Matthew called suicide hotline: No one answered. He killed himself

Re: Matthew called suicide hotline: No one answered. He killed himself

Postby j.o.e » March 18th, 2017, 8:33 am

desifemlove wrote:nah, it's all a nonsense field.

who is mentally "unwell"? a vagrant in town who shouts at air? or a politician who says s/he cares for the people, but does lot of underhanded sheit?

It's pretty subjective. are you mentally normal? am I? is everybody on this thread? by what standard? some may say you aren't, I am not, or others aren't. it's all based on relative criteria.

I dunno if you're mentally ill...... but you're at the very least a weirdo by everyone on this forum standards.

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2017, 8:57 am

desifemlove wrote:
brainchild wrote:
desifemlove wrote:I dont believe mental illness exists.

Explain

Because it's pretty fabricated as a science. It is value-based, anybody who isn't "normal" by some med's standards of the term is thus deemed. The profession says it is about wellbeing and distress, I doubt that it;s pretty inane and should be banned universally forever.

makes sense. if u like yellow and most people like orange, should not immediately result in u being classified as mentally ill.
there isn't a 'standard' by which all people can be measured to determine if anyone is not normal. and if so, very little if any would fall into that narrow band.

i believe that any one should be able to do anything as long as they not harming anybody else or intruding too much into their general zones of comfort. if a woman want to walk down the road 7/8's naked, that is she problem, if a man want to point up to the sky, that his his problem, somebody want to wear a business suit, that is his problem, somebody want to wear a business suit to the beach,, go right ahead.

but,when that behaviour or the condition that is causing the behaviour, is impeding on the person's ability to enjoy life, then the person isn't just marching to the beat of a different drum, he isnt just quirky, neither, isnt just moody. then it can be considered harmful towards that person and therefore a malady, an illness.

some of what is considered illnesses may be extreme forms of what normal people can already be exhibiting.
so, to study the varied characteristics and behaviour of humans, should be done, so that all can be better understood.

this way, u can have a knowledge base by which people can be assessed if they have a situation where they can harm others or them selves, and can be given help to enjoy life better. or just simply quirky or moody.

in this guys case, he succumbed to the machinery of his mind, in trying to solve insurmountable problems, and also taking on the tragedy of the problems. if someone who was around him had experience to recognize how deep he was heading, they might have been able to get him the help that he would need to not reach this length.

this is sad, because the guy was bright, and motivated. and if someone was there to help keep the load on his mind, not so hard, he might have lived and actually came up with some beneficial strategies to improve this world.

nobody to blame here, just that we could have been in a better state, as a country, to help this fella... and others like him

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 18th, 2017, 9:20 am

This is very simple. The suicide hotline service is structured all wrong. Expense can be severely reduced, attract more volunteers and increase efficiency by using tstt's voip to mobile call forwarding system.

Volunteers can register with suicide hotline and have a cellphone number attached to them. The automated service will then forward unanswered calls to an available mobile user.

I commend them for trying but the reality is that this should be a government run establishment with 24/7 access. but may only be feasible to politicians if we start appearing to have a suicide epidemic of citizens.

Anyway... callforwarding and an operator(s) to manage call assignment. Its cheaper and would allow volunteers to work and take calls while mobile or at home. As well as increase staff and availability. If this is possible I would register to help as well.

brainchild

Postby brainchild » March 18th, 2017, 9:38 am

I agree that it has gone too far in terms of what they classify as mental illness. But the basis is usually whether or not a persons mental state makes them a danger to those around them or themselves, those people are the ones that need help and make the field a necessary one.

Postby hydroep » March 18th, 2017, 9:42 am

Maybe it's time for schools to start teaching practical life strategies/ coping mechanisms alongside academics to help young adults successfully navigate the School of Hard Knocks.

R.I.P.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 18th, 2017, 10:15 am

hydroep wrote:Maybe it's time for schools to start teaching practical life strategies/ coping mechanisms alongside academics to help young adults successfully navigate the School of Hard Knocks.

R.I.P.

While this is true, it also starts from home. Children sometimes cry out for help through their behaviour and a typical Trini (or Caribbean in general) parent's response:

"Yuh schupid or wha";
"Yuh want something to cry for?"
or similar sentiments. Now there are some cases where kids really play the fool sometimes but there are times where a change in a child's behaviour is a sign of something deeper, perhaps the divorce is affecting them..perhaps the longer hours you're working as a result of the promotion takes away from the time you once had for them is affecting them but Trini parents respond to everything with aggression simply because that's what was meted out to them so they don't know how to handle the dynamism of an adolescent. Behavioural changes therefore go unchecked for years, coupled with the pressure to succeed at every angle until *snap*. Someone said earlier that Trinidad shouldn't be blamed but if we start to take a proactive approach to the precursors of such activities from home or in school through qualified guidance counselors and the like, situations like this may be prevented and who knows, the crime situation might even turn around because i) youths will be taught how to deal with their anger; ii) they will learn how to defuse a situation by means other than a gun or a blade and iii) they'll know that society hasn't neglected them and left them to figure out life on their own.
RIP young man and condolences to his family.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 18th, 2017, 10:29 am

