Unemployment Count Thread

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby adnj » July 17th, 2022, 3:31 pm

There's no overtime onboard ship. You will work long hours so you may as well consider a 70 hour work week to understand your actual rate of pay.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » July 17th, 2022, 3:33 pm

Some how I feel they will be exploited..
Sounds too good to be true..

Postby adnj » July 17th, 2022, 4:04 pm

It only seems good if you don't live in the US. Trinidad has a cost of living that is about the same as in the State of Mississippi. But if you get a job working at Nissan Automotive in Mississippi, the starting pay is twice what you will get paid onboard a cruise ship but with normal working hours.

A cruise line can't easily get someone with a degree, good people skills and good diction to come to work from Georgia, Florida or Mississippi for what they pay. And if you are a US resident or citizen, you are required to pay taxes on all income from anywhere in the world.
Last edited by adnj on July 17th, 2022, 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RedVEVO » July 17th, 2022, 4:20 pm

adnj wrote:It only seems good if you don't live in the US. Trinidad has a cost of living that is about the same as in the State of Mississippi. But if you get a job working at Nissan Automotive in Mississippi, the starting pay is twice what you will get paid onboard a cruise ship with normal working hours.

A cruise line can't easily get someone with a degree, good people skills and good diction to come to work from Georgia, Florida or Mississippi for what they pay. And if you are a US resident or citizen, you are required to pay taxes on all income from anywhere in the world.

T&T Peeps cannot live or work in Mississippi .

The native peeps will run them back to the river and send them back to T&T.

They do not like foreigners :D

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 9th, 2023, 4:10 am

The Government has proclaimed legislation which will increase the number of people from Caricom member states who can enter and work in this country, as well as allow them to do so indefinitely.

In a media statement yesterday, Foreign and Caricom Affairs Minister Dr Amery Browne announced the Proclamation of the Amendments to the Immigration (Caribbean Community Skilled Nationals) Act 2022 by President Paula-Mae Weekes.

Minister Browne said the amendments “signal Trinidad and Tobago’s ongoing commitment to the deepening and strengthening of the regional integration process, and brings Trinidad and Tobago into compliance with decisions of the Conference of Heads of Government regarding the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and the Free Movement Regime.”

With the amendments, the expansion of the categories of workers eligible for free movement within the region moves from 5 (University graduates, artistes, musicians, media workers and sports people) to 12 categories.

Among the additional categories are agriculture workers and security guards.

Another major development as a result of the change will see Caricom workers being allowed to stay in T&T indefinitely.

In piloting the Bill in the Lower House of Parliament in June last year, Browne explained that clause 5 amends sections 3, 4, and 4(1), which seek to harmonise the protocol for Caricom nationals at the port of entry with the decision of heads of government at the Thirteenth Regular Meeting in 2009, that all eligible categories of skilled community nationals must be granted a definite entry of six months if they present their skills certificate at a point of entry, and must receive the stamp “free movement, definite entry, right to work, verification required” in their passport.

“The receiving country has the right to verify the qualifications of the skilled national. Once verification has been completed, an indefinite stay shall be granted and the stamp entitled, “free movement, indefinite entry, right to work” must be affixed in their passport. Again, bringing us into line with the rest of the region,” he said.

As it stood before, for entry into T&T, there was an obligation to reapply within six months of entry.

Yesterday, Browne told Guardian Media a system of verification is already harmonised across member states and is in place.

He said, “Every certificate that we issue will come with an advisory letter clearly outlining rights and responsibilities.”

He explained that the Immigration Department will have two stamps - entry for 6 months, right to work, verification required.”

After verification, the other stamp would read, “Free movement indefinite right to work.”

“If the holder of the certificate is found afterwards to have false documents, is in serious breach of the law, or is a threat to national security, the Minister of National Security retains the right to revoke the status as a permitted entrant,” he said

Based on the legislation, the fine for such a breach is $100,000 and imprisonment for five years.

