Unemployment Count Thread

Re: Unemployment Count Thread

Postby zoom rader » January 27th, 2022, 2:54 pm

^^^ Red government made banking difficult .

Then again banks in Trinidad are a ripped off.

agent007

Postby agent007 » January 27th, 2022, 3:59 pm

Scotia got rid of its local call center, closed down several branches and suspended certain future expansion projects because they are de-risking in the Caribbean. It’s clear as day what they’re doing. I say we band together as a people and further help them leave our shores quickly by switching our business to FCB and RBL. Let the local banks grow and hire more locals and keep vital USD in the system as opposed to exporting profits overseas.

snatman

Postby snatman » January 28th, 2022, 10:33 am

This is the way.

ALL Banks will continue to close branches and lay off staff.

Fewer and fewer people NEED to visit banks in person.

Only the elderly and others who are intimidated by online banking visit banks now.

Postby The_Honourable » February 28th, 2022, 12:01 pm

Termination letters served to EFCL employees: Establishment to close down.

https://www.facebook.com/CCNTV6/photos/ ... 038800094/

Postby Dave » February 28th, 2022, 12:30 pm

Big surprise there.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 16th, 2022, 6:08 am

Over 100 workers attached to Unilever may be out of a job at the end of July after the company confirmed it would cease production in T&T.

In a notice on Monday, Unilever confirmed that its supply agreement with a third party, which came into effect after the sale of its Spreads business in 2018 as a key part of its global strategy, would come to an end on July 31, 2022.

Unilever said as a result, all manufacturing and production in Trinidad will cease.

Unilever Caribbean Ltd’s OWTU representative Neil Mc Eachnie confirmed that workers had been informed of the situation.

“(Monday), we were alerted that the company corresponded with the union officially advising of the cessation of manufacturing operations. That would be effected in July of this year,” Mc Eachnie said.

He said 119 unionised workers, and an unknown number of non-unionised would be affected as a result.

Mc Eachnie said the move had been expected since 2019, when over 250 workers were retrenched following restructuring at the company.

“Somewhere around 2019, the company would have indicated that they intended to exit manufacturing and that they had implemented the first phase of a two-phase retrenchment exercise.

“In that first phase, they would have outsourced some of their activities and they will have closed a plant as well. So they closed the plant that produced detergent powders and they outsourced their functions as it relates to warehousing and so on. And so this was not unexpected, it was in fact communicated to us at that point as well,” he said.

He explained that the workers that were not dismissed then had only remained on staff due to the agreement which will end in July.

“They do have a co-packing agreement with a company that purchased their spreads business globally for five more years. And as a consequence of that, they retained such employees as were necessary, to fulfil the requirements of that contract. That contract, based on information provided from Unilever will expire in July of this year.

“As I said, and consequently, they will no longer require the workforce, so that’s the information we were provided with,” he said the company was planning to become an importer and distributor.

“What that means for workers is that we will now join the very long list of persons of people who were previously employed in T&T.

“We will join the breadline basically because we are all to be retrenched,” he said, “The business model that they will be adopting, which is already in train, is essentially a distribution type exercise where they will store their finished goods from wherever they have a manufacturing set up and they will distribute to the local market or throughout the region wherever they have a business interest.”

Both Unilever and Mc Eachnie confirmed that meetings will be held with the representative union to discuss the future of the workers in keeping with their collective bargaining agreement.

they fire all trini's and take the business to some spanish country to create employment there, so allyuh fool continue to support unilever an their products such as blueband and squeezy to name a few. dont buy none of their products. fork away with them the same way they say fork away with we trinis.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 16th, 2022, 9:44 am

So Unilever doesn't manufacture anything in TT anymore?

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 16th, 2022, 10:47 am

Don’t blame unilever too much here now. It’s a business they running and what we should be concerned about is that the execs in that company have decided that it is not profitable for them to manufacture products right here in T&T to price it competitively.

We done so patriotic of our country already (if yuh dumb dumb that was sarcasm btw), you all rather spend say $50. on some dishwashing liquid just because it made in T&T when you can get same for half the price and it made elsewhere? The only thing we loyal to is our pockets.

Right now the MTI as well as the TTMA should have been meeting with the company and the union to strike a deal. We cannot afford to lose businesses cause that contributes to unemployment and local manufacturers that export will bring in vital USD into the system.

With that stream gone end of July, it further escalates our non competitive environment, foreign investment will continue to decline and forums like these will continue to be talk shops while together we take front row seats and watch our country collapse before our very own eyes.

