Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2016, 11:55 am

As sportsmen & sportswomen, if you have or want to have an airgun in Trinidad & Tobago, but find the prices & quality of airguns available locally to be ridiculously expensive, this concerns you directly. Whether you are a competitive target shooter, hunter, enjoy recreational plinking, or use them extensively for pest control.

A petition has been started to get the smoothbore restriction on .177 air rifles removed & to declassify .177 rifled barreled airguns as not being firearms in T&T. If ever you wished that you could get whatever .177 airgun you wanted with a rifled barrel, this is your chance to let your voice be heard on this issue & an opportunity for us all to get this law remedied. You can even post your thoughts on the topic.
Just click the link, sign & share.

https://www.change.org/p/the-government ... rs-license

And remember, there is only only way to get anything meaningful & significant done, & that's when we all work towards our objective together as one.

Have a good morning tuners.

Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 10th, 2016, 12:02 pm

Boy I came in here hoping you selling thing inno...

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2016, 12:03 pm

signed

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2016, 12:16 pm

With enough signatures shakes, yuh could buy whatever brand or setup u want for a lot less than you'd pay now

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 10th, 2016, 12:16 pm

i am probably wrong in my thinking and i hope i am wrong, but petetions will not work with this government
you need to speak to a financier of the party in charge to support your cause or u just pissing into the wind.
the government is quick to change laws to suite them and the people who sponsor them . rest will suffer.

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2016, 12:25 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:i am probably wrong in my thinking and i hope i am wrong, but petetions will not work with this government
you need to speak to a financier of the party in charge to support your cause or u just pissing into the wind.
the government is quick to change laws to suite them and the people who sponsor them . rest will suffer.

well you are right
in that you are wrong

Petitions do work, but in T&T a petition alone cannot do everything. There's a need to the reach out to the relevant authorities including the politicians & make them aware of what people want & why, as well as provide evidence of why you need a solution to what you propose to have fixed. & they in turn have to say if they will go forward & remedy the situation or not, as well as provide a valid & justifiable reason if they do not.

in short, nothing ventured nothing gained

whizzard

Postby whizzard » November 10th, 2016, 12:53 pm

I don't see this changing anytime soon, especially with the current crime situation, the fact that they have no control on illegal firearms, and the easy of access to these air rifles. I'm watching how things went with the OPT, I'm leaning towards Hong Kong Phooey's thinking.

Postby Chimera » November 10th, 2016, 1:00 pm

smalls. allyuh cud sign it and forget about it

and if it does eventually happen, yuh cud say that you helped.

Postby sMASH » November 10th, 2016, 1:22 pm

Signed, cause development, update with times, march along with progress.

It will do not cause things to change, but show the amount of public support there is.

Postby 88sins » November 10th, 2016, 1:25 pm

whizzard wrote:I don't see this changing anytime soon, especially with the current crime situation, .

Has zero bearing on this issue, since 100% of firearm related criminal activity is done with exactly that, firearms. Not .177 air guns. If you can prove otherwise, by all means please show us all how many murders and robberies have been committed with .177 air guns in TT in comparison to illegal and legal firearms, that support this assumed relationship of rifled barreled .177 airguns being a criminals preferred alternative equipment in the commision of a crime. Recently or throughout the history of these items being owned in TT.

whizzard wrote:the fact that they have no control on illegal firearms, and the easy of access to these air rifles.
First off, thats the nature of illegal firearms. It is impossible to control what you don't specifically know exists where. Secondly, there's no "easy access" to an air gun permit in T&T. Granted its not as difficult as getting an FUL, and in truth it shouldnt be, simply because a .177 airgun is currently NOT classified as a firearm in T&T. Add to that, that an airgun permission letter can be revoked just as it can be granted, & the petition doesn't propose any change in that matter. So you will still need a CoC from the TTPS, still have to apply and wait till the TTPS does whatever it is that they do that takes however long it takes them. Only real difference is that you would be able to go online or travel out of T&T, & buy whatever .177 air gun you wish to get & have it shipped here, or even buy one locally if dealers supply, whether the barrel is rifled or not, without an FUL.

whizzard wrote:I'm watching how things went with the OPT, I'm leaning towards Hong Kong Phooey's thinking.

cool thats your stance. I won't argue with that.

Postby pugboy » November 10th, 2016, 3:51 pm

doesn't cost anything to try
but if this going before the police dept in charge of ful
then just remember that is possibly the most corrupt dept of the ttps..........

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » November 10th, 2016, 6:03 pm

Signed because Barry and dem too damn greedy.....

doubt anything wud happen tho...

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » November 10th, 2016, 7:56 pm

I tried to sign but it say my email used already???

Postby 88sins » November 11th, 2016, 6:11 am

Well fellas, its reached 105 signatures. thanks for d support, but we still have a distance to cover. Remember to share the link& spread the word about why we're doing this. Thanks for the support.

@ Pablo, if you sure you didn't sign already you can try again from another email account.

MonstersInc

Postby MonstersInc » November 11th, 2016, 10:11 am

Signed

Postby 88sins » November 11th, 2016, 11:51 am

Now at 115

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 12th, 2016, 11:33 pm

Can i give someone to keep a normal single shot air rifle who doesnt have a permit? }normal

bossmann

Re: RE: Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby bossmann » November 12th, 2016, 11:34 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Can i give someone to keep a normal single shot air rifle who doesnt have a permit? }normal

Nope

bossmann

Re: RE: Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby bossmann » November 12th, 2016, 11:34 pm

streetbeastINC. wrote:Can i give someone to keep a normal single shot air rifle who doesnt have a permit? }normal

Nope

The Paleontologist

Postby The Paleontologist » November 13th, 2016, 1:07 am

Signed.

Postby 88sins » November 13th, 2016, 11:05 am

nice. We're at 121 signatures people. Need much more, as many as we can get

Postby 88sins » November 14th, 2016, 9:05 am

Now at 125& still moving upwards.

make meh care

Postby make meh care » November 14th, 2016, 9:13 am

Signed

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2016, 7:49 am

132 & climbing

Postby dougla_boy » November 15th, 2016, 11:49 am

hope yuh GT...

ah sign already tho

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2016, 1:51 pm

yeah db I'm aware that you did. much appreciated.

Postby 88sins » November 15th, 2016, 1:54 pm

so fellas, lets discuss, whats your preferred airgun discipline?
I know it have plenty hunters that only want to hunt with these things, but how many of us here prefer to use airguns in the context of competition shooting events like 50 meter benchrest?

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » November 15th, 2016, 3:37 pm

88sins wrote:so fellas, lets discuss, whats your preferred airgun discipline?
I know it have plenty hunters that only want to hunt with these things, but how many of us here prefer to use airguns in the context of competition shooting events like 50 meter benchrest?

Recently got my permit, i haven't gotten an airgun, i'm still doing some research as to what i'm going to purchase and who sells at affordable prices......but my intentions for the purchase is to learn proper marksmanship skills ..

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » November 15th, 2016, 3:57 pm

I say de man hah cheep gun to sell...

bossmann

Postby bossmann » November 15th, 2016, 4:47 pm