Commenting on the development, National Trade Union Centre (NATUC)general secretary Michael Annisette supported the move, which he described as long overdue.

“We cannot do it by ourselves, regardless of how much money you have, how much gas money, how much oil, you cannot do it by yourself. We need to come together as a body, as a region and work in unity for the development of the region,” he said.

Annisette also rubbished the narrative by some in the public space that people from other countries would be coming here to take jobs from locals.

“We need to get past that narrative, you know, ‘you coming to take my job’ because those are things that have been instilled in our minds to bring about the continued division that we have,” he said.

The provisions implemented in this country have already been in effect in other countries in the region.

as much a you would take offense again i must say blax people dotish for spite. guyana dont want any outsiders to come and take jobs from guyanese people and yet these idiots you all put to run trinidad inviting all them small islanders here to live an vote for they mc. locals done fighting spanish no you wanna bring bajan and grenedians here indefinitely and make it easier for them to come. they blax bald head hell bent on destroying trinidad for every mc generation to come

wing

Postby wing » March 9th, 2023, 4:45 am

daring dragoon wrote:
The Government has proclaimed legislation which will increase the number of people from Caricom member states who can enter and work in this country, as well as allow them to do so indefinitely.

In a media statement yesterday, Foreign and Caricom Affairs Minister Dr Amery Browne announced the Proclamation of the Amendments to the Immigration (Caribbean Community Skilled Nationals) Act 2022 by President Paula-Mae Weekes.

Minister Browne said the amendments “signal Trinidad and Tobago’s ongoing commitment to the deepening and strengthening of the regional integration process, and brings Trinidad and Tobago into compliance with decisions of the Conference of Heads of Government regarding the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and the Free Movement Regime.”

With the amendments, the expansion of the categories of workers eligible for free movement within the region moves from 5 (University graduates, artistes, musicians, media workers and sports people) to 12 categories.

Another major development as a result of the change will see Caricom workers being allowed to stay in T&T indefinitely.

In piloting the Bill in the Lower House of Parliament in June last year, Browne explained that clause 5 amends sections 3, 4, and 4(1), which seek to harmonise the protocol for Caricom nationals at the port of entry with the decision of heads of government at the Thirteenth Regular Meeting in 2009, that all eligible categories of skilled community nationals must be granted a definite entry of six months if they present their skills certificate at a point of entry, and must receive the stamp “free movement, definite entry, right to work, verification required” in their passport.

“The receiving country has the right to verify the qualifications of the skilled national. Once verification has been completed, an indefinite stay shall be granted and the stamp entitled, “free movement, indefinite entry, right to work” must be affixed in their passport. Again, bringing us into line with the rest of the region,” he said.

As it stood before, for entry into T&T, there was an obligation to reapply within six months of entry.

Yesterday, Browne told Guardian Media a system of verification is already harmonised across member states and is in place.

He said, “Every certificate that we issue will come with an advisory letter clearly outlining rights and responsibilities.”

He explained that the Immigration Department will have two stamps - entry for 6 months, right to work, verification required.”

After verification, the other stamp would read, “Free movement indefinite right to work.”

“If the holder of the certificate is found afterwards to have false documents, is in serious breach of the law, or is a threat to national security, the Minister of National Security retains the right to revoke the status as a permitted entrant,” he said

Based on the legislation, the fine for such a breach is $100,000 and imprisonment for five years.

Commenting on the development, National Trade Union Centre (NATUC)general secretary Michael Annisette supported the move, which he described as long overdue.

“We cannot do it by ourselves, regardless of how much money you have, how much gas money, how much oil, you cannot do it by yourself. We need to come together as a body, as a region and work in unity for the development of the region,” he said.

Annisette also rubbished the narrative by some in the public space that people from other countries would be coming here to take jobs from locals.

“We need to get past that narrative, you know, ‘you coming to take my job’ because those are things that have been instilled in our minds to bring about the continued division that we have,” he said.