The reality is scary now people and it gonna get worse.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 16th, 2022, 3:46 pm

agent007 wrote:Don’t blame unilever too much here now. It’s a business they running and what we should be concerned about is that the execs in that company have decided that it is not profitable for them to manufacture products right here in T&T to price it competitively.

We done so patriotic of our country already (if yuh dumb dumb that was sarcasm btw), you all rather spend say $50. on some dishwashing liquid just because it made in T&T when you can get same for half the price and it made elsewhere? The only thing we loyal to is our pockets.

Right now the MTI as well as the TTMA should have been meeting with the company and the union to strike a deal. We cannot afford to lose businesses cause that contributes to unemployment and local manufacturers that export will bring in vital USD into the system.

With that stream gone end of July, it further escalates our non competitive environment, foreign investment will continue to decline and forums like these will continue to be talk shops while together we take front row seats and watch our country collapse before our very own eyes.

well continue to buy the blueband butter and make you and your children happy in the mornings and forget the hundreds of local Trini's that loss they wuk and children have to eat roti and sugar once a day to survive now and move back in with mummy and daddy and bank take back the car and force the ex unilever workers to beat they wife and drink excessively and the man kill he wife and children become orphans who take up a gun and come after your children in a few years. so you eat your unilever blueband butter and make you and your family happy and be loyal to your own pocket. hope you watch your back when you can afford to go KFC and you walk out with your 10 piece for your family and no ex unilever employee aint pick up a gun and take the kfc from you cause he have family that want kfc also.
me, i rather if them locals have a wuk and they can not turn to crime to one day point a gun in my face. see what black loyalty done to people of east POS. no wuk, bandit breeding more bandit and we like it so.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 16th, 2022, 4:16 pm

daring dragoon wrote:
agent007 wrote:Don’t blame unilever too much here now. It’s a business they running and what we should be concerned about is that the execs in that company have decided that it is not profitable for them to manufacture products right here in T&T to price it competitively.

well continue to buy the blueband butter and make you and your children happy in the mornings and forget the hundreds of local Trini's that loss they wuk and children have to eat roti and sugar once a day to survive now and move back in with mummy and daddy and bank take back the car and force the ex unilever workers to beat they wife and drink excessively and the man kill he wife and children become orphans who take up a gun and come after your children in a few years. so you eat your unilever blueband butter and make you and your family happy and be loyal to your own pocket. hope you watch your back when you can afford to go KFC and you walk out with your 10 piece for your family and no ex unilever employee aint pick up a gun and take the kfc from you cause he have family that want kfc also.
me, i rather if them locals have a wuk and they can not turn to crime to one day point a gun in my face. see what black loyalty done to people of east POS. no wuk, bandit breeding more bandit and we like it so.

Jackarse you even hearing yaself? The only one to blame here is ya failure of a government that create an environment that result in businesses losing money. Throw in unions in there as well. These MNCs have to keep moving around in order to get the best labour to remain profitable. You don't think if the conditions were beneficial they would have stayed?

Some of you all really aint have a facking clue about how the world operates. All that ranting you just rant and you acting as though TT don't already import the majority of things we consume. Blue Band is butter. You really think that was manufactured here? With what milk and additives?

The country produces nothing and doesn't care to produce anything.The sooner you all wake up to that fact the sooner you would truly understand things. Don't blame unilever. Blame ya lazy countrymen who made unilever get up and leave.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 16th, 2022, 5:14 pm

Redress10 wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

Jackarse you even hearing yaself? The only one to blame here is ya failure of a government that create an environment that result in businesses losing money. Throw in unions in there as well. These MNCs have to keep moving around in order to get the best labour to remain profitable. You don't think if the conditions were beneficial they would have stayed?

Some of you all really aint have a facking clue about how the world operates. All that ranting you just rant and you acting as though TT don't already import the majority of things we consume. Blue Band is butter. You really think that was manufactured here? With what milk and additives?

The country produces nothing and doesn't care to produce anything.The sooner you all wake up to that fact the sooner you would truly understand things. Don't blame unilever. Blame ya lazy countrymen who made unilever get up and leave.

yes kant but they employed hundreds of your fellow trinis. you sound like a next educated jackass. money and ethics is not the same. ethically locals supported them for over 40 years and now cause of money they fire every faking local and gone an you sounding like the kant to continue supporting the. when yuh man horn yuh i hope yuh continue paying his lifestyle when he biting the pillow for a next man. kfc employs hundreds of workers if fools dont buy hundreds will loss they small wuk, $2 is a small charge to keep people employed. think before you open your kaka hole to talk.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 16th, 2022, 6:11 pm

You sounding angry. Calm down bro. This is how MNCs are.

