Drunk 'PH' driver picks up cop

screwbash

Drunk 'PH' driver picks up cop

Postby screwbash » December 13th, 2016, 7:02 am

A drunk “PH” driver disqualified from holding a permit ended up picking up a police officer who smelt alcohol, and made the arrest that landed him in prison for 18 months.

Barry Dabie was also disqualified from driving for the rest of his life.

It was Dabie's third charge for driving while under the influence of alcohol.

Yesterday he entered a guilty plea to the charge that he exceeded the legal limit by 15 microgrammes when he drove along SS Erin Road, Debe, on Sunday. Dabie also admitted that he drove while being disqualified from holding or obtaining a driver's permit. He was charged by Constable Guerra.

Police prosecutor Sgt Lucthman Kassiram told Traffic Court magistrate Natalie Diop that at 7.10 p.m. the charging officer was a passenger in a vehicle driven by Dabie. The officer detected a strong scent of alcohol on Dabie's breath. He identified himself and took Dabie to the Debe police post. When asked for his driver's permit, Dabie said he had been banned from driving. He said he drove on Sunday after drinking two beers. Breathalyser tests showed he had a reading of 50 microgrammes.

Dabie, 48, told the court he was unemployed and his car was his only form of obtaining an income. He said since he was disqualified from driving “someone will drive for me but I drove on Sunday...I needed cash to pay my debt. I took a chance.” Dabie said he was remorseful for his actions.

Any lawyers on this site?

If the officer was off duty or and clearly he was not in uniform is he lawful in making the arrest or should the off duty officer not in uniform called the police station, identify himself and call a police in uniform who is on duty to make the arrest? Suppose the drunk man pull out a lucile and deal with guerra thinking guerra was gonna rob him? What stopping other bandits to pretend to be police an telling ah unsuspecting driver to hand over the keys and den drive up maracas and trow them off the cliff and take the car.

This is a case of the poor man cant afford a big shot lawyer and get shaft. This Traffic Court magistrate Natalie Diop should resign from the bar and hide her face in shame. This case should be trown out.

Re: Drunk 'PH' driver picks up cop

Postby eliteauto » December 13th, 2016, 7:24 am

well done officer, very diligent, possibly saved lives. OP not too bright though

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 7:31 am

Bandits don't have to pretend to be police to take your vehicle, just saying.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » December 13th, 2016, 7:36 am

eliteauto wrote:well done officer, very diligent, possibly saved lives. OP not too bright though

I not taking the drunk man side bro. One less drunk man on the road i glad. My question is the police legal in arresting this man and if it happen to you how would u like it? The ria girl get kidnap by men dressed as police, if you wuking a taxi an a man say he is police and order u to hand over the keys would you do it and if you dont do it can you be charged for not obeying ah police. Elite all does quick to say ah man dotish and glad at the outcome until it happen to you or a member of your family. Why dis drunk man get arrested and charged when a certain millionaire contractor son get arrrested and was place on a bond for driving drunk when he daddy hire ramesh l maraj to defend his son in court. Elite allyuh men must learn to tink.

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 7:50 am

The officer identified himself. If the officer takes out his Police ID and shows it to you , he is police.

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 7:58 am

He was previously disqualified from holding a permit for the same reason, drove without a permit while working PH ,no less and drove drunk again. If he collided with another vehicle or killed somebody, they had nothing to get, because he is an unlicensed driver. How you would have liked this to happen to you or your family? The magistrate couldn't take away his permit and he does not obey court orders so she did the correct thing. Sentence him according to law.

Postby ismithx » December 13th, 2016, 8:15 am

screwbash wrote:
eliteauto wrote:well done officer, very diligent, possibly saved lives. OP not too bright though

I not taking the drunk man side bro. One less drunk man on the road i glad. My question is the police legal in arresting this man and if it happen to you how would u like it? The ria girl get kidnap by men dressed as police, if you wuking a taxi an a man say he is police and order u to hand over the keys would you do it and if you dont do it can you be charged for not obeying ah police. Elite all does quick to say ah man dotish and glad at the outcome until it happen to you or a member of your family. Why dis drunk man get arrested and charged when a certain millionaire contractor son get arrrested and was place on a bond for driving drunk when he daddy hire ramesh l maraj to defend his son in court. Elite allyuh men must learn to tink.

if they were legit police, they getting level charge, if they weren't impersonation is a charge

if he identifies himself with an ID yes

relevance of statement is lost on me

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » December 13th, 2016, 8:16 am

Barry shoulda get a complimentary cutass too

Postby pete » December 13th, 2016, 8:43 am

Good job TTPS.

Hope he can learn some skill in prison that he can utilise when he gets out though.

Postby eliteauto » December 13th, 2016, 10:18 am

screwbash wrote:

I not taking the drunk man side bro. One less drunk man on the road i glad. [1]My question is the police legal in arresting this man and if it happen to you how would u like it? The ria girl get kidnap by men dressed as police, [2]if you wuking a taxi an a man say he is police and order u to hand over the keys would you do it and if you dont do it can you be charged for not obeying ah police. [3]Elite all does quick to say ah man dotish and glad at the outcome until it happen to you or a member of your family. [4]Why dis drunk man get arrested and charged when a certain millionaire contractor son get arrrested and was place on a bond for driving drunk when he daddy hire ramesh l maraj to defend his son in court. Elite allyuh men must learn to tink.

you telling me to learn to think when it's evident you only proficient in rum shop talk?

