Best credit union in Trinidad & Tobago?

cueball1990

Re: What is the best Credit Union in Trinidad

Postby cueball1990 » June 12th, 2015, 11:11 pm

There isnt a best. Most have varying qualifications. Best you call a few and see what they ask for when taking a loan. But they work on share capital loans so you get to borrow 2x or 3x the amount you have invested with them.

Postby nervewrecker » June 12th, 2015, 11:12 pm

What's up with the bank?
I donno eh, just asking. Ent you don't pay interest on the first year or something so?
Provided you have some savings you can score a decent ride within a year without banding your belly.
I am open to corrections.
Good luck, happy to see an ambitious post in here.

Postby Spitfir3 » June 13th, 2015, 1:34 am

i hope you your position is permanent if not is presha

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 13th, 2015, 4:14 pm

Hindu Credit Union

Postby SMc » June 13th, 2015, 4:37 pm

^^What happens if she is not Hindu?

Postby nervewrecker » June 13th, 2015, 6:46 pm

Op female?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

daas

Postby daas » June 13th, 2015, 8:13 pm

nick639 wrote:
SMc wrote:^^What happens if she is not Hindu?

Banished and scorned at the door

to the gallows :twisted:

But on a real try bank employees cu. I hear they reeeeel accommodating.

Also you have the right idea, try to get a loan through a cu and not a bank. As I understand it, Credit Unions are non-profit orgs so the interest they charge is actually reinvested to the benefit of its members in the form of dividends. Them banks charge you interest and the big shots just get richer by pocketing whatever profit is made.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 13th, 2015, 11:10 pm

KhaleelStafford wrote:What is the best Credit Union in Trinidad?, i'm very young and interested in purchasing a decent vehicle but I don't want to through the bank, i'm employed with Ministry and I want some information on what is the best thing for me to do right.

why? and you're very young? you would probably want to build a credit rating with the bank to get a bigger loan like a mortgage later on. If you insist on a credit union, go with Eastern. they are pretty flexible. Open a shares account one time and have a standing order take out a lil $300 from your salary every month.

You're welcome

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 14th, 2015, 6:43 am

KhaleelStafford wrote:What is the best Credit Union in Trinidad?, i'm very young and interested in purchasing a decent vehicle but I don't want to through the bank, i'm employed with Ministry and I want some information on what is the best thing for me to do right.

main question u with the ministry permanent or contract ? this will play a big role in getting the loan...

abbow

Postby abbow » June 14th, 2015, 10:37 am

Venture, SECU, TECU

Call them, hear what they offering...

Postby bluefete » June 14th, 2015, 10:47 am

abbow wrote:Venture, SECU, TECU

Call them, hear what they offering...

TECU on all fronts! (And I am not a member of any).

Advent

Postby Advent » June 14th, 2015, 10:48 am

Police credit Union

Sent from my GT-I9190 using Tapatalk

KhaleelStafford

Postby KhaleelStafford » June 15th, 2015, 1:59 pm

Im thinking its either Eastern or Venture Credit Union

kaylex

Postby kaylex » June 15th, 2015, 2:38 pm

rhand

Postby Slartibartfast » June 15th, 2015, 2:50 pm

Eastern is 1% interest per month on the reducing balance. Works out to about 6%-8% interest per annum depending on the loan. Went to republic bank and they quoted me an interest rate of 13.5% I laughed in the woman face and just walked out.

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Eastern is 1% interest per month on the reducing balance. Works out to about 6%-8% interest per annum depending on the loan. Went to republic bank and they quoted me an interest rate of 13.5% I laughed in the woman face and just walked out.

credit union & bank are 2 different things eh.
That 1% interest/mo actually doesn't work out the way you'd think. overall you pay closer to 11% in interest PA for the first few yrs or so, then it starts to go down. imo, avoiding 1.5-2% in interest not worth the limitations that the credit unions set upon you
credit unions will usually only lend as much as 2-3x what you have in shares/savings/assets, & it depends on the assets they will be holding as collateral. they might even go higher than 3x, but that's a rare thing.
banks will lend up to 10x your monthly income, & many will even do so unsecured too. you will pay more in interest, but you but that's what you have to pay for them taking all the risk.

they would even go so far as to lend if you didn't have a previous history with them. I do not know of any credit union that does that.

Postby Slartibartfast » June 16th, 2015, 12:40 pm

With respect to the interest rate you just have to workout the total amount to be paid in both cases and compare the two.

Postby 1UZFE » June 16th, 2015, 12:49 pm

The best credit unions are company specific or indusrty specific. Whereby u have to be an employee of certain companies to join those credit unions. Eg.works credit union. Police credit union .Tateco etc.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 16th, 2015, 1:33 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Eastern is 1% interest per month on the reducing balance. Works out to about 6%-8% interest per annum depending on the loan. Went to republic bank and they quoted me an interest rate of 13.5% I laughed in the woman face and just walked out.

That 1% interest/mo actually doesn't work out the way you'd think. overall you pay closer to 11% in interest PA for the first few yrs or so, then it starts to go down. imo, avoiding 1.5-2% in interest not worth the limitations that the credit unions set upon you
credit unions will usually only lend as much as 2-3x what you have in shares/savings/assets, & it depends on the assets they will be holding as collateral. they might even go higher than 3x, but that's a rare thing.
banks will lend up to 10x your monthly income, & many will even do so unsecured too. you will pay more in interest, but you but that's what you have to pay for them taking all the risk.

they would even go so far as to lend if you didn't have a previous history with them. I do not know of any credit union that does that.

Eastern and PSCU

Postby stev » June 16th, 2015, 2:00 pm

Eastern Credit Union

Pass in any branch and they will hook u up.

Postby 88sins » June 16th, 2015, 2:23 pm

only 2 out of how many dozen?
well its better than none

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 16th, 2015, 9:00 pm

stafford you didnt get tru with the army boi?

KhaleelStafford

Postby KhaleelStafford » June 16th, 2015, 11:51 pm

kaylex wrote:rhand

Whats so ironic is that i used to work there

KhaleelStafford

Postby KhaleelStafford » June 17th, 2015, 12:18 am

speedmelter wrote:stafford you didnt get tru with the army boi?

yea i did up to last month dey called me, they took in a batch on th 29th of last month but only 50 people the older set out men i prayin and waiting still i pass everything tho

Postby 88sins » June 17th, 2015, 9:17 am

are you by chance related to a Samuel Stafford?

KhaleelStafford

Postby KhaleelStafford » June 17th, 2015, 8:51 pm

88sins wrote:are you by chance related to a Samuel Stafford?

why you ask?

Postby 88sins » June 18th, 2015, 6:48 am

cuz I was seeking an answer

Postby sliderz1 » June 18th, 2015, 1:58 pm

How much Venture offering on savings accounts?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 18th, 2015, 10:33 pm

Well said. Credit unions only appear attractive.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » June 19th, 2015, 1:01 am

think banks are 5x unsecured

Sent from my D6503 using Tapatalk