You think a British mnc gives a flying fack about allyah islanders and ya unions etc. They don't facking care. Understand that. What loyalty you expecting from them. It's either it is profitable or it is not. They make 50 billion euros a year worldwide. They don't care about little old trinidad. That is the reality.

Take ya frustrations out on your local political and business class who made the environment sweet for them all these years. Who imported their products at the expense of local ones. Where was the haste and encouragement to have locally made products to compete against these ones. Flavourite had to close down but Ben and Jerry's in every supermarket in Trinidad. Bp etc still pumping for oil and gas in TT. Where are your tt companies globally?

You directing your hate at the wrong ppl. You need to look closer to home. Kfc cud close down for all I care. It should have been Trinidad Fried Chicken with locations all over the caribbean and where the caribbean diaspora is internationally. Instead alluh let Mouttet et all bring all sort of foreign brands here just to feel Americanized.

Trinis like to consume instead of building and expand. Direct ya anger at your fellow trinis bro. MNCs have no ethics.

Food crisis and still no word yet on how TT gonna become food sufficient. But carry on worrying about $2 ketchup.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 16th, 2022, 6:14 pm

MNC come and go doesnt matter, i myself have dissolved two LLC to get away from certain things but i have kept all my employees on the payroll. bottom line is support local and support companies that employ locals so they can stay away from crime (most likely). hopelessness is a vehicle to desperation. i have seen willies back on the market so one day flavorite will be back as the factory still there. Trinis will find a way to prevail.

Postby Rovin » March 16th, 2022, 7:00 pm

men calling each other jackass & kant yes ..... :agrue:

easy guys easy ........ :lol:

agent007

Postby agent007 » March 16th, 2022, 7:17 pm

I won't say he talking nonsense. The point we shouldn't miss is companies are pulling out.

Our competitive position as a nation to attract foreign investment is slowly declining.

Therefore, we are solidify our dependency on imports. Whether it's butter, new Zealand cheese or a Suzuki ciaz. Fact is, a country that is so heavily dependent on imports with little forex supply to pay for said imports while fellow countrymen are out of a job will result in automatic and directly proportional increase in crime.

Global logistics and supply chain issues are rampant, manufacturing countries will keep for themselves first especially where there are shortages.

We here calling each other kant and jackass but I can assure you, just now all of us will be in the same position. It doesn't matter if you drive a Benz currently or live in a high rise tower with bank accounts so fat and numerous that you lose count.

When the currency is devalued and inflation rips off the blocks like Usain Bolt, survival of the fittest I tell you.

Gentlemen, now is time for unity not divide. Main thing is we all on the same side here.

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2022, 7:29 pm

agent007 wrote:I won't say he talking nonsense. The point we shouldn't miss is companies are pulling out.

Our competitive position as a nation to attract foreign investment is slowly declining.

Therefore, we are solidify our dependency on imports. Whether it's butter, new Zealand cheese or a Suzuki ciaz. Fact is, a country that is so heavily dependent on imports with little forex supply to pay for said imports while fellow countrymen are out of a job will result in automatic and directly proportional increase in crime.

Global logistics and supply chain issues are rampant, manufacturing countries will keep for themselves first especially where there are shortages.

We here calling each other kant and jackass but I can assure you, just now all of us will be in the same position. It doesn't matter if you drive a Benz currently or live in a high rise tower with bank accounts so fat and numerous that you lose count.

When the currency is devalued and inflation rips off the blocks like Usain Bolt, survival of the fittest I tell you.

Gentlemen, now is time for unity not divide. Main thing is we all on the same side here.
Ent imspbert said the dollar not devaluing, he even boasted about it today, seems that day will never come

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 16th, 2022, 8:06 pm

old saying from long ago. those who fail to prepare must be prepared to fail. get a 5 year plan and begin to prepare. if you look in most groceries items are already in short supply. youtube has plenty videos showing how to prepare. prepare for time such as loosing your job and shortages.leaving your cash in a bank are you sure you can access it in emergency or if it will be worth anything? invest in a 5 year plan that will keep your family fed for 5 years. think of it as making groceries 5 years in advance.

MDtuner70

Postby MDtuner70 » March 16th, 2022, 8:38 pm

agent007 wrote:I won't say he talking nonsense. The point we shouldn't miss is companies are pulling out.

Always on the mc ball. Excellent.

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2022, 9:38 pm

hover11 wrote:

Ent imspbert said the dollar not devaluing, he even boasted about it today, seems that day will never come

Central Bank is currently looking at a possible revision of the US$-TT$.

