The DIY CCTV camera system thread

Re: Home Security

Postby Redman » September 26th, 2020, 8:03 am

pugboy wrote:what allyuh using for basic door/window intrusion etc ?

Door chime/ alarm....2 for 10usd ....test the batteries once a year. 8 years ..all good

Loud as all hell....impossible to detect or disable from outside.

Simple....stumbled onto as I was looking for a way to stop jr from breaking out...

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 27th, 2020, 2:43 am

I’m going with the traditional security camera setup. Whilst not smart home integrated, its quite effective and suits the needs.

IP Cameras with Regular nvr backup, local on camera backup, and also offsite remote backup through ftp. That would eliminate the monthly cloud subscriptions and aide in the you fortunate and trending method of intruders taking your dvrs.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » September 27th, 2020, 4:50 am

have 2 dvr setup stored in two different location in the house or business them guntas go look and take one but it have the second still recording. position your cameras to see each other in the shot and put at least one day /night camera inside where you think them bandit go pass in case they breakin in the night you have them outside and inside. have at least one cam at face level such as in a gallery area where someone approaching the gallery can be captured clearly. everyone buying a pricesmart dvr special and putting high high on they roof, the purpose is to capture face not top of head. if you have high end axis or some hikvision you can put high cause the zoom is good.

Postby Kenjo » September 27th, 2020, 6:46 am

Any recommendations for cameras that have the partial recording on the camera unit itself and self back up power like DSS ?

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2020, 7:05 am

cameras are for after the fact though
you still need hard wired burglar intrusion alarm
bandits don’t care if they recorded

thelem-again wrote:I’m going with the traditional security camera setup. Whilst not smart home integrated, its quite effective and suits the needs.

IP Cameras with Regular nvr backup, local on camera backup, and also offsite remote backup through ftp. That would eliminate the monthly cloud subscriptions and aide in the you fortunate and trending method of intruders taking your dvrs.

Emmar01

Postby Emmar01 » September 27th, 2020, 10:42 am

I'm using XMeye in my system, but looking to upload my video in real time to the cloud in case the DVR is stolen. Any advice on how I can go about this?

Postby maj. tom » September 27th, 2020, 3:54 pm

Using an IP over FTP setup. Some cameras have those features in its software ready to setup with your own ftp server and some scripts to upload to Google Drive, etc. It will be complicated and likely requires a network specialist. And you can buy a 1TB sub for the cloud service you use. Some HIKVISION systems have it natively. I think XMeye has this, but the entire website and everything is in Chinese.

Postby streetbeastINC. » September 27th, 2020, 5:58 pm

Dogs coupled with camara system....best

Postby Chimera » September 27th, 2020, 7:29 pm

Many camera systems have the option to set up motion sensors that will alarm or send alerts at your set parameters.

Like if someone walk in a certain area after 6pm....alarm or email etc
pugboy wrote:cameras are for after the fact though

thelem-again wrote:I’m going with the traditional security camera setup. Whilst not smart home integrated, its quite effective and suits the needs.

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2020, 8:21 pm

i use some wyzecams and find they occasionally have some weird fuzzy objects flying which trip the motion sending.

they look like what are called “rods” in camera parlance

Postby Chimera » September 27th, 2020, 8:33 pm

The orbs yuh mean.

That's when ghosts passing tru
pugboy wrote:i use some wyzecams and find they occasionally have some weird fuzzy objects flying which trip the motion sending.

they look like what are called “rods” in camera parlance

Postby maj. tom » September 27th, 2020, 8:50 pm

Insects, moths, candle flies. That happens especially when the camera is in a lit area, or using the IR lights and those night insects buzz near the light source. The buzzing of the wings sync at a certain rate with the rolling shutter CMOS sensor and they look like trippy sine waves. e.g. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0LOO8u0Waw

What i did to solve that is set the camera in the dark without IR. My cameras are behind glass anyway so IR just reflects itself from the glass. IR is also pretty much useless in identifying a face properly. Set camera to motion detect. You can also use a smart motion detector. Program your automation to power on a smart bulb when motion is detected and to turn off 2 minutes later. It's a simple "If, Then, Else" statement. Therefore when the motion detector is tripped, the camera get a nice clear-as-daylight view to record when the smart bulb turns on. It can also be a deterrent for the light to turn on if motion is detected. The intruder can learn this "lights on with motion" behaviour but not know that a camera is also recording when the light turns on.

Postby pugboy » September 27th, 2020, 9:05 pm

good idea
i have the hardware for smart hub and bulbs but
lazy to instal them

Postby Ted_v2 » September 27th, 2020, 9:36 pm

poorman

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 28th, 2020, 1:52 am

maj. tom wrote:Insects, moths, candle flies. That happens especially when the camera is in a lit area, or using the IR lights and those night insects buzz near the light source. The buzzing of the wings sync at a certain rate with the rolling shutter CMOS sensor and they look like trippy sine waves. e.g. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0LOO8u0Waw

What i did to solve that is set the camera in the dark without IR. My cameras are behind glass anyway so IR just reflects itself from the glass. IR is also pretty much useless in identifying a face properly. Set camera to motion detect. You can also use a smart motion detector. Program your automation to power on a smart bulb when motion is detected and to turn off 2 minutes later. It's a simple "If, Then, Else" statement. Therefore when the motion detector is tripped, the camera get a nice clear-as-daylight view to record when the smart bulb turns on. It can also be a deterrent for the light to turn on if motion is detected. The intruder can learn this "lights on with motion" behaviour but not know that a camera is also recording when the light turns on.

