Re: Calling all air gun enthusiasts

Postby 88sins » April 27th, 2020, 7:21 am

adnj wrote:
adnj wrote:I see a lot of talk about accuracy. What sized 5 and 10 shot groups are you getting and at what range (indoors or outdoors)?

First off, serious shooters don't wast time with 5 shot groups. 5 shot groups tell you a little, 10 shot groups paint a better picture of what a gun is doing. My personal gun Hatsan BT65, & from a bench, outdoors at 20 yards, gun producing a hair over 40 fpe with 13.43 grain JSB Monster pellets with an ES of 10 fps & SD of 2fps, producing a 10 shot group under an inch, consistently.

Only caveat, this is NOT your standard factory delivered unit. Some work was done on it to get it this accurate. Bore & leade were polished, choke resized, 11* target crown recut & chamfered, modified valve among other things.

I hear a lot of opinion from you but with all due respect, you have more than a few inconsistencies in your statements regarding what is serious and what is not. You are a serious smooth bore air rifle shooter. I am not nor have I presented myself that way.

You are looking at repeatability of the pellet fired over a chrono. I look at performance of a handload over a chrono.

There are many shooters and gunsmiths that do 5-shots for zero and warmup. A 10-shot group to do an equipment check after a modification is fine for a firearm.

If what you have vociferously stated works for your needs, even though they fail on the merits, have at it.

Good to know, and that's YOUR opinion, based on whatever. I'll be filing that in the useless opinion archive.

When you start buying and shooting match grade pellets and bullets by the lot number till the mold changes, and can show me that you have had more interaction with pellet and bullet manufacturers in helping them to know what products they should discontinue and why , and how to improve on their current and upcoming products than I have, then I'll take you a bit more seriously.
Till then, with all due respect, I got zero use for your opinion.

Postby adnj » April 28th, 2020, 7:49 am

pugboy wrote:that’s decent

Firewall wrote:
pugboy wrote:Firewall what pcp you using ?
How it grouping at 25yds ?
I had a hatsan gladius that i sold 3+ years ago.
1/2" 5 shot group at 20 yards was normal using a "bench" with minimal wind.
Offhand was significantly worse, probably 1.5" normally.

About 2.5 MOA accuracy. Thanks for that info.

I was interested in knowing what kind of accuracy was possible from the local smooth bores.

Postby pugboy » April 28th, 2020, 8:47 am

on a dead still day I have hit a 7 1/4" circular saw blade at about 95yards consistently

however with wind the accuracy drops a fair bit as expected it will throw off the pellet which has no gyroscopic stability compared to a rifled spinning pellet. You can often see the pellet swirl off.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » June 3rd, 2020, 8:01 am

Triniak47 wrote:Why is the LCS SK19 not an option?

because it doesn't come in .177, & to make it in that caliber it'd be a PITA to load since it doesn't have a detachable clip
Saw this on centerfire's site
Screenshot_20200603-075933.jpeg

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2020, 8:12 am

looks like an fx impact clone.
hammerless

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » June 3rd, 2020, 8:27 am

Yea, like a cross between an fx impact and huben k1

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2020, 8:51 am

And probably same price range too
Wonder what is quality of the smoothbore barrel they supplying.

jusjase44

Postby jusjase44 » June 3rd, 2020, 10:52 am

pugboy wrote:And probably same price range too
Lother -Walther it says

Postby pugboy » June 3rd, 2020, 11:02 am

Nice man, let us know how it grouping when you get it.

jusjase44 wrote:
pugboy wrote:And probably same price range too
Lother -Walther it says

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » June 12th, 2020, 8:02 pm

Just a question- can one apply for a permit to purchase a second air rifle? Thanks.

Postby 88sins » June 12th, 2020, 8:37 pm

Short answer-no

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » June 13th, 2020, 5:56 am

Thanks!

torque 4 so

Postby torque 4 so » June 13th, 2020, 12:36 pm

Do not want to be negative, but seeing that the authorities scan FB and other social media, hope that one's signature does not impedes from getting AR permit.

Onsite

Postby Onsite » June 13th, 2020, 1:56 pm

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 13th, 2020, 2:35 pm

torque 4 so wrote:Do not want to be negative, but seeing that the authorities scan FB and other social media, hope that one's signature does not impedes from getting AR permit.

Huh

Postby 88sins » June 13th, 2020, 6:35 pm

Boi, don't EVER put dem 2 letters together like that in this country unless you looking for problems

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » February 20th, 2022, 8:36 pm

88sins wrote:Short answer-no

Why not? Just curious.

Postby 88sins » February 21st, 2022, 6:24 am

Calor wrote:
88sins wrote:Short answer-no

Why not? Just curious.

For starters, your permission letter clearly states that you have been granted permission to purchase and keep one, not multiple, air rifle. If you are found to be in possession more than one, ttps will have some questions for you, and they may remove them from your possession.

However if you wish to replace your existing unit you can use the same permit to purchase it.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 7th, 2022, 5:28 am

Two Fx Revolution mags,
16 shot.
316 0908
Trade or sale
New items
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on June 10th, 2022, 1:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » June 7th, 2022, 5:44 am

14shot ? pics ?

streetbeastINC. wrote:Fs two Benjamin marauder mags,
14 shot.
316 0908
Trade or sale
New items

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2022, 8:13 am

What he said ^

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 7th, 2022, 8:24 pm

Mistake its for the fx revolutoon loads 16 .177.
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on June 10th, 2022, 1:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 10th, 2022, 1:13 am

Mistake its for magaz are for the FX REVOLUTION

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2022, 3:52 pm

i hear boy you could make jam with the autoloading guns

Postby 88sins » June 10th, 2022, 5:52 pm

pugboy wrote:i hear boy you could make jam with the autoloading guns

Not all the semiautomatic give trouble.
But you see that model in particular? That is a FX that you will constantly have to FiX.

I want to get meh hands on a hatsan blitz. Want to see what I can do with it wrt power and accuracy. Too bad they not coming in 177.
At least not yet

Postby alfa » June 10th, 2022, 7:35 pm

Any reviews on the benjamin marauder? I'm looking for something pcp style to do a lil backyard plinking when friends are over. Not looking for the most powerful or accurate but reliable and easy avaliability of parts from amazon and the like? Range length may be 150 feet max. Thinking this may be the best option

Postby pugboy » June 10th, 2022, 8:41 pm

it’s not a bad gun at all
probably the most popular modded pcp ever
the airtube rusts easily so needs to be taken care of

Postby 88sins » June 10th, 2022, 9:26 pm

alfa wrote:Any reviews on the benjamin marauder? I'm looking for something pcp style to do a lil backyard plinking when friends are over. Not looking for the most powerful or accurate but reliable and easy avaliability of parts from amazon and the like? Range length may be 150 feet max. Thinking this may be the best option

As far as budget guns go, for a backyard plinker the marauder is not a bad choice.
Another option would be the AT44 platform. Easy to tune, parts easily available (some you can even make yourself), and built tough to take licks.

Postby streetbeastINC. » June 11th, 2022, 3:14 pm

To tell you the truth, nothing beats a break barrel when it comes to just practice, multishot magnum , love those....

Just bought a pcp electric air pump , haven't gotten the time to set it up, needs water cooling etc

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 19th, 2022, 3:59 pm

Can someone bring in an airgun from another country legally in Trinidad? They bringing it as a gift for my uncle