The provisions implemented in this country have already been in effect in other countries in the region.

as much a you would take offense again i must say blax people dotish for spite. guyana dont want any outsiders to come and take jobs from guyanese people and yet these idiots you all put to run trinidad inviting all them small islanders here to live an vote for they mc. locals done fighting spanish no you wanna bring bajan and grenedians here indefinitely and make it easier for them to come. they blax bald head hell bent on destroying trinidad for every mc generation to come
Why would they want to come here to ketch ass and get trafficked by the dhal belly rumshop crew.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 9th, 2023, 5:56 am

wing wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Why would they want to come here to ketch ass and get trafficked by the dhal belly rumshop crew.

d problem with that statement is NOBODY wants to traffic any powder neck small islanders. which part you ever see or hear that? come nah man doh prove me right just so that they dotish for spite. you ever walk in a whore house in trinidad and see any woman from grenada, barbados or other small island wuking?

wing

Postby wing » March 9th, 2023, 5:59 am

daring dragoon wrote:
wing wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

d problem with that statement is NOBODY wants to traffic any powder neck small islanders. which part you ever see or hear that? come nah man doh prove me right just so that they dotish for spite. you ever walk in a whore house in trinidad and see any woman from grenada, barbados or other small island wuking?
You seem to know, so I will just defer to your experience.

Postby adnj » March 9th, 2023, 10:18 am

wing wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
wing wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Where to buy doubles.
Price of bodi.
Places with 2 for 1 butter.
The best place for cheap hoes.

Daring Dragoon's knowledge base is growing.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 10th, 2023, 2:45 am

adnj wrote:
wing wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:
wing wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Where to buy doubles.
Price of bodi.
Places with 2 for 1 butter.
The best place for cheap hoes.

Daring Dragoon's knowledge base is growing.

nah man i learn to use google just like you an how to copy an paste to make people feel i know what i talking about. is more than 3 years you showing examples day after day on how to use google to look intelligent but failing miserably cause i still say since day 1 you are an idiot,

Postby Dizzy28 » March 27th, 2023, 10:02 am

A hundred and twenty-six Digicel customer contact service centre employees have been retrenched this morning, as the company has transitioned to a consolidated regional centre in Jamaica.

The news was conveyed to the affected employees via teams meeting this morning.

The company in a statement on Monday said it has engaged several third-party customer contact-centre operators and is in discussions with them to absorb the affected employees into their operations in the coming weeks.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/m ... 43419.html

Postby MaxPower » March 27th, 2023, 11:30 am

I get better service from the Jamaicans.

Fact

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 27th, 2023, 12:59 pm

MaxPower wrote:I get better service from the Jamaicans.

Fact
Yep we know u love the Jam BBC

Postby alfa » March 27th, 2023, 1:30 pm

Kickstart wrote:

Fact

He might be the only person who can actually understand them or just pretending to in order to justify his typical Trini hate

Postby redmanjp » March 27th, 2023, 2:34 pm

maybe ChatGPT replacing them already!

screwbash

Postby screwbash » March 27th, 2023, 11:04 pm

A hundred and twenty-six Digicel customer contact service centre employees have been retrenched this morning, as the company has transitioned to a consolidated regional centre in Jamaica.

The news was conveyed to the affected employees via teams meeting this morning.

The company in a statement on Monday said it has engaged several third-party customer contact-centre operators and is in discussions with them to absorb the affected employees into their operations in the coming weeks.
https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/m ... 43419.html

so did those workers know this was coming or did they show up for work this morning and got paid and sent home suddenly? If that is the case then i dropping digicel totally. them cant be sending my trini people on the breadline while employing jamaicans and expect me to support that company. I dont care how bad trini service is but one less trini working means more desperation and more bandits or more taxes to support social programs. i will go back to flow or amplia yes and i urge you all to support local and do the same.

Postby De Dragon » March 28th, 2023, 6:06 pm

alfa wrote:
Kickstart wrote:

Fact

He might be the only person who can actually understand them or just pretending to in order to justify his typical Trini hate

He's just a simple tunts, Nothing more.