NYTimes Article: Trinidad's Young Recruits to ISIS

AbstractPoetic

NYTimes Article: Trinidad's Young Recruits to ISIS

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 21st, 2017, 12:16 pm

Front page of NYTimes online site. Not the type of attention TT needs at the moment, but expected. Travel ban to follow.

ENTERPRISE, Trinidad and Tobago — By the time he was 17, Fahyim Sabur had memorized the Quran.

At 23, he was shunning calypso parties and giving private Arabic lessons in his neighborhood here in Enterprise, about 20 miles south of Port of Spain, the capital of Trinidad and Tobago.

A year later, he was on the battlefield in Syria, where he died fighting for the Islamic State.

“He never spoke to me about it,” said his father, Abdus Sabur, 56, who sells meat patties on the street. “National Security called me one day and told me, ‘Your son is dead.’ ”

Law enforcement officials in Trinidad and Tobago, a small Caribbean island nation off the coast of Venezuela, are scrambling to close a pipeline that has sent a steady stream of young Muslims to Syria, where they have taken up arms for the Islamic State, also known as ISIS or ISIL

More here: https://mobile.nytimes.com/2017/02/21/w ... times.com/
Last edited by AbstractPoetic on February 21st, 2017, 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: NYTimes Article: Trinidad's Young Recruits to ISIS

Postby De Dragon » February 21st, 2017, 12:21 pm

Live by the sword, die by it, no matter what the motivation.

Postby Chimera » February 21st, 2017, 12:29 pm

is one thing when they live and die by the gun/sword

but their actions will affect Trinidadians on the whole

Postby Dizzy28 » February 21st, 2017, 1:09 pm

AP is always that breath of fresh air and optimism!!!!

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » February 21st, 2017, 1:59 pm

Be very careful what you read from American media.
They have a habit of spreading propaganda in order to further thier causes.

Postby hydroep » February 21st, 2017, 2:14 pm

President Trump spoke by telephone over the weekend with Prime Minister Keith Rowley of Trinidad and Tobago about terrorism and other security challenges, including foreign fighters, Sarah Huckabee Sanders, a White House spokeswoman, said...

...In contrast to the laws of many countries, it is not illegal in Trinidad to join the so-called caliphate, though the government wants to change that. One hundred to 130 people have made the trip to Syria from Trinidad, which has a population of 1.3 million...

...By comparison, about 250 citizens of the United States, a country with 240 times the population, had joined the extremists or attempted to travel to Syria by late 2015...

Dr. Rowley has been "summoned" by President Trump, in all likelihood for a "get your house in order or else" reprimand.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,240081.html

Postby DVSTT » February 21st, 2017, 2:17 pm

hydroep wrote:
President Trump spoke by telephone over the weekend with Prime Minister Keith Rowley of Trinidad and Tobago about terrorism and other security challenges, including foreign fighters, Sarah Huckabee Sanders, a White House spokeswoman, said...

...In contrast to the laws of many countries, it is not illegal in Trinidad to join the so-called caliphate, though the government wants to change that. One hundred to 130 people have made the trip to Syria from Trinidad, which has a population of 1.3 million...

...By comparison, about 250 citizens of the United States, a country with 240 times the population, had joined the extremists or attempted to travel to Syria by late 2015...

Dr. Rowley has been "summoned" by President Trump, in all likelihood for a "get your house in order or else" reprimand.

What's the likelihood of US collecting some serious sanctions when we eventually fail to reign in these aspiring ISIS fighters ?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 21st, 2017, 2:26 pm

Trinidadians have already tried to Blow up the JFK airport in the past, potentially killing thousands of Americans on their own soil, many innocent women and children would have been killed if they got through, thankfully the FBI stopped them in time.

I said it some weeks earlier when the MSNBC fella said we have more terrorists here than Iraq and Somalia.
Its a diagnosis, it is like our country has been diagnosed with Pre-Diabetes and we must take the necessary steps to get ourselves in order.
The ISIS problem in this country is no joking matter and it could even lead to another coup a repeat of 1990 unless the government gets serious about this.

I see this as a good thing, because the government and the police has lost control of the crime situation so hopefully international coverage will force those in power to do something about it. Hopefully President Trump gives Dr Rowley some good advice or assistance on combating ISIS recruiting.

Mr Trump has been willing to extend a help to countries that currently have a drug and crime problem, this is actually a good thing that he is willing to help. However he cannot help us if we refuse to help ourselves, and that there is actually our biggest problem, we don't want to deal with our massive crime problem we want to wine fete and jam all year round.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on February 21st, 2017, 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

daas

Postby daas » February 21st, 2017, 2:35 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:it could even lead to another coup

Another coup? When was the first one? I thought it was an attempted coup...this is what happens when you watch Fox news, you turn into those same misinformed parrots. Saying Trinidad had a coup is the same as saying let's pray for the thousands who died in the Bowling Green massacre

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 21st, 2017, 2:42 pm

Don't forget the article from the Atlantic in December of last year, yes the world is very aware of our terrorist nature

https://www.theatlantic.com/internation ... ad/509930/

Trinidad is “the only country in the Western Hemisphere that has had an actual Islamic insurrection.”

If we fail to combat our Massive terrorist problem "We have more terrorists than Somalia and Iraq" according to MSNBC. If we fail to combat this we could be end up requiring VISA to go to the UK or Europe in general.

Its a wake up call, time to stop the wine, jam and fete. Time to get serious, I propose we cancel Carnival this year to hightlight to the government how serious our crime problem is.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » February 21st, 2017, 2:52 pm

On one hand we lost control and on the other hand international coverage will help?
Have anyone heard of lieing with statistics? America always drop a few zero when it concerns them.
Remember Nuisance Pence on msnbc? He apologised to some country after he put more than his toes in his A#@e, I meant mouth.