Postby timelapse » March 17th, 2022, 7:18 am

daring dragoon wrote:old saying from long ago. those who fail to prepare must be prepared to fail. get a 5 year plan and begin to prepare. if you look in most groceries items are already in short supply. youtube has plenty videos showing how to prepare. prepare for time such as loosing your job and shortages.leaving your cash in a bank are you sure you can access it in emergency or if it will be worth anything? invest in a 5 year plan that will keep your family fed for 5 years. think of it as making groceries 5 years in advance.
Go further than that.Was having a conversation with a younger colleague about 'doomsday' prepping.While it might sound far fetched, the other day when electricity and phones were down all day, there were people that could not function at all.Have we gotten so reliant on these gadgets?
In case of a local catastrophe or worse, global, we also need to plan for that.Learn some life skills as well

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 17th, 2022, 7:32 am

timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:old saying from long ago. those who fail to prepare must be prepared to fail. get a 5 year plan and begin to prepare. if you look in most groceries items are already in short supply. youtube has plenty videos showing how to prepare. prepare for time such as loosing your job and shortages.leaving your cash in a bank are you sure you can access it in emergency or if it will be worth anything? invest in a 5 year plan that will keep your family fed for 5 years. think of it as making groceries 5 years in advance.
Go further than that.Was having a conversation with a younger colleague about 'doomsday' prepping.While it might sound far fetched, the other day when electricity and phones were down all day, there were people that could not function at all.Have we gotten so reliant on these gadgets?
In case of a local catastrophe or worse, global, we also need to plan for that.Learn some life skills as well
The paranoid man is only a fool until shtf. A few years a back I start putting things in place, even down to getting good with a guyanese an she family thing to jump ship when this one start to sink.

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » March 17th, 2022, 7:39 am

If you cant bulk buy cut down on some unneccesaries and get a lil extra rice and peas/beans and put aside for first aid kits, sanitization and general survival supplies. Hopefully some of you could still use a pitch lamp and tote water.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » March 17th, 2022, 8:32 am

bulk buy yes buy dont bulk buy an store as it will get weavels etc. store in bulk but continue to buy and store while using what you purchased before. always rotate your stock. as you buy you store it behind the existing stock but continue to use what you have store. keep your stock a secret from persons who know you. i myself have a small warehouse type setup with about 4 years store from water to flour to drawers. only immediate family know the location. it will be every man for himself when you cant get food or it to expensive.

Postby timelapse » March 17th, 2022, 8:37 am

daring dragoon wrote:bulk buy yes buy dont bulk buy an store as it will get weavels etc. store in bulk but continue to buy and store while using what you purchased before. always rotate your stock. as you buy you store it behind the existing stock but continue to use what you have store. keep your stock a secret from persons who know you. i myself have a small warehouse type setup with about 4 years store from water to flour to drawers. only immediate family know the location. it will be every man for himself when you cant get food or it to expensive.
This.
I plant stuff and have poultry.If food gets scarce, I will most likely have to defend my property from lazy boldfaced people that didn't prepare.But I got that covered too.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 17th, 2022, 11:52 am

timelapse wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:bulk buy yes buy dont bulk buy an store as it will get weavels etc. store in bulk but continue to buy and store while using what you purchased before. always rotate your stock. as you buy you store it behind the existing stock but continue to use what you have store. keep your stock a secret from persons who know you. i myself have a small warehouse type setup with about 4 years store from water to flour to drawers. only immediate family know the location. it will be every man for himself when you cant get food or it to expensive.
This.
I plant stuff and have poultry.If food gets scarce, I will most likely have to defend my property from lazy boldfaced people that didn't prepare.But I got that covered too.

Just have everything in your yard hidden as best as possible, out of sight and out of mind is the best way to start.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 17th, 2022, 3:51 pm

DD acting like he go burst a blood vessel because of these MNCs.

Watch how trinis let ne$tle set up here and completely destroy the local milk industry paying farmers peanuts for their produce. If farmer's stand up and demand more they might pack up and go to.

But trini politicians and business ppl sit back and take that.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 15th, 2022, 6:39 am

Unilever Caribbean Ltd (UCL) will retrench about 108 employees from its manufacturing division effective July 31, 2022.

Unilever Caribbean Ltd’s OWTU representative Neil Mc Eachnie confirmed the move yesterday.

“It will essentially be all of the unionised staff and I believe it will also affect a couple managers, particularly those associated with the manufacturing operation,” Mc Eachnie said.

He said while the retrenchment is something that “nobody wants, it is something we have come to accept.”

In a previous interview with Guardian Media in March this year, Mc Eachnie said the move had been expected since 2019, when over 250 workers were retrenched following restructuring at the company.