Not to sidetrack the very serious discussion the mods having with desi eh... but let me just say... without God showing me the path of the warrior as his intention and hope for us in the struggle i would have been a suicide statistic as well. You all really treat ppl horribly in this world/country. Ppl looking out for u hoping for the best for u trying and working for u to benefit in some way and u turn and stab them in the back when it suits u. U USE PPL. PPL who are and would be graded as top class friends. You are not there for them when they need you but u always there when u need them. Horrible human beings i wish for u to improve your way. There are many weak and soft mentalities out there. Idealists who struggle to adapt to the reality theyre facing which is direct contrast to the reality they were expecting or hoping for.

You want to prevent a suicide. Just be there. As someone who conquered the commanding, compelling impulses to suicide, i have and still work with troubled people.

Yes basically, the people who commit suicide are the ppl you call 'too nice'. These ppl wear their heart on their sleeve and go out into the world. And out in the world is just a bunch of malevolent minds that just pick at it just because its showing. This is why you cant be too nice in this world. I LEARNED. When they look for it.. FCUK THEM UP.. cuz is that is what they looking for.. gih dem!

Now i am comfortable and comforted with clear conscience in being nice to nice ppl and being beast to beast people. I can tell u... IT WORKS.

Im working with a friend right now going through this. He has been for years and sitting with me night after night we were able to stave off thoughts of suicide. Giving hime a new way to look at the world, and a new life to look forward to with nice surprises in unexpected places. But everytime someone treats him badly those feelings come back. And he asks me why humans are like this. But hes nice, he would share his last with u i mean he does this like nothing every day with everyone he knows. Even those who use him.
I used to be the same way. And it used to hurt. Yes.. it hurts alot when ppl you give respect from day one turn on u or use u for everything and leave u dry. But no more. With the clarity of understanding where i am, this world im living in.. i understand now.

Is it a mental illness? Being too nice is seen as a mental illness do u know why? Because allyuh like demons in this world. That is what allyuh respect and fear. Allyuh dont respect and fear jesus with his nice ways. But when he crass your arse that is when u get respect.

There is an upside and downside to that. The upside is that it will strengthen alot of ppl along the way. But it will also kill some ppl along the way who cant find it in themselves to hurt you even though u hurt them. So what is the mental illness we really speaking about here??.....

The lack of performing evil in hell.

Apparently if u not evil or wicked here in hell, u are considered mentally ill. And i hope that puts it all into perspective. Ppl always push to find the demon in you when u being nice. Why? What wrong with allyuh? Is allyuh mentally ill. Like a gazelle seeing a lion sleeping and walks up to him to ask him, 'how come u not chasing and eating me?, when the lion dont respond the gazelle start to chook the lion with his hoof all in his head, 'get up and chase me' and all manner of provocation to make the lion try to eat him.

When the lion get up and eat him now... who is mentally ill and who is evil?

brainchild

Postby brainchild » March 18th, 2017, 10:44 am

desifemlove wrote:
brainchild wrote:I agree that it has gone too far in terms of what they classify as mental illness. But the basis is usually whether or not a persons mental state makes them a danger to those around them or themselves, those people are the ones that need help and make the field a necessary one.

which is why it's stupid. what is a danger, what you believe it to be?

Would you sleep comfortably in the same room with a person who tripping off and cuffing a wall till his hands bleeding, screaming randomly and playing with his faeces smearing it on the walls? Would you leave your child in the same house with that person? Would you feel comfortable working with someone like that?

Mental illness have many different forms, some require just a change of diet, some meds, some counselling and some isolation from the wider society. It's not something we can generalize, the diagnoses and treatments vary from case to case.

Postby Chimera » March 18th, 2017, 11:41 am

does believing in something that doesn't exist, talking to and listening to said entity, living your life to please said entity....count as mental illness?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 18th, 2017, 11:45 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:does believing in something that doesn't exist, talking to and listening to said entity, living your life to please said entity....count as mental illness?

Not even going to bother with ur types. Believe or don't believe its not my loss or problem. Its ur choice and ur consequences. In the end you will learn. Even if it takes a few more lifetimes here in hell. Me, once I die this rounds, I'm out. But ill be watching how u all come along. Ur supposed to make it eventually. All of u. So.. good luck.