[1] A police officer's power of arrest doesn't stop when he's off duty or in plain clothes, he detected an offence and after identifying himself proceeded to do his duty, you can see the same in the officer who whilst on vacation killed a bandit last night. In the station we pat you on the back and say "good action"
[2] A man don't say "I issa police" and order you to hand over the keys. In a traffic stop they are identified by uniform/patrol order/operational wear. For a person to be in a car and do that, they would have detected an offence and identify themselves by their police ID. Otherwise they could be a civilian impersonating a police and be of criminal intent, that is where common sense comes in as said above a criminal ain't have to go through all that
[3] If that was my family it happened to, I'd go down to the station, laugh at him, point and say " it good for yuh dotish kant, take lock up IYMC" I hate drunk drivers
[4] Again rumshop talk at it's highest, get familiar with the law as it relates to DUI, on conviction for the first offence ( like Sammy son) you can be fined a max of 10K, bonded or as seen recently given community service, if you attend traffic court you will see where before sentencing the Magistrate will adjourn the matter for tracing and in that time frame the gently suggest you do counselling or the Arrive Alive programme, this together with the person expressing remorse can mitigate the sentence. Your second conviction increases the fine/ potential jail time and you can have your license suspended for 2 years. A third offence ( like tchupid man in the story) results in instant permanent disqualification of your DP, larger fine and jail time. So how do you link the 2 persons and the offences?

Maybe you should take your own advice

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 13th, 2016, 10:26 am

So many who never went to law school or train in the barracks seems to know more than lawyers and police. If the drunk driving kant did crash into you or a relative the cry would have been different.

Postby K74T » December 13th, 2016, 10:32 am

Well done officer.

sickbad

Postby sickbad » December 13th, 2016, 11:10 am

oh lord we real jokey yes..

isnt being a ph taxi alone not legal.. so lets pick and choose.. granted the man breath was stink..

so it is the same as police buying burn DVDs, copyright infringement is less legal than street vending, but who cares right?

my point is, we pick and choose what is legal in our eyes and arrest to "pull rank"

Would that same police officer linger around a party and bust a driver for stumbling into his/her car for being drunk, probably not..

Postby maj. tom » December 13th, 2016, 11:11 am

3rd DUI charge eh? And nobody knows how many times he wasn't caught.
Good work by police.

Expecting a follow up on this story concerning a toxic substance and many bawlings and cryings.

Postby Dizzy28 » December 13th, 2016, 11:22 am

The alcohol addiction that that Barry Dabie clearly has need to be properly treated.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 13th, 2016, 12:09 pm

sickbad wrote:oh lord we real jokey yes..

isnt being a ph taxi alone not legal.. so lets pick and choose.. granted the man breath was stink..

so it is the same as police buying burn DVDs, copyright infringement is less legal than street vending, but who cares right?

my point is, we pick and choose what is legal in our eyes and arrest to "pull rank"

Would that same police officer linger around a party and bust a driver for stumbling into his/her car for being drunk, probably not..

should change your name to stupidbad

Postby rollingstock » December 13th, 2016, 12:15 pm

Screwbash just ran on stage, grabbed the mic from Desi hand and proclaimed himself as the biggest ass on 2nr.

Round of applause for tuntun head, boy like a shrimp...... Only sheit in he head no brains.

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 12:20 pm

Elite, how you does know all them police procedures so, like you does read police textbooks or wah?

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 12:23 pm

rollingstock wrote:Screwbash just ran on stage, grabbed the mic from Desi hand and proclaimed himself as the biggest ass on 2nr.

Round of applause for tuntun head, boy like a shrimp...... Only sheit in he head no brains.

You is the kinda police that does keep me from comitting crime. I wouldnt like to do something and you arrest me and carry me in the station or worse!

Postby rspann » December 13th, 2016, 12:24 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:The alcohol addiction that that Barry Dabie clearly has need to be properly treated.

18 months with no rum could cure that.

Postby De Dragon » December 13th, 2016, 12:24 pm

He (B. Dabie) and were in a class a few years back. He always looked like a rummy..............

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » December 13th, 2016, 1:34 pm

I wonder what a rummy looks like?

Postby Chimera » December 13th, 2016, 1:45 pm

Good for he mc. Drunk people shouldn't be on the road. Right now I can't use my car in the rain or park it anywhere because of a drunk man from last week sunday

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » December 13th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Agreed.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 13th, 2016, 2:13 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:

should change your name to stupidbad

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 13th, 2016, 2:24 pm

Yes, I say more of these good officers are needed. He surely saved some lives either that same day or in the near or distant future I have no doubt about this. There is nothing more disgusting than an alcoholic, especially one that insists he or she gets behind a wheel.

As Judge Judy says a vehicle is a weapon and anyone found driving drunk should never be allowed to drive again.

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 2:26 pm

if it isn't,then it should be. jus don't commit crime, that'sall.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 13th, 2016, 2:27 pm

The Paleontologist wrote:I wonder what a rummy looks like?

My neighbor. He is also a die hard UNC he does drink rum for UNC every election sometimes Gramoxone depending on the outcome.

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 2:41 pm

that said, this man needed help/rehabilitation. give him CEPEP, or some train to work scheme.

having black and white views on justice is part of the reason why the crime situation stinks.

he possibly has no qualifications, and he said he needed a wuk. and probably a host of other issues too. so why penalise him further? haha..... did this judge buy her law degree, or not understand that solving/fighting crime is more complex than punishment?

Postby desifemlove » December 13th, 2016, 2:43 pm

true.