A statement issued yesterday said with the company’s third-party supply agreement set to end on July 31, UCL has issued notices of retrenchment to its employees from the manufacturing division.

It explained that after Unilever sold its Spreads business in 2018, UCL, as part of its restructuring exercise, entered into a four-year supply agreement with a third party.

The statement said this arrangement was the result of exhaustive analyses of the current operations and various restructuring strategies.

“Now that the supply agreement has expired, the company, unfortunately, has no option but to let go the employees of the manufacturing division,” the statement added.

It said before instituting this retrenchment exercise, UCL engaged in extensive consultations with the OWTU, the recognised majority union for workers employed by the company.

“These in-depth discussions were meant to reach a mutually agreeable outcome, if at all possible, in the interest of all parties, especially the affected workers,” the statement added.

It said the company will continue to prioritise the safety of all personnel, plant and equipment and will continue to actively pursue the well-being of the people and the operations of the company. UCL will abide by and operate in accordance with all legal obligations in all matters relating to this decision, it added.

The company expressed its deep appreciation for the service and contribution made by its employees over the past years.

continue to enjoy your blueband margarine and squeezy while 108 of your fellow trinis cannot because the manufacturer of these products fired all of them and gave the job to some spanish in foreign.

Postby adnj » June 15th, 2022, 9:14 am

daring dragoon wrote:
Unilever Caribbean Ltd (UCL) will retrench about 108 employees from its manufacturing division effective July 31, 2022.

Unilever Caribbean Ltd’s OWTU representative Neil Mc Eachnie confirmed the move yesterday.

“It will essentially be all of the unionised staff and I believe it will also affect a couple managers, particularly those associated with the manufacturing operation,” Mc Eachnie said.

He said while the retrenchment is something that “nobody wants, it is something we have come to accept.”

In a previous interview with Guardian Media in March this year, Mc Eachnie said the move had been expected since 2019, when over 250 workers were retrenched following restructuring at the company.

A statement issued yesterday said with the company’s third-party supply agreement set to end on July 31, UCL has issued notices of retrenchment to its employees from the manufacturing division.

It explained that after Unilever sold its Spreads business in 2018, UCL, as part of its restructuring exercise, entered into a four-year supply agreement with a third party.

The statement said this arrangement was the result of exhaustive analyses of the current operations and various restructuring strategies.

“Now that the supply agreement has expired, the company, unfortunately, has no option but to let go the employees of the manufacturing division,” the statement added.

It said before instituting this retrenchment exercise, UCL engaged in extensive consultations with the OWTU, the recognised majority union for workers employed by the company.

“These in-depth discussions were meant to reach a mutually agreeable outcome, if at all possible, in the interest of all parties, especially the affected workers,” the statement added.

It said the company will continue to prioritise the safety of all personnel, plant and equipment and will continue to actively pursue the well-being of the people and the operations of the company. UCL will abide by and operate in accordance with all legal obligations in all matters relating to this decision, it added.

The company expressed its deep appreciation for the service and contribution made by its employees over the past years.

continue to enjoy your blueband margarine and squeezy while 108 of your fellow trinis cannot because the manufacturer of these products fired all of them and gave the job to some spanish in foreign.

CGA bought the margarine business from Unilever nearly twenty years ago.

CGA is in Port of Spain.

dogg

Postby dogg » June 15th, 2022, 10:24 am

daring dragoon wrote:

Get your facts right before posting garbage.

ANSA McAL owns and produces the Sqezy brand in the Caribbean.
Over 10 years now.
UCL transitioned sqezy to their own brand quix to get away from Sqezy licensing fees.
McAL trumped them by acquiring the Sqezy brand in the Caribbean and now controls a substantial portion of that market.

UCL sold their spreads business a few years ago. They had only a manufacturing arrangement with the new owners, that arrangement has come to an end.

UCL only distributes their own products in TnT now. No manufacturing whatsoever.
Last edited by dogg on June 15th, 2022, 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 15th, 2022, 10:43 am

it doesnt matter what the product is. use your common sense. 108 families affected, they might not be able to buy food with the increases in prices and their lively hood taken away. 400+ was fired from same company years ago and people still buy unilever products. school will reopen in sept and 108 families dont know at this point where their next paycheck coming from.
so go ahead an do as with everyone does and study themselves and dont care about anyone by still supporting whatever univever is selling in TT. i personally stop buying any unilever product years ago. AS Bryden sold the business to SEPROD LTD from jamaica with no staff lost their job as far as i know. so i will continue to buy whatever product they sell that i use.