Good riddance. As Eric said if you do not like it leave. Go dead somewhere else.
Who Bombed Iraq, Libya, etc? It certainly not the Trinidadians.
Conclusion: Who creating terrorist?

If your brother, sister, mother, father, child wife died from an exploding bomb would you put it down to the will of GOD?

With regards to Laws on terrorism check how many persons/organisations have been named on the Financial Intelligence Website. The FATF, Financial Action Task Force, not to be confused with FATCA demanded that Legislation be passed or be Blacklisted by Foreign Law Enforcement.

Correct me if I am wrong ..........

Postby timelapse » February 21st, 2017, 2:52 pm

ED read your own post nah.ISIS bwoy gave up carnivalling.Stopping carnival isn't going to do a thing about ISIS recruits.

zorced

Postby zorced » February 21st, 2017, 3:21 pm

hydroep wrote:

For a so-called warmongering/dictatorial tyrant, Trump is being quite diplomatic towards Trinidad considering the state of affairs of both republics. I'm no Trump fanboy eh, just sayin.

This is a crucial meeting that could affect us in a big way and I think we need to know the concise unadulterated findings from it, but I wander what disclosure would actually be made.

Postby Country_Bookie » February 21st, 2017, 4:07 pm

A senior intelligence official in Trinidad who was not authorized to speak publicly said he worried that the proposed legislation would make people who would have left for Syria plan attacks at home instead.

He said about 15 or 20 of the Islamic State recruits spent two weeks before their trips at a mosque in Rio Claro, about 50 miles southeast of Port of Spain. There, they attended an orientation, the official said.

Umar Abdullah, an Islamic activist, said he had been among those who encouraged the would-be fighters.

Despite having made thinly veiled threats to Americans in the past, which led a cruise ship on its way to Trinidad to turn back, Mr. Abdullah has since denounced extremism, and now says Muslims must work with the United States to “change the narrative.” It would be “stupid” to try to attack the United States Embassy, he said.

“At one point in time I was a strong believer in that, and I still believe it to some extent,” Mr. Abdullah said. “But to do something like that would put the Muslim community in harm’s way. We would not be able to stand the fallout of that type of action.”

The imam in Rio Claro, Nazim Mohammed, denied running an Islamic State training program, and insisted that he operated an elementary school and a weekly food program for the poor. But he acknowledged that two of his children and five of his grandchildren were in Syria, and that the adults were believed to be involved with the Islamic State.

“Killing and murdering is not Islamic,” Nazim Mohammed, 75, said in an interview. “Our program is to help people. You know how many people have come here for help?”

He insisted that his children did not notify him of their plans, and he shrugged off the group’s influence.

“Who is ISIS?” he said. “ISIS is just a few people.”

So 20 ppl pass thru his mosque before joining ISIS, including his children and grandchildren, and he still asking who is ISIS?

Postby Redman » February 21st, 2017, 4:42 pm

In absolute numbers we are to small to be mentioned.

http://www.citylab.com/politics/2016/08 ... is/493622/

The leading country for foreign ISIS fighters according to Benmelech and Klor is Tunisia, with 6,000 of them, followed by Saudi Arabia with 2,500. Russia, Turkey, Jordan, and Lebanon also rank high on the list. Three European nations, including France (1,700), Germany (760), and the U.K. (also 760) number among the top 10.

Per capita, Tunisia remains on top in terms of the number of fighters. But now smaller countries such as the Maldives, Kosovo, Bosnia, Kyrgyzstan and Macedonia number among the top ten.

Finally, the number of fighters per Muslim population shows the relative share of a nation’s Muslim population that is leaving to fight for ISIS. This list is dominated by Scandinavian and European nations. Finland tops the list, followed by Ireland, Belgium, Sweden, and Austria. Denmark and Norway also rank among the top ten along with Tunisia, the Maldives and Trinidad and Tobago.

Minion_Stuart

Postby Minion_Stuart » February 21st, 2017, 5:38 pm

The JFK plot was a joke, with the FBI informant driving the plotters. It was basically entrapment.
https://www.wired.com/2007/06/securitymatters-0614/

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 21st, 2017, 5:50 pm

zorced wrote:
For a so-called warmongering/dictatorial tyrant, Trump is being quite diplomatic towards Trinidad considering the state of affairs of both republics. I'm no Trump fanboy eh, just sayin.

This is a crucial meeting that could affect us in a big way and I think we need to know the concise unadulterated findings from it, but I wander what disclosure would actually be made.

The vast majority of negative press towards him is because 90% of the Media is Left wing / Democrat and so if Mr Trump was riding on a Democrat ticket instead of a Republican you would have seen much different reporting. No matter what he does they will report negatively because the media is liberal / partisan and so they are a PR front for the Democratic party. Some people like the OP who has their own agenda, so they are quick to say Ban Trinidad to prove some cockamania point.

The reality is Mr Trump is quite diplomatic towards and generous towards most countries in need of help. He is a businessman so he sees Trinidad as an asset, not a liability. He has even offered assistance to 3rd world countries to combat Narcotics. From this meeting I expect him to give Dr Rowley some good advice and possibly assistance on addressing our dreadful crime / terrorism problem.

If Anything I expect Trump to say that Dr Rowley likes him and that Dr Rowley is smart etc. If you observe something, Trump and Rowley are one of the same, there are very very few politically incorrect Prime Ministers / Presidents in this world who speak and behave like Donald Trump and coincidentally, Dr Rowley happens to be one of them.