Postby sMASH » March 18th, 2017, 11:57 am

desi, i was actually defending your opinion in this topic, because i have a similar interpretation. i only differed in that i dont think the field is a 'fake' field, because sometimes, we can't change the way we feel or think in certain circumstances, and it may be hazardous to ourselves and others, and that is where the line of freedom should come into play.

but if u want to be a complete comprehensive kakah()le, then go ahead. me nah catah.

@brainchild, i might add that there should be varying degrees. as in, average person could be sent to the tripping point, and need more attention and possibly an expert at certain points. a highly volatile person, would naturally be closer to it, and would need a lot more attention and expertise, and then there is the off the hook people who just wired differently.

my thing is, the average person isnt well suited for analyzing people and helping them, when more is needed. it would be better for us to have a service, where someone can contact to get counseling. that counsellor would be able to see if the subject is going through a rough patch and advise the friends and family better, or direct to more specialist help..

it would be like 999 and first aid for mental health. the hotline is a crude attempt at that, but very poorly implemented. it seemed as a token program just to say 'we tackle dat' by some politician.

@blues, too much niceness may not be mental illness in itself, but may be a sign of something further. could be done in attempt to gain acceptance and approval for a significantly low self esteem. it could just be low self esteem, but could be more. the fact that the guy continues to attempt suicide means what ever ur doing isnt enough.either his situation is too much, or his mental ability to cope with said situation isnt up to that challenge. either way, get some professional help. ur applying plaster on a wound that needs stitches.

the fact about being nice, isnt so much of a problem. but i do believe in survival of the fitter... not the fittest.
in that, the world is a rough place so u cant be a push over. u need to be able to meet aggression and not break under the pressure. the strongest pots pass through the hottest fires.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 18th, 2017, 10:17 pm

Its just some people have a hard time adjusting to the rude awakening that 'their dreams may not be fulfilled in this lifetime'. When that thought starts to set in ppl become all kinds of crazy. From criminals and serial killers to suicidal. Some will learn to alter the dreams or decide to fight harder for them. But others fall into depressed and negative thoughts. And those thoughts compound and compliment eachother to the point of impulse to commit suicide if they let them.

Ie one could be depressed but not reach to the point of attempting suicide. Likewise they can reverse course and return to a positive mindset and attitude. During their life they will wobble up and down between emtional states until they gain more control of their life and yes self esteem has a bit to do with it.

Either way what can be said is that matthew was weaker, he quit. And that's cheating. But In a christian democratic society it is an objective for the herd to protect the weaker among us. In all forms. And we failed matthew in that regard. I wouldnt thus say we need to soften our society to cater for the weaker among us. But to promote the culture of strength in our citizens to be engrained in our psycholgy. Mental and spiritual strength can stave off any suicidal impulses. And always provide the hope that one can conquer his current adversity. And hope is the doorway out of depression.

Postby RedVEVO » March 19th, 2017, 5:04 am

That LifeLine is a sham !

In another country the organizers will be behinds bars for murder.

Who are the directors ? Expose them !

Who ever running it should be ashamed . There is no excuse.

LifeLine should be run by people who are committed and well funded .

brainchild

Postby brainchild » March 19th, 2017, 10:52 am

TBH I support the right to die, the only reason I sympathize with this case is because he tried to get help so that shows he didn't really wanna do it but his circumstances somehow lead him to believe that was his only option. This country doesn't place much emphasis on mental health, hence the state of LifeLine, St. Anns, the prison and school system. Ideas like sMash mental health 999 would be a good step forward though.

Postby Dizzy28 » March 19th, 2017, 11:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:That LifeLine is a sham !

In another country the organizers will be behinds bars for murder.

Who are the directors ? Expose them !

Who ever running it should be ashamed . There is no excuse.

LifeLine should be run by people who are committed and well funded .

Are you wiling to donate to it??

bignog

Postby bignog » March 20th, 2017, 12:33 am

Let's do this

Sent from my SM-G531H using TriniTuner mobile app

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » March 20th, 2017, 1:18 am

RIP
You need to have have professionals who are trained psychologist or psychiatrist running these lines, and you dont need them to come into an office just have one "on call" and route the phone call to them. have the wrong persons offering advice and you could kill many.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 20th, 2017, 1:31 am

People in this country too happy

Also look at places like India look at what this man is forced to do for a living to survive and he does it naked with great zeal and efficiency without even thinking about suicide.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 20th, 2017, 3:46 am

So why dont u go india and do his job with the same zeal and efficiency fr the same salary? Show us how much u believe in hard work and the rewards it brings no matter what kind of work it is. Show us how u come up from nothing a self made man to living in a big mansion from there.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 20th, 2017, 3:50 am

My point being is people too happy in this place, there are people out there who do things you wouldn't believe and they don't complain they would give anything to have the life that Matthew had.