Or just position the camera by a motion sensor light. That would be the better option imo as Independent motion sensors would rely on WiFi to communicate with the smart bulbs.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 28th, 2020, 1:53 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Many camera systems have the option to set up motion sensors that will alarm or send alerts at your set parameters.

Like if someone walk in a certain area after 6pm....alarm or email etc
pugboy wrote:cameras are for after the fact though

Exactly. You can even set it to zones so that motion outside of the zone would not trigger the cameras alarm or recording.

thelem-again

Postby thelem-again » September 28th, 2020, 2:05 am

Kenjo wrote:Any recommendations for cameras that have the partial recording on the camera unit itself and self back up power like DSS ?

Actually recommended one to a friend with backup recording and what records audio.

Don’t think there’s any with backup power other than independent solar powered cameras like the Argus2. The best option is to wire the cameras directly to a POE Router, then have a dummy dvr setup so intruders can take the bait and take that instead.

Postby Chimera » September 28th, 2020, 8:06 am

I have some "tendsecure" cameras in addition to my regular cctv and motion sensors

https://www.tendinsights.com/pages/tend-secure-app

Check them out.

Postby Dave » September 28th, 2020, 8:08 am

It works!
Ted_v2 wrote:Image

poorman

Postby Ben_spanna » September 28th, 2020, 8:41 am

^^^ only if your neighbors understand its meaning... in our area a majority of the houses have them and have been testing through the various streets to see how far it can be heard and we have all worked out the various responses to create a warning system...

Postby maj. tom » September 28th, 2020, 8:48 am

i do have 3 motion sensors with led lights and they work well. But my cameras were indoor ip cameras with no IP-weather ratings so they couldn't be out in the sun and rain in the ideal positions that i wanted wrt those motion sensors. So i came up with the above solution.

It was a balance for me between buying an expensive DVR system and running cables all over my house, vs indoor ip cameras with updated smart sensors. Less intrusive, less expensive, well hidden cameras that nobody can see even inside the house, still reliable and untamperable. Good router with a Linksys repeater. The disadvantage is as you said, losing Wifi, but the camera keeps recording to an SD card regardless of WiFi.

Postby aaron17 » September 28th, 2020, 9:02 am

Dave wrote:It works!
Ted_v2 wrote:Image

poorman
I think whistle with mouth is the poorest.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 28th, 2020, 6:48 pm

Ill def need to do some research and get back into this ched eventually.
looking to make a home server soon, get some cams and data stored on a server with a rack. Get a server case for my pc and slowly go full wired for net.
peep this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0w0wY2ZzeA&t=1577s

Ripe Chenette

Postby Ripe Chenette » October 1st, 2020, 12:53 am

Two rotts, a pompek and a cutlass is all you need

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 1st, 2020, 7:30 am

^pets is just for alert. Find a glock and keep it close

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 1st, 2020, 8:25 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Ill def need to do some research and get back into this ched eventually.
looking to make a home server soon, get some cams and data stored on a server with a rack. Get a server case for my pc and slowly go full wired for net.
peep this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0w0wY2ZzeA&t=1577s

Will need a hefty UPS
A Wyze Cam at US$20 and their free app or cheap cloud storage may be a lot cheaper

simplejack

Postby simplejack » October 1st, 2020, 10:22 am

88sins wrote:nerve boi me eh even need a sign. I eh keeping a yard full of predators for shits&giggles

A spranger come in my yard some 9-10 years ago to raid the chennete tree when nobody was home, seeing as d rottie was tied he did feel like he was safe. Poor bastard had no clue that fella used to buss quarter inch chain for kix. Short story shorter, I meet a crowd at my gate and pieces of the poor mook all over the place when I reach home. Apparently he jumped the fence like about 10 minutes before I reached home. I sure that was the longest 10 minutes of his life. Police and ambulance reach like 3 minutes after me. After I locked up my boy, tey6ask a few questions, one play dotish and threatened to shoot my boi but in the end all they did was take him and go. I went in d station, answer a few dotish questions and a few pertinent ones, and that was that. Nuttn came out of it after that. Can't blame the dog for defending it's territory, or the owner for having said dog for that purpose. Only one at fault was the chupid spranger, and to this day I does still say he was very lucky the others were locked up in the kennels and is just big boy alone he had to deal with.

This made my morning, thanks for the laugh. Wonder if he saw the light and stop spranging.

Postby pugboy » October 13th, 2020, 7:21 am

anybody have extra wyze cam to sell ?
padna looking for one

rebound

Postby rebound » October 13th, 2020, 7:33 am

Motion sensors and 9mm tablets do the trick...

2WNBoost

Home Security

Postby 2WNBoost » October 13th, 2020, 8:43 am

EUFY is a brand to consider for the smart home
eufyCam2 has a 365 day battery

https://www.eufylife.com/products/604/security