earthquakes.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 18th, 2017, 7:34 am

desifemlove wrote:really? smaller tremors could indicate a much larger one to come. There is no reliable method in predicting earthquakes.

it indicates the spot is active so a big one can happen anytime due to that.

but small amounts of stress can be temporarily released rather than building up. but it all depends on the mantle and how much it influences the plates to move.....so it can go both ways.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » May 18th, 2017, 9:45 am

That spot has been active for a long while as shown in this map from a paper that you can get at http://www.earth.northwestern.edu/publi ... EAO087.pdf
If you do download the paper, check the name of the 3rd author. Guess he was good for something other than politics. :)
Trinidad Seismicity - 1963 to 1990.png

Postby Dizzy28 » May 18th, 2017, 9:55 am

Monkey Man wrote:
desifemlove wrote:really? smaller tremors could indicate a much larger one to come. There is no reliable method in predicting earthquakes.

but small amounts of stress can be temporarily released rather than building up. but it all depends on the mantle and how much it influences the plates to move.....so it can go both ways.

Monkey Man is a Geological Man ??

Postby desifemlove » May 18th, 2017, 10:08 am

so if we get a big quake, this means either Town or Sando, or Chaguanas, would collapse? Building codes as they are get regularly flouted. No way buildings could withstand a large quake, like 7.0 or above.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 18th, 2017, 11:54 am

Monkey Man wrote:

Monkey Man is a Geological Man ??

Monkey logic lol

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 18th, 2017, 11:56 am

desifemlove wrote:so if we get a big quake, this means either Town or Sando, or Chaguanas, would collapse? Building codes as they are get regularly flouted. No way buildings could withstand a large quake, like 7.0 or above.

Most of Trinidad you mean. A Lil 6.0 shakeup should wake up the country. Who knows people might actually start to pray when they realize how fragile life is.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 18th, 2017, 1:10 pm

Sundar wrote:
desifemlove wrote:so if we get a big quake, this means either Town or Sando, or Chaguanas, would collapse? Building codes as they are get regularly flouted. No way buildings could withstand a large quake, like 7.0 or above.

Most of Trinidad you mean. A Lil 6.0 shakeup should wake up the country. Who knows people might actually start to pray when they realize how fragile life is.

trini was hit with a 6.1 in 2006 and is the same sheit..

ollur memory short or wa

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 18th, 2017, 1:21 pm

Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:

ollur memory short or wa

Nah bai been ten years too laang....

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » May 18th, 2017, 10:29 pm

Sundar wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:

ollur memory short or wa

Ten years since a 6? Didn't we have a 6.1 or 6.2 just December last year? And in 2013 we had a 6.4 in the usual area.... http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-10- ... e-rocks-tt

I wish the government would use some the new revenue from their increased property tax to adopt a national building code in law and put measures in place to ensure enforcement.

Sundar

Postby Sundar » May 18th, 2017, 10:38 pm

I can't remember

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2017, 2:00 am

2ndchance wrote:
Sundar wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:

ollur memory short or wa

Ten years since a 6? Didn't we have a 6.1 or 6.2 just December last year? And in 2013 we had a 6.4 in the usual area.... http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-10- ... e-rocks-tt

I wish the government would use some the new revenue from their increased property tax to adopt a national building code in law and put measures in place to ensure enforcement.

So if the epicentre is in Trinidad itself then it's licks.

2ndchance

Postby 2ndchance » May 19th, 2017, 3:12 am

desifemlove wrote:
2ndchance wrote:
Sundar wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:

ollur memory short or wa

Typically the closer the earthquake source is to you, the more intense the ground shaking at your location. When you think of proximity, don't forget to consider the depth of the earthquake. The response of the building that you're in to the ground shaking is the factor that will most influence how you fare. Given the current lack of proper construction techniques, especially with residential structures, I think you're correct in thinking the damage would be greater for an earthquake with epicenter within Trinidad as compared to that same magnitude earthquake with an epicenter out at sea. I think we have been fortunate that those magnitude 6+ earthquakes did not occur at shallow depths beneath Trinidad or Tobago.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 19th, 2017, 7:14 am

2ndchance wrote:
Sundar wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:

ollur memory short or wa

true eh but i believe the 6.1 in 2006 was higher on the Mercalli Scale.

..i remember good cuz zen didnt open that night.... :?

Postby desifemlove » May 19th, 2017, 7:57 am

2ndchance wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
2ndchance wrote:
Sundar wrote:
Monkey Man wrote:
Sundar wrote:

ollur memory short or wa

Typically the closer the earthquake source is to you, the more intense the ground shaking at your location. When you think of proximity, don't forget to consider the depth of the earthquake. The response of the building that you're in to the ground shaking is the factor that will most influence how you fare. Given the current lack of proper construction techniques, especially with residential structures, I think you're correct in thinking the damage would be greater for an earthquake with epicenter within Trinidad as compared to that same magnitude earthquake with an epicenter out at sea. I think we have been fortunate that those magnitude 6+ earthquakes did not occur at shallow depths beneath Trinidad or Tobago.

And if it happened, in any big place, it would be carnage. extreme? no it's not, we all know the scene of how construction does wuk...