It had a fella living a couple houses away from me he did drink poison for he niece some years ago, turns out he did have a thing for his niece and when she find a man he kill himself. Not sure if the hotline staff are trained to deal with people like that.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » March 20th, 2017, 4:01 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:My point being is people too happy in this place, there are people out there who do things you wouldn't believe and they don't complain they would give anything to have the life that Matthew had.

U see because u have a material view on life. Some ppl place value on other things, like friendships, family, loyalty, honor and truthfulness. Some take the weight of the world on their shoulder and try to devote their life to creating solutions. Wouldnt surprise me that frm trinidad matthew felt helpless and stifled and decided... he didnt want to live in world full of so much evil that he cant change and he quit. Has nothing to do with one's personal nice life. Some ppl cannot allow themselves to be happy with so much suffering around them. Others forget bout everyone and just enjoy their nice life not caring for anyone but themselves.

Postby Slartibartfast » March 24th, 2017, 4:27 pm

bluesclues wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:My point being is people too happy in this place, there are people out there who do things you wouldn't believe and they don't complain they would give anything to have the life that Matthew had.

U see because u have a material view on life. Some ppl place value on other things, like friendships, family, loyalty, honor and truthfulness. Some take the weight of the world on their shoulder and try to devote their life to creating solutions. Wouldnt surprise me that frm trinidad matthew felt helpless and stifled and decided... he didnt want to live in world full of so much evil that he cant change and he quit. Has nothing to do with one's personal nice life. Some ppl cannot allow themselves to be happy with so much suffering around them. Others forget bout everyone and just enjoy their nice life not caring for anyone but themselves.
Everyone knows I don't like to agree with blues unless absolutely necessary but blues is talking a lot of sense here. Just because tuners like desi lack the mental capacity for abstract thought and are unable to wrap their head around such a concept does not mean that it does not exist.

Also, if the suicide hotline is run by volunteers and the problem right now is that they don't have enough then I say before you complain you should go and become a volunteer. I agree in a perfect world the suicide hotline should be a 24/7 operation with qualified individuals (psychologists etc.) overseeing everything but that is not the reality. So what you going to do about it? Complain or actually try to help?

Honestly, I could empathize with Mathew and if I had the time to volunteer or if I could use my personal cell phone to volunteer on the go then I would. This is a problem we could actually solve. Time to stop bumpin yuh gum and do something.

With that said. Anybody need to talk and have nowhere else to turn, feel free to send me a pm. No joke. No sarcasm. No judgement.

Postby toyolink » March 24th, 2017, 5:43 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

Everyone knows I don't like to agree with blues unless absolutely necessary but blues is talking a lot of sense here. Just because tuners like desi lack the mental capacity for abstract thought and are unable to wrap their head around such a concept does not mean that it does not exist.

Also, if the suicide hotline is run by volunteers and the problem right now is that they don't have enough then I say before you complain you should go and become a volunteer. I agree in a perfect world the suicide hotline should be a 24/7 operation with qualified individuals (psychologists etc.) overseeing everything but that is not the reality. So what you going to do about it? Complain or actually try to help?

Honestly, I could empathize with Mathew and if I had the time to volunteer or if I could use my personal cell phone to volunteer on the go then I would. This is a problem we could actually solve. Time to stop bumpin yuh gum and do something.

With that said. Anybody need to talk and have nowhere else to turn, feel free to send me a pm. No joke. No sarcasm. No judgement.

Just had to quote this verbatim, since the stuff here is what we need more often.
I remember the days of 'I am my brothers keep' as really part of who we are.

Postby Chimera » March 24th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Postby aaron17 » December 7th, 2021, 5:08 am

Anyone knows any suicide chat apart from hotline? Feelin off since yesterday from a certain chat and feels like everybody in this world against me. Thanks.

Postby Kenjo » December 7th, 2021, 7:26 am

aaron17 wrote:Anyone knows any suicide chat apart from hotline? Feelin off since yesterday from a certain chat and feels like everybody in this world against me. Thanks.

Err just go with hotline

Postby timelapse » December 7th, 2021, 7:32 am

aaron17 wrote:Anyone knows any suicide chat apart from hotline? Feelin off since yesterday from a certain chat and feels like everybody in this world against me. Thanks.
Start listening Marilyn Manson.Works for me

Postby aaron17 » December 7th, 2021, 8:00 am

Kenjo wrote:

Err just go with hotline

ok

Postby aaron17 » December 7th, 2021, 8:18 am

timelapse wrote:

Started listening back to Linkin Park tho

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 7th, 2021, 8:24 am

aaron17 wrote:
timelapse wrote:

Started listening back to Linkin Park tho

Listen to covers by this chick, she sweet too bad.