International Soca Monarch Prize Reduced

Trinispougla

International Soca Monarch Prize Reduced

Postby Trinispougla » February 17th, 2017, 8:13 am

The $1 million prize for the International Soca Monarch competition has been slashed in half this year because of a reduction in government allocations.

In a release, the Caribbean Prestige Foundation (CPF) for the Performing Arts said it had to adjust the prize structure for the competition and as a result, this year’s winner will receive $500,000.

The CPF said the prize for second place will be $250,000 compared to last year’s prize of $750,000.

This year the third place prize will be $150,000 compared to last year’s $500,000 while those who place fourth to 22nd will receive $50,000 compared to last year’s $100,000.

There has also been a reduction in the prize money for the Carib Breakout artiste. This year, the winner will receive $50,000 compared to last year’s prize of $100,000.

Speaking with Newsday yesterday Minister of Community Development, Culture and the Arts, Dr Nyan Gadsby-Dolly said this year, CPF received an estimated $1.3 million compared to the $3.5 million they received last year.

“Based on our reduced allocations we were not able to approve anything greater than that this year,” she said.

The CPF said in an effort to ensure the maximum prize earnings for all finalists it acquired additional funding to enhance the 2017 prize disbursements.

Newsday tried contacting CPF Chairman and CEO Peter Scoon but his phone remained unanswered up until press time.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,239925.html

Captain Awesome

Re: International Soca Monarch Prize Reduced

Postby Captain Awesome » February 17th, 2017, 8:26 am

Why is the government sponsoring this in the first place??

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » February 17th, 2017, 8:28 am

I have no idea. Carnival is supposedly the greatest show on earth and it can't fund itself. StewpStewps

Postby Les Bain » February 17th, 2017, 8:57 am

There are many government related institutions who have resorted to entrepreneurial tactics to make up funds they lost in the massive budget cuts. Some of them pushing serious things to benefit the country.

Theoretically, shouldn't it be easier for these Carnival bodies to employ the entrepreneurial spirit, as is entertainment they pushing? Which cash rich private institution doesn't want to be associated with The Greatest Show On Earth?

Postby Dizzy28 » February 17th, 2017, 9:13 am

From $2m at a point in time to $500,000 now............
Artistes jammin still!!

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » February 17th, 2017, 10:11 am

I know the former Soca Monarch owner was proposing about 8 years ago taking out a portion of the winners prize to keep for the next year. The winner that year, Faye and rightfully said no and I think he even got a lwyer letter

Postby Dizzy28 » February 17th, 2017, 10:34 am

They annnounce Kaiso prize money yet?

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » February 17th, 2017, 10:44 am

Yeah. It cut too and De fosto to write a calypso about it.
They cut it to 800,000. Which actually quite generous considering only elderly people does go to the show

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: International Soca Monarch Prize Reduced

Postby racedriverpro » February 17th, 2017, 1:09 pm

Trinispougla wrote:Yeah. It cut too and De fosto to write a calypso about it.
They cut it to 800,000. Which actually quite generous considering only elderly people does go to the show

So them getting the most?

Trinispougla

Postby Trinispougla » February 17th, 2017, 1:54 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Inexplicably yes

Postby DVSTT » February 17th, 2017, 6:13 pm

how hard is it to place 4th to 22nd? Cuz i don't mind a lil $50K

Postby desifemlove » February 19th, 2017, 2:24 pm

good.

but then we're NOT gonna hear "but dis raciallllLL!" or "dey ent like Hindu people...injun peoplez!!!!!"

haha...fawkers. i'm surprised somebody like zoom or rscarpanner ent said similar yet.

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2017, 2:26 pm

Aye ,look Desi, I now asking for you on the Sunday meal thread.

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: International Soca Monarch Prize Reduced

Postby racedriverpro » February 19th, 2017, 2:32 pm

Trinispougla wrote:
racedriverpro wrote:

Inexplicably yes

I see the race is on!

Postby desifemlove » February 19th, 2017, 3:38 pm

rspann wrote:Aye ,look Desi, I now asking for you on the Sunday meal thread.

cos you PM me, though you despise me hahahha..

but you not complaining about this?? i thought as ah UNC till yuh dead, you were protesting about the cut to Chutney Monarch?

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2017, 3:52 pm

desifemlove wrote:
rspann wrote:Aye ,look Desi, I now asking for you on the Sunday meal thread.

cos you PM me, though you despise me hahahha..

but you not complaining about this?? i thought as ah UNC till yuh dead, you were protesting about the cut to Chutney Monarch?

Desi, you always saying somebody said something,please show me where I ever said anything like that . You are either retarded or just a plain dumbass.

Postby desifemlove » February 19th, 2017, 4:03 pm

nah...you and zoom were bitching about this....typical. eveything is discrimination!! if a bird sheit on yuh car, it racial!!

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2017, 4:09 pm

desifemlove wrote:nah...you and zoom were bitching about this....typical. eveything is discrimination!! if a bird sheit on yuh car, it racial!!

Dumbassfemlove, just show everyone where I said that.

linton

Postby linton » February 19th, 2017, 4:26 pm

Something is seriously wrong with this guy, why do you even bother to argue with him?

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2017, 4:28 pm

Man and wife bizness, allyuh stay out nah!

Postby K74T » February 19th, 2017, 5:00 pm

Dotishforlife

Postby desifemlove » February 19th, 2017, 5:03 pm

haha...cos this is how you was raised in yuh temple K74T, ent?

it people like you who does make T&T a bad place. bitching about discrimination where there is none.

Postby K74T » February 19th, 2017, 5:14 pm

delusional

Postby desifemlove » February 19th, 2017, 5:29 pm

hmmm...so you're educated, intelligent, and i'm supposedly uneducated...yet i have an MBA...hmmm..

OK

but then if you're smart and learned, do you think claiming false discrimination lends to a good social discourse or a healthy society? but no....anyting yuh pundit says is good, ent? With your education, you should really respond "no"....

haha.

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2017, 5:53 pm

K74T,dais wah dey teach you in de temple?

Postby rspann » February 19th, 2017, 5:59 pm

desifemlove wrote:hmmm...so you're educated, intelligent, and i'm supposedly uneducated...yet i have an MBA...hmmm..

OK

but then if you're smart and learned, do you think claiming false discrimination lends to a good social discourse or a healthy society? but no....anyting yuh pundit says is good, ent? With your education, you should really respond "no"....

haha.

Do you think all what you tell people about their race ,political affiliation and their religion lends to good social discourse or a healthy society? You claim to have an MBA, but you get on like a canal rat ,or a gunta. Calling out men for fight in the mall and UWI .Educated people don't get on like that.You can barely read and comprehend.

Postby Morpheus » February 19th, 2017, 6:12 pm

LoL how this thread reach to this? Lawd aye....

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 19th, 2017, 6:50 pm

Morpheus wrote:LoL how this thread reach to this? Lawd aye....

One word.........desi

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » February 19th, 2017, 6:51 pm

Morpheus wrote:LoL how this thread reach to this? Lawd aye....

One word.........desi

japan-r-us

Postby japan-r-us » February 19th, 2017, 6:56 pm

[quote="desifemlove"]hmmm...so you're educated, intelligent, and i'm supposedly uneducated...yet i have an MBA...hmmm..

You have a MBA...... that's correct in being a KANT!!!!!!

You and ED two lying fcukers!