Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby alfa » March 21st, 2023, 8:49 pm

Centerfire in Chaguanas

Postby 88sins » March 21st, 2023, 9:15 pm

alfa wrote:Centerfire in Chaguanas

I personally wouldn't buy a slingshot dey.

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2023, 9:18 pm

he still writing processing fees on a piece of paper to avoid getting taped?

Postby alfa » March 21st, 2023, 9:25 pm

Hmm I didn't know all that about this place. Prices seem decent and I use his range for a decade and counting. I thought that was one of the above board firearm places. You live you learn I guess lol

Postby pugboy » March 21st, 2023, 9:30 pm

why yuh do ask him how much the processing he was charging as yuh so tight with him lol

alfa wrote:Hmm I didn't know all that about this place. Prices seem decent and I use his range for a decade and counting. I thought that was one of the above board firearm places. You live you learn I guess lol

YellowCanary

Postby YellowCanary » March 22nd, 2023, 7:27 am

Thanks alot guys I called Sport and Games they have a Gamo for 8.5K I am willing to spend that much maybe 10K max . However I went online and the same GAMO sell for 200USD how did S&G come up with 8.5K. This cannot be Taxes/ Duties/Customs fee. A guy put me on to someone name Raj in South.

YellowCanary

Postby YellowCanary » March 22nd, 2023, 7:39 am

Thanks alot guys I called Sport and Games they have a Gamo for 8.5K I am willing to spend that much maybe 10K max . However I went online and the same GAMO sell for 200USD how did S&G come up with 8.5K. This cannot be Taxes/ Duties/Customs fee. A guy put me on to someone name Raj in South.

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2023, 7:56 am

Abroad the prices are for spiral barrel guns that most of the world uses and is mass produced.
We have to use smooth bore here and probably here alone so the price is very different

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 8:11 am

yea it is somewhat of a racket they run with the smoothbore restriction
price gouging at its finest

plus heinz not giving gunbdealers import license for anything, pellets incl
a shortage

Postby alfa » March 22nd, 2023, 10:24 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Abroad the prices are for spiral barrel guns that most of the world uses and is mass produced.
We have to use smooth bore here and probably here alone so the price is very different

I'm not sure if that should be an issue as all rifles start of as smooth bore first and the spirals cut after so this is one less step, shouldn't it be cheaper technically speaking?

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2023, 10:55 am

find a smooth bore rifle to buy online and bring it in.

alot of persons have done it and when the gun reach it get seized because they send a spiral bore gun

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 11:31 am

you won’t find a smoothbore outside of sweet tt to buy
and if you do, customs will likely seize it and ask for your import permit

Postby Chimera » March 22nd, 2023, 11:42 am

Yea there's a proper method to get the permit and import it

But what happen to alot of people is they order smooth bore online and when it reach its a spiral bore and it get seized and hard lucks

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 22nd, 2023, 3:08 pm

Not sure if this was covered already but what is the most powerful air rifle available locally?
Brand/model/dealer

Thanks in advance

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 3:42 pm

yuh need to ask which is the most accurate first

YellowCanary

Postby YellowCanary » March 22nd, 2023, 3:59 pm

I feel this is a loaded question but i will bite " but which one is also the most accurate " Knowing they are all smooth Bore

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 22nd, 2023, 4:15 pm

YellowCanary wrote:I feel this is a loaded question but i will bite " but which one is also the most accurate " Knowing they are all smooth Bore
It's RWS model 54 and 52

They are springers and are at 1100 fps

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 22nd, 2023, 4:28 pm

Kickstart wrote:
YellowCanary wrote:I feel this is a loaded question but i will bite " but which one is also the most accurate " Knowing they are all smooth Bore
It's RWS model 54 and 52

More pwr than hatsan and sumatra?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 22nd, 2023, 5:38 pm

WestIndian424 wrote:
Kickstart wrote:
It's RWS model 54 and 52

More pwr than hatsan and sumatra?
You said u want accurate.

Having a powerful air rifle does not make it accurate. It also depends on the ammo that you use and the sighting. Too powerful a rifle and it looses accuracy, it why the normal power range is around 900 to 1250 Fps for a small bore .177.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 22nd, 2023, 5:41 pm

Need pwr..caiman pwr..if you no am saying

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 5:56 pm

you need it able to push a heavy pellet at good feet per second to penetrate a caiman head

lot of them brands advertise 1000fps but only for light pellets which only good for shooting pigeon

Postby 88sins » March 22nd, 2023, 7:01 pm

pugboy wrote:you need it able to push a heavy pellet at good feet per second to penetrate a caiman head

lot of them brands advertise 1000fps but only for light pellets which only good for shooting pigeon

Tbh, not exactly. Depends on the situation, and if you know where to hit him. Shooting them from a distance, vs have it on a hook and hitting it from a few inches.

Killed more than a few caiman with air rifles over the years. At minimum you want 15-18fpe at poi for a big one, and you want to.hit him in the brain, thru a spot on the skull where the bone and flesh is thinnest. Best spot, if Shooting from a distance, is in the ear slit. Shooting from close, aim for the middle of the flat spot on top the head.

Postby pugboy » March 22nd, 2023, 7:56 pm

to get 18fpe you need a heavy pellet(for 177)
ie 13+ gr and over 800fps

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » March 22nd, 2023, 10:40 pm

So whats it gonna be..hatsan? Sumatra?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 23rd, 2023, 11:35 am

WestIndian424 wrote:Need pwr..caiman pwr..if you no am saying
Caymans are a protected species, if forest rangers catch u , they will arrest you.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » March 23rd, 2023, 11:36 am

pugboy wrote:you need it able to push a heavy pellet at good feet per second to penetrate a caiman head

Tbh, not exactly. Depends on the situation, and if you know where to hit him. Shooting them from a distance, vs have it on a hook and hitting it from a few inches.

Killed more than a few caiman with air rifles over the years. At minimum you want 15-18fpe at poi for a big one, and you want to.hit him in the brain, thru a spot on the skull where the bone and flesh is thinnest. Best spot, if Shooting from a distance, is in the ear slit. Shooting from close, aim for the middle of the flat spot on top the head.
Killing Caimans are illegal

Postby Chimera » March 23rd, 2023, 11:43 am

Kickstart wrote:
Caymans are a protected species, if forest rangers catch u , they will arrest you.

if theyre on your own land and eating your fish/animals/neighbour kids?

YellowCanary

Postby YellowCanary » March 23rd, 2023, 12:06 pm

I have Cayman on my land and the villages come at night and deal with them ( I love wildlife) and I would leave fruits etc.. but them Villages different apart from leaving empty. gun shells the steeling is what I cannot handle. Any Time a man ask me I always pick it and gave him. But them men different out there

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2023, 2:02 pm

Kickstart wrote:

Killing Caimans are illegal

Not during hunting season it ain't.
In any event, I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors of dining on live caiman. :D

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2023, 2:07 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Kickstart wrote:

if theyre on your own land and eating your fish/animals/neighbour kids?

If this is the situation, forestry can issue a removal permit to the land owner. Allowing you to kill the problematic animals on your property. They have permits for most local game species.
Only thing is tho, when you get the permit, and you kill it, you HAVE to notify them, and you cannot remove/consume/dispose of/sell the carcass.